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Purpose
This publication helps you check your Connecticut income 
tax withholding and, if necessary, adjust your withholding. 
You should check your withholding once a year or if your 
tax situation changes to ensure you have the correct amount 
of Connecticut income tax withheld from your wages.

See Announcement 2012(1), Information for Married 
Individuals Who Are Both Employed and File a Joint 
Connecticut Income Tax Return.

Why I Should Check My Withholding
In general, your employer withholds Connecticut income tax 
from your wages according to the information you provided 
in completing Form CT-W4, Employee’s Withholding 
Certifi cate. If the information you provided is no longer 
accurate, your employer may be withholding too much or too 
little Connecticut income tax from your wages. If too much 
tax is withheld, you lose the use of money that may not be 
returned to you until you fi le a return showing you overpaid the 
tax. If too little tax is withheld, you may be subject to interest 
in addition to any tax due even if you fi le your return and pay 
the tax you report on time. You may adjust your withholding 
at any time by completing and fi ling a new Form CT-W4 with 
your employer. 

When to Check My Withholding 
You should check your withholding early in the year and 
compare the total tax to be withheld from your pay for 
the year with what you expect your Connecticut income 
tax liability will be for the year. You should check your 
withholding again during the year if the tax laws change or 
if any of the following apply to you:
• Your Withholding Code changes;
• Your fi ling status is fi ling jointly* and both you and your 

spouse work. See below;
• You have more than one job at a time; or
• You have income not subject to Connecticut income tax 

withholding such as nonwage income including interest, 
dividends, and capital gains.

*Filing jointly includes filing jointly for federal and 
Connecticut and fi ling jointly for Connecticut only. Likewise, 
fi ling separately includes fi ling separately for federal and 
Connecticut, and fi ling separately for Connecticut only.

A taxpayer with an annual income between $200,000 and 
$700,000 who fi les jointly can choose either Withholding 
Code “C” or “D.” If the taxpayer chooses Withholding 
Code “D,” overwithholding might occur. Use Worksheet 1 
and 2 in this publication to help you determine if you need 
to adjust your withholding amount.

Spouses who are both employed and select Withholding 
Code “A” on Form CT-W4 may refer to the supplemental 
tables on Pages 13 and 14 for a quick and easy guide on how 
to adjust their withholding. For a more precise calculation, 
follow the directions provided in the following sections.

How to Check My Withholding
You need a pay statement for a full pay period showing the 
amount of Connecticut income tax withheld and a copy of 
your most recently fi led Form CT-W4. Your employer has 
your Form CT -W4 on fi le and can provide you with a copy.  
Once you have these documents:
1. Refer to Line 1 of your most recently fi led Form CT-W4 

to review your current Withholding Code. 
a. If your Withholding Code for 2012 remains the same, 

see “2” below.
b. If your Withholding Code is different, complete a 

new Form CT-W4 using your correct Withholding 
Code. 

 Read all instructions for Form CT-W4 carefully to 
ensure your withholding is correct. File this form with 
your employer. It is not necessary to go on to “2” 
below.

2. Complete Worksheet 1 on Page 5 to estimate your total 
2012 Connecticut income tax liability. Then complete 
Worksheet 2 to compare your projected total 2012 
Connecticut income tax liability with your projected 2012 
Connecticut income tax withholding.

Filing Jointly
If your fi ling status is fi ling jointly, you must combine 
your income with your spouse’s income and combine your 
withholding with your spouse’s withholding when completing 
the worksheets. See Form CT-W4 and instructions included 
in this publication.

New Hires
Contact your employer’s payroll department to obtain the 
amount of Connecticut income tax to be withheld from your 
wages based on your Withholding Code.

Nonwage Income or Income Not Subject to 
Withholding 
If you have nonwage income or income not subject to 
withholding, you may wish to make estimated income 
tax payments instead of increasing your withholding. 
Informational Publication 2011(26), Estimated Connecticut 
Income Taxes, explains this option. Estimated income tax 
payments are made using Form CT-1040ES, 2012 Estimated 
Connecticut Income Tax Payment Coupon for Individuals.
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Caution
If you owe $1,000 or more in Connecticut income tax after 
subtracting Connecticut income tax withheld, you may 
be subject to interest on the underpaid amount. Generally, 
if you do not prepay in timely estimated tax payments or 
withholding, or both, the lesser of 100% of the income tax 
shown on your 2011 Connecticut income tax return, if you 
fi led a 2011 Connecticut income tax return that covered a 12 
month period, or 90% of the income tax shown on your 2012 
Connecticut income tax return, you may owe interest at the 
rate of 1% per month or fraction of a month on the underpaid 
amount. To avoid interest charges, be sure your withholding 
is as accurate as possible.

How to Increase My Withholding
Before you complete Form CT-W4 on Page 11, you should 
complete Worksheets 1 and 2 on Page 5 to help you determine 
if you need to change your withholding. Then complete the 
following steps to fi ll out your Form CT-W4:
1. Enter your Withholding Code on Line 1 of the new

Form CT-W4;
2. Enter the amount from Line 8 of Worksheet 2 on 

Line 2 of the new Form CT-W4;
a. If there was an amount on Line 2 of your most recently 

fi led Form CT-W4, add that amount to the amount on 
Line 8 of Worksheet 2 and enter the total on Line 2 
of your new Form CT-W4.

b. If there was an amount on Line 3 of your most recently 
fi led Form CT-W4, subtract that amount from the 
amount on Line 8 of Worksheet 2 and enter the new 
amount on Line 2 if a positive amount or on Line 3 
if a negative amount.

