Commercial Fishery Possession Limits
October 1, 2014
Black sea bass
Effective 0001 hours, Wednesday, October 1, 2014 the Connecticut possession limit for the commercial harvest of black sea bass will be zero pounds. As of September 23, 2014, 93% of the coastwide quota allocated to Connecticut has been harvested. At the current rate of landings, the Department estimates that 100% of the quota will be harvested by October 1.
Effective 0001 hours, Wednesday, October 1 , 2014 the Connecticut possession limit for the commercial harvest of scup is increased to 5,000 pounds for trawl, fish pot and commercial hook fisheries and 2,500 pounds for other gear types other than lobster pot fishing which is currently closed. The Department estimates that 57% of the commercial summer period quota allocated to Connecticut has been harvested. The Department projects, that at the current rate of landings, the quota will not be harvested by the end of the summer period on October 31.
Effective 0001 hours, Wednesday October 1, 2014 the Connecticut possession limit for the commercial harvest of bluefish is increased to 1,000 pounds. As of September 23, 2014, 15% of the annual quota has been harvested. By regulation, if less than 80% of the annual bluefish quota has been landed by October 1, 2014, the possession limit shall be increased to 1,000 pounds until a total of 95% of the annual quota has been landed, at which time the possession limit will be reduced to 100 pounds.
Summer Flounder100 pounds until 100% of the quota has been landed, at which time the possession limit shall be zero pounds. As of September 23, 75% of the annual quota has been harvested.
Reminder: The closed season for lobster is September 8 through November 28.
No person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or land Atlantic menhaden in excess of 6,000 pounds.
Effective September 8, 2014: 5,000 pounds.
The minimum size: 16". Possession Limit: 10 fish. Open season: April 1- April 30, July 1 to August 31, and October 8 to December 24, all dates inclusive.
The possession limit is 100 pounds.
The possession limit is 50 pounds or 38 fish unless the fish were taken in federal waters under a federal groundfish permit.
All of the possession limits listed above apply to the aggregate of all persons on board the vessel per trip or per day whichever is the longer period of time. Transfer of these species between vessels at sea is prohibited.
For current commercial fishery trip limits see:
Department monitors landings and adjusts trip limits according to Department regulations in an attempt to provide fishing opportunity throughout the year for all participants in the commercial fishery. In addition, the Department strives to provide advance notification of trip limit changes, although this may not always be possible due to rapidly escalating or unanticipated landings. In such circumstances, only a short notification period may be possible.
For further information, contact the DEEP Marine Fisheries Division by email at firstname.lastname@example.org, by mail at PO Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 06371 or by telephone at 860.434.6043 between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.
The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer that is committed to complying with the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Please contact us at (860) 418-5910 or email@example.com if you: have a disability and need a communication aid or service; have limited proficiency in English and may need information in another language; or if you wish to file an ADA or Title VI discrimination complaint.