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  STATE OF CONNECTICUT 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES SN 2010(3) 
25 Sigourney Street Ste 2 
Hartford CT 06106-5032 

  SPECIAL NOTICE 

2010 Legislative Changes Affecting the Income Tax 
 

 

Purpose: This Special Notice describes changes 
affecting the Connecticut income tax made during the 
2010 session of the Connecticut General Assembly. 
 

 

Effective Date: Effective for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2010.  
 

 
Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-743, as 
amended by 2010 Conn. Pub. Acts 117, §81; 2010 
Conn. Pub. Acts 75, §8; 2010 Conn. Pub. Acts 75, §9, 
as amended by 2010 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §18 (June 
Spec. Sess.); 2010 Conn. Pub. Acts 75, §15; Conn. 
Gen. Stat. §12-704(b)(2), as amended by 2010 Conn. 
Pub. Acts 188, §12; Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-727(b)(2), as 
amended by 2010 Conn. Pub. Acts 188, §13.  
 

 
Information Regarding Organ Donor Registry 
Organization: The Department of Revenue Services 
(DRS) is required to include information in the 
income tax instructions about the manner in which a 
taxpayer may contact an organ donor registry 
organization or provide electronic links to 
appropriate organ donor registry organizations.  

DRS will include the required information in the 
income tax instructions booklet for taxable year 2010. 
 

 

Qualified Small Business Job Creation Tax 
Credit Program: 2010 Conn. Pub. Acts, §8, 
establishes a qualified small business job creation tax 
credit program, which is available to a qualified small 
business that hires a new employee. The credit is 
administered by the Department of Economic and 
Community Development (DECD) and is applicable to 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010. 

To be eligible to claim the credit, the qualified small 
business must apply to DECD. If approved, DECD 
will issue a certification letter to the qualified small 
business indicating that the credit will be available to 
be claimed.  

A qualified small business is an employer who is 
subject to tax under Chapter 207, 208, or 229 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes and who employs less 
than 50 employees in Connecticut as of the date of its 
application to DECD. 

The amount of the credit is $200 per month for each 
new employee hired. The new employee must reside in 
Connecticut and be hired after May 6, 2010, to fill a 
new full time job in which he or she is required to 
work at least 35 or more hours per week for not less 
than 48 weeks in a calendar year during the income 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, and prior 
to January 1, 2013. However, the new employee 
cannot have been employed in Connecticut during the 
prior 12 months by any of the following: 

 A corporation, limited liability company, 
partnership, association, or trust controlled by the 
qualified small business;  

 An individual, corporation, limited liability 
company, partnership, association, or trust in 
control of the qualified small business; 

 A corporation, limited liability company, 
partnership, association, or trust controlled by an 
individual, corporation, limited liability company, 
partnership, association, or trust in control of the 
qualified small business; or  

 A member of the same controlled group as the 
qualified small business.  

A credit cannot be claimed for: 

 A new temporary employee; 

 A new employee hired for a seasonal job; 

 Any new employee who is an owner, member, or 
partner in the qualified small business;  

 A new employee for whom credit will be claimed 
against any tax under another statutory provision; 
or 

 A new employee who is not employed at the close 
of the income year of the qualified small business. 
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The qualified small business must claim and use the 
credit in the income year in which the new employee 
is hired and, if eligible, the two immediately 
succeeding income years provided the new employee 
is still employed at the close of the income year of 
the qualified small business. The credit is not 
refundable and any tax credit not used in the income 
year will expire. 

For qualified small businesses subject to Connecticut 
income tax under Chapter 229 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes, income year means the taxable year 
of the qualified small business as determined for 
federal income tax purposes.  

For qualified small businesses subject to the 
corporation business tax under Chapter 208 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes, income year means the 
calendar year upon the basis of which net income of 
the qualified small business is computed unless a 
fiscal year other than a calendar year has been 
established for federal income tax purposes. 

For qualified small businesses subject to the 
insurance premiums tax and health care centers tax 
under Chapter 207 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes, income year means the calendar year of the 
qualified small business.  

The tax credit may be claimed by the shareholders or 
partners if the qualified small business is an S 
corporation or an entity treated as a partnership for 
federal income tax purposes. If the qualified small 
business is a single member limited liability company 
that is disregarded as an entity separate from its owner, 
the tax credit may be claimed by the limited liability 
company owner. 

