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Office of Consumer Counsel’s 
Know Your Rights as an Electric Consumer 

 
In Connecticut, consumers can choose to “shop” for electricity and sign a contract with different electric 
generation suppliers.  You are also free to avoid shopping and stay on “standard service” with CL&P or 
UI.  If you so choose to shop the competitive supply market, here are some things you should know: 

 Right To Full Disclosure:  An electric supplier must provide you with a contract disclosing the 
rate it will be charging you and any circumstance under which it might change, as well as any 
additional charges or fees you must pay.  If you receive a fixed price offer, the law now requires 
the supplier to provide you notice at least 30 days before the fixed price expires, describing any 
change to the price.  If you receive a variable price offer, you should ask the supplier on what the 
“variability” is based, how high it could go, and whether the variable price has been higher or 
lower than standard service over the last few months.   
 

 Three-Day Right To Cancel A Contract:  If you sign a contract with a new energy supplier, you 
have 72 hours to cancel the contract without penalty.   

 
 Change In Contract:  After you sign a contract with a new energy supplier, no changes can be 

made by the energy supplier to the contract without your approval and consent.   
 

 Renewals:  An electric supplier can renew your contract if it informs you, in writing, between 30 
and 60 days before the renewal date, of the new terms it is offering and your right not to accept the 
offer.  If you decide not to accept the offer of renewal, you must let the electric supplier know, and 
it cannot charge you a cancellation fee within 7 business days after receiving the first bill for the 
renewed contract. 
 

 Cancellation Fees:  If you choose to cancel your contract early, you cannot be charged an early 
cancellation or termination fee exceeding $100 or double the average monthly bill, whichever 
amount is less.   
 

 Complaints:  If you have a complaint or concern about your competitive supplier, you should 
probably first contact the supplier.  You may also file a complaint through the Public Utilities 
Regulatory Authority (PURA) by calling 1-800-382-4586 or by submitting an online complaint at 
www.ct.gov/pura.   

 
 Door-to-Door Sales & Telemarketers:  OCC recommends that you do not fall prey to aggressive 

door-to-door salespersons or telephone sales practices.  Instead, if you want to sign up with an 
electric supplier, shop for a rate at www.energizect.com. 
 

 Federal Do Not Call Law:  Energy suppliers must comply with the Federal Do Not Call Laws, 
which limits when they are able to call or solicit prospective customers.  Connecticut law further 
restricts the hours of solicitation to between 10:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m.   


