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Abstract

Problem: On January 1, 1997, Connecticut implemented the first phase of graduated
licensing requiring 16- and 17-year-olds to hold a learner’s permit for 6 months (4 months
with driver’s education) prior to licensure. The effect of this change was to raise the
minimum licensing age in Connecticut by 6 months (or 4 months) during which time a
young person could obtain supervised practice driving. Method: Crash rates for 16- to 18-
year-olds in Connecticut, before and after the change, were compared with crash rates in
nearby counties in New York State. Results: Fatal/injury crash involvements of
Connecticut 16-year-old drivers declined by 22% during the first full year following the
law change. Declines did not vary significantly between males and females or as a function
of the income level of the city/town in which the crash occurred. Fatal/injury crash
involvements for 17- and 18-year-olds in Connecticut and 16-, 17-, and 18-year-olds.in
New York did not change significantly. Discussion: Companion surveys of parents
conducted before and after their teen was licensed showed support for the law change and
support for additional provisions generally associated with “graduated licensing.”
Summary: Delaying teenage licensure in Connecticut, during which time a teen could
engage in more practice driving, was associated with a 22% reduction in fatal/injury crash
involvements for 16-year-old drivers. Impact on Industry: Crash reduction will be related
to a reduction in overall highway loss including medical costs, property damage, and lost
work time. © 2001 National Safety Council and Elsevier:Science Ltd. All rights reserved.
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1. Introduction

The motor-vehicle crash involvement rate for young drivers is much higher
than that for older drivers whether the rate is based on population, number of
licensed drivers, or reported miles driven (Massie, Campbell, & Williams, 1995;
Williams, Preusser, Ulmer, & Weinstein, 1995). For example, 16-year-olds have
almost 10 times the crash risk of drivers ages 30—59 and almost three times the
risk of older teenagers (Williams, 1996). Immaturity and driver inexperience have
been cited as major contributors to these high rates (Mayhew & Simpson, 1990).
The elevated fatal crash risk of 16-year-olds is primarily one of licensed drivers.
For instance, between 1994 and 1998, there were 6,145 16-year-old drivers
involved in fatal crashes, with 86% of them holding a valid license and 3%
holding a leamer’s permit. Only 9% of these drivers had neither a license nor
permit, and 1% had a suspended or revoked license (National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration, 1994-1998). A substantial number of people in the
United States first obtain their driver’s licenses at age 16. In 1997, 43% of 16-
year-olds, both males and females, was reported to have been licensed and this
rate has remained largely unchanged for the past 20 years (Federal Highway
Administration, 1998).

Once a teenager obtains a driver’s license, the frequency and the amount of
driving increases substantially. For example, a large multistate survey of trans-
portation needs and practices of high school students reported that among those
who did not have a driver’s license or learner’s permit, fewer than 2% reported
driving more than 50 miles/week. Among the students with learner’s permits,
only 5% reported driving more than 50 miles/week, whereas 44% of those with
licenses reported driving more than 50 miles/week (Preusser, 1988).

There is accumulating evidence that restricting the driving of those who are
newly licensed and/or delaying the age at which uarestricted driving is
permitted reduces crash rates for young people. For example, eliminating state
funding in Connecticut for high school driver education resulted in delays in
licensure and a reduction in young driver crashes (Robertson, 1980). Similarly, a
provision in Louisiana requiring 15-year-olds to complete driver education
before becoming licensed reduced the fatal and injury crash involvements of
this age group (Ulmer, Preusser, Ferguson, & Williams, 1999). Conversely,
steps that reduce the age at which full licensure occurs, such as permitting
earlier licensing when driver education has been completed, serve to increase
crash rates. For example, Preusser (1988) found that students from states where
teenagers typically were licensed at an early age reported more driving, risky
driving, and crashes and violations than students in states that did not typically
license until teenagers were somewhat older. The involvement rate for young
drivers in fatal crashes has been shown to be greater in states that permit earlier
practice driving and licensure than in states that delay licensure (Preusser, 1996;
Preusser, Ferguson, Williams, Leaf, & Farmer, 1998). A study of fatal and
injury crash involvements of 16-year-olds in several states with differing
licensing practices reported that rates were highest in states that allowed easy
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access to full licensure and lower in states that restricted initial licenses
(Ferguson, Leaf, Williams, & Preusser, 1996).

