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Purpose

This publication helps you check your Connecticut income
tax withholding and, if necessary, adjust your withholding.
You should check your withholding once a year or if your
tax situation changes to ensure you have the correct amount
of Connecticut income tax withheld from your wages.

See Announcement 2012(1), Information for Married
Individuals Who Are Both Employed and File a Joint
Connecticut Income Tax Return.

Why | Should Check My Withholding

In general, your employer withholds Connecticut income tax
from your wages according to the information you provided
in completing Form CT-W4, Employee’s Withholding
Certificate. If the information you provided is no longer
accurate, your employer may be withholding too much or too
little Connecticut income tax from your wages. If too much
tax is withheld, you lose the use of money that may not be
returned to you until you file a return showing you overpaid the
tax. If too little tax is withheld, you may be subject to interest
in addition to any tax due even if you file your return and pay
the tax you report on time. You may adjust your withholding
at any time by completing and filing a new Form CT-W4 with
your employer.

When to Check My Withholding

You should check your withholding early in the year and
compare the total tax to be withheld from your pay for the year
with what you expect your Connecticut income tax liability
will be for the year. You should check your withholding
again during the year if the tax laws change or if any of the
following apply to you:

 Your Withholding Code changes;

 Your filing status is filing jointly* and both you and your
spouse work. See below;

* You have more than one job at a time; or

* You have income not subject to Connecticut income tax
withholding such as nonwage income including interest,
dividends, and capital gains.

*Filing jointly includes filing jointly for federal and
Connecticut and filing jointly for Connecticut only. Likewise,
filing separately includes filing separately for federal and
Connecticut, and filing separately for Connecticut only.

A taxpayer with an annual income between $200,000 and
$700,000 who files jointly can choose either Withholding
Code “C” or “D.” If the taxpayer chooses Withholding
Code “D,” overwithholding might occur. Use Worksheet 1
and 2 in this publication to help you determine if you need
to adjust your withholding amount.

Spouses who are both employed and select Withholding
Code “A” on Form CT-W4 may refer to the supplemental
tables on Pages 13 and 14 for a quick and easy guide on how
to adjust their withholding. For a more precise calculation,
follow the directions provided in the following sections.

How to Check My Withholding

You need a pay statement for a full pay period showing the
amount of Connecticut income tax withheld and a copy of
your most recently filed Form CT-W4. Your employer has
your Form CT-W4 on file and can provide you with a copy.
Once you have these documents:

1. Refer to Line 1 of your most recently filed Form CT-W4
to review your current Withholding Code.

a. If your Withholding Code for 2013 remains the same,
see “2” below.

b. If your Withholding Code is different, complete a
new Form CT-W4 using your correct Withholding
Code.

Read all instructions for Form CT-W4 carefully to
ensure your withholding is correct. File this form with
your employer. It is not necessary to go on to “2”
below.

2. Complete Worksheet 1 on Page 5 to estimate your total
2013 Connecticut income tax liability. Then complete
Worksheet 2 to compare your projected total 2013
Connecticut income tax liability with your projected 2013
Connecticut income tax withholding.

Filing Jointly

If your filing status is filing jointly, you must combine
your income with your spouse’s income and combine your
withholding with your spouse’s withholding when completing
the worksheets. See Form CT-W4 and instructions included
in this publication.

New Hires

Contact your employer’s payroll department to obtain the
amount of Connecticut income tax to be withheld from your
wages based on your Withholding Code.

Nonwage Income or Income Not Subject to
Withholding

If you have nonwage income or income not subject to
withholding, you may wish to make estimated income
tax payments instead of increasing your withholding.
Informational Publication 2011(26), Estimated Connecticut
Income Taxes, explains this option. Estimated income tax
payments are made using Form CT-1040ES, 2013 Estimated
Connecticut Income Tax Payment Coupon for Individuals.
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4 Caution N\

If you owe $1,000 or more in Connecticut income tax after
subtracting Connecticut income tax withheld, you may be
subject to interest on the underpaid amount. Generally, if you
do not prepay in timely estimated tax payments or withholding,
or both, the lesser of 100% of the income tax shown on your
2012 Connecticut income tax return, if you filed a 2012
Connecticut income tax return that covered a 12 month period,
or 90% of the income tax shown on your 2013 Connecticut
income tax return, you may owe interest at the rate of 1%
per month or fraction of a month on the underpaid amount. To
avoid interest charges, be sure your withholding is as accurate

\ 2 possible. Y,

How to Increase My Withholding

Before you complete Form CT-W4 on Page 11, you should
complete Worksheets 1 and 2 on Page 5 to help you determine
if you need to change your withholding. Then complete the
following steps to fill out your Form CT-W4:

1. Enter your Withholding Code on Line 1 of the new

Form CT-W4;

2. Enter the amount from Line 8 of Worksheet 2 on

Line 2 of the new Form CT-W4;

a. Ifthere was an amounton Line 2 of your most recently
filed Form CT-W4, add that amount to the amount on
Line 8 of Worksheet 2 and enter the total on Line 2 of
your new Form CT-W4.

b. If there was an amount on Line 3 of your most recently
filed Form CT-W4, subtract that amount from the
amount on Line 8 of Worksheet 2 and enter the new
amount on Line 2 if a positive amount or on Line 3 if
a negative amount.

3. Enter all other required information on Form CT-W4; and
4. Give the new Form CT-W4 to your employer. Keep a copy
for yourself.

Example 1: If your previously-filed Form CT-W4 showed
$3on Line 2, and Line 8 of Worksheet 2 shows you should
increase your current withholding by $5, enter $8 on Line
2 of your new Form CT-W4.

More Than One Job

If you have more than one job, or your filing status is filing
jointly and your spouse also works, you can adjust your
withholding for one or more of the jobs. Apply the amount
on Line 7 of Worksheet 2 to only one job or divide it between
the jobs any way you wish. Divide the amount you apply to a
job by the number of paydays remaining in 2013 for that job.
This will give you the additional amount to enter on Line 2,
or Line 3 for a reduced amount, of the new Form CT-W4 you
will file for that job.

