State of Connecticut
On October 1, 2014, a new Connecticut State Law went into effect regulating the sale and distribution of Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems also known as electronic cigarettes or e-cigarettes. It is now against the law to sell or give any part of an e-cigarette to a minor or person under the age of 18 years old. Fines range from $200.00 for a 1st time offence, $350.00 for a 2nd offence and $500.00 for a 3rd offence within an 18 month period imposed by a judge.
It is also now against the law for a minor to possess an e-cigarette in a public space. A minor risks a $50.00 1st time infraction and up to $100.00 for each subsequent infraction imposed by a judge.
On May 5, 2016, the Food and Drug Administration deemed that electronic cigarettes fall under regulation of the Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act also known as the Tobacco Control Act. This means it is now considered a possible violation of the Tobacco Control Act if a retailer sells an electronic cigarette to a person under the age of 18 years old. Civil Money Penalties are substantial for retailers. The first time Civil Money Penalty starts at $259.00 and range to over $11,000.00 for continued violation within a 48 month period.
Learn more here:
Content Last Modified on 11/14/2018 2:09:40 PM