MEMORANDUM

TO: Governor's Teen Safe Driving Task Force

FROM: Legislative Subcommittee (Brendan Campbell, Sherry Chapman, Tim Hollister,
James MacPherson, Dean Pagani, and David Preusser)

DATE: January 9, 2008

RE: Subcommittee Report on Short-Term Legislative Recommendations

As requested, the Subcommittee met on December 21, 2007 to discuss short-term and
long-term legislative recommendations to the Governor and the Legislature. The minutes of that
meeting have been posted on the Task Force website.

At that meeting, the Subcommittee considered a preliminary memo prepared by Tim
Hollister (copy attached to December 21 minutes) and heard a presentation on Connecticut's
GDL laws from Dr. James Hedlund of Highway Safety North in Ithaca, New York. Dr. Hedlund
presented his own memo (first attachment to this memo). The Subcommittee reviewed data from
Dr. Hedlund that defines Connecticut's teenage driving problem; a "menu” of all of the potential
aspects of driver training, licensure, restrictions, and enforcement (second attachment to this
memo) and a preliminary list of recommendations for change. The Subcommittee then discussed
the preliminary list. This memo presents the Subcommittee's consensus on (1) the key aspects of
Connecticut's teenage driving safety issue; and (2) legislative changes that should be considered
in the 2008 legislative session. Longer-term legislative, policy, administrative, and educational
changes will require further discussion by the full Task Force and will be addressed separately.

(NOTE: In this memo, "teen™ is defined as ages 16 — 19. Where data or a
recommendation refer to something other than ages 16 — 19, this is stated.)
l. Defining Connecticut’s Teen Safe Driving Problem

The Subcommittee reviewed several sources of data and articles. Data for 2006 for
Connecticut were considered the most current, reliable, and pertinent. These data document the

following:

o Driving is the greatest cause of injury and death among teenagers.



The causes of, and conditions that cause, accidents, injuries, property damage, and
fatalities among teenage drivers — and thus the prime candidates for legislative
and regulatory change and improved education and awareness — are clear:

1. inadequate driver training prior to solo operation and driving with
passengers, both number of hours and type of training;

2. speeding;

3. issuing learner's permits, or intermediate or full licenses, at too young
an age;

4. repeat offenders not having their licenses suspended or revoked quickly

enough, or long enough;

5. operating under influence of alcohol or drugs;
6. driving with passengers who are not supervising drivers;
7. operating while using cell phone/electronic communications;

8. night driving;
9. bad weather driving; and

10. non-use of seat belts.

The question is what we are willing to do to curb these known risk factors.

The following are also clear from the data:

In Connecticut, in 2006, teenage drivers were involved in 50 fatalities:

24 teenage drivers (aged 16 — 19) died in traffic crashes, and an additional 26
people died in these crashes (14 passengers of the teen driver, 12 other road
users).

In Connecticut, in 2006, drivers aged 16 — 17 had 2,069 injury and fatal crash
involvements, which, adjusted for population comparison, is 39 percent higher
than the involvement rate for 35 — 49 year olds, which is the group with the safest
driving record. (The higher per population crash rate occurred despite the fact
that many 16 year olds, and some 17 year olds, are not yet licensed to drive, and
once licensed, they tend to drive fewer miles.)

In Connecticut, in 2006, drivers aged 18 — 19 had 3,221 injury and fatal crash
involvements, which, adjusted for population comparison, is 25 percent higher
than the involvement rate for 35 — 49 year olds.



The first three months of unsupervised driving (after the learner's permit period)
are the period of highest risk.

Teenagers are biologically less mature and more prone to engage in high risk
behavior than other drivers.

Connecticut annually issues learner's permits to approximately 36,000 sixteen and
seventeen year olds.

When teens have even one passenger who is not a supervising driver, their crash
rate is four times higher than 35 — 49 year old drivers.

When teens are at 0.08 percent blood alcohol content, their crash rate is three
times higher than it would be at 0.00 percent blood alcohol content and above
0.08 percent blood alcohol content, crash rates climb to five and ten times the
comparable rate for teen drivers at 0.00 percent blood alcohol level.

When teens use cell phones, even with a headset or earpiece, their crash rate is
four times that of the 35 — 49 year old population.

In 2006, teenage drivers had the most accidents, and the most serious, during the
hours of 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 a.m., and 9:00 p.m. to midnight.

Recommendations For 2008 Legislative Action

1.

2.

Eliminate "youthful offender"” pleas for moving violations.