How to Decrease My Withholding

Before decreasing the amount to be withheld, be sure
you have enough Connecticut income tax withheld to
meet your projected Connecticut income tax liability.
Underwithholding may result in interest charges. See
IP 2011(26).

Before you complete Form CT-W4 on Page 11, you should
complete Worksheets 1 and 2 on Page 5 to help you
determine if you need to change your withholding.
Then complete the following steps to fill out your
Form CT-W4:

1. Enter your Withholding Code on Line 1 of the new

Form CT-W4;

2. Enter the amount from Line 8 of Worksheet 2 on

Line 3 of the new Form CT-W4;

a. If there was an amount on Line 2 of your most
recently filed Form CT-W4, subtract that amount
from the amount on Line 8 of Worksheet 2 and enter
the difference on Line 2 if a positive amount or on
Line 3 if a negative amount.

b. Ifthere was anamount on Line 3 of your most recently
filed Form CT-W4, add that amount to the amount
on Line 8 of Worksheet 2 and enter the total on
Line 3 of your new Form CT-W4.

3. Enter all other required information on Form CT-W4; and
4. Give the new Form CT-W4 to your employer. Keep a copy
for yourself.

Example 2: If your previously-filed Form CT-W4
showed $3 on Line 2, and Line 8 of Worksheet 2 shows
you should decrease your current withholding by $5,
enter $2 on Line 3 of your new Form CT-W4.

If too much Connecticut income tax is withheld in 2013, your
overpayment of Connecticut income tax may be refunded to
you when you file your 2013 Connecticut income tax return.

Exempt From Connecticut Withholding

You are exempt from Connecticut withholding if you expect

to have no Connecticut income tax liability for the taxable

year. You have no Connecticut income tax liability if your

annual gross income is:

* $12,000 or less and your filing status is filing
separately;

e $14,000 or less and your filing status is single;

e $19,000 or less and your filing status is head of household:;
or

» $24,000 or less and your filing status is filing jointly, or
qualifying widow(er) with dependent child.
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Gross Income means all income received in the form of
money, goods, property, and services not exempt from
federal income tax and any additions to income required to be
reported on Form CT-1040, Connecticut Resident Income Tax
Return, or Form CT-1040NR/PY, Connecticut Nonresident
and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, Schedule 1,
Modifications to Federal Adjusted Gross Income.

To claim exemption from Connecticut withholding, you
must enter Withholding Code “E” on Form CT-W4,
Line 1.

Income for services performed by a military servicemember’s
spouse who is in Connecticut solely to be with the
servicemember serving in compliance with military orders is
not deemed to be income from or connected with Connecticut

sources unless the spouse’s state of residence is Connecticut.
A military servicemember’s spouse claiming exemption
under the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act must
claim the exemption on Form CT-W4. See Informational
Publication 2009(21), Connecticut Income Tax Information
for Armed Forces Personnel and Veterans.

When Will My New Form CT-W4 Go Into Effect

If the change is for the current year, your employer must
withhold on the basis of your new Form CT-W4 no later than
the start of the first payroll period ending on or after the 30th
day following the day on which you give your employer your
new Form CT-W4. If the change is for next year, your new
Form CT-W4 will not take effect until next year.

Income Tax Worksheet 1 - Instructions

Line 1: Enter the amount of federal adjusted gross income
you expect in 2013. You may use federal Form 1040ES,
Estimated Tax for Individuals, as a worksheet to determine
your federal adjusted gross income. If you are a spouse in
a same sex marriage, you must recalculate your federal
adjusted gross income as if your filing status for federal
income tax purposes were married filing jointly or married
filing separately.

Line 2: Enter your total estimated allowable Connecticut
additions. See Form CT-1040 or Form CT-1040NR/PY,
Schedule 1, Modifications to Federal Adjusted Gross Income,
for information about allowable Connecticut modifications.

Line 4: Enter your total estimated allowable Connecticut
subtractions. See Form CT-1040 or Form CT-1040NR/PY,
Schedule 1, for information about allowable Connecticut
modifications.

Line 5: Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents Only:
If your Connecticut-sourced income is greater than
your Connecticut adjusted gross income, enter your
Connecticut-sourced income. See the instructions for.
Form CT-1040NR/PY for more information on
Connecticut-sourced income.

Line 6: To calculate your estimated Connecticut income
tax, complete the 2013 Tax Calculation Schedule on Page 5.

Line 7: Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents Only: If
your Connecticut-sourced income is greater than or equal to
your Connecticut adjusted gross income, enter 1.0000. If your
Connecticut-sourced income is less than your Connecticut

adjusted gross income, complete the following calculation
and enter the result on Line 7.

Connecticut-Sourced Income
Connecticut Adjusted Gross Income
(Line 5 of Worksheet 1)

Do not enter a number less than zero or greater than 1. If
the result is less than zero, enter “0;” if greater than 1, enter
1.0000. Round to four decimal places.

= Line?

Line 9: Residents and Part-Year Residents Only:
Enter estimated allowable credit for income taxes paid to
other jurisdictions. Enter “0” if not applicable. See the
instructions for Form CT-1040 or Form CT-1040NR/PY,
Schedule 2, Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Qualifying
Jurisdictions.

Line 11: If you expect to owe federal alternative
minimum tax in 2013, you may also owe Connecticut
alternative minimum tax. Enter your estimated Connecticut
alternative minimum tax liability. See instructions for
Form CT-6251, Connecticut Alternative Minimum Tax
Return - Individuals.

Line 13: Enter estimated allowable Connecticut income tax
credit(s). Enter “0” if you are not entitled to a credit. (Credit
for a prior year alternative minimum tax is not allowed if you
entered an amount on Line 11.) See instructions for Schedule
CT-IT Credit, Income Tax Credit Summary.

