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Listed are the most common audit findings for Medicaid Alcohol and Drug Abuse Centers, and clarification of the criteria the Connecticut 
Department of Social Services (the “Department”) uses when it makes those findings.  Disallowances for services under the Medicaid program are 
governed by policies included in the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program Provider Manual (PM), the Medicaid Provider Enrollment Agreement 
(PA), Provider Bulletins (PB), Provider Transmittals (PT), the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies (Conn. Agencies Regs.), the Connecticut 
General Statutes (Conn. Gen. Stat.), and the Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.).  
 
This protocol is for chemical maintenance, inpatient detoxification, and ambulatory detoxification services.  A separate protocol has been developed 
for Community Mental Health Clinics.  The protocol was divided into three sections: Inpatient, Outpatient, and Inpatient and Outpatient. 
 

Inpatient Services 
  

   Finding Department Criteria Regulatory Reference 
Services - Admission 
Timely Medical 
Examination  

The Department will disallow payment for the days of inpatient stay that 
were paid in which the recipient was not seen by a physician within 24 hours 
of the start of the inpatient stay.   

PM 160E.I.a.1(a) 

Services - Physician 
Order 

The Department will disallow payment if there is no order from a physician. PM 160F.I. 

Limitations - Length of 
Treatment 

The Department will disallow payment for any days that are in excess of a 
ten-day period for each occurrence. 

PM 160E.II.b. 

Services - Need The Department will disallow payment for service if the documentation does 
not substantiate (1) a diagnosis of alcohol ingestion; (2) that the recipient 
requires services as a result of the recipient's condition; and (3) that the 
recipient is willing and able to participate in the care plan. 

PM 160F.II. 

 
 
 
 
 

  
   



   Outpatient Services 
  

   Finding Department Criteria Regulatory Reference 
Billing - Payment 
Limitations 

The Department will disallow the amount paid in excess of the lowest of: (1) 
the amount in the applicable fee schedule; (2) the amount in the provider's 
rate letter; or (3) the amount billed by the provider. 

Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17b-262-827(g) 

Limitation - Admission 
to Methadone Treatment  

The Department will disallow payment if the paid service was for methadone 
treatment and the patient did not meet the admission criteria. 

42 C.F.R. § 8.12(e)(1) to (3) 

Limitations - Admission 
to Detoxification 
Treatment 

The Department will disallow payment if the payment was for a third 
detoxification treatment episode within one year. 

42 C.F.R. §8.12(e)(4) 

Limitations for 
Detoxification 
Treatment - Lab 
Services 

If the Department paid another provider’s lab service for drug testing within 
30 days of a paid detoxification treatment service, the Department will 
reduce the cost of the paid detoxification treatment service by the cost of the 
lab service paid to the other provider. The Department will not disallow 
payment if the recipient's medical record includes an appropriate order 
requesting further analysis by an independent lab and documentation that the 
results of all testing have been appropriately reviewed. 

Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17b-262-
822(c)(4) 

Limitations for 
Detoxification 
Treatment - Counseling 
Billed Separately 

If the Department paid another provider for counseling services that were 
directly related to substance addiction on the same date of a paid 
detoxification treatment service, the Department will reduce the cost of the 
paid detoxification treatment service by the cost of the counseling services 
paid to the other provider.  

Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17b-262-
822(c)(4) 

Limitations for 
Detoxification 
Treatment - Maximum 
Billing 

The Department will disallow payment for service if there was already a 
paid service for that or if the date of service is after 90 days from the date of 
admission. 

Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17b-262-
822(c)(2) to (3) 

Limitations for 
Detoxification 
Treatment - Plan of Care 

The Department will disallow payment for service if the initial care plan 
does not document that the goal is to reduce a client's dependence on a 
substance to abstinence. 

Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17b-262-
822(c)(1) 

Limitations for 
Methadone and 
Detoxification - Dual 
Payment 

If methadone treatment and detoxification treatment were paid for the same 
time period, the Department will disallow the highest paid service  

Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17b-262-
822(c)(5) 



Limitations for 
Methadone - Counseling 
Billed Separately 

If the Department paid another provider for counseling services that were 
directly related to drug addiction within a week of the date of a paid 
chemical maintenance treatment service, the Department will reduce the cost 
of the paid chemical maintenance treatment service by the cost of the 
counseling services paid to the other provider.  

Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17b-262-
822(b)(2) 

Limitations for 
Methadone - Lab 
Services 

If the Department paid another provider’s lab service for drug testing within 
a week of the date of a paid chemical maintenance treatment service, the 
Department will reduce payment for the chemical maintenance treatment 
service by the cost of the lab service paid to the other provider. The 
Department will  not reduce payment for the chemical maintenance 
treatment  service if the recipient's medical record includes an appropriate 
order requesting further analysis by an independent lab and documentation 
that the results of all testing have been appropriately reviewed. 

Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17b-262-
822(b)(2) 
PB 2014-59 

Services for 
Detoxification 
Treatment - Counseling 
Not Provided 

The Department will disallow payment for detoxification treatment if the 
recipient did not receive the required counseling, as specified in the 
recipient's care plan, prior to the detoxification treatment.    

Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17b-262-
822(c)(4) 

Services for 
Detoxification 
Treatment -Required 
Drug Testing 

The Department will disallow payment for detoxification treatment services 
if there was no testing or analysis for drug abuse performed within the lesser 
of the timeframe indicated in the plan of care or 30 days prior to the 
treatment services. 
 

42 C.F.R. § 8.12(f)(6) 

Services for Methadone 
Treatment - Face-to 
Face Requirements 

The Department will disallow payment if there was no face-to-face service 
provided within a week of the dates of service for which claims have been 
paid.  

Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17b-262-
822(b)(2) 

Services for Methadone 
Treatment - Counseling 
Not Provided 

The Department will disallow payment for chemical maintenance treatment 
if the recipient did not receive the required counseling, as specified in the 
care plan, prior to chemical maintenance treatment.   

Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17b-262-
822(b)(2) 

Services for Methadone 
Treatment - Required 
Drug Testing 

The Department will disallow payment for methadone treatment if there was 
no testing or analysis for drug abuse within the lesser of two months or 
testing frequency per the plan of care, prior to the date of the methadone 
treatment service. The two months is used as a conservative requirement 
based on federal regulations requiring a minimum of 8 tests per year. 

42 C.F.R. § 8.12(f)(6) 

      



 
Inpatient and Outpatient Services 

 

   Finding Department Criteria Regulatory Reference 
Billing - Cancelled 
Visits or Appointments 
Not Kept.  

The Department will disallow payment if the provider was paid for services 
in which the recipient was a "no-show" or for which the recipient cancelled 
the visit. 

Conn. Agencies Regs. §§ 17b-262-
531(h); 17b-262-823(2) 

Billing - Duplicate 
Services 

The Department will disallow a second payment for service if the provider 
has billed the Department separately for a service that is included in the 
reimbursement for that or another paid service; OR if the provider billed the 
Department for a service that is part of the follow-up care for that or another 
paid service; OR if the provider billed for a service for which the 
Department previously paid that or a related provider, unless it can be shown 
that payment for the first service should not have been made.    

PM 171B.V.                                                           
Conn. Agencies Regs. §§ 17b-262-821; 
17b-262-823(8) 

Billing - Failure to 
Utilize Third Party 
Liability. 

The Department will disallow payment for service if there is a private 
insurance/third-party payor, including Medicare, that the provider failed to 
bill first. 

Conn. Agencies Regs. §§ 17b-262-
526(2) and (3); 17b-262-529(3);                                                                                                                
17b-262-531(c) 

Documentation The Department will disallow payment if the paid service is not properly 
documented in the recipient's case file. 

Conn. Agencies Regs. §§ 17b-262-828;                                                                                       
19a-495-570(m)(3); 17b-262-526(7) and 
(8) 

Limitations - Prior 
Authorization 

The Department will disallow payment for reimbursed service if a 
reimbursed service did not comply with prior authorization requirements. 

Conn. Agencies Regs. §§ 17b-262-825;                                                                                        
17b-262-821(b) 

Limitations - Services The Department will disallow payment that exceeds the service limitations 
outlined in the Medicaid program.  

Conn. Agencies Regs. § 17b-262-822 
PM 160E. 

Medical Record  - Not 
Signed 

The Department will disallow payment if the performing practitioner fails to 
sign his/her notes with his/her signature or initials in the medical records. 

Conn. Agencies Regs. §§ 17b-262-
828(a), (d), (g); 17b-262-526(7) 

Services - Not Medically 
Necessary 

The Department will disallow payment if the paid service is determined as 
not medically necessary to treat the recipient's condition, as determined by 
the documentation in the case file. 

Conn. Agencies Regs. §§ 17b-262-
821(a); 17b-262-824 

Services – Care Plan The Department will disallow payment if the paid service was made for a 
recipient that did not have a proper care plan developed. 

42 C.F.R. § 8.12(f)(4) 
Conn. Agencies Regs. §§ 17b-262-
824(d) to (g); 19a-495-570(m)(6) 



Services - Unlicensed 
Staff  

The Department will disallow payment if the service is rendered by an 
unlicensed individual. 

Conn. Agencies Regs. §§17b-262-819; 
19a-495-570(m)(7)(H) 
42 C.F.R. § 8.12(h) 
PM 160C.II. 

 


