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SPECIAL NOTICE

2012 Legislative Changes Affecting Sales and Use Taxes,
Enhanced 911 and Marijuana and Controlled Substances Tax

Purpose: This Special Notice summarizes
legislative changes made during the 2012 regular
session of the Connecticut General Assembly
affecting sales and use taxes and the marijuana and
controlled substances tax.

Effective Date: As noted below

Statutory Authority: 2012 Conn. Pub. Acts 55;
2012 Conn. Pub. Acts 135; 2012 Conn. Pub. Acts
153, 8§82, and 3; 2012 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, 8124,
147-148, 150, 169, 170 (June 12 Spec. Sess.).

“Zappers”: Legislation makes it a crime to
willfully and knowingly sell, purchase, install,
transfer, or possess an automated sales suppression
device (i.e., “zapper”) or “phantom-ware” and
subjects violators to a fine of up to $100,000, one to
five years in prison, or both. The legislation is
effective on and after July 1, 2012.

A “zapper” is a software program that falsifies
electronic cash register and other point-of-sale system
electronic records, including transaction data (e.g.,
items purchased, price and taxability of each item,
and amount tendered and returned) and transaction
reports. “Phantom-ware” is a hidden programming
option embedded in or hardwired into an electronic
cash register, whether preinstalled or installed later,
which may be used to create a virtual second till or
eliminate or manipulate sales records, that may or
may not be digitally preserved, to represent the true
or manipulated record of electronic cash register
transactions.

See Special Notice 2012(4), 2012 Legislation
Prohibiting the Use of Zappers.

Enhanced Emergency 9-1-1 Program:
Legislation requires sellers of prepaid wireless
telecommunications cards to collect a prepaid
wireless Enhanced 9-1-1 fee for each retail
transaction, effective January 1, 2013. No later than
30 days after receipt of a prepaid wireless E 9-1-1
fee, DRS must transfer the fee to the State Treasurer
for deposit into the E 9-1-1 Telecommunications
Fund.

The amount of the fee will be set by the Public
Utilities Regulatory  Authority (PURA). The
consumer pays the fee when the prepaid card is
purchased, and the seller is required to remit the fee
to DRS. The fee is not included in the calculation of
any tax, additional fee, or surcharge and must be
separately stated by the seller on an invoice or receipt
provided to the consumer. Sellers who collect the fee
may keep 1% of the fee.

Retailers collecting the E 9-1-1 fee will follow the
same registration, payment, audit, and appeal
procedures in place for sales and use taxes. DRS will
establish procedures to ensure that a sale of prepaid
wireless telecommunications services does not
include the fee when sold by a wholesaler or
distributor to a retailer, similar to the resale
procedures for the sales tax.

Aircraft Industry Joint Ventures: The legislation
expands both the eligibility for, and the duration of
the exemption from sales and use taxes for personnel
services, as well as business analysis and
management services for certain kinds of joint
ventures in the aircraft industry.

To qualify for the exemption:

e A joint venture's purpose must relate directly to
producing or developing new or experimental
products or systems and supporting and
marketing them;
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e One of its corporate participants must have been
actively engaged in business in Connecticut for at
least 10 years; and

e The entity receiving services must be a
corporation, partnership, or limited liability
company and the entity giving services must be
its corporate shareholder, partner, or member,
respectively.

Effective for sales occurring on and after
July 1, 2012, the legislation expands eligibility for
the exemption to allow a joint venture in the aircraft
industry to qualify, as long as each participant's
ownership interest is equal to the aggregate
ownership interest percentage of each related member
participating in the venture.

In addition, the legislation extends from 30 to 40
consecutive years the duration of the exemption for
aircraft industry joint ventures that existed before
January 1, 1986. The exemption for all other joint
ventures remains for 20 consecutive years from the
date the joint venture is formed, incorporated, or
organized.

Connecticut Innovations, Incorporated:
Effective July 1, 2012, the legislation merges the
Connecticut Development Authority (CDA) into
Connecticut Innovations, Incorporated (CII). It
authorizes CIl to form subsidiaries which will be
quasi-public agencies with the same tax exemptions
of CII.

In addition to existing sales tax exemptions available
to CII, effective July 1, 2012, the legislation provides
an exemption from sales and use taxes for any
tangible personal property or services acquired for
incorporation into or used and consumed in
connection with the development, construction,
rehabilitation, renovation or repair of a project
approved by CII for sales and use tax relief. This
exemption will be in accordance with procedures
adopted by the board of directors of CIlI and is
subject to any limitations or conditions of the
approval.