Strengthen penalties under the "Administrative Per Se" program for teenage
drivers who fail alcohol, drug, or urine tests.

Amend Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-369(a)(4) [part of GDL requirements] to require (a)
that all passengers in all seats in any vehicle operated by a driver under age 20
wear seat belts; and (b) increase penalties for drivers 16 — 19 years old who do not
wear their seat belt, to provide for points toward license suspension/revocation.

Revise passenger restrictions for 16 — 19 year olds to sequential periods as
follows:

@ During the entire period that a teenage driver holds a learner's permit,
except for students who are in the vehicle as part of driving school or
driver education instruction, and the instructor, no passengers are
permitted except a parent or guardian who is supervising the driver.

(b) For first six months after a teenage driver progresses from a learner’s
permit to a provisional/intermediate license, no passengers except



parent/guardian or one licensed driver over 20, licensed for four years or
more, license currently valid.



(©) For next six months, add to allowable passengers immediate family
members, no others.

5. Increase the penalties for moving violations committed by teenage drivers (using
Massachusetts' newly-adopted and apparently successful matrix, reprinted below,
of penalties, suspensions, and revocations as a model).

MASSACHUSETTS LICENSE VIOLATIONS MATRIX

Violation 1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense
180 day suspension L year suspension
. ) N Driver Attitudinal
Passenger 60 day suspension Driver Attitudinal L
e X . Retraining Course Full
Restriction $100 reinstatement fee | Retraining Course
$100 reinstatement fee Exam
$100 reinstatement fee
Time . 1 year suspension
Restriction . 189 day Suspension Driver Attitudinal
S 60 day suspension Driver Attitudinal .
Violation . . Retraining Course
$100 reinstatement fee | Retraining Course
$100 reinstatement fee Full Exgm
12:30am-5am $100 reinstatement fee
Operating to 180 day suspension 1 year suspension 1 year suspension
Endanger/ $500 reinstatement Full exam Full exam
Recklessly or $500 Reinstatement $500 Reinstatement
Negligent
1 year suspension 3 year suspension 3 year suspension
Driver Attitudinal Driver Attitudinal Driver Attitudinal
Drag-Racin Retraining Course & Retraining Course & Retraining Course &
g 9 |scARR* SCARR* SCARR*
Full Exam Full Exam Full Exam
$500 reinstatement fee | $1000 reinstatement $1000 reinstatement
90 day suspension 1 year suspension 1 year suspension
Driver Attitudinal Driver Attitudinal Driver Attitudinal
Speedin Retraining Course & Retraining Course & Retraining Course &
peeding SCARR* SCARR* SCARR*
$500 reinstatement fee | $500 reinstatement fee | $500 reinstatement fee
Full Exam Full Exam Full Exam



http://www.mass.gov/rmv/jol/scarr.htm
http://www.mass.gov/rmv/jol/scarr.htm
http://www.mass.gov/rmv/jol/scarr.htm
http://www.mass.gov/rmv/jol/scarr.htm
http://www.mass.gov/rmv/jol/scarr.htm
http://www.mass.gov/rmv/jol/scarr.htm

MASSACHUSETTS PERMIT VIOLATIONS MATRIX

Violation

1st Offense

2nd Offense

3rd Offense

Unaccompanied

60 day suspension
$100 reinstatement

180 day suspension
Driver Attitudinal

1 year suspension
$100 reinstatement fee

SCARR*
Reapply for Permit
$500 reinstatement fee

SCARR*
Reapply for Permit
$1000 reinstatement fee

g;;ibgensed Reapply for Permit gle!(gglrgliggt;:tgtrﬁﬁ i fee Reapply for Permit
Reapply for Permit
1 year suspension 3 year suspension 3 year suspension
Driver Attitudinal Driver Attitudinal Driver Attitudinal
. Retraining Course & Retraining Course & Retraining Course &
Drag-Racing

SCARR*
Reapply for Permit
$1000 reinstatement fee

Time Restriction

60 day suspension

180 day suspension
Driver Attitudinal

1 year suspension
$100 reinstatement fee

Violation $100 reinstatement fee |Retraining Course Reanolv Permit
12am-5am Reapply for Permit $100 reinstatement fee PRIy
Reapply for Permit
90 day suspension 1 year suspension 1 year suspension
Speeding $100 reinstatement fee [$100 reinstatement fee |$100 reinstatement fee
Reapply for Permit Reapply for Permit Reapply for Permit
6. As soon as this can be accomplished administratively, increase the learner's
permit period of required, supervised driver training/practice from the current 20
hours to 50 hours.
7. Amend night time driving curfew for drivers 18 and younger from midnight to

10:00 p.m.; retain current exceptions.