Line 14: Subtract Line 13 from Line 12. Use this amount to
complete Worksheet 2.
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Worksheet 1

Projected Income Tax Liability for 2013

See Page 4 for instructions.

Enter combined amounts if you expect your 2013 Connecticut income tax filing status to be filing jointly.

1. Federal adjusted gross income (AGI) you expect in 2013: To determine this you may want to

start with federal AGI on your last year’s return and add or subtract your expected changes. 1.
2. Allowable Connecticut additions: See Income Tax Worksheet 1 - Instructions, Page 4. 2.
3. Add Line 1 and Line 2. 3.
4. Allowable Connecticut subtractions: See Income Tax Worksheet 1 - Instructions, Page 4. 4.
5. Connecticut adjusted gross income: Subtract Line 4 from Line 3.

Nonresidents and part-year residents: Enter your income from Connecticut sources

if greater than your Connecticut adjusted gross income. 5.
6. Connecticut income tax: Complete Tax Calculation Schedule below. 6.
7. Nonresidents and part-year residents only: See Income Tax Worksheet 1 - Instructions, Page 4.

Residents enter 1.0000. 7.

Multiply Line 7 by Line 6. 8
9. Credit for income taxes paid to other jurisdictions: See Income Tax Worksheet 1 - Instructions, Page 4. .
10. Subtract Line 9 from Line 8. 10.
11. Estimated Connecticut alternative minimum tax: See Income Tax Worksheet 1 - Instructions, Page 4. 11.
12. Add Line 10 and Line 11. 12.
13. Estimated allowable credits from Schedule CT-IT Credit: See Income Tax Worksheet 1 -

Instructions, Page 4. 13.
14. Subtract Line 13 from Line 12. This is your projected Connecticut income tax liability for 2012

Enter here and on Worksheet 2, Line 1. 14.

2013 Tax Calculation Schedule

1. Enter the amount from Worksheet 1, Line 5. 1. 00
2. Enter personal exemption from Table A - Personal Exemptions, on Page 6. If zero, enter “0.” 2. 00
3. Connecticut taxable income: Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. If less than zero, enter “0.” 3. 00
4. Tax calculation: See Table B - Tax Calculation, on Page 7. 4. 00
5. Enter the add-back amount from Table C - 3% Tax Rate Phase-Out, on Page 8. If zero, enter “0.” 5. 00
6. Enter the recapture amount from Table D - Tax Recapture, Page 9. If zero, enter “0.” 6. 00
7. Connecticut income tax: Add Line 4, Line 5, and Line 6. 7. 00
8. Enter decimal amount from Table E - Personal Tax Credits, on Page 10. If zero, enter “0.” 8. 00
9. Multiply the amount on Line 7 by the decimal amount on Line 8. 9. 00
10. Connecticut Income Tax: Subtract Line 9 from Line 7. Enter this amount on Line 6 of Worksheet 1. 10. 00

Worksheet 2

Projected Income Tax Withholding and Estimated Payments for 2013
Enter combined amounts if you expect your 2013 Connecticut filing status to be filing jointly.

1. Enter your projected Connecticut income tax liability for 2012 from Worksheet 1, Line 14.

1.

2. Total Connecticut income tax withheld to date during 2013 from all of your jobs: You should be
able to find your withholding to date on your last pay statement.

3. Connecticut income tax withholding expected for the rest of 2013: For each job, multiply the
amount of Connecticut income tax now being withheld each payday by the number of paydays
remaining in 2013 and enter the combined amount for all jobs.

New hires: Multiply the amount of Connecticut income tax to be withheld for each payday
by the number of paydays remaining in 2013.

4. Total projected Connecticut income tax withholding for all paydays in 2013: Add Line 2 and Line 3.

5. Enter estimated Connecticut income tax paid or expected to be paid for 2013 with Form CT-1040ES
and any overpayment applied from your 2012 Connecticut income tax return.

6. Total Connecticut withholding and estimated payments: Add Line 4 and Line 5.

~

Subtract Line 6 from Line 1.

8. Divide the amount on Line 7 by the number of paydays remaining in 2013 and enter the result.
If the amount on Line 7 is a positive amount, you may be underwithheld. See How to Increase
My Withholding on Page 3. If the amount on Line 7 is a negative amount, you may be overwithheld.
See How to Decrease My Withholding on Page 3.
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Table A - Personal Exemptions for 2013 Taxable Year
Enter the personal exemption amount on the Tax Calculation Schedule, Line 2.

Use the filing status you expect to report on your 2013 Connecticut income tax return and your Connecticut AGI *
(Tax Calculation Schedule, Line 1) to determine your personal exemption.

Single Filing Jointly or Filing Separately Head of Household
Qualified Widow(er)
Connecticut AGI * Connecticut AGI * Connecticut AGI * Connecticut AGI *
More Than | Less Than | Exemption | More Than | Less Than | Exemption | More Than | Less Than | Exemption | More Than | Less Than | Exemption
or or or or
Equal To Equal To Equal To Equal To

$ 0  $28,000 $14,000 $ 0 $48,000 $24,000 | $ 0 $24,000 $12,000 | $ 0 $38,000 $19,000
$287,000 $29,000 $13,000 $48,000 $49,000 $23,000 | $24,000 $25,000 $11,000 | $38,000 $39,000 $18,000
$29,000 $30,000 $12,000 $49,000 $50,000 $22,000 | $25,000 $26,000 $10,000 | $39,000 $40,000 $17,000
$30,000 $31,000 $11,000 $50,000 $51,000 $21,000 | $26,000 $27,000 $ 9,000 | $40,000 $41,000 $16,000
$31,000 $32,000 $ 10,000 $51,000 $52,000 $20,000 | $27,000 $28,000 $ 8,000 | $41,000 $42,000 $15,000

