TRB: New Legislation Affects Non-Vested Inactive Accounts

New Legislation Affects Non-Vested Inactive Accounts

During the 2015-16 Legislative Session, Public Act 16-91 was enacted which made changes to the CT Teachers' Retirement System concerning non-vested inactive members. This legislation became effective July 1, 2016, and requires the Connecticut Teachers' Retirement System to cease crediting interest on these accounts after ten years of inactivity.

Notices are going out to members who meet the above criteria. We recommend withdrawing your funds by submitting the Non-Vested Inactive Member Withdrawal Form (PDF 125KB) within 90 days of the date of the notice. If we do not receive the withdrawal form within 90 days of the date of the notice, no further interest will accrue beyond June 30, 2016.

To be eligible for a retirement benefit you must have a minimum of ten years of Connecticut public school service. Please be aware that if you have more than five years of service and withdraw your funds, you will forfeit the interest on your Supplemental account balance, if any. If you have less than five years of credited service, you will forfeit your contributions and the interest on your Supplemental account balance, if any.



Content Last Modified on 1/3/2017 9:34:53 AM