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Office Of                                  
The Victim Advocate 

505 Hudson Street 

Hartford, CT 06106 

Phone: 860-550-6632 

Fax: 860-560-7065 

E-mail: ova.info@ct.gov 

Office of  

The Victim Advocate  

Child Abuse Care Line (24 hr.) 

1-800-999-5545  

CONNSACS-  Sexual Assault (24 hr.)     

1-888-999-5545/En Espanol  1-888-568-8332                       

CT Bar Association 

1-860-223-4400 

DOC Victim Services Unit (24 hr.) 

1-888-869-7057  

Domestic Violence – CCADV (24 hr.) 

 1-888-774-2900 

Elder Abuse (24 hr.) 

1-888-385-4225 

INFO-Line (24 hour service) 

211    

MADD Mothers Against Drunk Driving  - (24 hr.)  

1-800-544-3690 

Office of the Child Advocate 

1-800-994-0939 

Office of Victim Services (OVS)               

 1-800-822-8428 

(OVS for information, court advocacy, counseling,  

notification and victim compensation) 

Safe at Home  

Contact the Secretary of the State’s Office 

860-509-6200 

Survivors of Homicide, Inc.                                

1-888-833-4764 

Witness Protection Program 

Contact the Office of the Chief State’s Attorney 

860-258-5800 

 

 

If you feel your rights as a crime victim have been 

violated or you have questions or concerns  

regarding victim rights please contact our office : 

 

The Office  

Of The Victim Advocate 

1-860-550-6632 

Toll Free 1-888-771-3126 

Property Crime 

Information  



About the OVA 

The Office of the Victim Advocate (OVA) was 

established as an independent state agency to 

protect and promote the legal rights of crime 

victims in Connecticut. 

 

Among its many responsibilities, the OVA 

provides oversight and advocacy when the 

criminal justice system fails crime victims. 

 

The OVA may receive and review complaints 

of persons concerning the actions of any state 

or other entity providing services to crime 

victims. When appropriate, the OVA, may 

initiate an investigation into the 

circumstances of a complaint. 

 

The Victim Advocate is authorized by law to 

file a limited special appearance in any court 

proceeding for the purpose of advocating for a 

victim when certain rights have been violated. 

 

In addition, the OVA conducts programs of 

public education, undertakes legislative 

advocacy and recommends changes in state 

policies concerning the treatment and 

protection of crime victims, including changes 

in the system of providing direct services to 

victims. 

Services Available  

Restitution: As a crime victim you have the right to ask for 
and receive restitution. Restitution is, generally speaking, the 
out of pocket expenses associated with the crime you have 
suffered. In CT restitution can be ordered through both 1) a 
condition of probation and 2) a written order of restitution. 
The Written Order of Restitution is similar to a Civil Judgment 
but without the hassle of hiring an attorney and going 
through the Civil Court process.  The written order of 
restitution can be requested by the prosecutor or the victim 
and ordered by a Judge at the end of a case. The order is good 
for 10 years.   

 
Victim Compensation: You may hear the words “Victim 
Compensation” and wonder if you are eligible.  In Connecticut 
victim compensation is limited to victims who have suffered a 
physical injury.  To learn more about victim compensation 
please refer to the CT Judicial website: www.jud.ct.gov  
 
Plea and Sentence:   
In Connecticut as a crime victim you have the right to make 
an impact statement at (1) plea and (2) sentencing.  You can 
make this statement in writing or verbally or both.  The 
impact statement should include how the crime has affected 
you and your family, detail any out of pocket expenses you 
and your family suffered as a result of the crime and what you 
and your family would like to see happen to the offender. This 
last piece is really about more than jail or probation.  This is 
your opportunity to inform the Court as to what you feel is 
the appropriate sentence and you can request any of the 
following: substance abuse counseling, anger management, 
mental health counseling, stay away or no contact orders, 
restitution, and the like.  

A Message from the State Victim 
Advocate? 

The Office of the Victim 
Advocate, is the state of 
Connecticut’s crime victim’s 
rights agency. The OVA 
assists crime victims  in 
protection  of their state 
Constitutional and statutory 
rights.  
 
This brochure is  meant to 
provide useful information 
and help crime victims 
affected by property crime. 
Please feel free to contact 
the OVA office if you need 
assistance or are concerned 

or confused with the progress of  your case. We are here to 
assist crime victims and their families. The criminal justice 
system can be confusing and complex, especially if you are a 
victim of a crime.  Crime victims have rights and the OVA can 
assist through this difficult and often frightening process.  
 
As a victim of a crime you may feel lost or confused, which is 
understandable.  This brochure will hopefully clarify the 
services available to you and help you understand the limits 
of the crime justice system.  This brochure will hopefully 
provide a road map to how to be successful in seeking justice 
in the Criminal Justice System.  

Michelle S. Cruz, Esq.              

CT State Victim Advocate   

The Connecticut Crime Justice System:  In Connecticut, once the offender involved in the crime committed against you has been arrested, 
you must take certain steps to be included in the Criminal Justice System and to ensure that you receive information regarding the criminal 
case where you are a victim.  The first step is to write a letter to the States’ Attorney’s Office involved in your case.  This letter should provide 
the State’s Attorney with your contact information, address and phone number, as well as a clear statement indicating your interest in the 
criminal case.  The letter should include what information you will be seeking.  Here are some examples:  you may seek: to be consulted prior 
to the State’s Attorney communicating any plea or sentence recommendation to the offender, including updated offers or pleas made to the 
offender; restitution (see Restitution for further information), an order from the Court that the offender stay away from you, your family and/
or residence; and/or court dates and status of the criminal case.   
 
Victim Advocate:  As a crime victim you may hear the term “victim advocate”. In Connecticut there are several types of victim advo-
cates.  There are advocate provided to victims in Court who have suffered a physical injury.  There are victim advocates for victims of domes-
tic violence to assist victims of domestic violence.  There are victim advocates for victims of sexual assault (CONNSACS) and victim advocate 
for victims of drunk drivers (MADD) who can accompany these victims to court.  It may be frustrating to know there are, at this time, not 
specific advocates for property crime victims, whoever, you can ask a victim advocate in Court for assistance and if they are available they can 
assist you.  You also have a right, through our state Constitution, to speak with the prosecutor handling your case.  Although there may be 
more than one prosecutor handling your case, you still have a right to speak with the prosecutor who in handling your case on the next court 
date.  The OVA is also always available to assist a crime victim regardless of the type of crime the victim has endured.  
 
What else do I need to know as a crime victim to be successful:  When you meet with the prosecutor, make sure you understand what is 
being said, and ask questions if you don’t.  Take notes and read back the information you have to ensure your are correct in your understand-
ing of what will happen in the case. Follow up each meeting with a letter, types or hand written, with a summary of what was said by the 
prosecutor or individual you spoke.  When you speak with professionals within the Courts, make sure you take names and ask with whom the 
individual works for.  The criminal justice system can be intimidating, if you have a friend or relative who can go with you, bring them.  And 
keep asking questions until you are clear as to what is happening with your case.   


