KIDS: Connecticut Fishing for Kids

{More Kid Stuff Page Header} More Kid Stuff
 
 
 
 
 
Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection - Fishing Events for Kids 2021
 
{DEEP Logo}

 

Free Fishing Day - Saturday, May 8, 2021: Everyone can fish for FREE, no fishing license is required. All other rules and regulations still apply, like daily limit, size limit, and closed seasons. Lots of great places to fish - check out the interactive Trout Stocking Map, CT is Fishy or the Saltwater Resource Map for ideas on places to go.

Youth Fishing Passports - If you are under 16 years of age, get your YOUth Fishing Passport now! It's free!
It gives you access to a wide variety of fun events.  On-line signup available. (Get parental/guardian permission before you register.)
 
The YOUth Fishing Passport is your invitation to many great fishing destinations in Connecticut.  By registering for free in the CT DEEP Online Sportsmen Licensing System you will be issued a lifetime Conservation ID number and be able to print your Passport.  Passport holders will have the opportunity to participate in fishing activities specifically designed for them.  In addition, passport holders may receive a variety of benefits from supporting organizations and participating stores.
 
 
Trout Parks - For family fishing fun, visit one of the Trout Parks. 11 water bodies in Connecticut have been designated as Trout Parks. Trout Parks are located in easily accessible areas to enhance trout fishing opportunities for young anglers and novice anglers as well as for those with mobility challenges. The frequent stockings, generally between Opening Day and Memorial Day, will greatly increase an anglerís chances of catching a fish, making it a more attractive "fishing hole", particularly to children and families. For more information, see the DEEP website Trout Park Information
 

   
 
 
Contact: Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection, 79 Elm Street Hartford, CT 06106-5127
 
Phone: (860) 424-3000 Voice/TTY


Trout Stamp - Connecticutís Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) announced that the Trout & Salmon Stamp is available for purchase for the 2021 Fishing Season. The Trout & Salmon Stamp is now required for anglers fishing in any designated Trout Management Area, Wild Trout Management Area, Trout Park, or Atlantic Salmon Broodstock Area and for anglers harvesting trout or salmon anywhere throughout the state. The fees for the Trout & Salmon Stamp are $5.00 for resident anglers who are 18 and older, $3.00 for CT residents ages 16 or 17 and $5.00 for nonresident anglers age 16 and older.


Trout Stamp FAQ's  PDF 186kB


Fish With CARE - The Connecticut Aquatic Resources Education (CARE) program has been teaching learn to fish classes to CT residents since 1986! State certified fishing instructors will help you get started fishing safely and successfully while having a fun time doing it! CARE offers a wide variety of introductory level fishing classes held all over the state. Learn the basics from passionate volunteer fishing instructors. Register for a CARE class today!
 
Images and descriptions on this page are used by permission of The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection, and are protected under United States Copyright Laws. For information, contact The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection.
 
 
 
 




Content Last Modified on 5/6/2021 8:40:49 AM