$32,000 $33,000 $ 9,000 $52,000 $53,000 $19,000 | $28,000 $29,000 $ 7,000 | $42,000 $43,000 $14,000
$33,000 $34,000 $ 8,000 $53,000 $54,000 $18,000 | $29,000 $30,000 $ 6,000 | $43,000 $44,000 $13,000
$34,000 $35,000 $ 7,000 $54,000 $55,000 $17,000 | $30,000 $31,000 $ 5,000 | $44,000 $45,000 $12,000
$35,000 $36,000 $ 6,000 $55,000 $56,000 $16,000 | $31,000 $32,000 $ 4,000 | $45,000 $46,000 $11,000
$36,000 $37,000 $ 5,000 $56,000 $57,000 $15,000 | $32,000 $33,000 $ 3,000 | $46,000 $47,000 $10,000
$37,000 $38,000 $ 4,000 $57,000 $58,000 $14,000 | $33,000 $34,000 $ 2,000 | $47,000 $48,000 $ 9,000
$38,000 $39,000 $ 3,000 $58,000 $59,000 $13,000 | $34,000 $35,000 $ 1,000 | $48,000 $49,000 $ 8,000
$39,000 $40,000 $ 2,000 $59,000 $60,000 $12,000 | $35,000 and up $ 0 | $49,000 $50,000 $ 7,000
$40,000 $41,000 $ 1,000 $60,000 $61,000 $11,000 $50,000 $51,000 $ 6,000
$41,000 andup $ 0 | $61,000 $62,000 $10,000 $51,000 $52,000 $ 5,000
$62,000 $63,000 $ 9,000 $52,000 $53,000 $ 4,000
$63,000 $64,000 $ 8,000 $53,000 $54,000 $ 3,000
$64,000 $65,000 $ 7,000 $54,000 $55,000 $ 2,000
$65,000 $66,000 $ 6,000 $55,000 $56,000 $ 1,000
$66,000 $67,000 $ 5,000 $56,000 and up $ 0

$67,000 $68,000 $ 4,000
$68,000 $69,000 $ 3,000
$69,000 $70,000 $ 2,000
$70,000 $71,000 $ 1,000
$71,000 andup $ 0

* Form CT-1040NR/PY filers must use income from Connecticut sources if it exceeds Connecticut adjusted gross income.

Page 6 of 16



Table B - Tax Calculation for 2013 Taxable Year
Enter the tax calculation amount on the Tax Calculation Schedule, Line 4.

Use the filing status you expect to report on your 2013 Connecticut income tax return. This is the initial tax calculation
of your tax liability. It does not include personal tax credits, the 3% phase-out or tax recapture.

Single or Filing Separately
If the amount on line 3 of the Tax Calculation Schedule is:

Less than or equal t0: .......ccuveviieiiiiiiieee e $10,000............... 3.00%

More than $10,000, but less than or equal to................. $50,000............... $300 plus 5.0% of the excess over $10,000
More than $50,000, but less than or equal to................. $100,000.............. $2,300 plus 5.5% of the excess over $50,000
More than $100,000, but less than or equal to................ $200,000.............. $5,050 plus 6.0% of the excess over $100,000
More than $200,000, but less than or equal to............... $250,000.............. $11,050 plus 6.5% of the excess over $200,000
More than $250,000 ......ccooeiiiiiiiriiieiieie e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e aeaes $14,300 plus 6.7% of the excess over $250,000

Single or Filing Separately Examples:

Line 3is $13,000, Line 4 is $450 Line 3 is $525,000, Line 4 is $32,725
$13,000 - $10,000 = $3,000 $525,000 - $250,000 = $275,000
$3,000 X .05 = $150 $275,000 x .067 = $18,425
$300 + $150 = $450 $14,300 + $18,425 = $32,725

Filing Jointly/Qualifying Widow(er)

If the amount on line 3 of the Tax Calculation Schedule is:

Less than or equal t0: ........ocuvveieieiiiiiiiee e $20,000............... 3.00%

More than $20,000, but less than or equal to................. $100,000.............. $600 plus 5.0% of the excess over $20,000

More than $100,000, but less than or equal to............... $200,000.............. $4,600 plus 5.5% of the excess over $100,000

More than $200,000, but less than or equal to............... $400,000.............. $10,100 plus 6.0% of the excess over $200,000

More than $400,000, but less than or equal to............... $500,000.............. $22,100 plus 6.5% of the excess over $400,000

More than $500,000 ........ccooueiiiiiiiiiiiiieiiee e s $28,600 plus 6.7% of the excess over $500,000
Filing Jointly/Qualifying Widow(er) Examples:

Line 3is $22,500, Line 4 is $725 Line 3 is $1,100,000, Line 4 is $68,800
$22,500 - $20,000 = $2,500 Page 5 $15100,000 - $500,000 = $600,000
$2,500 x .05 = $125 $600,000 x .067 = $40,200
$600 + $125 = $725 $28,600 + $40,200 = $68,800

Head of Household

If the amount on line 3 of the Tax Calculation Schedule is:

Less than or equal t0:........cccveeeviieeiiiicceee e $ 16,000............... 3.00%

More than $16,000, but less than or equal to................. $80,000............... $480 plus 5.0% of the excess over $16,000

More than $80,000, but less than or equal to................. $160,000.............. $3,680 plus 5.5% of the excess over $80,000

More than $160,000, but less than or equal to................ $320,000.............. $8,080 plus 6.0% of the excess over $160,000

More than $320,000, but less than or equal to............... $400,000.............. $17,680 plus 6.5% of the excess over $320,000

More than $400,000 ......oeeeeeeeeee e e $22,880 plus 6.7% of the excess over $400,000
Head of Household Examples:

Line 3 is $20,000, Line 4 is $680 Line 3 is $825,000, Line 4 is $51,355
$20,000 - $16,000 = $4,000 $825,000 - $400,000 = $425,000
$4,000 x .05 = $200 $425,000 x .067 = $28,475
$480 + $200 = $680 $22,880 + $28,475 = $51,355
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Table C - 3% Tax Rate Phase-Out Add-Back

Enter the add-back amount on the Tax Calculation Schedule, Line 5.

