DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Notice of Proposed Medicaid State Plan Amendment
Private Behavioral Health Clinic Reimbursement (SPA 15-037)
The State of Connecticut Department of Social Services (DSS) proposes to submit the following
Medicaid Sate Plan Amendment (SPA) to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

Changes to Medicaid State Plan

Effective on or after July 1, 2015, SPA 15-037 will amend Attachment 4.19-B of the Medicaid
State Plan to increase payment rates for private behavioral health clinics. Pursuant to federal
regulations at 42 C.F.R. § 447.205, public notice is required at this time. Accordingly, this
public notice reflects proposed changes that are currently available based on the state budget
(Public Act 15-244) adopted by the General Assembly during the 2015 regular legislative
session. However, this SPA is subject to change based on legislative adjustments that may occur
in the upcoming special legislative session.

Fiscal Information

Based on information that is available at this time, it is estimated that this SPA will increase
annual aggregate Medicaid expenditures by approximately $8.3 million in State Fiscal Year 2016
and $8.3 million in State Fiscal Year 2017.

Information on Obtaining SPA Language and Submitting Comments

In accordance with federal Medicaid requirements, upon request, DSS will provide copies of the
proposed SPA. Copies of the proposed SPA may also be obtained at any DSS regional office
and on the DSS website: http://www.ct.gov/dss. Go to “Publications” and then “Updates”.

Written, telephone, and email requests should be sent to: Ginny Mahoney, Department of Social
Services, Medical Policy Unit, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105, Phone:
860-424-5145, Email: ginny.mahoney@ct.gov. Please reference “SPA 15-037: Private
Behavioral Health Clinic Reimbursement”. Written comments may be submitted in the same
manner as requests no later than July 14, 2015.



Attachment 4.19B
Page 1(c)i

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of Connecticut

(e) Behavioral Health Clinics:

(1) Private Behavioral Health Clinics

The current fee schedule was set as of July 1, 2015 and is effective for services on or after that
date. Fees for services provided to individuals 18 years of age and over will be 95% of the
published fee.

Effective January 1, 2012, the Department established a separate fee schedule for private
behavioral health clinics other than Federally Qualified Health Centers that meet special access
and quality standards and such fees are higher than the fees available to clinics that do not meet
such special standards. Fees for services provided to individuals 18 years of age and over will be
95% of the published fee.

All fees are published at www.ctdssmap.com. Select “Provider” then “Provider Fee Schedule
Download.” Except as specified in section (€)(2) below regarding public behavioral health
clinics, rates are the same for private and governmental providers.
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