
BACKGROUND CHECKS
FOR CHILD CARE CENTER STAFF AND VOLUNTEERS

EFFECTIVE 10/1/16

Please make sure each packet you submit to OEC includes:

1) Payment of $12.00 per applicant
 Check or money order made payable to Treasurer, State of Connecticut
 Please make sure your check or money order is complete and signed. We cannot

accept incomplete or altered checks/money orders, or cash.
 Amount for volunteers:  $10.75 per applicant

2) Fingerprint card
 Must be the in the DPS-125C form or similar as shown below. DESPP will not

accept other fingerprint cards or photocopies of fingerprint cards.
 Please fill out the front of the card and sign it at the time that your fingerprints are

taken.
 Please do not fold or otherwise damage the card.

3) DCF authorization form
 Provider information – list license numbers for any locations where you might work.

Please list the name and address of your primary work location.
 Your information – please ensure that information is complete and accurate.
 Residential addresses for the past FIVE years, using the reverse side of the form if

necessary.  Please be sure to include length of time at each address.
 Please be sure to sign your form.  If the information in your DCF authorization form

is more than 6 months old, please fill out a new form.

Failure to include complete and correct documents will delay your background check.  If
you have any questions, please call the OEC Legal Division at (860) 509-8303 or e-mail us at
oecresults@ct.gov.

Providers:  Please ensure that each applicant receives a copy of the enclosed notices before obtaining
fingerprints: “Agency Privacy Requirements for Noncriminal Justice Applicants,” “Noncriminal Justice
Applicant’s Privacy Rights,” and “Federal Bureau of Investigation, United States Department of Justice
Privacy Act Statement.”

See reverse for answers to frequently-asked questions

DPS-125C (actual size: 8” x 8”) DESPP no longer accepts these FBI cards.



FREQUENTLY-ASKED QUESTIONS

Q:  Who is required to get fingerprint-based background checks?
A: Connecticut General Statutes Sec. 19a-80(c) applies to child care center employees
and volunteers who are 16 or older and work with children 12 or more times per calendar
year.

Q:  Where can I get fingerprinted?
A: Contact your local police department, or contact the Connecticut Department of
Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP) Fingerprinting Division at (860) 685-
8270.  Please note that some law enforcement agencies offer fingerprinting to the public
on certain days and times or by appointment.  Some agencies charge a fee to take
fingerprints; this is separate from the OEC’s $12 background check processing fee.

Q:  How much is the background processing fee?  Can I write one payment check
for multiple background checks?
A: Effective 10/1/16, the OEC background processing fee is $12.00 per employee ($10.75
per volunteer.) For multiple background checks, you may submit one check or money
order for $12 x the number of employees – for example, if you are submitting fingerprint
cards and DCF authorizations for 4 employees, you may submit ONE payment of $48.00
OR you may submit FOUR separate payments of $12.00 each.  We can only accept
checks or money orders for the correct amount.  We do not accept cash, credit cards, or
debit cards.

Q:  My fingerprints were taken electronically, and the officer gave me a printed-out
card.  It looks similar to the green ones you sent me, but it’s in black ink.  Is that
OK?
A: Yes.  As long as the card is in the same format as form DPS-125C (shown on reverse),
DESPP will accept it.

Q:  I got fingerprinted for another employer just a few months ago.  Can I use that
background check for this new job?
A: Under CGS 19a-80(c), you must get a new background check for each provider for
whom you work.  Also, if you leave a center and are later rehired, you must undergo a new
background check.

Q:  I am employed by a child care provider who operates multiple locations.  Do I
need to get a separate background check for each location?
A: Not if you include each location’s license number on your DCF authorization when you
submit your background check documents.  Please list license numbers for any locations
where you might work.  Please list the name and address of your primary work location.

If you have any other questions or need additional
clarification, please call the OEC Legal Division at (860)
509-8303 or e-mail us at oecresults@ct.gov.