Use the filing status you expect to report on your 2013 Connecticut income tax return and your Connecticut AGI *
(Tax Calculation Schedule, Line 1) to determine your phase-out level and the additional amount of tax you are
required to include in your tax calculation.

Single Filing Jointly or Filing Separately Head of Household
Qualified Widow(er)
Connecticut AGI Connecticut AGI Connecticut AGI Connecticut AGI
More Than | Less Than 3% More Than | Less Than 3% More Than | Less Than 3% More Than | Less Than 3%
or Phase-Out or Phase-Out or Phase-Out or Phase-Out
Equal To Equal To Equal To Equal To

$ 0 $56,500 $0 $ 0 $100,500 $0 $ 0 $50,250 $0 $ 0 $78,500 $0
$56,500 $61,500 $20 $100,500 $105,500 $ 40 $50,250  $52,750 $20 $78,500 $82,500 $32
$61,500 $66,500 $ 40 $105,500 $110,500 $ 80 $52,750  $55,250 $ 40 $82,500 $86,500 $64
$ 66,500 $ 71,500 $ 60 $110,500 $115,500 $120 $55,250  $57,750 $ 60 $ 86,500 $ 90,500 $96

$ 71,500 $ 76,500 $80 $115,500 $120,500 $160 $57,750  $60,250 $80 $90,500 $ 94,500 $128
$76,500 $81,500 $100 $120,500 $125,500 $200 $60,250  $62,750 $100 $94,500 $98,500 $160
$81,500 $86,500 $120 $125,500 $130,500 $240 $62,750  $65,250 $120 $ 98,500 $102,500 $192
$86,500 $91,500 $140 $130,500 $135,500 $280 $65,250  $67,750 $140 $102,500 $106,500 $224

$91,500 $ 96,500 $160 $135,500 $140,500 $320 $67,750  $70,250 $160 $106,500 $110,500 $256
$96,500 $101,500 $180 $140,500 $145,500 $360 $70,250  $72,750 $180 $110,500 $114,500 $288
$101,500 and up $200 $145,500 and up $400 $72,750  and up $200 $114,500 and up $320

* Form CT-1040NR/PY filers must use income from Connecticut sources if it exceeds Connecticut adjusted gross income.
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Table D - Tax Recapture

Enter the recapture amount on the Tax Calculation Schedule, Line 6.

Use the filing status you expect to report on your 2013 Connecticut income tax return and your Connecticut AGI *
(Tax Calculation Schedule, Line 1) to determine your recapture amount.

Single or Filing Separately Filing Jointly or Head of Household
Qualified Widow(er)
Connecticut AGI Connecticut AGI Connecticut AGI
More Than Less Than Recapture More Than Less Than Recapture More Than Less Than Recapture
or Amount or Amount or Amount
Equal To Equal To Equal To
$ 0 $200,000 $ 0 $0 $400,000 $ 0 $0 $320,000 $ 0
$200,000 $205,000 $ 75 $400,000 $410,000 $ 150 $320,000 $328,000 $ 120
$205,000 $210,000 $ 150 $410,000 $420,000 $ 300 $328,000 $336,000 $ 240
$210,000 $215,000 $ 225 $420,000 $430,000 $ 450 $336,000 $344,000 $ 360
$215,000 $220,000 $ 300 $430,000 $440,000 $ 600 $344,000 $352,000 $ 480
$220,000 $225,000 $ 375 $440,000 $450,000 $ 750 $352,000 $360,000 $ 600
$225,000 $230,000 $ 450 $450,000 $460,000 $ 900 $360,000 $368,000 $ 720
$230,000 $235,000 $ 525 $460,000 $470,000 $1,050 $368,000 $376,000 $ 840
$235,000 $240,000 $ 600 $470,000 $480,000 $1,200 $376,000 $384,000 $ 960
$240,000 $245,000 $ 675 $480,000 $490,000 $1,350 $384,000 $392,000 $1,080
$245,000 $250,000 $ 750 $490,000 $500,000 $1,500 $392,000 $400,000 $1,200
$250,000 $255,000 $ 825 $500,000 $510,000 $1,650 $400,000 $408,000 $1,320
$255,000 $260,000 $ 900 $510,000 $520,000 $1,800 $408,000 $416,000 $1,440
$260,000 $265,000 $ 975 $520,000 $530,000 $1,950 $416,000 $424,000 $1,560
$265,000 $270,000 $1,050 $530,000 $540,000 $2,100 $424,000 $432,000 $1,680
$270,000 $275,000 $1,125 $540,000 $550,000 $2,250 $432,000 $440,000 $1,800
$275,000 $280,000 $1,200 $550,000 $560,000 $2,400 $440,000 $448,000 $1,920
$280,000 $285,000 $1,275 $560,000 $570,000 $2,550 $448,000 $456,000 $2,040
$285,000 $290,000 $1,350 $570,000 $580,000 $2,700 $456,000 $464,000 $2,160
$290,000 $295,000 $1,425 $580,000 $590,000 $2,850 $464,000 $472,000 $2,280
$295,000 $300,000 $1,500 $590,000 $600,000 $3,000 $472,000 $480,000 $2,400
$300,000 $305,000 $1,575 $600,000 $610,000 $3,150 $480,000 $488,000 $2,520
$305,000 $310,000 $1,650 $610,000 $620,000 $3,300 $488,000 $496,000 $2,640
$310,000 $315,000 $1,725 $620,000 $630,000 $3,450 $496,000 $504,000 $2,760
$315,000 $320,000 $1,800 $630,000 $640,000 $3,600 $504,000 $512,000 $2,880
$320,000 $325,000 $1,875 $640,000 $650,000 $3,750 $512,000 $520,000 $3,000
$325,000 $330,000 $1,950 $650,000 $660,000 $3,900 $520,000 $528,000 $3,120
$330,000 $335,000 $2,025 $660,000 $670,000 $4,050 $528,000 $536,000 $3,240
$335,000 $340,000 $2,100 $670,000 $680,000 $4,200 $536,000 $544,000 $3,360
$340,000 $345,000 $2,175 $680,000 $690,000 $4,350 $544,000 $552,000 $3,480
$345,000 and up $2,250 $690,000 and up $4,500 $552,000 and up $3,600

* Form CT-1040NR/PY filers must use income from Connecticut sources if it exceeds Connecticut adjusted gross income.
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Table E - Personal Tax Credits for 2013 Taxable Year

Enter the personal credit decimal amount on the Tax Calculation Schedule, Line 8.