3. Enter all other required information on Form CT-W4; and
4. Give the new Form CT-W4 to your employer. Keep a 

copy for yourself. 

Example 1: If your previously-filed Form CT-W4 
showed $3 on Line 2, and Line 8 of Worksheet 2 shows 
you should increase your current withholding by $5, enter 
$8 on Line 2 of your new Form CT-W4.

More Than One Job
If you have more than one job, or your fi ling status is fi ling 
jointly and your spouse also works, you can adjust your 
withholding for one or more of the jobs. Apply the amount 
on Line 7 of Worksheet 2 to only one job or divide it between 
the jobs any way you wish. Divide the amount you apply to a 
job by the number of paydays remaining in 2012 for that job. 
This will give you the additional amount to enter on Line 2,
or Line 3 for a reduced amount, of the new Form CT-W4 
you will fi le for that job.

How to Decrease My Withholding
Before decreasing the amount to be withheld, be sure 
you have enough Connecticut income tax withheld to 
meet your projected Connecticut income tax liability.  
Underwithholding may result in interest charges. See
IP 2011(26).

Before you complete Form CT-W4 on Page 11, you 
should complete Worksheets 1 and 2 on Page 5 to help 
you determine if you need to change your withholding. 
Then complete the following steps to fill out your 
Form CT-W4:
1. Enter your Withholding Code on Line 1 of the new

Form CT-W4;
2. Enter the amount from Line 8 of Worksheet 2 on

Line 3 of the new Form CT-W4;
a. If there was an amount on Line 2 of your most 

recently fi led Form CT-W4, subtract that amount 
from the amount on Line 8 of Worksheet 2 and enter 
the difference on Line 2 if a positive amount or on 
Line 3 if a negative amount. 

b. If there was an amount on Line 3 of your most recently 
fi led Form CT-W4, add that amount to the amount 
on Line 8 of Worksheet 2 and enter the total on 
Line 3 of your new Form CT-W4.  

3. Enter all other required information on Form CT-W4; 
and

4. Give the new Form CT-W4 to your employer. Keep a 
copy for yourself.

Example 2: If your previously-fi led Form CT-W4 
showed $3 on Line 2, and Line 8 of Worksheet 2 shows 
you should decrease your current withholding by $5, 
enter $2 on Line 3 of your new Form CT-W4.

If too much Connecticut income tax is withheld in 2012, 
your overpayment of Connecticut income tax may be 
refunded to you when you fi le your 2012 Connecticut 
income tax return. 

Exempt From Connecticut Withholding
You are exempt from Connecticut withholding if you 
expect to have no Connecticut income tax liability for the 
taxable year. You have no Connecticut income tax liability 
if your annual gross income is:
• $12,000 or less and your filing status is filing 

separately;
• $13,500 or less and your fi ling status is single;
• $19,000 or less and your fi ling status is head of 

household; or
• $24,000 or less and your fi ling status is fi ling jointly, 

or qualifying widow(er) with dependent child.
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Gross Income means all income received in the form of 
money, goods, property, and services not exempt from 
federal income tax and any additions to income required 
to be reported on Form CT-1040, Connecticut Resident 
Income Tax Return, or Form CT-1040NR/PY, Connecticut 
Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, 
Schedule 1, Modifications to Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income.

To claim exemption from Connecticut withholding, you 
must enter Withholding Code “E” on Form CT-W4, 
Line 1.

Income for services performed by a military servicemember’s 
spouse who is in Connecticut solely to be with the 
servicemember serving in compliance with military orders 

is not deemed to be income from or connected with 
Connecticut sources unless the spouse’s state of residence 
is Connecticut. A military servicemember’s spouse 
claiming exemption under the Military Spouses Residency 
Relief Act must claim the exemption on Form CT-W4. 
See Informational Publication 2009(21), Connecticut 
Income Tax Information for Armed Forces Personnel 
and Veterans.

When Will My New Form CT-W4 Go Into Effect
If the change is for the current year, your employer must 
withhold on the basis of your new Form CT-W4 no later 
than the start of the fi rst payroll period ending on or after 
the 30th day following the day on which you give your 
employer your new Form CT-W4. If the change is for 
next year, your new Form CT-W4 will not take effect 
until next year.

Income Tax Worksheet 1 - Instructions

Line 1: Enter the amount of federal adjusted gross income 
you expect in 2012. You may use federal  Form 1040ES, 
Estimated Tax for Individuals, as a worksheet to determine 
your federal adjusted gross income. If you are a spouse in 
a same sex marriage, you must recalculate your federal 
adjusted gross income as if your fi ling status for federal 
income tax purposes were married fi ling jointly or married 
fi ling separately.

Line 2: Enter your total estimated allowable Connecticut 
additions. See Form CT-1040 or Form CT-1040NR/PY, 
Schedule 1, Modifi cations to Federal Adjusted Gross Income,  
for information about allowable Connecticut modifi cations.

Line 4: Enter your total estimated allowable Connecticut 
subtractions. See Form CT-1040 or Form CT-1040NR/PY, 
Schedule 1, for information about allowable Connecticut 
modifi cations.

Line 5: Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents Only: 
If your Connecticut-sourced income is greater than 
your Connecticut adjusted gross income, enter your 
Connecticut-sourced income. See the instructions for.
Form CT-1040NR/PY for more information on 
Connecticut-sourced income.

Line 6: To calculate your estimated Connecticut income 
tax, complete the 2012 Tax Calculation Schedule on Page 5. 