Approved by the Subcommittee: 1/9/08



http://www.mass.gov/rmv/jol/scarr.htm
http://www.mass.gov/rmv/jol/scarr.htm
http://www.mass.gov/rmv/jol/scarr.htm

Connecticut's GDL law: current provisions, potential improvements
Briefing material for Governor's Teen Safe Driving Task Force
Subcommittee on Preliminary Legislative Recommendations
J. Hedlund
Dec. 21, 2007

1. Learner's permit

A. Minimum age
current CT: age 16
no state has a later starting age (see table)
10 start at 16; 41 start earlier, with 15 the most common age (22 states)
later starting age would reduce crashes, but may well be unrealistic

B. Holding period

need substantial holding period to permit supervised driving practice

current CT: must hold for 6 months, reduced to 4 with driver ed
6 months is standard (41 states)
all states with longer holding period have earlier starting age

research shows longer holding periods delay licensure and reduce crashes

reduction in holding period for driver ed provision only in CT and SD

consider extending holding period to 6 months with driver ed, 8 months without
(recommended by CT Teen Safe Driving Partnership)

C. Supervised driving
need supervised driving to practice driving skills and safe driving practices
current CT: 20 hours, at home or in driver ed
of 41 states with a requirement, only 3 other states require 20 hours (table)
standard is 40-50 hours
requirement appears to produce more supervised driving
consider expanding to 40-50 hours

2. Intermediate license

A. Nighttime restriction
crash risk higher at night; restrictions reduce exposure to high-risk conditions
research shows restrictions generally obeyed, restrictions reduce crashes
current CT: midnight — 5 am
key is starting time
note 2006 data for CT drivers age 16-17 in injury crashes
108 between midnight — 5 am
70 between 11 pm — midnight
80 between 10 pm — 11 pm
85 between 9 pm — 10 pm
so each earlier restricted hour has potential to affect substantial
crashes



19 states currently start nighttime restrictions at 11 pm or earlier (table)
consider starting at 9 or 10 pm

B. Passenger restrictions
crash risk higher with teen passengers; restrictions reduce crash risk
research shows restrictions generally obeyed at first, but less so over time
restrictions reduce crashes
current CT:  first 3 months — none other than supervising driver and/or parent
next 3 months — family members only
longer restricted period may produce lower compliance rates

C. Belt use requirement
current CT: all front seat passengers age 7+ must wear belts, no rear seat
requirement
no belt use requirement in GDL law
a few states have a belt use provision in GDL law
ex: DE - if a teen driver with learner's permit or their passenger under
age 18 is unbelted, the learner's permit is suspended for 2 months
NC - fine for any unbelted passenger is $100 ($25 for regular belt
use law), next licensing level delayed
research shows belts reduce injury in crashes
consider requiring belt use for all passengers of learner's and intermediate
licensees
penalty could be suspended license, license points, and/or delayed next license
stage (recommended by CT Teen Safe Driving Partnership)

3. Unrestricted license

A. Minimum age
current CT is 18 (nighttime restrictions are lifted)
unrealistic to set higher minimum age
9 other states have minimum age 18 (table)
no proposals on the table to change this

Selected resources

Current GDL requirements, by state: "U.S. Licensing Systems for Young Drivers," [IHS
www.iihs.org/laws/pdf/us_licensing_systems.pdf

Summary of GDL implementation, evaluations, and components, with references: J. Hedlund,
Novice teen driving: GDL and beyond, J. Safety Research 38 (2007), 259-266.

Summary of research on GDL components: A. Williams, Contribution of the components of
graduated licensing to crash reductions, J. Safety Research 38 (2007), 177-184.



One-page discussions of GDL and components: "Countermeasures That Work," Chapter 6,
Young Drivers. www.nhtsa.gov/publications/HS810710/index.htm

One-page fact sheets on learner's permit holding period, nighttime restrictions, passenger
restrictions, technology and young drivers, key GDL influences and partners, and research-
implementation-evaluation: National Safety Council. www.nsc.org/gdl/.