The credit may be used against the tax liability under 
Chapter 207, 208, and 229 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes. If the qualified small business is subject to 
the income tax imposed under Chapter 229 of the 
General Statutes, the credit allowed under this section 
cannot exceed the amount of the tax imposed by that 
chapter. However, the credit cannot be used against 
the withholding tax liability imposed under Conn. 
Gen. Stat. §12-707. 
 

 
Vocational Rehabilitation Job Creation Tax 
Credit Program: 2010 Conn. Pub. Acts 75, §9, 
establishes a vocational rehabilitation job creation tax 
credit program. The credit is administered by DECD 
and is applicable to taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2010. 

To be eligible to claim the credit, the employer must 
apply to DECD. If approved, DECD will issue a 
certification letter to the employer indicating that the 
credit will be available to be claimed. 

The credit is $200 per month for each new qualifying 
employee hired by a Connecticut employer engaged in 
business in Connecticut who is subject to tax under 
Chapter 207, 208, or 229 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes, who hires a new qualifying employee who 
resides in Connecticut, and who is required to work 
at least 20 hours or more per week for not less than 
48 weeks in a calendar year. 

A new qualifying employee is a person (A) receiving 
vocational rehabilitation services from the Bureau of 
Rehabilitation Services within the Department of 
Social Services or from the Board of Education and 
Services for the Blind, and (B) hired by the employer 
to fill a new job after May 6, 2010, during the 
employer’s income years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2010. However, it does not include a 
person receiving vocational rehabilitation services 
who was employed in Connecticut during the prior 
12 months by: 

 A corporation, limited liability company, 
partnership, association, or trust controlled by the 
employer;  

 An individual, corporation, limited liability 
company, partnership, association, or trust in 
control of the employer;  

 A corporation, limited liability company, 
partnership, association, or trust controlled by an 
individual, corporation, limited liability company, 
partnership, association, or trust in control of the 
employer; or  

 A member of the same controlled group as the 
employer. 

A credit cannot be claimed for: 

 Any new qualifying employee who is an owner, 
member, or partner in the business of the 
employer;  

 A new qualifying employee for whom credit may 
be claimed against any tax under another 
statutory provision; or 

 A new qualifying employee who is not employed 
at the close of the income year of the employer. 
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The employer must claim and use the credit in the 
income year in which the new employee is hired and, 
if eligible, the two immediately succeeding income 
years provided the new qualifying employee is still 
employed at the close of the income year of the 
employer. The credit is not refundable and any tax 
credit not used in the income year will expire. 

For employers subject to Connecticut income tax 
under Chapter 229 of the Connecticut General Statutes, 
income year means the taxable year of the employer 
as determined for federal income tax purposes. 

For employers subject to the corporation business tax 
under Chapter 208 of the Connecticut General Statutes, 
income year means the calendar year upon the basis 
of which net income of the employer is computed 
unless a fiscal year other than a calendar year has 
been established for federal income tax purposes. 

For employers subject to the insurance premiums tax 
and health care centers tax under Chapter 207 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes, income year means the 
calendar year of the employer.  

The tax credit may be claimed by the shareholders or 
partners if the employer is an S corporation or an 
entity treated as a partnership for federal income tax 
purposes. If the employer is a single member limited 
liability company that is disregarded as an entity 
separate from its owner, the tax credit may be 
claimed by the limited liability company owner. 

The credit may be used against the tax liability under 
Chapter 207, 208, and 229 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes. If the employer is subject to the income tax 
imposed under Chapter 229, the credit allowed under 
this section cannot exceed the amount of the tax 
imposed by that chapter. In addition, the credit 
cannot be used against the withholding tax liability 
imposed under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-707. 
 
 
Angel Investor Tax Credit: 2010 Conn. Pub.  
Acts 75, §15, provides for a tax credit against the tax 
imposed under Chapter 229 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes for a cash investment of not less 
than $100,000 in the qualified securities of a 
Connecticut business by an angel investor. This new 
tax credit is applicable to taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2010. 

An angel investor is an accredited investor, as 
defined by the Securities and Exchange Commission, 
or network of accredited investors who review new 
or proposed businesses for potential investment who 
may seek active involvement, such as consulting and 
mentoring, in a Connecticut business. 