Line 7: Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents Only: 
If your Connecticut-sourced income is greater than or 
equal to your Connecticut adjusted gross income, enter 
1.0000. If your Connecticut-sourced income is less than 

your Connecticut adjusted gross income, complete the 
following calculation and enter the result on Line 7.
 Connecticut-Sourced Income
 Connecticut Adjusted Gross Income
 (Line 5 of Worksheet 1)

Do not enter a number less than zero or greater than 1. 
If the result is less than zero, enter “0;” if greater than 1, 
enter 1.0000. Round to four decimal places.

Line 9: Residents and Part-Year Residents Only: 
Enter estimated allowable credit for income taxes paid to
other jurisdictions. Enter “0” if not applicable. See the 
instructions for Form CT-1040 or Form CT-1040NR/PY,
Schedule 2, Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Qualifying 
Jurisdictions.

Line 11: If you expect to owe federal alternative minimum 
tax in 2012, you may also owe Connecticut alternative 
minimum tax. Enter your estimated Connecticut 
alternative minimum tax liability. See instructions for 
Form CT-6251, Connecticut Alternative Minimum Tax 
Return - Individuals.

Line 13: Enter estimated allowable Connecticut income 
tax credit(s). Enter “0” if you are not entitled to a credit. 
(Credit for a prior year alternative minimum tax is not 
allowed if you entered an amount on Line 11.) See 
instructions for Schedule CT-IT Credit, Income Tax 
Credit Summary. 

Line 14: Subtract Line 13 from Line 12. Use this amount 
to complete Worksheet 2.

=   Line 7
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1. Enter your projected Connecticut income tax liability for 2012 from Line 14 of Worksheet 1. 1.
2. Total Connecticut income tax withheld to date during 2012 from all of your jobs: You should be 
 able to fi nd your withholding to date on your last pay statement. 2.
3. Connecticut income tax withholding expected for the rest of 2012: For each job, multiply the 
 amount of Connecticut income tax now being withheld each payday by the number of paydays 
 remaining in 2012 and enter the combined amount for all jobs.
 New hires: Multiply the amount of Connecticut income tax to be withheld for each payday
 by the number of paydays remaining in 2012. 3.
4. Total projected Connecticut income tax withholding for all paydays in 2012: Add Line 2 and Line 3. 4.
5. Enter estimated Connecticut income tax paid or expected to be paid for 2012 with Form CT-1040ES
 and any overpayment applied from your 2011 Connecticut income tax return. 5.
6. Total Connecticut withholding and estimated payments: Add Line 4 and Line 5. 6.
7. Subtract Line 6 from Line 1. 7.
8. Divide the amount on Line 7 by the number of paydays remaining in 2012 and enter the result.
 If the amount on Line 7 is a positive amount, you may be underwithheld. See How to Increase
 My Withholding on Page 3. If the amount on Line 7 is a negative amount, you may be overwithheld.
 See How to Decrease My Withholding on Page 3. 8.

Worksheet 1 
Projected Income Tax Liability for 2012

Enter combined amounts if you expect your 2012 Connecticut income tax fi ling status to be fi ling jointly.
See Page 4 for instructions.

1.   Federal adjusted gross income (AGI) you expect in 2012: To determine this you may want to
 start with federal AGI on your last year’s return and add or subtract your expected changes.  1.
2. Allowable Connecticut additions: See Income Tax Worksheet 1 - Instructions, Page 4.   2.
3. Add Line 1 and Line 2.   3.
4. Allowable Connecticut subtractions: See Income Tax Worksheet 1 - Instructions, Page 4.   4.
5. Connecticut adjusted gross income: Subtract Line 4 from Line 3.  
 Nonresidents and part-year residents: Enter your income from Connecticut sources
 if greater than your Connecticut adjusted gross income.   5.
6. Connecticut income tax: Complete Tax Calculation Schedule below. 6.
7. Nonresidents and part-year residents only: See Income Tax Worksheet 1 - Instructions, Page 4. 
 Residents enter 1.0000. 7.
8. Multiply Line 7 by Line 6.  8.
9. Credit for income taxes paid to other jurisdictions: See Income Tax Worksheet 1 - Instructions, Page 4.  9.
10. Subtract Line 9 from Line 8. 10.
11. Estimated Connecticut alternative minimum tax: See Income Tax Worksheet 1 - Instructions, Page 4. 11.
12. Add Line 10 and Line 11.   12.
13. Estimated allowable credits from Schedule CT-IT Credit: See Income Tax Worksheet 1 -   
 Instructions, Page 4. 13.
14. Subtract Line 13 from Line 12. This is your projected Connecticut income tax liability for 2012
 Enter here and on Line 1 of Worksheet 2. 14.

Projected Income Tax Withholding and Estimated Payments for 2012
 Enter combined amounts if you expect your 2012 Connecticut fi ling status to be fi ling jointly.

