FOREIGN ORDERS OF PROTECTION

If you have a foreign order of protection that meets fed-
eral standards, see 18 USC 2265, it can be enforced in
Connecticut whether or not the order has been regis-
tered in Connecticut and has been entered into Con-
necticut's automated registry of protective orders. The
Violence Against Women Act, which is a federal law,
states that all valid restraining orders granted in the
United States receive “full faith and credit” in all state
and tribal courts within the US, including US territories.

A foreign order of protection shall be presumed valid if
such order appears authentic on its face. The fact that
a foreign order of protection has not been entered into
Connecticut's automated registry of protective orders
shall not be grounds for refusing to enforce such order
in this state.

A law enforcement officer shall enforce a foreign order
of protection in accordance with its terms and the law
of this state, and shall arrest any person suspected of
violating such order and charge such person with crimi-
nal violation of a restraining order.

A foreign order of protection may be regjstered in Con-
necticut by sending to the Superior Court in this state:
(1) A letter or other document requesting registration;
(2) two copies, including one certified copy, of the for-
eign order of protection sought to be registered and a
statement under penalty of perjury that, to the best of
the knowledge and belief of the petitioner, the order
has not been modified; and (3) the hame and address
of the person seeking registration, except if the disclo-
sure of such name and address would jeopardize the
safety of such person. Upon receipt of the documents
the registering court shall: (1) Cause the foreign order
of protection to be filed as a foreign judgment, together
with one copy of any accompanying documents and
information, regardless of their form; and (2) cause the
foreign order of protection to be entered in Connecti-
cut's automated registry of protective orders together
with any accompanying information required or permit-
ted to be contained in the registry of protective orders
pursuant to the procedures adopted by the Chief Court
Administrator.

Violation of a standing criminal restraining order is a
class D felony, punishable by up to (5) years in prison, a
$5,000 fine, or both.
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RESTRAINING ORDERS

Restraining orders are issued by the Family Division
of the Civil Courts.

A crime victim may file an application with the civil
court to obtain a restraining order to stop a continu-
ous threat of present physical pain or physical injury
from a spouse, former spouse, family or household
member, and includes a person in a dating relation-
ship or past dating relationship. Additionally, re-
straining orders may include orders of temporary cus-
tody or visitation of minor children. Restraining or-
ders remain in effect for (6) six months, unless ex-
tended by the court upon the applicant's request for
such additional time as the court deems necessary.
A victim has a right to apply for a restraining order
even if a “no contact” or protective order has been
issued by the Criminal Court.

After a victim applies for a restraining order the court
may grant the victim a temporary (Ex Parte) order.
Even if the court does not grant the victim a tempo-
rary ex parte order, the court will schedule a full court
hearing within 14 days. Once the judge has set a
hearing date, the victim must arrange to serve the
abuser with the court papers. Service must be made
by a proper officer. The Court Clerk's Office main-
tains a list of proper officers.

A notice of hearing is required not less than (5) five
days prior to the hearing date.

A restraining order generally terminates in 14 days
(Temporary Ex Parte), or 6 months (After Hearing),
unless modified or extended by the Court.

Once the order is granted by the court, the clerk will
enter the order into the Connecticut Automated Reg-
istry of Protective Orders.

Violation of a restraining order is a class D felony,
punishable by up to (5) five years in prison, a $5,000
fine, or both.

PROTECTIVE ORDERS

Protective Orders are issued by the Criminal Courts.
Typically, the protective order is issued at arraign-
ment, but it can be issued at any time during the
pending criminal proceeding.

A protective order terminates when the court disposes
of the underlying criminal case, unless vacated by the
court prior to disposition.

Notice of the protective order is provided to the defen-
dant at court.

A crime victim may obtain a protective order upon the
arrest of the offender for family violence, stalking or
harassment crimes. Public Act 08-84 expanded
courts’ authority to issue protective orders. Beginning
on October 1, 2008, the court may also issue a pro-
tective order when a person is arrested for commit-
ting or attempting to commit certain risk of injury of-
fenses against a child under the age of 16, sexual
assault in the 1st 2nd 3rd or 4th degree, first-degree
aggravated assault of a minor or third-degree sexual
assault with a firearm.

Once a protective order is issued by the court, the
court clerk must send a copy of the protective order to
the crime victim. The court clerk must also send a
certified copy of the order, within 48 hours of its issu-
ance, to the appropriate law enforcement agency/
agencies. In some situations, it may be advisable for
a victim to also seek a restraining order in family
court for additional court-ordered protections.

Once the order is granted by the court, the clerk will
enter the order into the Connecticut Automated Regis-
try of Protective Orders.

Violation of a protective order is a class D felony, pun-
ishable by up to (5) five years in prison, a $5,000 fine,
or both. A violation also violates bail or release condi-
tions and may result in a court raising the amount of
bail or revoking release.

STANDING CRIMINAL
RESTRAINING ORDERS

Standing criminal restraining orders are issued by the
Criminal Courts. Typically, the standing criminal restrain-
ing order is issued at the time of sentence, but it can be
issued after the defendant has begun serving his/her
sentence.

A standing criminal restraining order remains in effect
unless and until it is modified or revoked by the criminal
court for good cause shown upon motion and hearing,

Notice of the standing criminal restraining order is pro-
vided to the defendant at court.

A victim may obtain a standing criminal restraining order
if a person is convicted of certain offenses of assault,
sexual assault, stalking, harassment, criminal violation
of a protective order, criminal violation of a restraining
order, or attempt or conspiracy to violate any said sec-
tions or murder, against a family or household member,
or any crime that the court determines constitutes a
family violence crime or attempt or conspiracy to commit
any such crime. If a person is convicted of any crime
against a family or household member other than a
crime specified above, the court may, for good cause
shown, issue a standing criminal restraining order. This
order will remain in effect forever into the future unless
and until it is modified or revoked by the court.

Once the order is granted by the court, the clerk will en-
ter the order into the Connecticut Automated Registry of
Protective Orders

Violation of a standing criminal restraining order is a
class D felony, punishable by up to (5) five years in
prison, a $5,000 fine, or both.



