POSTC: DWI Enforce SFS 10-30

DWI Enforcement, Standardized Field Sobriety Testing

 

TUITION:       No Cost 

 

COURSE ANNOUNCEMENT

 

 

The Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection, Police Officer Standards and Training Council’s Field Services Training Division, in partnership with the Connecticut Highway Safety Office, the Connecticut Police Chiefs Association and the Manchester Police Department has scheduled a comprehensive 3 day - 24 hour training program titled “DWI Enforcement, Standardized Field Sobriety Testing.”  The training session will be held Monday, October 30, 2017 through Wednesday, November 1, 2017 from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the Connecticut Police Academy, 285 Preston Avenue, Meriden, CT. Instruction for this training course will be provided by Connecticut’s Highway Safety Office Utilizing POSTC certified instructors.

 

This course will give the officer the knowledge and skills to identify vehicles driven by potentially impaired drivers, and to establish probable cause for that driver’s arrest.  This course will aid the officer in prosecution of DWI cases. 

 

Information will be provided on all facets of Connecticut’s operating under the influence statute.  Attendees will also receive the latest training in accordance with the 2015 revised National Highway Traffic Standards Administration (NHTSA) guidelines including a one-day wet lab.  The course has the following objectives:      

  • Have an improved ability to detect and apprehend violators under the influence of alcohol;
  • Identify medical and physical problems which portray symptoms of alcohol impairment;
  • Be able to identify driver behavior associated with DWI or DUID operation;
  • Understand and be able to be proficient in the delivery of the N.H.T.S.A. Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (SFST) battery; We Have two Optimologists, Dr. Bertolli and Dr. Panonne who volunteer their services at every class and present an hour on the medical aspects of HGN.
  • Understand state statutes and case law dealing with DWI enforcement. Our TRSP does a three hour presentation on  the Legal Environment and DMV does a three hour presentation on PerSe  A wet Lab is conducted on the same day
  • Understand and be able to prepare and present competent testimony in DWI cases. 

We all know on how hard it is to conduct a Wet Lab, Procurement, Volunteers, Costs, locations etc.   For this reason this class is limited to a maximum of 20 police officers.    

 

Please complete the registration form located on our website at www.ct.gov/post and forward to the attention of Barbara Fullenwiley by email at Barbara.fullenwiley@ct.gov or fax to (203) 238-6119. The deadline date is October 17, 2017.  If you have any questions, please contact Timothy Coon, Curriculum Manager at 203-427-2625. 

 

Students who successfully complete the training program will be eligible for Review Training Credit as follows: 18 hours of review Training Credit Curriculum Area II: Police and the Law, 2 hours, Curriculum Area VI: Patrol Procedures, 16 hours.

 

There is no cost for this course.   

 

Coffee break refreshments are available daily at the Academy for a small fee.  Lunch may be purchased at nearby restaurants.  The uniform dress code for POSTC In-Service Training (POSTC General Notice 90-03) will be in effect.  We ask all training supervisors to inform assigned personnel that they represent their agency and are required to dress accordingly.


COURSE REGISTRATION FORM



Content Last Modified on 9/25/2017 9:51:02 AM