Worksheet 2 
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2012 Tax Calculation Schedule
1. Enter the amount from Line 5 of Worksheet 1. 1. 00
2. Enter exemption from Table A - Exemptions, Page 6. If zero, enter “0.” 2. 00
3. Connecticut taxable income: Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. If less than zero, enter “0.”  3. 00
4. Tax calculation: See Table B - Tax Calculation, Page 7. 4. 00
5. Enter the amount from Table C - 3% Tax Rate Phase-Out, Page 8. If zero, enter “0.” 5. 00
6. Enter the amount from Table D - Tax Recapture, Page 9. If zero, enter “0.” 6. 00
7. Connecticut income tax: Add Line 4, Line 5, and Line 6. 7. 00
8. Enter decimal amount from Table E - Personal Tax Credits, Page 10. If zero, enter “0.” 8. 00
9. Multiply the amount on Line 7 by the decimal amount on Line 8. 9. 00
10. Connecticut Income Tax: Subtract Line 9 from Line 7. Enter this amount on Line 6 of Worksheet 1. 10. 00



Table A - Exemptions for 2012 Taxable Year

More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

Exemption More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

Exemption More Than Less Than 
or         

Equal To

Exemption More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

Exemption

$         0 $27,000 $13,500 $         0 $48,000 $24,000 $         0 $24,000 $12,000 $         0 $38,000 $19,000 
$27,000 $28,000 $12,500 $48,000 $49,000 $23,000 $24,000 $25,000 $11,000 $38,000 $39,000 $18,000 
$28,000 $29,000 $11,500 $49,000 $50,000 $22,000 $25,000 $26,000 $10,000 $39,000 $40,000 $17,000 
$29,000 $30,000 $10,500 $50,000 $51,000 $21,000 $26,000 $27,000 $  9,000 $40,000 $41,000 $16,000 
$30,000 $31,000 $  9,500 $51,000 $52,000 $20,000 $27,000 $28,000 $  8,000 $41,000 $42,000 $15,000 
$31,000 $32,000 $  8,500 $52,000 $53,000 $19,000 $28,000 $29,000 $  7,000 $42,000 $43,000 $14,000 
$32,000 $33,000 $  7,500 $53,000 $54,000 $18,000 $29,000 $30,000 $  6,000 $43,000 $44,000 $13,000 
$33,000 $34,000 $  6,500 $54,000 $55,000 $17,000 $30,000 $31,000 $  5,000 $44,000 $45,000 $12,000 
$34,000 $35,000 $  5,500 $55,000 $56,000 $16,000 $31,000 $32,000 $  4,000 $45,000 $46,000 $11,000 
$35,000 $36,000 $  4,500 $56,000 $57,000 $15,000 $32,000 $33,000 $  3,000 $46,000 $47,000 $10,000 
$36,000 $37,000 $  3,500 $57,000 $58,000 $14,000 $33,000 $34,000 $  2,000 $47,000 $48,000 $  9,000 
$37,000 $38,000 $  2,500 $58,000 $59,000 $13,000 $34,000 $35,000 $  1,000 $48,000 $49,000 $  8,000 
$38,000 $39,000 $  1,500 $59,000 $60,000 $12,000 $35,000 and up $         0 $49,000 $50,000 $  7,000 
$39,000 $40,000 $     500 $60,000 $61,000 $11,000 $50,000 $51,000 $  6,000 
$40,000 and up $         0 $61,000 $62,000 $10,000 $51,000 $52,000 $  5,000 

$62,000 $63,000 $  9,000 $52,000 $53,000 $  4,000 
$63,000 $64,000 $  8,000 $53,000 $54,000 $  3,000 
$64,000 $65,000 $  7,000 $54,000 $55,000 $  2,000 
$65,000 $66,000 $  6,000 $55,000 $56,000 $  1,000 
$66,000 $67,000 $  5,000 $56,000 and up $         0 
$67,000 $68,000 $  4,000 
$68,000 $69,000 $  3,000 
$69,000 $70,000 $  2,000 
$70,000 $71,000 $  1,000 
$71,000 and up $         0 

* Form CT-1040 NR/PY filers must use income from Connecticut sources if it exceeds Connecticut adjusted gross income.
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Connecticut AGI* Connecticut AGI* Connecticut AGI*Connecticut AGI*

Use the filing status you expect to report on your 2012 Connecticut income tax return and your Connecticut AGI* (from Tax Calculation 
Schedule, Line 1) to determine your exemption.

Single Filing Separately Head of HouseholdFiling Jointly/Qualifying Widow(er)



Note:  This is the initial tax calculation of your tax liability. It does not include personal tax credits, the 3% phase-out or tax recapture.
Use the filing status you expect to report on your 2012 Connecticut income tax return.

Single or Filing Separately Examples: Line 3 is $13,000, Line 4 is $450
If the amount on line 3 of the Tax Calculation Schedule is: $13,000 - $10,000 = $3,000

$3,000 X .05 = $150
Less than or equal to: 10,000$     3.00% $300 + $150 = $450
More than $10,000, but less than or equal to 50,000$     $300 plus 5.0% of the excess over $10,000
More than $50,000, but less than or equal to 100,000$   $2,300 plus 5.5% of the excess over $50,000 Line 3 is $525,000, Line 4 is $32,725
More than $100,000, but less than or equal to 200,000$   $5,050 plus 6.0% of the excess over $100,000 $525,000 - $250,000 = $275,000
More than $200,000, but less than or equal to 250,000$   $11,050 plus 6.5% of the excess over $200,000 $275,000 x .067 = $18,425

$14,300 plus 6.7% of the excess over $250,000 $14,300 + $18,425 = $32,725

Filing Jointly/Qualifying Widow(er) Examples: Line 3 is $22,500, Line 4 is $725
If the amount on line 3 of the Tax Calculation Schedule is: $22,500 - $20,000 = $2,500

