
 
Questions & Answers: Connecticut Child Support Annual Fee 

Why is Connecticut collecting a $25 annual fee for child support? 
The collection of a $25 annual fee is required under United States Code Title 42, §654(6)(B)(ii), and 
Connecticut General Statutes §17b-179(h)(3).  Fees collected and paid to the federal government assist the 
Connecticut child support program in providing the following services: 
• Locating parents for child support purposes; 
• Establishing voluntary or court-adjudicated paternity; 
• Establishing court-ordered financial and medical support;  
• Enforcing financial and medical support through court action; 
• Enforcing court-ordered financial support through federal and state income tax refund withholding; liens 

against real property; withholding of bank accounts, other financial assets, and Connecticut lottery 
winnings; passport denial, and credit bureau reporting; 

• Payment processing and disbursement services; 
• Child support debit card; 
• Child support payment website at www.ctchildsupport.com; and 
• Child support information line at (888) 233-7223. 

Who will be charged the $25 fee? 
An annual fee will be collected only from child support recipients who meet the following criteria: 
• Have applied for and receive child support enforcement services from the State of Connecticut; 
• Receive child support payments through the State of Connecticut; 
• Have received $500 in child support from at least one noncustodial parent within a state fiscal year  

(July 1 – June 30); and 
• Have never received Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) benefits. 

Will I be charged a fee if I received Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) from another 
state? 
You will not be charged the annual fee if you can provide proof that you received TANF benefits from 
another state. 

Is the fee only $25? 
Yes.  The maximum fee that will be collected per child support case is $25, only after you have received at 
least $500 from the noncustodial parent.   
Examples: If $510 is paid to you during the year, then the annual fee collected will be $10. 

If $525 is paid to you during the year, then the annual fee collected will be $25.  
If $5,000 is paid to you during the year, then the annual fee collected will be $25. 

How often is the $25 fee collected? 
A fee is collected once every state fiscal year (July 1 – June 30).  It will be collected once you receive over 
$500 during that time, so the actual collection time will vary depending upon your specific circumstances.   

How is the fee collected if I am receiving child support from more than one noncustodial parent? 
If you receive child support from more than one noncustodial parent, a fee may be collected for each case.    

Is Connecticut the only state collecting a fee? 
No.  The fee is required by federal law and all states are required to pay it to the federal government.  At 
last count over half of all states (including Connecticut) retain the fee from child support payments.  

How long will Connecticut be collecting the fee? 
Every year as long as the law remains in effect. 

How will I know when the fee is collected?  
You will receive a notice by mail each time a fee is collected from your child support payments. 
Whom do I contact if I believe the fee was collected from me in error? 
Instructions will be provided on the notice you receive regarding the fee collection. 
 
 

http://www.ctchildsupport.com/

