DEEP: Criteria Pollutants

Criteria Pollutants

EPA uses six "criteria pollutants"  (ozone, carbon monoxide, particulate matter, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen dioxide and lead) as indicators of air quality, and has established for each of them a maximum concentration above which adverse effects on human health may occur. These threshold concentrations are called National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS).


Carbon Monoxide

Particulate Matter

Sulfur Dioxide

Nitrogen Dioxide