DECD: Vocational Rehab JC Tax Credit Program

Vocational Rehabilitation Job Creation Tax Credit Program
 
 
The Vocational Rehabilitation Job Creation Tax Credit Program provides incentives to Connecticut businesses that hire new employees that are receiving vocational rehabilitation services from the Bureau of Rehabilitation Services within the Department of Social Services or from the Board of Education and Services for the Blind. Under this program employers are eligible for a $200 per month tax credit for each new qualifying employee they hire.  Below are the guidelines for the program, a link to the application and the contact.

Program Guidelines
 
Credit Length:        Taxable years 2010-2012
 
Credit Amount:      $200 per month for each new full-time employee
 
Eligible Business 
Structures:            Tax credit applies to all business structures
  
Eligible Business: An employer engaged in business in the state subject to tax under Chapter 207, 208 or 229 of the general statutes
 
Eligible New Hire: A new employee residing in Connecticut that is hired to fill a new job after May 6, 2010, and prior to January 1, 2013, who is receiving vocational rehabilitation services from the Bureau of Rehabilitation Services within the Department of Social Services or from the Board of Education and Services for the Blind. To qualify the new job must be at least twenty hours or more per week for not less than forty-eight weeks in a calendar.  A new qualifying employee does not include a person with a disability who was employed in this state by a related person with respect to the employer during the prior twelve months.  No employer may claim a tax credit for any new qualifying employee who is an owner, member or partner in the business of the employer or who is not employed at the close of the income year of the employer.
 
Application Process:    
 1. Company submits application with supporting documents and application fee 
 2.  Application is reviewed by DECD and if approved an eligibility certificate is issued to the company 
 
Fee: Application fee of $100 to be sent with application. Please make check payable to State of Connecticut, Department of Economic and Community Development.
 
 
 
 
Contact:
Patricia Paesani
Department of Economic & Community Development
Office of Business & Industry Development
505 Hudson Street
Hartford, CT 06106
(860) 270-8215
Patricia.Paesani@ct.gov