Cll may create sales and use tax exemption
certificates to distribute to program participants, who
can use the certificates to make tax exempt purchases
of tangible personal property. CIl shall develop any
exemption  certificates in  collaboration and
consultation with the Commissioner of Revenue
Services.

Legalization of Medical Marijuana: Although
this legislation does not specifically amend any
provision within Title 12 of the Connecticut General
Statutes, there are tax implications that stem from its
provisions.

Summary of legislation: A licensed physician may
certify an adult patient's use of marijuana after
determining that the patient has a debilitating medical
condition and could potentially benefit from the use
of marijuana to provide relief from symptoms of that
medical condition. Patients seeking to use marijuana
for relief from symptoms of a medical condition must
have a written certification by a physician and
register with Department of Consumer Protection
(DCP). Qualifying patients and their primary
caregivers may possess a combined one-month
marijuana supply.

The legislation establishes who can be primary
caregivers and requires them to register with DCP.
Registry information is generally confidential and not
subject to disclosure wunder the Freedom of
Information Act (FOIA), but may be disclosed for
specified purposes (e.g., to law enforcement officials
for investigating and prosecuting crime).

Pharmacists (termed “dispensaries”) are subjected to
licensing requirements to supply marijuana and
producers are subjected to licensing requirements to
grow it. DCP must adopt regulations that set the
maximum number of dispensaries and producers (the
number of producers must be at least three but no
more than 10), create licensing, and set standards.

Patients, their caregivers or doctors, dispensaries, or
producers may not be subject to criminal or civil
penalties, or denied any right or privilege, for
specified actions relating to therapeutic marijuana
use. Caregivers are only protected from these
punishments if they obtained marijuana from a
licensed dispensary. The same restriction does not
apply to patients.

Protections for patients will not apply in specific
settings, such as at work, at school, in public places,
in moving vehicles, or in front of children.

For the most part, this legislation is effective
October 1, 2012 although some sections are effective
upon passage. However, DCP may only license a
dispensary on and after the effective date of the
regulations it adopts in accordance with this act.
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Sales and Use Tax Implications: Sales of marijuana
by licensed dispensaries (see below) will be subject
to sales and use taxes; the sales and use tax
exemption for prescription medicine will not apply.
Licensed dispensaries may purchase the marijuana
from licensed producers on a resale basis.

Licensed producers may be able to claim a sales tax
exemption under the provision commonly called the
farmer tax exemption. This exemption allows entities
engaged in agricultural production as a trade or
business to be exempt from the sales and use tax for
purchases of tangible personal property used
exclusively for agricultural production

Marijuana and Controlled Substances Tax
Implications: ~ Under the new legislation, the
marijuana and controlled substances tax does not
apply to persons in lawful possession of these drugs.
Qualifying patients, physicians, primary caregivers,
producers and dispensaries will be considered in
lawful possession of marijuana, and therefore, not
subject to the tax. However, anyone not in lawful
possession of marijuana would be subject to the tax,
in addition to other penalties.

Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at
www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut
tax forms and publications.

Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast,
easy, free, and confidential):

Business and individual taxpayers can use the
Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC
to file a variety of tax returns, update account
information, and make payments online.

File Electronically: You can choose to get first-time
filer information and filing assistance, or can log
directly into the TSC to file returns and pay taxes.

Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax
returns that cannot be filed through the TSC. Log
in and select the Make Payment Only option.
Designate a payment date up to the due date of the
tax and mail a paper return to complete the filing
process.

Effect on Other Documents: None affected.

Effect of This Document: A Special Notice
announces a new policy or practice in response to
changes in state or federal laws or regulations or to
judicial decisions. A Special Notice indicates an
informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law by the
Department of Revenue Services (DRS).

For Further Information: Call DRS during
business hours, Monday through Friday:

e 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the
Greater Hartford calling area only); or

e 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).
Select Option 6 to speak with a representative.

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may
transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911.

DRS E-Alerts Service: Get connected to the latest
news from DRS. Receive notification by email of
changes to legislation, policies, and procedures.
DRS E-Alerts provide information for employer’s
withholding tax, News — Press Releases, and Top 100
Delinquency List. Visit the DRS website at
www.ct.gov/DRS and select e-alerts from the left
navigation bar.
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