$2,500 x .05 = $125
Less than or equal to: 20,000$     3.00% $600 + $125 = $725
More than $20,000, but less than or equal to 100,000$   $600 plus 5.0% of the excess over $20,000
More than $100,000, but less than or equal to 200,000$   $4,600 plus 5.5% of the excess over $100,000 Line 3 is $1,100,000, Line 4 is $68,800
More than $200,000, but less than or equal to 400,000$   $10,100 plus 6.0% of the excess over $200,000 $1,100,000 - $500,000 = $600,000
More than $400,000, but less than or equal to 500,000$   $22,100 plus 6.5% of the excess over $400,000 $600,000 x .067 = $40,200

$28,600 plus 6.7% of the excess over $500,000 $28,600 + $40,200 = $68,800

Head of Household Examples: Line 3 is $20,000, Line 4 is $680
If the amount on line 3 of the Tax Calculation Schedule is: $20,000 - $16,000 = $4,000

$4,000 x .05 = $200
Less than or equal to: 16,000$     3.00% $480 + $200 = $680
More than $16,000, but less than or equal to 80,000$     $480 plus 5.0% of the excess over $16,000
More than $80,000, but less than or equal to 160,000$   $3,680 plus 5.5% of the excess over $80,000 Line 3 is $825,000, Line 4 is $51,355
More than $160,000, but less than or equal to 320,000$   $8,080 plus 6.0% of the excess over $160,000 $825,000 - $400,000 = $425,000
More than $320,000, but less than or equal to 400,000$   $17,680 plus 6.5% of the excess over $320,000 $425,000 x .067 = $28,475

$22,880 plus 6.7% of the excess over $400,000 $22,880 + $28,475 = $51,355
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More than $400,000

More than $500,000

Table B - Tax Calculation for 2012 Taxable Year

More than $250,000



Table C - 3% Tax Rate Phase-Out

More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

3%        
Phase-Out

More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

3%        
Phase-Out

More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

3%        
Phase-Out

More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

3%        
Phase-Out

$           0 $  56,500 $    0 $           0 $100,500 $    0 $         0 $50,250 $    0 $           0 $  78,500 $    0 
$  56,500 $  61,500 $  20 $100,500 $105,500 $  40 $50,250 $52,750 $  20 $  78,500 $  82,500 $  32 
$  61,500 $  66,500 $  40 $105,500 $110,500 $  80 $52,750 $55,250 $  40 $  82,500 $  86,500 $  64 
$  66,500 $  71,500 $  60 $110,500 $115,500 $120 $55,250 $57,750 $  60 $  86,500 $  90,500 $  96 
$  71,500 $  76,500 $  80 $115,500 $120,500 $160 $57,750 $60,250 $  80 $  90,500 $  94,500 $128
$  76,500 $  81,500 $100 $120,500 $125,500 $200 $60,250 $62,750 $100 $  94,500 $  98,500 $160
$  81,500 $  86,500 $120 $125,500 $130,500 $240 $62,750 $65,250 $120 $  98,500 $102,500 $192
$  86,500 $  91,500 $140 $130,500 $135,500 $280 $65,250 $67,750 $140 $102,500 $106,500 $224
$  91,500 $  96,500 $160 $135,500 $140,500 $320 $67,750 $70,250 $160 $106,500 $110,500 $256
$  96,500 $101,500 $180 $140,500 $145,500 $360 $70,250 $72,750 $180 $110,500 $114,500 $288
$101,500 and up $200 $145,500 and up $400 $72,750 and up $200 $114,500 and up $320

* Form CT-1040 NR/PY filers must use income from Connecticut sources if it exceeds Connecticut adjusted gross income.
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Filing Jointly/Qualifying Widow(er)

Use the filing status you expect to report on your 2012 Connecticut income tax return and your Connecticut AGI* (from Tax Calculation 
Schedule, Line 1) to determine your phase-out level and the additional amount of tax you are required to include in your tax calculation.

