DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Notice of Proposed Changes to the State Medicaid Plan

The Department of Social Services (DSS) proposes to amend its Medicaid State Plan
effective November 1, 2010 to implement changes pursuant to the state budget.

Under state plan amendment 09-026, the Department of Social Services has proposed
to amend Attachments 3.1-A and 3.1-B of the Connecticut Medicaid State Plan pertaining
to dental services. The Department has proposed requirements that dental providers
obtain prior authorization for identified dental services and to document the medical
necessity for high cost procedures. The Department will perform utilization review
assessments to determine whether services delivered to members are appropriate.

The Department now intends to apply these requirements for prior authorization of
services and post procedure authorization on services provided by hospital dental clinics
and freestanding dental clinics. Federally qualified health centers are not included in the
requirements at this time. The projected cost savings are $4.4 million in SFY 11 and $4.7
million in SFY 12.

Copies of the proposed changes may be obtained at each of the DSS’s regional offices
and on the DSS web site: www.dss.state.ct.us. Go to “Publications” and then to “News
and Updates.” For problems, please contact 860-424-5112.

Written comments must be received by November 9, 2010 at the following address:

Director of Medical Care Administration

Re: State Plan Amendment for Dental Services
Department of Social Services

25 Sigourney Street, 11" Floor

Hartford, CT 06106



Addendum Page 8
To Attachment 3.1-A

State Connecticut

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED TO CATEGORICALLY

NEEDY GROUP(S) ALL

(10) Dental Services

(a)

i.

ii.

iii.

iv.

V.

Vi.
TN#: 10-023
Supercedes

TN#: 84-56

Dentists must be licensed under Chapter 379 of the Connecticut
General Statutes.

Dental specialists must be licensed under Chapter 379 of the
Connecticut General Statutes and must have received and successfully
completed advanced post graduate training by an accredited program
supported by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental
Accreditation.

Dental clinics and dental speciality clinics must be licensed under
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies Sections 19-13-D45 to
19-13-D53, inclusive.

The Department will only pay for orthodontia for individuals under
twenty-one (21) years of age.

Services must meet the requirements of 42 CFR 440.100 and are limited
to the dental provider’s scope of practice.

The Department subjects nonemergency dental services provided by
dentists, dental specialists and dental clinics to prior authorization.
Nonemergency services that are exempt from prior authorization
include diagnostic, prevention, basic restoration procedures and
nonsurgical extractions that are consistent with standard and reasonable
dental practices. The Department also conducts post payment review
for emergency dental and basic restoration procedures performed by
dentists, dental specialists and dental clinics.for appropriateness of
payment. Additional detail on prior authorization by specialty type is
available on the published dental fee schedule. The fee schedule can be
accessed at www.ctdssmap.com. From this webpage, go to “Provider,”
and then to the provider fee schedule download for “Dental.”

Approval Date: Effective Date: 11/01/2010






Addendum Page 8
To Attachment 3.1-B

State Connecticut

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED TO MEDICALLY

NEEDY GROUP(S) ALL

(10) Dental Services

(a)

i.

ii.

iii.

iv.

V.

Vi.
TN#: 10-023
Supercedes

TN#: 84-56

Dentists must be licensed under Chapter 379 of the Connecticut
General Statutes.

Dental specialists must be licensed under Chapter 379 of the
Connecticut General Statutes and must have received and successfully
completed advanced post graduate training by an accredited program
supported by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental
Accreditation.

Dental clinics and dental speciality clinics must be licensed under
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies Sections 19-13-D45 to
19-13-D53, inclusive.

The Department will only pay for orthodontia for individuals under
twenty-one (21) years of age.

Services must meet the requirements of 42 CFR 440.100 and are limited
to the dental provider’s scope of practice.

The Department subjects nonemergency dental services provided by
dentists, dental specialists and dental clinics to prior authorization.
Nonemergency services that are exempt from prior authorization
include diagnostic, prevention, basic restoration procedures and
nonsurgical extractions that are consistent with standard and reasonable
dental practices. The Department also conducts post payment review
for emergency dental and basic restoration procedures performed by
dentists, dental specialists and dental clinics.for appropriateness of
payment. Additional detail on prior authorization by specialty type is
available on the published dental fee schedule. The fee schedule can be
accessed at www.ctdssmap.com. From this webpage, go to “Provider,”
and then to the provider fee schedule download for “Dental.”

Approval Date: Effective Date: 11/01/2010
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