OPM: Regional Planning Organizations (RPO)

Regional Councils of Governments (RCOGs) in Connecticut

Description | Meetings | Members


Connecticut’s planning regions provide a geographic framework within which municipalities can jointly address common interests, and coordinate such interests with state plans and programs.  State statutes authorize the secretary of the Office of Policy and Management (OPM) to designate or redesignate the boundaries of logical planning regions, whereas the member municipalities of each planning region are authorized under separate state statutes to establish a formal governance structure known as a regional council of governments (RCOG).

The Office of Policy and Management (OPM) recently completed a comprehensive analysis of the boundaries of logical planning regions in Connecticut under Section 16a-4c of the Connecticut General Statutes (2014 Supplement).  This analysis resulted in the number of planning regions being reduced from the original fifteen (15) to nine (9), as a result of four (4) voluntary consolidations and the elimination of two (2) planning regions.  As required by statute, OPM notified the chief executive officer (CEO) in each municipality that was proposed for redesignation and offered them a thirty (30) day period to appeal the proposed redesignation.  Of the seventeen municipalities that were proposed for redesignation by OPM, only three opted to exercise their right to appeal.  OPM staff attended meetings in Bristol, Burlington and Plymouth, and subsequently granted each of the appeals.

A final map (PDF Format, 374 KB) showing the nine (9) planning regions is available, along with a list of municipalities (MS Excel) and their population by planning region based on the 2010 census.

RCOG Contact Information (see footnotes reagrding transition status)

Capitol Region Council of Governments
241 Main Street, 4th Floor
Hartford, Connecticut 06106-5310
Telephone: (860) 522-2217
Fax: (860) 724-1274
E-Mail: lwray@crcog.org 
Website: http://www.crcog.org  
Executive Director: Lyle Wray

Central Connecticut Regional Planning Agency*
225 North Main Street
Suite 304
Bristol, Connecticut 06010-4993
Telephone: 860-589-7820
Fax: 860-589-7820
E-Mail: director@ccrpa.org 
Website: www.ccrpa.org
Executive Director: Carl J. Stephani

Council of Governments of the Central Naugatuck Valley**
49 Leavenworth Street, Suite 303
Waterbury, Connecticut 06702
Telephone: (203) 757-0535
Fax: (203) 756-7688
E-Mail: sgold@cogcnv.org 
Website: www.cogcnv.org
Acting Executive Director: Sam Gold

Greater Bridgeport Regional Council
Bridgeport Transportation Center
525 Water Street
Bridgeport, Connecticut 06604-4902
Telephone: (203) 366-5405
Fax: (203) 366-8437
E-Mail: bbidolli@gbrct.org
Website: www.gbrct.org
Executive Director: Brian Bidolli

Housatonic Valley Council of Elected Officials***
Old Town Hall
162 Whisconier Road
Brookfield, Connecticut 06804
Telephone: (203) 775-6256
Fax: (203) 740-9167
E-Mail: director@hvceo.org
Website: http://www.hvceo.org
Executive Director: Jonathan Chew

Northwest Hills Council of Governments
42D North Street
Goshen, Connecticut 06756
Telephone: (860) 491-9884
Fax: (860) 491-3729
E-Mail: lhceo1@snet.net
Planning Director: Richard Lynn

Lower Connecticut River Valley Council of Governments
145 Dennison Road
Essex, Connecticut 06426
Telephone: (860) 581-8554
Fax: (860) 581-8543
E-Mail: lkrause@rivercog.org
Website: www.rivercog.org (pending)
Executive Director: Linda Krause

Northeastern Connecticut Council of Governments
125 Putnam Pike (Route 12)
P.O. Box 759
Dayville, Connecticut 06241-0759
Telephone: (860) 774-1253
Fax: (860) 779-2056
E-Mail: john.filchak@neccog.org
Executive Director: John Filchak

South Central Regional Council of Governments
127 Washington Avenue, 4th Floor West
North Haven, Connecticut 06473 - 1715
Telephone: (203) 234-7555
Fax: (203) 234-9850
E-Mail: camento@scrcog.org
Website: www.scrcog.org 
Executive Director: Carl Amento

Southeastern Connecticut Council of Governments
5 Connecticut Avenue
Norwich, Connecticut 06360-4592
Telephone: (860) 889-2324
Fax: (860) 889-1222
E-Mail: jbutler@seccog.org
Website: www.seccog.org
Executive Director: James S. Butler

South Western Regional Planning Agency***
888 Washington Boulevard - 3rd Floor
Stamford, Connecticut 06901
Telephone: (203) 316-5190
Fax: (203) 316-4995
E-Mail: lapp@swrpa.org
Website: www.swrpa.org
 Executive Director: Dr. Floyd Lapp, FAICP

Valley Council of Governments**
Derby Train Station
12 Main Street
Derby, Connecticut 06418
Telephone: (203) 735-8688
Fax: (203) 735-8680
E-Mail: rdunne@valleycog.org
Website: www.valleycog.org 
Executive Director: Richard T. Dunne

Windham Region Council of Governments*
700 Main Street
Willimantic, Connecticut 06226-2604
Telephone: (860) 456-2221
Fax: (860) 456-5659
E-Mail: director@wincog.org
Website: http://www.wincog.org
Executive Director: Mark N. Paquette

Office of Policy and Management
Intergovernmental Policy Division
450 Capitol Avenue - MS#54SLP
Hartford, Connecticut 06106-1379
Telephone: (860) 418-6343
Fax: (860) 418-6486
E-Mail: daniel.morley@ct.gov 
Website: http://www.ct.gov/opm
State RPO Coordinator: Daniel Morley

* Planning region eliminated and RPO operations being wound down

** Member municipalities of the Naugatuck Valley Planning Region are in the process of forming a new RCOG

*** Member municipalities of the Western CT Planning Region are in the process of forming a new RCOG

For Further Information, Please Contact:
Daniel Morley, phone (860) 418-6343; fax (860) 418-6486; e-mail daniel.morley@ct.gov

Link to:

Content Last Modified on 4/24/2014 1:08:36 PM