SERC: Chemical Inventory Reporting (Tier II)

 Tier II - Emergency and Hazardous Chemical Inventory FAQs

Who must comply with this reporting requirement?

Under EPCRA Section 312, facilities and businesses are required to report inventories of substances or products that meet or exceed reporting thresholds.  They must submit a Tier II Emergency and Hazardous Chemical Inventory report by March 1st of each year for the inventory of hazardous substances or chemicals stored on site during the previous calendar year.

What type of information is required to be reported in a Tier II submission?
Tier II information provides the state and local officials and the public with specific information on the amounts and location of hazardous chemicals present at a facility during the previous calendar year. 
  • The calendar year for the reporting period.
  • An indication whether the information being reported on page one of the form is identical to that submitted last year.
  • The complete name and address of the location of your facility (include the full street address or state road, city, county, state and zip code), latitude and longitude.
  • An indication if the location of your facility is manned or unmanned.
  • An estimate of the maximum number of occupants present at any one time.  If the location of your facility is unmanned, check the box marked N/A, not applicable.
  • The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code for your facility.
  • The Dun & Bradstreet number of your facility.
  • Facility identification numbers assigned under the Toxic Release Inventory (TRI) and Risk Management Program.  If your facility has not been assigned an id number under these programs or if your facility is not subject to reporting under these programs, check the box marked N/A, not applicable.
  • An indication whether your facility is subject to the chemical accident prevention requirements under Section 112(r) of the Clean Air Act (CAA), codified in 40 CFR part 68, Chemical Accident Prevention Provisions, also known as the Risk Management Program.
  • The name, mailing address, phone number and email address of the owner or operator of the facility.
  • The name, mailing address, phone number, Dun & Bradstreet number and email address of the facility's parent company. These are optional data elements.
  • The name, title, phone number, 24-hour phone number and email address of the facility emergency coordinator, if applicable.
  • The owner's or operator's full name, mailing address and phone number.
  • Emergency contact and phone numbers of at least one local individual or office that can act as a referral if emergency responders need assistance in responding to a chemical accident at facility.  Also an emergency phone number where such emergency information will be available 24 hours a day. 
  • An indication whether the information being reported is identical to that submitted the previous year.
  • Certification - The owner or operator or the officially designated representative of the owner or operator must certify that all information included in the "Tier2 Submit" submission is true, accurate and complete on a Connecticut Tier2 Submit Certification (PDF, Word). 
  *  New in 2016:  In an effort to go paperless, Connecticut's EPCRA Certification Page will now be accepted electronically.  Please print, sign and scan.  Then, add it as a second attachment to the electronic Tier II submittal email.
Are there any new reporting requirements? effective as of the 2013 reporting year?

Effective 2013, there were new and optional reporting requirements.  See EPA Fact Sheet:  Revisions to the Emergency and Hazardous Chemical Inventory Forms for the requirements that were to be included in the March 1, 2014 reports and all subsequent reports.
What are some typical reporting examples?  (Source:  EPA, Region 1)
  • Most pesticides contain EHSs and have Tier II reporting thresholds from 1-10,000 lbs.
  • If you store more than 1,562 gallons of heating oil, you have exceeded the reporting threshold.
  • A walk-in cooler or refrigeration system with more than 500 lbs of ammonia requires reporting.
  • A facility with 500 lbs of nitric or sulfuric acid must report.
  • If you use 100 lbs of hydrofluoric acid (hydrogen fluoride) you must report.
  • If you alter (cut, weld, grind, braze) more than 10,000 lbs of metal stock, your facility must report.
  • If you sell or service industrial batteries that contain sulfuric acid, you may have to report.
  • Contractors may have a reporting responsibility for construction materials on site.
  • Owners, operators or renters of warehouses may have to report.
  • Bleaching/cleaning solutions containing sodium hypochlorite are reportable.
  • If you have a total of 10,000 lbs (2,500 gallons) of propane for heating or distribution, you must report.
What information may be withheld from disclosure in a Tier II submission?
Please refer to the EPA Tier II Instructions regarding withholding location information.  For withholding the chemical name or the common name of the chemical refer to EPA Trade Secret Substantiation Instructions.
Where can I find information regarding chemicals and hazardous substances?
Each hazardous substance has its own properties and behaviors, the potential for exposure and the nature of the effects vary widely.  Each chemical profile includes physical/chemical properties, reactivity data, precautions for safe handling and use, and protective equipment for emergency situations.    The Tier Two Form requires the chemical name or the common name of the chemical as provided on the Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) and its CAS registry number.  

What is the reporting threshold for gasoline and diesel fuel at retail gas stations that store their product entirely underground and are in full compliance with underground storage tank requirements?

Refer to EPA Amendments to Hazardous Chemical Reporting Thresholds for Gasoline and Diesel Fuel at Retail Gas Stations, Final Rule, 64 CFR 7031 (PDF) that raised the reporting threshold for gasoline to 75,000 gallons and diesel fuel to 100,000 gallons at retail gas stations that store their product entirely underground and are in full compliance with the Underground Storage Tank requirements

Is a state facility exempt from Tier II reporting requirements?

The federal law, EPCRA Sections 311 and 312 apply to owners and operators of facilities who must prepare or make available MSDS under the federal OSHA and its implementing regulations.  The federal OSHA applies to "employers" and states are excluded from the federal definition of "employers."   However, the federal law does not preempt existing state or local laws.  CONN-OSHA administers the states' occupational safety program in lieu of the federal government's OSHA program.  The federal and state reporting requirements establish ground rules for submitting information about the presence of hazardous chemicals in the communities.  Therefore, from the SERC's perspective state facilities are not exempt from the CGS, Sections 22a-609 and 22a-610 reporting requirements nor from Conn-OSHA standards and implementing regulations.  