Connecticut AGI* Connecticut AGI*Connecticut AGI*

Single Filing Separately

Connecticut AGI*

Head of Household



Table D - Tax Recapture

More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

Recapture 
Amount

More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

Recapture 
Amount

More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

Recapture 
Amount

$           0 $200,000 $       0 $           0 $400,000 $       0 $           0 $320,000 $       0 
$200,000 $205,000 $     75 $400,000 $410,000 $   150 $320,000 $328,000 $   120 
$205,000 $210,000 $   150 $410,000 $420,000 $   300 $328,000 $336,000 $   240 
$210,000 $215,000 $   225 $420,000 $430,000 $   450 $336,000 $344,000 $   360 
$215,000 $220,000 $   300 $430,000 $440,000 $   600 $344,000 $352,000 $   480 
$220,000 $225,000 $   375 $440,000 $450,000 $   750 $352,000 $360,000 $   600 
$225,000 $230,000 $   450 $450,000 $460,000 $   900 $360,000 $368,000 $   720 
$230,000 $235,000 $   525 $460,000 $470,000 $1,050 $368,000 $376,000 $   840 
$235,000 $240,000 $   600 $470,000 $480,000 $1,200 $376,000 $384,000 $   960 
$240,000 $245,000 $   675 $480,000 $490,000 $1,350 $384,000 $392,000 $1,080
$245,000 $250,000 $   750 $490,000 $500,000 $1,500 $392,000 $400,000 $1,200
$250,000 $255,000 $   825 $500,000 $510,000 $1,650 $400,000 $408,000 $1,320
$255,000 $260,000 $   900 $510,000 $520,000 $1,800 $408,000 $416,000 $1,440
$260,000 $265,000 $   975 $520,000 $530,000 $1,950 $416,000 $424,000 $1,560
$265,000 $270,000 $1,050 $530,000 $540,000 $2,100 $424,000 $432,000 $1,680
$270,000 $275,000 $1,125 $540,000 $550,000 $2,250 $432,000 $440,000 $1,800
$275,000 $280,000 $1,200 $550,000 $560,000 $2,400 $440,000 $448,000 $1,920
$280,000 $285,000 $1,275 $560,000 $570,000 $2,550 $448,000 $456,000 $2,040
$285,000 $290,000 $1,350 $570,000 $580,000 $2,700 $456,000 $464,000 $2,160
$290,000 $295,000 $1,425 $580,000 $590,000 $2,850 $464,000 $472,000 $2,280
$295,000 $300,000 $1,500 $590,000 $600,000 $3,000 $472,000 $480,000 $2,400
$300,000 $305,000 $1,575 $600,000 $610,000 $3,150 $480,000 $488,000 $2,520
$305,000 $310,000 $1,650 $610,000 $620,000 $3,300 $488,000 $496,000 $2,640
$310,000 $315,000 $1,725 $620,000 $630,000 $3,450 $496,000 $504,000 $2,760
$315,000 $320,000 $1,800 $630,000 $640,000 $3,600 $504,000 $512,000 $2,880
$320,000 $325,000 $1,875 $640,000 $650,000 $3,750 $512,000 $520,000 $3,000
$325,000 $330,000 $1,950 $650,000 $660,000 $3,900 $520,000 $528,000 $3,120
$330,000 $335,000 $2,025 $660,000 $670,000 $4,050 $528,000 $536,000 $3,240
$335,000 $340,000 $2,100 $670,000 $680,000 $4,200 $536,000 $544,000 $3,360
$340,000 $345,000 $2,175 $680,000 $690,000 $4,350 $544,000 $552,000 $3,480
$345,000 and up $2,250 $690,000 and up $4,500 $552,000 and up $3,600

* Form CT-1040 NR/PY filers must use income from Connecticut sources if it exceeds Connecticut adjusted gross income. Page 9 of 16

Connecticut AGI* Connecticut AGI*Connecticut AGI*

Use the filing status you expect to report on your 2012 Connecticut income tax return and your 
Connecticut AGI* (from Tax Calculation Schedule, Line 1) to determine your recapture amount.

Single or Filing Separately Head of HouseholdFiling Jointly/Qualifying Widow(er)



Table E - Personal Tax Credits for 2012 Taxable Year

More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

Decimal 
Amount

More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

Decimal 
Amount

More Than Less Than 
or         

Equal To

Decimal 
Amount

More Than Less Than 
or        

Equal To

Decimal 
Amount

$13,500 $16,900 .75 $  24,000 $  30,000 .75 $12,000 $15,000 .75 $19,000 $24,000 .75
$16,900 $17,400 .70 $  30,000 $  30,500 .70 $15,000 $15,500 .70 $24,000 $24,500 .70
$17,400 $17,900 .65 $  30,500 $  31,000 .65 $15,500 $16,000 .65 $24,500 $25,000 .65
$17,900 $18,400 .60 $  31,000 $  31,500 .60 $16,000 $16,500 .60 $25,000 $25,500 .60
$18,400 $18,900 .55 $ 31,500 $  32,000 .55 $16,500 $17,000 .55 $25,500 $26,000 .55
$18,900 $19,400 .50 $  32,000 $  32,500 .50 $17,000 $17,500 .50 $26,000 $26,500 .50
$19,400 $19,900 .45 $  32,500 $  33,000 .45 $17,500 $18,000 .45 $26,500 $27,000 .45
$19,900 $20,400 .40 $  33,000 $  33,500 .40 $18,000 $18,500 .40 $27,000 $27,500 .40
$20,400 $22,500 .35 $  33,500 $  40,000 .35 $18,500 $20,000 .35 $27,500 $34,000 .35
$22,500 $23,000 .30 $  40,000 $  40,500 .30 $20,000 $20,500 .30 $34,000 $34,500 .30
$23,000 $23,500 .25 $  40,500 $  41,000 .25 $20,500 $21,000 .25 $34,500 $35,000 .25
$23,500 $24,000 .20 $  41,000 $  41,500 .20 $21,000 $21,500 .20 $35,000 $35,500 .20
$24,000 $28,100 .15 $  41,500 $  50,000 .15 $21,500 $25,000 .15 $35,500 $44,000 .15
$28,100 $28,600 .14 $  50,000 $  50,500 .14 $25,000 $25,500 .14 $44,000 $44,500 .14
$28,600 $29,100 .13 $  50,500 $  51,000 .13 $25,500 $26,000 .13 $44,500 $45,000 .13
$29,100 $29,600 .12 $  51,000 $  51,500 .12 $26,000 $26,500 .12 $45,000 $45,500 .12
$29,600 $30,100 .11 $  51,500 $  52,000 .11 $26,500 $27,000 .11 $45,500 $46,000 .11
$30,100 $54,000 .10 $  52,000 $  96,000 .10 $27,000 $48,000 .10 $46,000 $74,000 .10
$54,000 $54,500 .09 $  96,000 $  96,500 .09 $48,000 $48,500 .09 $74,000 $74,500 .09
$54,500 $55,000 .08 $  96,500 $  97,000 .08 $48,500 $49,000 .08 $74,500 $75,000 .08
$55,000 $55,500 .07 $  97,000 $  97,500 .07 $49,000 $49,500 .07 $75,000 $75,500 .07
$55,500 $56,000 .06 $  97,500 $  98,000 .06 $49,500 $50,000 .06 $75,500 $76,000 .06
$56,000 $56,500 .05 $  98,000 $  98,500 .05 $50,000 $50,500 .05 $76,000 $76,500 .05
$56,500 $57,000 .04 $  98,500 $  99,000 .04 $50,500 $51,000 .04 $76,500 $77,000 .04
$57,000 $57,500 .03 $  99,000 $  99,500 .03 $51,000 $51,500 .03 $77,000 $77,500 .03
$57,500 $58,000 .02 $  99,500 $100,000 .02 $51,500 $52,000 .02 $77,500 $78,000 .02
$58,000 $58,500 .01 $100,000 $100,500 .01 $52,000 $52,500 .01 $78,000 $78,500 .01
$58,500 and up .00 $100,500 and up .00 $52,500 and up .00 $78,500 and up .00

