OCPD: Juvenile Delinquency Matters

Juvenile Delinquency

Frequently Asked Questions
(Guide for Childern and Families in the Juvenile System)
 


DELINQUENCY:

Briefs (forthcoming)

Caselaw (forthcoming)

DCF Information (forthcoming)

Delinquency Juvenile Forms

Delinquency Trial Motions

Post Conviction Information (forthcoming)

Reports

Training Materials     


 


In Connecticut, Juvenile Courts handle cases for children under the age of seventeen who have been charged with a crime. There is no minimum age to be sent to juvenile court if you are charged with a crime. Children as young as 6 years old have been sent to juvenile court and accused of being a delinquent. Delinquent is what the courts call a child who has been accused or convicted of a crime in juvenile court.

As of January 1, 2010, the Raise the Age law changed who goes to juvenile court to include anyone under the age of 17. In July, 2012, juvenile court in Connecticut will include 17 year olds who are charged with a crime. If you are 16 (or 17 after July 1, 2012) and charged with a motor vehicle offense, your case will be heard in adult court. Most of the time this is ok, because the punishment is usually just a fine and a conviction does not create a permanent criminal record. If there is a chance that a motor vehicle case could result in jail time, you or your lawyer can ask the judge to move the motor vehicle case to juvenile court. This will allow children who make mistakes to get treatment and services in juvenile court, instead of punishment and a permanent criminal record in adult court.

 
 




Content Last Modified on 1/15/2014 1:32:59 PM