Graduated Driver Licensing Tool Kit, with one-page discussions of policy overview, what
works, nighttime restrictions, passenger restrictions, alcohol restrictions, safety belt
restrictions, parental enforcement issues, talking points, and resource list: Centers for
Disease Control. www.healthystates.csg.org/Publications/
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State graduated driver licensing criteria as of December 2007
source: IHS (www.iihs.org/laws/pdf/us_licensing_systems.pdf)

Minimum age for learner's permit

14 6 states
14-6 mo 2
14-9 mo 1
15 22
15-6 9
15-9 1
16 10, inc. CT
Minimum holding period for learner's permit
none 1 state
10 days 1
2 mo 1
6 mo 41 *,inc CT
9 mo 2 (IL — learner's permit at 15; VA — learner's permit at 15-6)
12 mo 5 (all with learner's permit at 15)

* reduced to 3 mos. in SD with driver ed, reduced to 4 mos. in CT with driver ed

Minimum age for intermediate license

14-6 mo 1 state

15 2

15-6 3

16 33

16-1 1

16-3 2

16-4 1, CT

16-6 7

17 1
Minimum age for unrestricted license (higher without driver ed in 3 states)

16 7 states

16-6 mo 10

16-9 1

17 19

17-1 1

17-6 1

17-9 1

17-11 1

18 10, inc CT

Supervised driving hours
none 10 states

11



20 hrs 4,inc CT

30 5

35 1

40 10

50 19

69 2

Nighttime restriction starting time (earlier start on weekdays in 4 states)

none 5 states
sunset 1

8 pm 1

9pm 2

10 pm 4

11 pm 11
midnight 19,inc CT
1am 6

Passenger restriction
number of teen passengers allowed during initial intermediate license period

0 15 states, inc CT
1 21
2 2
3 2
no limit 11

length of any passenger restriction (unless minimum age comes first; see below)

3 mos 2 states
5 mos 1

6 mos 11,inc CT
12 mos 6

age at which any passenger restriction may be removed (some states require driver ed)
15-6 mos 1 state
16
16-3
16-4
16-6
16-8
16-9
16-10
17
17-6
17-11
18
no limit

-
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(from December 18, 2007 preliminary memo)

Categories And Options For Legislative Change (an effort to list completely the elements of
teen driver regulation)

1. Minimum age for
a. Learner's permit
b. Intermediate/provisional license
C. Full license

2. Required hours of

a. Professional instruction
b. Parent/guardian-supervised instruction
3. Type of instruction

a. Rules of the road

b. Basic operations, turns, movements

C. Vehicle safety features (such as seat belts and air bags)

d. Safe driving best practices

e. Evasive maneuvers

f. Practice/training in difficult conditions
1) at night
2 rain

3) snow/ice

4 other limited visibility conditions
Higher/highway speed driving

Driving in heavy traffic

Effects of alcohol and drugs on driver performance
Effects of passengers on driver performance

Effects of cell phones/electronics on driver performance

oo Ta

4. Training of new drivers in applicable laws
Moving violations

Speeding

License suspensions

License revocations

Driver re-training

Investigatory stops

Court appearances

Financial penalties/fines

Criminal penalties/imprisonment
Penalties for alcohol, drugs, electronics use
Insurance requirements

License and registration requirements
Emission stickers

Curfews

S3-—RT o SQ@moo0oTe

13



10.

11.

12.

Financial costs of driving

Licensing fees

Training course fees

Insurance costs

Fuel costs

Vehicle repair costs

Property damage from accidents

o Q0o

Types of vehicles driven by teens; is training appropriate to vehicles driven?
(e.q., two door sedan vs. SUV vs. pickup truck)

Parent oversight/responsibility

a. Training supervision
b. Parent-teen contracts
C. Parent ability to obtain license revocation/suspension through DMV

Permitted hours of operation

a. Early morning (before sunrise)

b. Evening (6:00 p.m. to 12:00 a.m.)
C. Late night (12:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m.)

Passenger limitations

a. Supervising drivers
b. Immediate family
C. Others — number and relationships

Exceptions to operating restrictions

a. Employment

b. Medical

C. Family

d. Religion

Law enforcement

a. License suspension

b. License restrictions

C. Investigatory stops

d. Parent-initiated suspensions/revocations

Technology

a. Global positioning systems (in cell phones or on board)

b. On board breathalyzer

C. One way cell phones (no outgoing calls once vehicle starts)
d. Mandatory seat belts (vehicle will not start)

e. On board speed monitoring and reporting (e.g., Safeco's Teensurance)

14



13. Other

Availability of "youthful offender” status plea/plea bargaining
Accelerated rehabilitation

Equalized penalties for failing substance abuse testing

Teen driver vehicle identification stickers

cooe

494133
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