* Form CT-1040 NR/PY filers must use income from Connecticut sources if it exceeds Connecticut adjusted gross income. Page 10 of 16

Use the filing status you expect to report on your 2012 Connecticut income tax return and your Connecticut AGI* (from Tax Calculation 
Schedule, Line 1) to determine your decimal amount.

Connecticut AGI* Connecticut AGI* Connecticut AGI* Connecticut AGI*

Single Filing Jointly or                  
Qualifying Widow(er) Filing Separately Head of Household



Employees: See Employee General Instructions on Page 2. Sign and return Form CT-W4 to your employer. Keep a copy for your records.
1. Withholding Code: Enter Withholding Code letter chosen from above. ....................... 1. 

2. Additional withholding amount per pay period: If any, see Page 3 instructions. . ......... 2.  $

3. Reduced withholding amount per pay period: If any, see Page 3 instructions. ............ 3.  $

Form CT-W4
Employee’s Withholding Certifi cate

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut 
(Rev. 01/12)

Effective January 1, 2012

* Filing jointly includes fi ling jointly for federal and Connecticut and   
 fi ling jointly for Connecticut only.

Our expected combined annual gross income is less than or
equal to $24,000 or I am claiming exemption under the Military
Spouses Residency Relief Act (MSRRA) *** and no withholding 
is necessary. E
My spouse is employed and our expected combined annual 
gross income is greater than $24,000 and less than or equal 
to $100,500. See Certain Married Individuals, Page 2. A
My spouse is not employed and our expected combined 
annual gross income is greater than $24,000. C
My spouse is employed and our expected combined 
annual gross income is greater than $100,500. D
I have signifi cant nonwage income and wish to avoid having
too little tax withheld. D
I am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income. D

Withholding 
CodeFiling Jointly *

My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to 
$12,000 or I am claiming exemption under the MSRRA ***
and no withholding is necessary. E
My expected annual gross income is greater than $12,000. A
I have signifi cant nonwage income and wish to avoid having 
too little tax withheld. D
I am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income. D

Withholding 
CodeFiling Separately **

My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to
$13,500 and no withholding is necessary. E
My expected annual gross income is greater than $13,500. F
I have signifi cant nonwage income and wish to avoid having
too little tax withheld. D
I am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income. D

Withholding 
CodeSingle

My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to 
$19,000 and no withholding is necessary. E
My expected annual gross income is greater than $19,000. B
I have signifi cant nonwage income and wish to avoid having 
too little tax withheld. D
I am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income. D

Withholding 
CodeHead of HouseholdMy expected annual gross income is less than or equal to 

$24,000 or I am claiming exemption under the MSRRA ***
and no withholding is necessary. E
My expected annual gross income is greater than 
$24,000.  C
I have signifi cant nonwage income and wish to avoid having
too little tax withheld. D
I am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income. D

Withholding 
CodeQualifying Widow(er) With Dependent Child

Employee Instructions
• Read instructions on Page 2 before completing this form.
• Select the fi ling status you expect to report on your Connecticut 

income tax return. See instructions.

• Choose the statement that best describes your gross income. 
• Enter the Withholding Code on Line 1 below.

Check if you are claiming
the MSRRA exemption 
and enter state of legal 
residence/domicile:

_____________________



Employers: See Employer Instructions on Page 2.

Complete this form in blue or black ink only.

** Filing separately includes fi ling separately for federal and   
 Connecticut and fi ling separately for Connecticut only. 
*** If you are claiming the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act   
 (MSRRA) exemption, see instructions on Page 2.

First name Ml Last name

Home address Social Security Number

City/town State ZIP code 

Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this certifi cate and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, 
and correct. I understand the penalty for reporting false information is a fi ne of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than fi ve years, 
or both.
Employee’s signature Date

Is this a new or rehired employee? No Yes  Enter date hired:

Employer’s business name 

Employer’s business address Federal Employer Identifi cation Number

City/town State ZIP code

Contact person Telephone number

mm/dd/yyyy

(        )



Employee General Instructions
Form CT-W4, Employee’s Withholding Certificate, provides your 
employer with the necessary information to withhold the correct amount 
of Connecticut income tax from your wages to ensure that you will not 
be underwithheld or overwithheld. 
You are required to pay Connecticut income tax as income is earned 
or received during the year. You should complete a new Form CT-W4 
at least once a year or if your tax situation changes. 
If your circumstances change, such as you receive a bonus or your 
fi ling status changes, you must furnish your employer with a new 
Form CT-W4 within ten days of the change. 
Gross Income
For Form CT-W4 purposes, gross income means all income from all 
sources, whether received in the form of money, goods, property, or 
services, not exempt from federal income tax, and includes any additions 
to income from Schedule 1 of Form CT-1040, Connecticut Resident 
Income Tax Return or Form CT-1040NR/PY, Connecticut Nonresident 
and Part-Year Resident Return.
Filing Status
Generally, the fi ling status you expect to report on your Connecticut 
income tax return is the same as the fi ling status you expect to report on 
your federal income tax return. However, special rules apply to married 
individuals who fi le a joint federal return but have a different residency 
status. Nonresidents and part-year residents should see the instructions 
to Form CT-1040NR/PY. 
If you are a spouse in a same sex marriage, you must recalculate your 
federal adjusted gross income as if your fi ling status for federal income 
tax purposes were married fi ling jointly or married fi ling separately. 
Check Your Withholding
You may be underwithheld if any of the following apply:
• You have more than one job;
• You qualify under Certain Married Individuals and do not use the 