Use the filing status you expect to report on your 2013 Connecticut income tax return and your Connecticut AGI *
(Tax Calculation Schedule, Line 1) to determine your personal credit decimal amount.

Single Filing Jointly or Filing Separately Head of Household
Qualified Widow(er)
Connecticut AGI * Connecticut AGI * Connecticut AGI * Connecticut AGI *
More Than | Less Than | Decimal [ More Than | Less Than | Decimal | More Than | Less Than | Decimal [ More Than | Less Than | Decimal
or Amount or Amount or Amount or Amount
Equal To Equal To Equal To Equal To
$14,000 $17,500 .75 $24,000 $30,000 .75 $12,000 $15,000 .75 $19,000  $24,000 .75
$17,500  $18,000 .70 $30,000  $30,500 .70 $15,000  $15,500 .70 $24,000  $24,500 .70
$18,000  $18,500 .65 $30,500  $31,000 .65 $15,500 $16,000 .65 $24,500  $25,000 .65
$18,500  $19,000 .60 $31,000  $31,500 .60 $16,000 $16,500 .60 $25,000 $25,500 .60
$19,000  $19,500 .55 $31,500  $32,000 .55 $16,500 $17,000 .55 $25,500  $26,000 .55
$19,500  $20,000 .50 $32,000  $32,500 .50 $17,000 $17,500 .50 $26,000  $26,500 .50
$20,000  $20,500 .45 $32,500  $33,000 .45 $17,500 $18,000 .45 $26,500  $27,000 45
$20,500  $21,000 .40 $33,000  $33,500 .40 $18,000 $18,500 .40 $27,000 $27,500 .40
$21,000  $23,300 .35 $33,500  $40,000 .35 $18,500  $20,000 .35 $27,500  $34,000 .35
$23,300  $23,800 .30 $40,000  $40,500 .30 $20,000  $20,500 .30 $34,000  $34,500 .30
$23,800  $24,300 .25 $40,500  $41,000 .25 $20,500 $21,000 .25 $34,500  $35,000 .25
$24,300  $24,800 .20 $41,000 $41,500 .20 $21,000 $21,500 .20 $35,000  $35,500 .20
$24,800  $29,200 .15 $41,500  $50,000 .15 $21,500 $25,000 .15 $35,500  $44,000 .15
$29,200  $29,700 14 $50,000  $50,500 14 $25,000  $25,500 14 $44,000  $44,500 14
$29,700  $30,200 .13 $50,500  $51,000 13 $25,500 $26,000 13 $44,500  $45,000 A3
$30,200  $30,700 12 $51,000 $51,500 A2 $26,000 $26,500 A2 $45,000  $45,500 A2
$30,700  $31,200 A1 $51,500  $52,000 A1 $26,500 $27,000 A1 $45,500  $46,000 A1
$31,200  $56,000 .10 $52,000  $96,000 .10 $27,000  $48,000 .10 $46,000  $74,000 .10
$56,000  $56,500 .09 $96,000  $96,500 .09 $48,000  $48,500 .09 $74,000 $74,500 .09
$56,500  $57,000 .08 $96,500  $97,000 .08 $48,500  $49,000 .08 $74,500 $75,000 .08
$57,000 $57,500 .07 $97,000 $97,500 .07 $49,000  $49,500 .07 $75,000 $75,500 .07
$57,500  $58,000 .06 $97,500  $98,000 .06 $49,500  $50,000 .06 $75,500  $76,000 .06
$58,000  $58,500 .05 $98,000  $98,500 .05 $50,000  $50,500 .05 $76,000 $76,500 .05
$58,500  $59,000 .04 $98,500  $99,000 .04 $50,500  $51,000 .04 $76,500 $77,000 .04
$59,000  $59,500 .03 $99,000  $99,500 .03 $51,000 $51,500 .03 $77,000 $77,500 .03
$59,500  $60,000 .02 $99,500 $100,000 .02 $51,500  $52,000 .02 $77,500  $78,000 .02
$60,000  $60,500 .01 $100,000 $100,500 .01 $52,000 $52,500 .01 $78,000  $78,500 .01
$60,500 and up .00 $100,500 and up .00 $52,500 and up .00 $78,500 and up .00
* Form CT-1040NR/PY filers must use income from Connecticut sources if it exceeds Connecticut adjusted gross income.

Page 10 of 16



Department of Revenue Services Form CT_W4 Effective January 1, 2013

State of Connecticut . . s
(Rev. 11/12) Employee’s Withholding Certificate

. Complete this form in blue or black ink only.
Employee Instructions

« Read instructions on Page 2 before completing this form. » Choose the statement that best describes your gross income.
« Select the filing status you expect to report on your Connecticut ~ * Enter the Withholding Code on Line 1 below.
income tax return. See instructions.