What are the requirements for Lead Acid Battery Reporting Under EPCRA?

OSHA determined that lead acid batteries are hazardous chemicals under the OSHA definition since there are chemical and physical hazards associated with them.  Lead acid batteries have the potential to emit hydrogen gas which, upon ignition, may result in a fire or explosion.  Furthermore, OSHA’s Directive on Inspection Procedures for the Hazardous Communication Standard state that lead acid batteries do not fall under the article exemption because they have the potential to leak, spill, or break during normal conditions of use, including foreseeable emergencies.  For more guidance regarding mixture, or non-EHS chemicals, review the EPA issued guidance on April 4, 2007 a Lead Acid Battery Reporting Guidance under EPCRA Sections 311 and 312.

What are the reporting requirements for hazardous chemical exemption for solids?

Refer to the EPA interpretation (PDF).  

Is there specific software designed for entering facility information on the Tier II form?

Yes, Tier2 Submit is free, personal computer software developed by EPA and NOAA for use by facilities in submitting Tier Two Chemical Inventory Reports.  The software assists you through the preparation of the Tier Two form.  The DEEP prefers the electronic submission of a Tier2 Submit form by use of the Tier2 Submit software, however, it is not a mandatory reporting tool.  The Tier2Submit software is available for use by facilities in their preparation of their annual electronic chemical inventory report.     

I used Tier2 Submit software last year to report my facility's Tier II  information.  Do I need to download Tier2 Submit software each year?

Yes, facilities must use the current Tier2 Submit software to report Tier II information for the prior reporting year.  The software is updated every year to include new reporting requirements and software system improvements.  Users can import their last year data into the current Tier2 Submit software; refer to the EPA Tier II Instructions, or the Tier2 Submit Facility Submission Guide.

When is the Tier II form due? 

As indicated above all forms are due on or before March 1 (postmarked by March 1).  Forms may be submitted in the following formats: CD, email or paper. All electronic forms must be validated by the Tier2 Submit software feature prior to submission.

What steps must be taken to ensure my email containing a Tier II form is recognized as a formal document?

To ensure your email is recognized as a formal document and not spam, the email subject line should reflect the following wording "(Name of your facility), Tier II."  All emails must be directed to

If I file an electronic Tier II form or CD containing a Tier2 Submit form, is there any other certification required? 

Yes, when the Tier II form is filed electronically or by CD, a signed Connecticut Tier2 Submit Report Certification (PDF, Word) must be submitted because the DEEP is not accepting electronic signatures.  On the Connecticut Tier2 Submit Report Certification, the preparers' signature, title and date is required.  Also, the signature of the owner or operator of the facility or the officially designated representative of the owner/operator, title and date is required. 

  *  New in 2016:  In an effort to go paperless, Connecticut's EPCRA Certification Page will now be accepted electronically.  Please print, sign and scan.  Then, add it as a second attachment to the electronic Tier II submittal email.

Who do I submit a Tier II form to?

Tier II forms must be submitted to the SERC at  You must submit Tier II information to the LEPC (PDF) and the fire department who has  jurisdiction over your facility.  Please be aware that towns have various practices for collecting Tier II information.  The facility owner or operator should contact the LEPC chairperson (if there is one appointed) and Fire Department for the town's specific submission requirements.  If a town LEPC belongs to a regional LEPC  (PDF) (note regions may have various roles depending upon the region needs) the submitter should first contact town LEPC to verify who (region or local LEPC or fire department) is accepting the Tier II form. 

Who requires the submission of locations of hazardous chemicals or site plan with the Tier II form?

The SERC does not require a description of the precise locations of the hazardous chemicals at your facility.  It is recommended by the SERC that you contact your local Fire Department who has jurisdiction over your facility to determine if a site plan or a description of the precise location of the hazardous chemicals is required to be submitted with your facility Tier II form.

Helpful Links

Occupational Safety and Health Administration's (OSHA) Hazard Communication Standard   

Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know CT Business and Facility Required Reporting Guidance (PDF)

Definition of hazardous chemical under the OSHA regulations found at 29 CFR 1910.1200(c). 

Extremely Hazardous Substances (refer to the Final Rule, Appendix A and B).

July 13, 2010 EPA published in the federal register Guidance on Reporting Options for EPCRA Sections 311 and 312 and Interpretations (PDF).

Contact Information    



Tier2 Submit problems

(703) 227-7650 (phone) (e-mail)

For answers to questions about completing Tier II Forms

Superfund, TRI, EPCRA, RMP & Oil Information Center is a publicly accessible service that provides up-to-date information on several EPA programs. 
Website: (Contact Us via Internet Form)
Phone:  1-800-424-9346 or TDD (800) 553-7672
Monday - Thursday 10 am - 5 pm Eastern
Extended Hours of Operation (May, June, July)
Monday - Friday 9 am - 5 pm Eastern 

This overview is designed to provide basic information regarding the law and regulations.  Please note that the definitions used in this guidance are found in regulation. It is the responsibility of the facility owner or operator to obtain and comply with all reporting requirements. Note: SERC/DEEP/EPA Information Specialists staff do not provide regulatory interpretations.  They do, however maintain up-to-date information on the availability and distribution of publications and other resources pertaining to EPCRA programs.

Content Last Updated February 2016