
THE MILITARY DEPARTMENT FAMILY MEDICAL LEAVE ACT POLICY  
 
 
Effective July 1, 1988 Public Act 87-291 established the Family and Medical Leave Program that is 
incorporated under Section 5-248a of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The program provides that 
each permanent employee, as defined by Connecticut General Statutes, Section 5-196 (s), shall be 
entitled to 24 weeks of unpaid leave within a two year period upon: the birth or adoption of a child; 
the serious illness of a child, spouse, or parent; or the serious illness of the employee - this leave is 
without pay; however, the State continues to pay the employee’s health insurance through the 
duration of the leave. 
 
The 24 weeks of leave may or may not be continuous, but must not exceed an aggregate total of 24 
weeks in any two-year period. 
 
This leave is in addition to any paid vacation, sick leave, or paid disability provided under the 
employees’ collective bargaining agreement and CGS 46a-60 subsection 7(a).  During the course of   
the leave seniority, retirement, fringe benefits and other service credits do not accrue.  Upon return 
to work, the employee retains all service credits which the employee had at the commencement of 
the leave; also, the employee is entitled to the same position that was held at the commencement of 
the leave, or an equivalent position with equivalent pay. Granting of family or medical leave 
pursuant to CGS 5-248a is governed by the regulations issued by the Department of Administrative 
Services and the applicable collective bargaining agreement.    
 