Recently, there has been a movement among U.S. states toward increasing the
minimum age at which an unrestricted driver’s license can be obtained. Many
states have adopted graduated licensing, a system designed to phase in driving so
that beginners can gain experience under supervised (learner’s permit) and lower-
risk (intermediate license) driving situations prior to unrestricted full-privilege
licensure (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, 1999; Insurance Institute for
Highway Safety and Traffic Injury Research Foundation, 1999). There is
increasing evidence that graduated licensing can lead to crash reductions among
beginning drivers (Langley, Wagenaar, & Begg, 1996; Mayhew, Simpson, & des
Groseilliers, 1999; Ulmer, Preusser, Williams, & Ferguson, 2000).

In 1996, Florida became the first U.S. state to adopt a comprehensive
graduated licensing system including an extended learner’s phase, an intermedi-
ate phase prohibiting unsupervised nighttime driving, and delayed full licensure if
traffic violations are accumulated. A 9% reduction in the injury crash involve-
ment tate for 15- to 17-year-olds was reported (Ulmer, Preusser, Williams &
Ferguson, 2000). In 1994, Nova Scotia adopted a graduated licensing system
applicable to all novice drivers regardless of age. The provisions include a 6-
month leamer phase and a 2-year intermediate phase during which unsupervised
nighttime driving is prohibited. An evaluation of the Nova Scotia system reported
a 37% decline in the crash involvement rate for 16-year-old drivers during the
first 3 years of the program (Mayhew et al., 1999).

On January 1, 1997, Connecticut modified its licensing requirements for 16-
and 17-year-olds by adopting one component of graduated licensing: a manda-
tory learner’s permit. Prior to this date, 16- or 17-year-olds seeking to obtain a
driver’s license were required to have a home training or driving school
certificate involving a 5-h course of study on safe driving practices and a
minimum of six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. Those choosing the home
training option had to wait 30 days following their 16th birthday to get a license.
Learner’s permits were not issued; rather, supervised practice driving generally
was permitted for people 16 years and older.

Beginning January 1, 1997, 16- and 17-year-olds seeking to obtain a driver’s
license are required to have either a public secondary driving school certificate, a
commercial driving school certificate, or a home training certificate. Those with a
home training certificate must have held the learner’s permit for at least 180 days.
Those with a commercial or secondary school certificate must have held the
learner’s permit for at least 120 days. Learner’s permits cannot be obtained until
age 16. During the learner’s period, only supervised driving is permitted, and
driving on limited access highways is prohibited for the first 90 days of the permit
period. Also, the six hours limit of required behind-the-wheel instruction was
increased to eight hours. Connecticut considered, but did not adopt, an inter-
mediate licensing phase including a nighttime driving restriction.

Because young drivers cannot obtain a learner’s permit until age 16, one effect
of this change was to add 46 months to the minimum age at which a license can
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be obtained. Therefore, this change provides the opportunity to examine the
effect of a delay in teenage licensure during which additional supervised practice
driving may occur. This study compares crash involvements among 16- to 18-
year-olds in 1997 (the first full year of the new licensing requirements) with the
previous year. Crash involvements among teenage drivers from nearby counties
in New York also were compared.

