OHA: Hearing Aid Law

Hearing Aid Law

In 2001, the Connecticut General Assembly passed a bill to provide children, 12 years of age and younger, with insurance coverage for hearing aids.  

As stated in the Connecticut General Statues, each group health insurance policy issued, renewed, amended or continued in this state on or after October 1, 2001, shall provide coverage for hearing aids for children (<12).  Such hearing aids shall be considered durable medical equipment (DME) under the policy and the policy may limit the hearing aid benefit to $1,000 within a twenty-four (24) month period.

If you have questions, contact us via email or call toll-free at 1 (866) HMO-4446

Content Last Modified on 6/11/2010 2:06:44 PM