OPA: Fatality Review Board (FRB)

Fatality Review Board (FRB)

The Fatality Review Board (FRB) has been reconstituted under Executive Order No. 57, which Governor Malloy issued on March 17, 2017. The Executive Order directs that the FRB be comprised of members with varying background disciplines and authorizes that the Board investigate the circumstances surrounding untimely deaths of individuals with disabilities. For many years, under other executive orders, the FRB was closely associated with the Office of Protection and Advocacy in terms of its operational staff support and chairmanship. However, since May, 2017, the FRB has been chaired by Jordan Scheff, Commissioner, Department of Developmental Services (DDS).  Under the provisions of Executive Order No. 57, Commissioner Scheff is also a non-voting member of the FRB. DDS also now provides the dedicated state resources and staff support are necessary to meet the ongoing functioning needs of the FRB.


The current make-up of the Fatality Review Board is:

Board Chair:   Jordan Scheff, Commissioner, Department of Developmental Services


  • James D. McGaughey, J.D., Retired/former Executive Director, Office of Protection and Advocacy
  • Gerard Kerins, M.D., Geriatric Medicine, Yale New Haven Hospital, St. Raphael Campus. 
  • Timothy Palmbach, J.D., Professor and Chair of Forensic Science, University of New Haven.
  • John DeMattia, J.D., Supervisory Assistant States Attorney, Division of Criminal Justice.
  • Kendres Lally, Director of Investigations, Department of Developmental Services.

Any questions or concerns relating to the work of the FRB may be submitted to:

Peter Hughes, Program Director

Department of Developmental Services

460 Capitol Avenue

Hartford, CT 06106


Content Last Modified on 6/19/2017 8:38:55 AM