Commercial Fishery Possession Limits
December 7, 2018
Black Sea Bass:
Effective 0001 hours Sunday, December 9, 2018, the commercial black sea bass fishery possession limit will be 300 pounds per week (0001 hours on Sunday through 2359 hours on Saturday).
Effective 0001 hours, Sunday December 9, 2018 the commercial landing limit for the harvest of summer flounder will be 1,500 pounds per week (0001 hours on Sunday through 2359 hours on Saturday). To facilitate management and enforcement of the weekly landing limit, vessel operators fishing for summer flounder must call DEEP at 860-424-3503 (anytime 24/7) prior to departure and provide: 1) vessel name 2) captain’s name 3) date of departure 4) anticipated return date and 5) anticipated port of landing. Prior to offloading summer flounder, the vessel operator must call again and provide: 1) vessel name 2) captain’s name 3) port of landing and 4) the estimated weight of summer flounder onboard.
The department was able to secure generous quota transfers from the state of Maine (1,500 pounds) and the Commonwealth of Virginia (20,000 pounds) making this possession limit increase possible.
All commercial fishery possession limits apply to the aggregate of all persons on board the vessel per trip or per day whichever is the longer period of time. Transfer of these species between vessels at sea is prohibited. When any person on a vessel is commercial fishing, the commercial possession limit applies to the entire vessel and no person on that vessel may also possess fish under a recreational creel limit.
Tautog: Will close December 25
• 10 fish – Under a Limited Access License (Principal Commercial Fishing or General Commercial Fishing Licenses);
• 3 fish – Under either a Restricted Commercial Fishing License, or Restricted Commercial Lobster Pot Fishing License.
American lobster: Open. The closed season for lobster is September 8 through November 28, inclusive. This closure applies to all gears, recreational and commercial in Lobster Management Area 6 (Long Island Sound).
• 12,000 pounds from CT waters
• 120,000 pounds outside of CT waters
• Call-in required when in possession of more than 9,000 pounds EnCon police: 860-424-3503
Bluefish: 1,200 pounds
Scup: 28,500 pounds
Smooth dogfish: 50 pounds
Spiny dogfish: 6,000 pounds
Weakfish: 100 pounds
Winter flounder: 50 pounds or 38 fish unless the fish were taken in federal waters under a federal groundfish permit.
Jonah crab: In the commercial fishery no Jonah crab less than 4.75 inches carapace width may be possessed or sold. Possession of egg bearing Jonah crabs or crabs from which the eggs have been removed is prohibited. Jonah crabs must also be landed whole. Landing claws only is prohibited. Possession of more than two loose claws per body is prohibited. The possession limit in non-trap fisheries is 200 crabs per day or 1,000 crabs per trip. There is no possession limit in the lobster pot fishery. (Connecticut licensing statutes do not allow crabs to be taken by pots other than lobster pots).
For current commercial fishery trip limits and quota status:
Call 860-434-6374 24/7 for a recorded message of current possession limits, or see: www.ct.gov/deep/TL.
The Department monitors landings and adjusts trip limits according to Department regulations in an attempt to provide fishing opportunity throughout the year for all participants in the commercial fishery. In addition, the Department strives to provide advance notification of trip limit changes, although this may not always be possible due to rapidly escalating or unanticipated landings. In such circumstances, only a short notification period may be possible.
The information provided in this notice is a summary of possession limits only. For complete information on commercial fishing regulations please see: www.ct.gov/deep/marinefishinfocirc, or contact the DEEP Marine Fisheries Division by email at firstname.lastname@example.org, by mail at PO Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 06371 or by telephone at 860.434.6043 between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.
The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer that is committed to complying with the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Please contact us at (860) 418-5910 or email@example.com if you: have a disability and need a communication aid or service; have limited proficiency in English and may need information in another language; or if you wish to file an ADA or Title VI discrimination complaint.