oec: Background Checks

Background Checks




Family Child Care Home

FREQUENTLY-ASKED QUESTIONS

Q: Who is required to get fingerprint-based background checks?

A: Connecticut General Statutes Sec. 19a-80(c) applies to family home child care providers, their household members 16 or older, assistants, and substitutes.

 

Q: Where can I get fingerprinted?

A: Contact your local police department, or contact the Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP) Fingerprinting Division at (860) 685- 8270. Please note that some law enforcement agencies offer fingerprinting to the public on certain days and times or by appointment. Some agencies charge a fee to take fingerprints; this is separate from the OEC’s $62 background check processing fee.

 

Q: How much is the background processing fee? Can I write one payment check for multiple background checks?

A: Effective 7/1/17, the OEC background processing fee is $62.00 per person. For multiple background checks, you may submit one check or money order for $62 x the number of background checks – for example, if you are submitting fingerprint cards and DCF authorizations for 4 people, you may submit ONE payment of $248.00 OR you may submit FOUR separate payments of $62.00 each. We can only accept checks or money orders for the correct amount. We do not accept cash, credit cards, or debit cards.

 

Q: My fingerprints were taken electronically, and the officer gave me a printed-out card. It looks similar to the green ones you sent me, but it’s in black ink. Is that OK?

A: Yes. As long as the card is in the same format as form DPS-125C (shown on reverse), DESPP will accept it.

 

Q: I got fingerprinted for something else just a few months ago. Can I use that background check for my home child care application?

A: Under CGS 19a-80(c), you must get a new background check.

















Group Child Care Home or Child Care Center

FREQUENTLY-ASKED QUESTIONS

Q: Who is required to get fingerprint-based background checks?

A: Connecticut General Statutes Sec. 19a-80(c) applies to child care center employees and volunteers who are 16 or older and work with children 12 or more times per calendar year.

 

Q: Where can I get fingerprinted?

A: Contact your local police department, or contact the Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP) Fingerprinting Division at (860) 685- 8270. Please note that some law enforcement agencies offer fingerprinting to the public on certain days and times or by appointment. Some agencies charge a fee to take fingerprints; this is separate from the OEC’s $62 background check processing fee.

 

Q: How much is the background processing fee? Can I write one payment check for multiple background checks?

A: Effective 7/1/17, the OEC background processing fee is $62.00 per employee ($60.75 per volunteer.) For multiple background checks, you may submit one check or money order for $62 x the number of employees – for example, if you are submitting fingerprint cards and DCF authorizations for 4 employees, you may submit ONE payment of $248.00 OR you may submit FOUR separate payments of $62.00 each. We can only accept checks or money orders for the correct amount. We do not accept cash, credit cards, or debit cards.

Q: My fingerprints were taken electronically, and the officer gave me a printed-out card. It looks similar to the green ones you sent me, but it’s in black ink. Is that OK?

A: Yes. As long as the card is in the same format as form DPS-125C (shown on reverse), DESPP will accept it.

 

Q: I got fingerprinted for another employer just a few months ago. Can I use that background check for this new job?

A: Under CGS 19a-80(c), you must get a new background check for each provider for whom you work. Also, if you leave a center and are later rehired, you must undergo a new background check.

 

Q: I am employed by a child care provider who operates multiple locations. Do I need to get a separate background check for each location?

A: Not if you include each location’s license number on your DCF authorization when you submit your background check documents. Please list license numbers for any locations where you might work. Please list the name and address of your primary work location.



 
If you have any other questions about the background check process, please call the OEC Legal Division at (860) 500-4466 or e-mail us at oecresults@ct.gov.


Once the fingerprints are submitted to state police for a criminal history records check, staff of that office process the request and send a secure email back to the Office of Early Childhood (OEC) indicating whether there is a “hit,” meaning something came back on the criminal history record check, or a “non-hit,” meaning nothing came back.

 

If there is a hit, staff of the OEC will review to determine if the hit is a disqualifying one.

 

The following memo describes how staff of the OEC determine whether someone is eligible or ineligible to provide care. Included is the list of crimes that may make a person ineligible to: (1) own, conduct, maintain or operate a child care center, group child care home, family child care home*; (2) be employed by a child care center, group child care home, family child care home; or (3) be an assistant or substitute staff member in a family child care home.

 

* In the case of a household member’s background check, the household member’s crime(s) could result in failure to license or action against a license for the provider.


 

NOTICE OF FEE CHANGE FOR BACKGROUND CHECKS EFFECTIVE July 1, 2017

 

Effective 7/1/17, the fee for processing required background checks will increase.  The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) fee will stay the same; however, the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP), Division of State Police will no longer waive its fee for State criminal background checks.

 

The new fees will be distributed as follows:

 

 

 

 

Agency

 

 

 

For

Amount for Child Care Center Staff and Family Child Care Providers, Staff, and Household Members

Amount for Child Care Center Volunteers

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

Federal criminal background check

$12.00

$10.75

Department of Emergency Service and Public Protection (DESPP)

State criminal background check

$50.00

$50.00

Department of Children and Families (DCF)

Child abuse/neglect registry check

No charge

No charge

Office of Early Childhood (OEC)

Criminal background check coordination

No charge

No charge

                                                                   TOTAL

$62.00

$60.75

 

Effective 7/1/17, the Office of Early Childhood will only be able to accept background check documents that are accompanied by required payments as outlined above.  Background check documents not accompanied by payment in the correct amount WILL BE RETURNED.

 

Q:  Why is the fee for background checks changing?

A:  In the past, DESPP waived its $50.00 per person fee for background checks required by Connecticut General Statutes (CGS) § 19a-80 (c) for child care center and group home workers and volunteers, CGS § 19a-87b (c) for family child care home providers, their household members 16 or older, assistants, and substitutes, and CGS § 17b-749k (a) for unlicensed Care 4 Kids providers.  Effective 7/1/17, DESPP will no longer waive this fee.

 

Q:  May I do a partial online background search before I have a prospective employee fingerprinted?

A: Yes, you are welcome to check the following free websites:

CT Sex Offender Registry - http://www.communitynotification.com/cap_office_disclaimer.php?office=54567

and the CT Judicial website - https://www.jud.ct.gov/crim.htm

 

Any additional questions may be directed to:

Office of Early Childhood

Legal Division

450 Columbus Blvd, Suite 303

Hartford, CT  06103

(860) 500-4466  •  oecresults@ct.gov

www.ct.gov/oec

OR

Department of Emergency Services

and Public Protection

1111 Country Club Road

Middletown, CT  06457

(860) 685-8480

www.ct.gov/despp

 
  



  
 




Content Last Modified on 9/25/2017 1:10:21 PM