2. Methods

Using the method described by Ferguson, Leaf, Williams & Preusser. (1996),
crash rates based on the number of fatal- and injury-crash-involved drivers per
10,000 population were calculated for 16-, 17-, and 18-year-olds in 1996 and
1997. Crash ratios then were formed by dividing the crash rate for each of these
age groups by the rate for 25- to 54-year-olds, used as a reference group to
control for other in-state factors that could affect crashes. For example, let p1og
represent the annual crash rate of 16-year-olds in Connecticut per 10,000
population in. 1996 (the last full year prior to the law change), and p,o4 represent
the crash rate of the reference group that year. The crash rate ratio is defined as:

Y96 = D196 /D296

Strictly, the crash rates are random variables so the mean and variance of the
crash rate ratio will depend on the means and variances of these random
variables. However, because the reference group has many times more individ-
uals than the target group, the variance of p,g¢ is very small, making it reasonable
to consider it a constant. If a crash rate ratio for Connecticut 16-year-olds in 1997
(the first full year with the new law) is similarly defined as o7 and both rate ratios
are approximated by the normal distribution, then the appropriate statistic to test
for differences in crash ratios between 1996 and 1997 is:

1
z= (ro7 — r96)/ (Vo7 + v96)?,
where

vor = (1/P3e7)P197(1 — p197) /mi97

and

vos = (1/P396)P196(1 — P196) /m196.-

To provide additional evidence that any change in crash rates among 16- to
18-year-old drivers in Connecticut was due to the change in licensing require-
ments and not other factors that may have affected crash rates among 16- to 18-
year-old drivers in general (e.g., economic factors), similar ratios were calculated
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for the six New York counties that lie immediately to the west of Connecticut
(Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Ulster, and Westchester). These counties
bear reasonable socioeconomic, geographical, and transportation similarities to
Connecticut. Importantly, the conditions of new driver licensing during this
period remained unchanged in these New York counties, where 16-year-olds can
become licensed but are subject to a nighttime driving restriction until age 17
with driver education or age 18 without.

The crash data used in the study came, respectively, from the Connecticut
Department of Transportation, which provided copies of its computer crash data
tapes, and from the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, which
provided tabulations of crash involvements. The population data came from
published U.S. Census Bureau estimates for 1996 and 1997. In an attempt to look
. at the role of a reduced learner’s permit period among those taking driver
education, information concerning whether or not a Connecticut city/town
provided in-school driver education was obtained by calling each of the state’s
public high schools during November and December 1996. The P<.01 signifi-
cance level was adopted for all statistical tests.

3. Results
3.1. Crash rates

Population estimates, numbers of fatal- and injury-crash-involved drivers,
crash rates per 10,000 population, and the crash rate ratios by driver age for
Connecticut and the New York counties are listed in Table 1. Also listed for the

Table 1
Population estimates, crash involvements, crash rates, and crash rate ratios
Drivers in fatal/
injury crashes Fatal/injury crash
Drivers in fatal/ per 10,000 rates relative to
Population estimates  injury crashes population 25- to 54-year-olds

Driver age (years) 1996 1997 1996 1997 1996 1997 1996 1997

Connecticut

16 41,721 40,879 1351 977 324 239 1.28 1.00
17 39,387 40,480 1612 1650 409 408 1.62 1.71
18 36,970 38,076 1704 1809 461 475 1.82 1.99
25-54 1,479,681 1,480,993 37,446 35395 253 239 1.00 1.00
New York™

16 26,480 26,257 718 623 271 237 1.07 0.99
17 25,495 26,329 1086 1078 426 409 1.68 1.70
18 23,307 23,646 1139 1100 489 465 1.92 1.94
25-54 920,386 925,793 23,368 22,247 254 240 1.00 1.00

2 Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Ulster, and Westchester counties.
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Table 2
Changes in crash rate ratios
Driver age (years) State Percent change 1997 versus 1996
16 Connecticut —21.8%*
New York? -15
17 Connecticut 5.5
New York® 1.5
18 Connecticut 9.1
New York® 0.6

 Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Ulster, and Westchester counties.
#* p< 0] by z test; 1997 versus 1996 in Connecticut; and Connecticut (— 21.8%) versus New

York (— 7.5%).