The following are not angel investors: 

 A person controlling 50% or more of the 
Connecticut business invested in by the angel 
investor; 

 A venture capital company; and 

 Any bank, bank and trust company, insurance 
company, trust company, national bank, savings 
association, or building and loan association for 
activities that are a part of the normal course of 
business. 

The angel investor that intends to make a cash 
investment of not less than $100,000 in a Connecticut 
business may apply to Connecticut Innovations Inc. 
at www.ctangeltaxcredit.com to reserve a tax credit 
equal to 25 percent of the cash investment. The angel 
investor must choose from a list of Connecticut 
businesses that Connecticut Innovations Inc. has 
determined are qualified to receive cash investments 
eligible for the angel investor tax credit. Tax credits 
cannot be reserved for any investments made on or 
after July 1, 2014. 

The total tax credit allowed to an angel investor 
cannot exceed $250,000 and cannot exceed the 
amount of the income tax imposed under Chapter 229 
of the Connecticut General Statutes for the taxable year. 
The credit cannot be used against the withholding tax 
liability imposed by Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-707. 

The credit must be claimed in the taxable year in 
which the investment is made. Any tax credit claimed 
but not applied against the income tax liability may 
be carried forward for the five immediately 
succeeding taxable years until the full credit has been 
applied. The credit is not transferable. 

The tax credit may be claimed by the shareholders or 
partners if the angel investor is an S corporation or an 
entity treated as a partnership for federal income tax 
purposes. If the angel investor is a single member 
limited liability company that is disregarded as an 
entity separate from its owner, the tax credit may be 
claimed by the limited liability company owner, 
provided the owner is a person subject to Connecticut 
income tax. 
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Modification to the Requirement for Filing 
Amended Returns: Effective for taxable years 
commencing on or after January 1, 2010, if a 
Connecticut taxpayer files an amended federal 
income tax return with the Internal Revenue Service 
(IRS) or other competent authority, the taxpayer is 
required to file an amended Connecticut income tax 
return on or before the date that is 90 days after the 
final determination is made on the amended return by 
the IRS or other competent authority. 

If a Connecticut taxpayer files an amended return 
with another state of the United States or a political 
subdivision of another state or the District of 
Columbia which affects the amount used on the 
Connecticut return to determine the credit for taxes 
paid to the other jurisdiction, the taxpayer is required 
to file an amended Connecticut income tax return on 
or before the date that is 90 days after the final 
determination is made on the amended return by the 
tax officers or other competent authority of the other 
jurisdiction. 

If proof of the final determination by the IRS or other 
competent authority or by the tax officers or other 
competent authority of the other jurisdiction is 
submitted with the Connecticut amended return, DRS 
will treat the Connecticut amended return reporting a 
tax overpayment as containing sufficient information 
to process the return.  

Formerly, the same Connecticut taxpayer was 
required to file an amended return with Connecticut 
on or before the date that was 90 days after the date 
of filing an amended return with the other jurisdiction 
or with the IRS.  
 

 
Effect on Other Documents: None affected 
 

 
Effect of This Document: A Special Notice 
announces a new policy or practice in response to 
changes in state or federal laws or regulations or to 
judicial decisions. A Special Notice indicates an 
informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law by DRS. 

For Further Information: Call DRS during 
business hours, Monday through Friday: 

 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 
Greater Hartford calling area only); or 

 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). 

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may 
transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 
 
 
Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut 
tax forms and publications. 
 
 
Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, easy, 
free, and confidential):  

Business and individual taxpayers can use the 
Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC 
to file a variety of tax returns, update account 
information, and make payments online. 

File Electronically: You can choose first-time filer 
information and filing assistance or log directly into 
the TSC to file returns and pay taxes. 

Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax 
returns that cannot be filed through the TSC. Log in 
and select the Make Payment Only option. Designate 
a payment date up to the due date of the tax and mail 
a paper return to complete the filing process. 
 
 
DRS E-Alerts Service: Get connected to the latest 
news from DRS. Receive notification by email of 
changes to legislation, policies, and procedures. 
DRS E-Alerts provide information for employer’s 
withholding tax, News – Press Releases, and Top 100 
Delinquency List. Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS and select e-alerts from the left 
navigation bar. 

 

SN 2010(3) 
Income Tax 
Issued: 08/17/10 