Filing Jointly * Hithoiding Filing Separately ** Witnoiaing
Our expected combined annual gross income is less than or My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to
equal to $24,000 or | am claiming exemption under the Military $12,000 or | am claiming exemption under the MSRRA ***
Spouses Residency Relief Act (MSRRA) *** and no withholding and no withholding is necessary. E
IS necessary. E My expected annual gross income is greater than $12,000. A
g'\;/lr)(l)sss'??nucsoemlz g‘;'?g’t‘z? ?r?;no§1£4eéggc;i?j IC:srzbtlr?:r?c?rnen;lil I ha?/elsignificarr]\:] nlc:jnwage income and wish to avoid having
' too little tax withheld. D
to $100,500. See Certain Married Individuals, Page 2. A - - - - -
My spouse is not employed and our expected combined | am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income.| D
annual gross income is greater than $24,000. C Single ithoting
My spouse is employed and our expected combined My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to
annual gross income is greater than $100,500. D $14,000 and no withholding is necessary. E
| have significant nonwage income and wish to avoid having My expected annual gross income is greater than $14,000. F
too little tax withheld. D I have significant nonwage income and wish to avoid having
I am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income.| D too little tax withheld. D
Qualifying Widow(er) With Dependent Child Wiﬂat;l:ing I am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income. » D ‘
My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to Head of Household " Code
$24,000 or | am claiming exemption under the MSRRA ** My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to
and no withholding is necessary. E $19,000 and no withholding is necessary. E
g/lz):;%(()p()e‘:ted annual gross income is greater than c My expected annual gross income is greater than $19,000. B
— - - - - | have significant nonwage income and wish to avoid having
{ ha?'/t(tel S|tgn|f|c$rr]1rt] nlc()jnwage income and wish to avoid having 5 to0 little tax withheld. D
00 little tax withheld. - - - - -
I I cutwith substantial other | 5 | am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income.| D
am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income.
** Filing separately includes filing separately for federal and
* Filing jointly includes filing jointly for federal and Connecticut and Connecticut and filing separately for Connecticut only.
filing jointly for Connecticut only. *** |f you are claiming the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act

(MSRRA) exemption, see instructions on Page 2.
Employees: See Employee General Instructions on Page 2. Sign and return Form CT-W4 to your employer. Keep a copy for your records.

1. Withholding Code: Enter Withholding Code letter chosen from above. ....................... 1. D Check if you are claiming
the MSRRA exemption
2. Additional withholding amount per pay period: If any, see Page 3 instructions. .......... 2. % and enter state of legal
residence/domicile:
3. Reduced withholding amount per pay period: If any, see Page 3 instructions.............. 3.8
First name Mmi Last name
Home address Social Security Number
City/town State ZIP code

Declaration: | declare under penalty of law that | have examined this certificate and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete,
and correct. | understand the penalty for reporting false information is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years,
or both.

Employee’s signature Date

Employers: See Employer Instructions on Page 2.

Is this a new or rehired employee? O No (J Yes  Enter date hired:
mm/dd/yyyy
Employer’s business name
Employer’s business address Federal Employer Identification Number
City/town State ZIP code
Contact person Telephone number

C )
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Employee General Instructions

Form CT-W4, Employee’s Withholding Certificate, provides your
employer with the necessary information to withhold the correct amount
of Connecticut income tax from your wages to ensure that you will not
be underwithheld or overwithheld.

You are required to pay Connecticut income tax as income is earned
or received during the year. You should complete a new Form CT-W4
at least once a year or if your tax situation changes.

If your circumstances change, such as you receive a bonus or your
filing status changes, you must furnish your employer with a new
Form CT-W4 within ten days of the change.

Gross Income

For Form CT-W4 purposes, gross income means all income from all
sources, whether received in the form of money, goods, property, or
services, not exempt from federal income tax, and includes any additions
to income from Schedule 1 of Form CT-1040, Connecticut Resident
Income Tax Return or Form CT-1040NR/PY, Connecticut Nonresident
and Part-Year Resident Return.

Filing Status

Generally, the filing status you expect to report on your Connecticut
income tax return is the same as the filing status you expect to report on
your federal income tax return. However, special rules apply to married
individuals who file a joint federal return but have a different residency
status. Nonresidents and part-year residents should see the instructions
to Form CT-1040NR/PY.

If you are a spouse in a same sex marriage, you must recalculate your
federal adjusted gross income as if your filing status for federal income
tax purposes were married filing jointly or married filing separately.

Check Your Withholding

You may be underwithheld if any of the following apply:

¢ You have more than one job;

¢ You qualify under Certain Married Individuals and do not use the
Supplemental Table on Page 3 and Page 4; or

¢ You have substantial nonwage income.

If you are underwithheld, you should consider adjusting your withholding
or making estimated payments using Form CT-1040ES, Estimated
Connecticut Income Tax Payment Coupon for Individuals. You may also
select Withholding Code “D” to elect the highest level of withholding.

If you owe $1,000 or more in Connecticut income tax over and above
what has been withheld from your income for the prior taxable year, you
may be subject to interest on the underpayment at the rate of 1% per
month or fraction of a month.

You may be overwithheld if your combined annual income is more than
$200,000 but less than $700,000 and your Connecticut filing status
is filing jointly. To help determine if your withholding is correct, see
Informational Publication 2013(7), Is My Connecticut Withholding
Correct?

Nonresident Employees Working Partly Within and Partly
Outside of Connecticut

If you work partly within and partly outside of Connecticut for the same
employer, you should also complete Form CT-W4NA, Employee’s
Withholding or Exemption Certificate - Nonresident Apportionment, and
provide it to your employer. The information on Form CT-W4NA and
Form CT-W4 will help your employer determine how much to withhold
from your wages for services performed within Connecticut. To obtain
Form CT-W4NA, visit the Department of Revenue Services (DRS)
website at www.ct.gov/DRS or request the form from your employer.
Any nonresident who expects to have no Connecticut income tax liability
should choose Withholding Code “E.”

Certain Married Individuals

If you are a married individual filing jointly and you and your spouse
both select Withholding Code “A,” you may have too much or too
little Connecticut income tax withheld from your pay. This is because
the phaseout of the personal exemption and credit is based on your
combined incomes. The withholding tables cannot reflect your exact
withholding requirement without considering the income of your spouse.

Form CT-W4 (Rev. 11/12)
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To minimize this problem, use the Supplemental Table on Page 3 and
Page 4 to adjust your withholding. You are not required to use this table.
Do not use the supplemental table to adjust your withholding if you use
the worksheet in IP 2013(7).