various age groups are the crash rate ratios for 1996 and 1997. As noted, these
ratios were formed by dividing the crash rates for each age group by the rate for
25- to 54-year-olds. The percentage changes in crash ratios in Connecticut and
New York from 1996 to 1997 for 16-, 17-, and 18-year-olds are shown in Table 2.
The crash rate ratio for 16-year-olds in Connecticut declined by almost 22%, a
statistically significant change (z=6.00, P<.01). The ratio for 16-year-olds in the
New York counties also declined, but the difference was not statistically
significant (z=1.45, N.S.). The decline for Connecticut 16-year-olds was
significantly greater than that for New York 16-year-olds (z=—2.75, P<.01).
Ratios for 17-year-olds (z=0.70, N.S.) and 18-year-olds (z=1.53, N.S.) in
Connecticut versus New York did not change significantly.

3.2. Cities/towns

The 169 cities/towns in Connecticut were analyzed separately as a function of
per capita income (in quartiles), population, and whether or not in-school driver
education was provided by the city/town’s public high school(s). Table 3 shows
the raw numbers of fatal and injury crash involvements of 16-year-old drivers as
a function of these characteristics. Comparing the numbers of crashes in 1997
versus 1996 did not indicate any statistically significant difference in their
distribution as a function of city/town per capita income, population, or the
availability of in-school driver education. Note, however, that the data in Table 3
are based on the city/town in which the crash occurred, which may or may not be
the same city/town in which the 16-year-old driver resided.

3.3. Month

The new licensing provisions went into effect on January 1, 1997. That is, a
16-year-old who began the licensing process in 1997 had to obtain a learner’s
permit, whereas if the application had been made in late 1996, no learner’s permit
was required. At the beginning of 1997, most 16-year-olds in Connecticut had
turned 16 in 1996. As 1997 progressed, more and more teenagers turned 16 and
were licensed under the 1997 law. In January 1997, approximately 11/12 of 16-



R.G. Ulmer et al. / Journal of Safety Research 32 (2001) 3141 37

Table 3
Number of fatal and injury crash involvements of 16-year-old drivers in 1996 versus 1997, as a
function of characteristics of the cities/town

1996 (N) 1997 (V) Percent change
Per capita income
Quartile 1 335 234 -30
Quartile 2 344 260 —24
Quartile 3 279 223 - 20
Quartile 4 392 260 —34
Population
>100,000 168 132 —21
50,000-99,999 265 211 —-20
20,000-49,999 498 303 -39
10,000-19,999 298 214 —28
<10,000 121 117 -3
Driver education
Yes 532 377 —-29
No 802 594 —26

year-olds would have turned 16 in 1996 and could have been licensed under the
old law, whereas 1/12 would have turned 16 in 1997 and were now required to
hold a learner’s permit for 4—6 months. By mid-year, approximately half of the
16-year-olds would have turned 16 in 1996 and half in 1997. Other factors being
equal, the expectation is that month-to-month crash rate differences between
1996 and 1997 would be small in the early months of the year (due to fewer “old

80% r
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20% F

0%

-20% |

-40%

-60% I

-80% L L L
Jan. Feb. Mar. Apr. May June July Aug. Sept. Oct. Nov. Dec.

Note: Data points represent number of 16-year-old driver crash involvements during 1997, minus the number during
1996 divided by number during 1996 (i.c., percent change 1996 vs. 1997). For instance, during January 1997, there
were 60 percent more crash involvements than in 1996, 10 percent more in February, and 2-55 percent fewer during
the remaining months of 1997.

Fig. 1. Monthly differences in 16-year-old driver fatal/injury crash involvements, 1997 versus 1996.
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Jaw” eligible 16-year-olds) and increase in the later months. This difference
might even be negative if, for instance, some 16-year-olds decided to become
licensed in late 1996, at an earlier time than might otherwise have been the case,
in order to avoid the change in the law on January 1, 1997.

