DEEP: Notice of Public Meetings

Notice of Public Meetings
 
December 23, 2015
 
 
A number of important changes to commercial and personal use fishery licensing have taken place for 2016 under Public Act 15-52. Notice of these changes was mailed to current and former license holders (1995-2015) in recent weeks. The changes include both some new requirements for current license holders and some limited new opportunities to diversify or enter commercial fisheries for the first time. A summary of the major changes is provided below. The attached table provides additional detail license by license. Key changes to be aware of:

• Moratorium licenses must now be renewed by March 31st.
• The fee for Personal Use Lobster Licenses has been reduced from $120 to $60.
• Quota Managed Species Endorsements – for fluke, scup, black sea bass and hand harvest of horseshoe crabs – remain under moratorium and now require annual renewal by March 31. Fee $15 per species.
• DEEP now issues the Whelk (Conch) Fishing License instead of DOA/Aquaculture. Fee $100.
• There are two new Open Access commercial fishing licenses available:

   o Restricted Commercial Fishing: allows 1) commercial hook & line fishing and 2) use of a 200 foot gill net to take menhaden only. The gill net must be manually set/retrieved and tended at all times. Species endorsements are required to take fluke, scup or black sea bass. $125 residents/$250 nonresidents. 
   o Restricted Commercial Lobster Pot Fishing: allows up to 50 pots to be fished. Applicants must already have a lobster pot allocation. Fee $125 residents / $250 nonresidents.
Marine Fisheries is holding two public meetings to present information and answer questions on the new requirements and opportunities. These meetings will be held:

Tuesday January 5, 2016 from 5:30 – 7:00 PM
and
Thursday January 7, 2016 at 7 PM
both at
CT DEEP Marine Headquarters
Boating Education Center (Building 3)
333 Ferry Rd
Old Lyme, CT

For further information:

Please refer to the 2016 Marine Fisheries Information Circular for complete details on each license. Contact the DEEP Marine Fisheries Division by mail at PO Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 06371-0719, by email at deep.marine.fisheries@ct.gov, or by telephone at 860.434.6043 between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.

Staying Informed:

Regulation changes, notices of public meetings and other important and relevant information are disseminated via the DEEP Marine Fisheries News, our periodic email notice to fishermen. If you haven’t already, you can join our email distribution list by sending an email to listserv@list.ct.gov from the email address you wish to have added. Leave the subject line blank and in the body of the email, type subscribe DEEP_marine_fisheries then leave a space and type your full name. Also, remove any signature blocks or any other text in the message body. Call our 24/7 phone line: 860.434.6374 for a recorded message detailing current commercial possession limits and other timely commercial fisheries related news.  Visit: www.ct.gov/deep/fishing for all current commercial fishery possession limits, notices to fishermen and other useful information concerning commercial and recreational fishing in Connecticut. NOTE: We do not use email addresses provided through the licensing system for commercial fishery or personal use lobster / gillnet related communication.

The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer that is committed to requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Any person with a disability who may need information in an alternative format may contact the agency's ADA Coordinator at 860-424-3194, or at deep.hrmed@ct.gov. Any person with limited proficiency in English, who may need information in another language, may contact the agency's Title VI Coordinator at 860-424-3035, or at deep.aaoffice@ct.gov.  Any person with a hearing impairment may call the State of Connecticut relay number - 711.  Discrimination complaints may be filed with DEEP's Title VI Coordinator. Requests for accommodations must be made at least two weeks prior to any agency hearing, program or event.
 
(N15-26)