Armed Forces Personnel and Veterans

If you are a Connecticut resident, your armed forces pay is subject to
Connecticut income tax withholding unless you qualify as a nonresident
for Connecticut income tax purposes. If you qualify as a nonresident,
you may request that no Connecticut income tax be withheld from your
armed forces pay by entering Withholding Code “E” on Line 1.

Military Spouses Residency Relief Act (MSRRA)

If you are claiming an exemption from Connecticut income tax under the
MSRRA, you must provide your employer with a copy of your military
spouse’s Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) and a copy of your
military dependent ID card.

See Informational Publication 2012(15), Connecticut Income Tax
Information for Armed Forces Personnel and Veterans.

Employer Instructions

For any employee who does not complete Form CT-W4, you are required
to withhold at the highest marginal rate of 6.7% without allowance for
exemption. You are required to keep Form CT-W4 in your files for
each employee. See Informational Publication 2013(1), Connecticut
Employer’'s Tax Guide, Circular CT, for complete instructions.

Report Certain Employees Claiming Exemption From Withholding
to DRS

Employers are required to file copies of Form CT-W4 with DRS for
certain employees claiming “E” (no withholding is necessary). See
IP 2013(1). Mail copies of Forms CT-W4 meeting the conditions listed
in IP 2013(1) under Reporting Certain Employees to DRS on Page 12
with Form CT-941, Connecticut Quarterly Reconciliation of Withholding,
if you file a paper return. If you file Form CT-941 electronically, mail only
the copies of Forms CT-W4 meeting the conditions listed in IP 2013(1) to:

DRS, PO Box 2931, Hartford CT 06104-2931.

Report New and Rehired Employees to the Department of Labor

(DOL)

New employees are workers not previously employed by your business,

or workers rehired after having been separated from your business for

more than sixty consecutive days.

Employers with offices in Connecticut or transacting business in

Connecticut are required to report new hires to the DOL within 20 days

of the date of hire.

New hires can be reported by:

¢ Using the Connecticut New Hire Reporting website at
www.ctnewhires.com;

» Faxing copies of completed Forms CT-W4 to 800-816-1108; or

¢ Mailing copies of completed Forms CT-W4 to:

CT Department of Labor

Office of Research, Form CT-W4
200 Folly Brook Boulevard
Wethersfield CT 06109

For more information on DOL requirements or for alternative reporting

options, visit the DOL website at www.ctdol.state.ct.us or call DOL
at 860-263-6310.

For More Information

Call DRS during business hours, Monday through Friday:

* 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling
area only); or

e 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries

anytime by calling 860-297-4911.

Forms and Publications
Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print
Connecticut tax forms and publications.
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Effect on Other Documents: Informational
Publication 2010(7.1), Is My Connecticut Withholding
Correct?, is modified and superseded.

Effect of This Document: An Informational Publication
issued by the Department of Revenue Services (DRS)
addresses frequently-asked questions about a current
position, policy, or practice, usually in a less technical
guestion and answer format.

Related Forms and Publications
Form CT-1040, Connecticut Resident Income Tax Return

Form CT-1040NR/PY, Connecticut Nonresident and
Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return

Form CT-1040ES, 2011 Estimated Connecticut Income
Tax Payment Coupon for Individuals

Form CT-W4NA, Employee’s Withholding
Certificate - Nonresident Apportionment

Informational Publication 2011(26), Estimated
Connecticut Income Taxes

Informational Publication 2009(21), Connecticut
Income Tax Information for Armed Forces Personnel and
\eterans

Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, easy,
free, and confidential):

Business and individual taxpayers can use the Taxpayer
Service Center (TSC) atwww.ct.gov/TSC to file a variety
of tax returns, update account information, and make
payments online.

File Electronically: You can choose first-time filer
information and filing assistance or log directly into the
TSC to file returns and pay taxes.

Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax returns that
cannot be filed through the TSC. Log in and select the Make
Payment Only option. Designate a payment date up to the
due date of the tax and mail a paper return to complete the
filing process.

DRS E-Alerts Service: Get connected to the latest news
from DRS. Receive notification by email of changes
to legislation, policies, and procedures. DRS E-Alerts
provide information for employer’s withholding tax, News
— Press Releases, and Top 100 Delinquency List. Visit the
DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS and select e-alerts from
the left navigation bar.
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Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut

25 Sigourney Street Ste 2
Hartford CT 06106-5032
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w.ct.gov/oﬁ, Choose to file returns, pay amounts
5 due, and direct deposit refunds

electronically using the TSC.
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Tax Information Forms and Publications
The TSC includes a comprehensive FAQ database with Connecticut forms and publications may be
more than 600 searchable answers. Search by category, viewed, downloaded, or printed by visiting
tax type, keyword, or phrase. www.ct.gov/DRS the DRS website.
For telephone assistance, call our Taxpayer Services 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the
Division at 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only) and select
Greater Hartford calling area only); or 860-297-5962 (from | Option 2; or 860-297-4753 (from anywhere).
anywhere).
Send routine tax questions to drs@po.state.ct.us (do not Email requests, including your name,
send account related inquiries). For account-related questions, | address (street, city, state, and ZIP code), and
including bill and refund inquiries, use the Secure Mailbox the name or number of the tax product to
feature by logging into the DRS electronic TSC. ctforms.drs@po.state.ct.us

Free personal taxpayer assistance and forms are available by visiting our offices. Walk-in assistance at all
DRS locations is available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (arrive by 4:00 p.m.). Directions
to DRS offices are available using the DRS phone menu or by visiting the DRS website. If you require

special accommodations, please advise the DRS representative.
Bridgeport Hartford Norwich Waterbury
10 Middle St 25 Sigourney St 401 West Thames St 55 West Main St
Building #700 Suite 100
All calls are answered at our Customer Service Center in Hartford, not at the field offices.
Federal Tax Information Statewide Services
For questions about federal taxes, visit www.irs.gov or Visit the ConneCT website at www.ct.gov for
call the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) at 800-829-1040. information on statewide services and programs.
To order federal tax forms, call 800-829-3676.
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