Fig. 1 shows the monthly percentage differences between the numbers of 16-
year-old driver fatal/injury crash involvements in 1997 versus 1996. As
expected, crashes in January 1997 were 60% higher than in January 1996,
possibly brought about by a rush to license among 16-year-olds. Crash involve-
ments in February and March 1997 were about equal to those a year earlier and
then fell sharply for each of the remaining months of the year. Similar
comparisons for 17- and 18-year-olds, by month for 1997 versus 1996, were
unremarkable. For instance, for January, the changes were +1% and +5% for
17- and 18-year-olds, respectively.

4. Discussion

Connecticut, for many years, has required 16- and 17-year-olds to complete
driver education or home training before they could become licensed. Prior to
1997, the state did not issue learner’s permits, so the driver education/training
requirement and licensing tests were all that stood between a new 16-year-old
and full licensure. These requirements could be satisfied in 30 days or less after
reaching 16 years of age. Beginning in January 1997, 16- and 17-year-olds are
required to hold a learner’s permit for a minimum time period before being
eligible for a driver’s license. The effect of this legislation was to delay the
licensing of 16-year-olds until they were at least 16 years, 4 months with driver
education or 16 years, 6 months with home training. Results of the present
study indicate a significant decline in fatal/injury crash involvements of 16-
year-olds in Connecticut following adoption of the required learner’s permit
holding period.

No change was found in the crash involvements of 17-year-olds despite the
fact that this age group also was subjected to the learner’s permit requirements. It
is possible that older 16- and 17-year-olds, who otherwise would have delayed
beginning the licensing process, opted to commence earlier because of the
anticipated change in the licensure requirements. Unfortunately, data on licenses
issued to various age groups could not be obtained, so the finding regarding 17-
year-olds cannot be clarified further.

The present study covers only the first year of the law change. It is expected
that in subsequent years, the effects for 16-year-olds will be greater because all
16-year-olds will be subject to the new requirements. In addition, the rush to
licensure that may have resulted in higher crash rates for the first few months of
1997 is a one-time occurrence. It is presumed that most, but not all, 17-year-olds
in Connecticut in 1997 were licensed under the old law; in subsequent years,
most will be licensed under the new law. Compared with 17-year-olds licensed in
earlier years, they will have a longer period of supervised driving and a shorter
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period of full-privilege licensed driving prior to age 17. It is not known how this
will affect crash rates.

Crash reductions generally were uniform as a function of the characteristics of
the city/town in which the crash occurred. Driver education is widely offered
throughout Connecticut, with the primary distinction being the location in which
it is taken (privately or in school), not general availability or cost. As a practical
matter, in-school driver education is not free of charge. Offering early licensure
based on completion of driver education has been shown to increase crash rates
(see, e.g., Boase & Tasca, 1998); however, the absence of a difference in crash
rates between communities with and without in-school driver education was not
surprising. To study the actual effects of allowing driver education students to be
licensed 2 months earlier, it would be necessary to identify which 16-year-olds
took driver education and how long they held their permits, and this was not
possible given the data available.

Williams, Ferguson, Leaf, & Preusser (1998) surveyed the parents of 15-
year-olds in Connecticut shortly before the implementation of the licensing
change. Although there was recognition that they and their teenagers would be
inconvenienced to some extent, 91% of parents said they supported the
minimum holding period requirement for learner’s permits. Eighty-two percent
of parents said they favored a nighttime driving curfew, a provision considered
by the Connecticut legislature but not passed. A follow-up survey with these
same families 3 years later reported that these parents were even more
supportive of the minimum holding period requirement for learner’s permits
and more supportive of nighttime driving restrictions (Ferguson, Williams,
Leaf, & Preusser, 1999). Eighty percent of parents said they had imposed their
own nighttime driving restrictions when their teenagers were first licensed.
Moreover, the percentage of parents who thought they would be inconven-
ienced or thought it would be much harder for their teenagers to get to school
and a job declined substantially.

The practical effect of the new Connecticut law was to delay licensure by as
much as 4—6 months for 16-year-olds during which time additional supervised
practice driving could occur. Results for the first full year following the change
indicated that crash involvements of 16-year-old drivers declined by 22%.
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