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 STATE OF CONNECTICUT  SN 2013(7) 
 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES 

 
25 Sigourney Street Ste 2 
Hartford CT 06106‐5032 

    SPECIAL NOTICE 

2013 Legislative Changes Affecting the Income Tax 
 

 

Earned Income Tax Credit: For the taxable year 
beginning on January 1, 2013, the amount of the 
Connecticut Earned Income Tax Credit that a 
Connecticut resident taxpayer may claim is decreased to 
25% of the earned income tax credit claimed and 
allowed on the federal return.  
 
For the taxable year beginning on January 1, 2014, the 
amount increases to 27.5%.  For taxable years 
beginning January 1, 2015, the amount increases to 
30%. 
 
 
Income Tax Fraud:  Beginning October 1, 2013, 
income tax fraud is a class D felony, which carries a 
fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not 
more than five years, or both.  
 
 
Job Expansion Tax Credit Program: Under the 
prior law, taxpayers could claim this credit in the 
taxable year that a new employee, qualifying 
employee, or veteran employee was hired and, if 
eligible, the next two taxable years.   
 
The new legislation states that on or after January 1, 
2014, the Commissioner of Economic and 
Community Development has the discretion whether 
or not to approve the second or third year credit for 
new employees for whom a credit has previously 
been granted. The decision will be based on whether 
doing so is consistent with the state's economic 
development priorities.  The new legislation does not 
change the approval process of this credit for 
qualifying or veteran employees for the second or 
third year. 
 
The new legislation also changes the cap on the job 
expansion tax credit from $20 million per year to $40 
million over the duration of the job expansion tax 
credit program. 
 

 
Effective Date: January 1, 2013 

Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-704e, 
as amended by 2013 Conn. Pub. Acts 184, §83; 
Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-737(b), as amended by 2013 
Conn. Pub. Acts 258, §58; Conn. Gen. Stat.  
§12-217pp, as amended by 2013 Conn. Pub. Acts 
232, §11. 
 

 
Effect on Other Documents: None.   
 

 
Effect on Other Documents: None. 
 

 
Effect of This Document: A Special Notice 
announces a new policy or practice in response to 
changes in state or federal laws or regulations or to 
judicial decisions. A Special Notice indicates an 
informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law by the 
Department of Revenue Services (DRS). 
 

 
For Further Information: Call DRS during 
business hours, Monday through Friday: 

 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 
Greater Hartford calling area only); or 

 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). 

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may 
transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 
 

 

Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut 
tax forms and publications. 
 

 

Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, 
easy, free, and confidential): Business and 
individual taxpayers can use the Taxpayer Service 
Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC to file a variety of 
tax returns, update account information, and make 
payments online. 
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File Electronically: You can choose first-time filer 
information and filing assistance or log directly into 
the TSC to file returns and pay taxes. 

Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax 
returns that cannot be filed through the TSC. Log in 
and select the Make Payment Only option. Designate 
a payment date up to the due date of the tax and mail 
a paper return to complete the filing process. 
 

DRS E-Alerts Service: Get connected to the latest 
news from DRS. Receive notification by email of 
changes to legislation, policies, and procedures. 
DRS E-Alerts provide information for employer’s 
withholding tax, News – Press Releases, and Top 100 
Delinquency List. Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS and select Sign up for e-alerts 
under How Do I? on the gold navigation bar. 

 

SN 2013(7) 
Income Tax 
Index heading 
Issued: 11/04/2013 


