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PROCEDURE:   EXCHANGE ASSESSMENTS AND FEES  

Operating Funding Authorization 

38a-1083(c)(7) of Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the Exchange to “charge assessments or user 
fees to health carriers that are capable of offering a qualified health plan through the exchange or 
otherwise generate funding necessary to support the operations of the exchange.” Pursuant to this 
authority,  the Board of Directors of the Exchange (the “Board”) adopted the Policy: Acquiring Operating 
Funding (the “Policy”) through which the Exchange, acting through its Chief Executive Officer or another 
duly authorized officer, shall charge such assessments or user fees to health and dental carriers capable 
of offering qualified health plans through the Exchange or otherwise generate funding necessary to 
support the operations of the Exchange and carry out its purposes as set forth under Connecticut law. 
Provided any assessment or fee has been duly authorized by the Board, the Exchange shall implement 
the following procedure. 

Definitions: 

The phrase “capable of offering qualified health plans through the Exchange” means: 

(a) the plan is licensed as either an A&H company or a health care center  pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. 
§38a-41; 

(b) the plan is in good standing in Connecticut; and,  

(c)  the plan has not notified the Insurance Commissioner that it has withdrawn from either the 
individual or small group market in Connecticut in compliance with requirements of the sections 2742 
and 2712 of the Public Health Service act, as set forth in the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996 (“HIPAA”). Any company that has submitted a withdrawal notice to the 
Insurance Commissioner may not provide for the issuance of any health insurance coverage in the 
market and State involved during the 5-year period beginning on the date of the discontinuation of the 
last health insurance coverage not so renewed”. (See 42USC §300gg-2(c)(2) and 45 CFR 147.106(d)(2)). If 
the plan is within the 5-year period, it is not capable of offering qualified health plans through the 
Exchange. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the plan may in the discretion of the Exchange be subject to 
assessment for all premium earned prior to the notice to the Insurance Commissioner and effective date 
of withdrawal. 

Procedure: 



 

Regular assessments and fees will be determined based on the amount reasonably and prudently 
needed to operate the Exchange as set forth in the annual budget reviewed and approved by the Board. 
Such assessments and fees will be charged no less frequently than annually.  Final determinations as to 
the terms, conditions, basis, amount, frequency, and methodology, including any modifications thereto, 
of any assessments or fees to be charged shall rest in the sole discretion of the Board acting in 
accordance with applicable law.  

Assessments: 

Health Carriers: 

Assessments for health carriers will be calculated as a percentage of earned premiums that carriers 
report for their individual and small group businesses for the previous calendar year on their Medical 
Loss Ratio Reports (the “MLR Reports”) to the Health Insurance Oversight System of the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services.  Subject to final approval and adjustment by the Board, the assessment 
base for health insurance business will be the sum of small group, individual, and expatriate health 
insurance business reported in the carriers’ MLR Reports. 

Dental Carriers: 

Subject to final approval and adjustment by the Board, assessments for carriers in the dental business 
only (i.e., not also in the health business) will be calculated as a percentage of earned premiums in the 
State of Connecticut for the previous calendar year as reported in Annual Statements and/or Exhibits 
filed with the Connecticut Insurance Department (the “Annual Statements”) for both dental insurance 
products and dental maintenance organization products. Carriers who have not specifically reported the 
amount of premium dollars for dental insurance products and dental maintenance organization 
products attributable to Connecticut or to the individual or small group market may, in a separate report 
and attestation to the Exchange, identify such premiums for use by the Exchange in calculating their 
assessment. In the absence of a timely response acceptable to the Exchange, the Exchange will base its 
assessment for such business for such carrier on its best available approximation or use other 
reasonable methodology in its sole discretion.  

New Market Entrants: 

For all new Connecticut market entrants capable of offering a qualified health plan through the 
Exchange, an assessment will be imposed for the first year of operations.  Such assessment will be 
calculated as a percentage of projected premiums that carriers will charge in their first year of operation 
in the Connecticut market as set forth in such carrier’s plan of operation approved by the Insurance 
Commissioner as part of the licensing process.  At the end of the first year of operations, the Exchange 
will verify actual premium revenues and adjust the assessment as necessary to reflect the carrier’s 
actual experience in its first year of operation in the Connecticut market.  For health carriers such 
adjustment shall be calculated based on data reported on the carrier’s MLR Report to the Health 
Insurance Oversight System of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.  For dental carriers such 
adjustment shall be calculated based on data reported in the Annual Statement filed with the 



 

Connecticut Insurance Department.   Such adjustments may be made by separate billing or by credit to 
amounts owed in the discretion of the exchange. 

 

Sources of Premium Information for Assessment Purposes 

The Exchange intends to use the best available source of premium information for calculating the 
assessment.  The Exchange reserves the right to use other sources of premium information that may 
become available or brought to its attention if, in the judgment of the Chief Executive Officer or the 
Chief Financial Officer of the Exchange, these sources provide more accurate premium information for 
the State of Connecticut. 

 
User Fees 

User fees on health and dental carriers participating on the Exchange may be charged as a flat fee, 
percentage of premium for qualified plans sold on the Exchange, or based on any other per sale charge 
method.  

Notice Date for Assessments and User Fees: 

MLR Reports are filed between May 1 and June 1 annually and Annual Statements are filed March 1.  As 
a result, the determination of the assessment rate and user fees will be completed and approved by the 
Board as soon as practicable  but no later than July, 1. 

Special Assessments 

In addition to regular assessments and fees, the Exchange reserves the right to impose special 
assessments and fees that it determines are necessary and prudent to carry out the operations of the 
Exchange.   

Invoicing, Payment and Collections: 

Acting at the direction of the Chief Executive Officer or the Chief Financial Officer, the Exchange shall 
invoice carriers for assessments and fees.  The invoice will include a payment schedule stipulating when 
the amount due on invoice shall be periodically paid to the Exchange.  Invoices, including the payment 
schedule may be delivered by physical or electronic transmission.  Assessments or fees are payable by 
check or electronic fund transfer with payment instructions as directed by the Exchange. 

If payment of an assessment or fee or any part thereof is not received by the Exchange within thirty (30) 
days from the payment schedule due date, the carrier shall be subject to interest from the billing date at 
the rate of six (6) percent per annum simple interest on the outstanding principal balance.   If payment is 
not received within ninety (90) days from the billing date, the Exchange shall, in addition to interest, 
charge a late fee of one (1) percent per month on the outstanding principal balance. The Chief Executive 
Officer of the Exchange shall provide the name of any carrier that fails to pay the assessment  to the 



 

Commissioner of Insurance to begin enforcement actions using powers granted under title 38a and all 
further powers that are reasonable and necessary. 

The Exchange may employ such internal or external resources as it deems necessary to enforce 
collection of delinquent amounts.   Any costs of collection shall be borne by the delinquent carrier. 

The Exchange reserves the right to take such further enforcement actions as are available to it at law.  
The Exchange further reserves the right, acting through the Board, to settle or waive any amounts due 
that it deems de minimus or for other good cause. 