Supplemental Table on Page 3 and Page 4; or
• You have substantial nonwage income.
If you are underwithheld, you should consider adjusting your withholding 
or making estimated payments using Form CT-1040ES, Estimated 
Connecticut Income Tax Payment Coupon for Individuals. You may also 
select Withholding Code “D” to elect the highest level of withholding.
If you owe $1,000 or more in Connecticut income tax over and above 
what has been withheld from your income for the prior taxable year, you 
may be subject to interest on the underpayment at the rate of 1% per 
month or fraction of a month. 
You may be overwithheld if your combined annual income is more than 
$200,000 but less than $700,000 and your Connecticut fi ling status 
is fi ling jointly. To help determine if your withholding is correct, see 
Informational Publication 2012(7), Is My Connecticut Withholding 
Correct? 

Nonresident Employees Working Partly Within and Partly 
Outside of Connecticut
If you work partly within and partly outside of Connecticut for the same 
employer, you should also complete Form CT-W4NA, Employee’s 
Withholding or Exemption Certifi cate - Nonresident Apportionment, and 
provide it to your employer. The information on Form CT-W4NA and 
Form CT-W4 will help your employer determine how much to withhold 
from your wages for services performed within Connecticut. To obtain 
Form CT-W4NA, visit the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) 
website at www.ct.gov/DRS or request the form from your employer. 
Any nonresident who expects to have no Connecticut income tax liability 
should choose Withholding Code “E.”
Certain Married Individuals
If you are a married individual fi ling jointly and you and your spouse 
both select Withholding Code “A,” you may have too much or too 
little Connecticut income tax withheld from your pay. This is because 
the phaseout of the personal exemption and credit is based on your 
combined incomes. The withholding tables cannot refl ect your exact 
withholding requirement without considering the income of your spouse. 

Form CT-W4 (Rev. 01/12)

To minimize this problem, use the Supplemental Table on Page 3 and 
Page 4 to adjust your withholding. You are not required to use this table. 
Do not use the supplemental table to adjust your withholding if you use 
the worksheet in IP 2012(7).
Armed Forces Personnel and Veterans
If you are a Connecticut resident, your armed forces pay is subject to 
Connecticut income tax withholding unless you qualify as a nonresident 
for Connecticut income tax purposes. If you qualify as a nonresident, 
you may request that no Connecticut income tax be withheld from your 
armed forces pay by entering Withholding Code “E” on Line 1. 

Military Spouses Residency Relief Act (MSRRA)
If you are claiming an exemption from Connecticut income tax under the 
MSRRA, you must provide your employer with a copy of your military 
spouse’s Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) and a copy of your 
military dependent ID card. 
See Informational Publication 2009(21), Connecticut Income Tax 
Information for Armed Forces Personnel and Veterans.
Employer Instructions
For any employee who does not complete Form CT-W4, you are required 
to withhold at the highest marginal rate of 6.7% without allowance for 
exemption. You are required to keep Form CT-W4 in your fi les for 
each employee. See Informational Publication 2012(1), Connecticut 
Employer’s Tax Guide, Circular CT, for complete instructions.

Report Certain Employees Claiming Exemption From Withholding 
to DRS
Employers are required to fi le copies of Form CT-W4 with DRS for 
certain employees claiming “E” (no withholding is necessary). See
IP 2012(1). Mail copies of Forms CT-W4 meeting the conditions listed 
in IP 2012(1) under Reporting Certain Employees to DRS on Page 12  
with Form CT-941, Connecticut Quarterly Reconciliation of Withholding, 
if you fi le a paper return. If you fi le Form CT-941 electronically, mail only 
the copies of Forms CT-W4 meeting the conditions listed in IP 2012(1) to: 
DRS, PO Box 2931, Hartford CT 06104-2931. 

Report New and Rehired Employees to the Department of Labor 
(DOL)
New employees are workers not previously employed by your business, 
or workers rehired after having been separated from your business for 
more than six months.
Employers with offices in Connecticut or transacting business in 
Connecticut are required to report new hires to the DOL within 20 days 
of the date of hire. 
New hires can be reported by:
• Using the Connect icut New Hire Report ing website at 

www.ctnewhires.com;
• Faxing copies of completed Forms CT-W4 to 1-800-816-1108; or 
• Mailing copies of completed Forms CT-W4 to:

 CT Department of Labor
 Offi ce of Research, Form CT-W4 
 200 Folly Brook Boulevard
 Wethersfi eld CT 06109
For more information on DOL requirements or for alternative reporting 
options, visit the DOL website at www.ctdol.state.ct.us or call DOL 
at 860-263-6310.
For More Information
Call DRS during business hours, Monday through Friday:
• 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford 

calling area only); or  
• 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).
TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries
anytime by calling 860-297-4911.
Forms and Publications
Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print 
Connecticut tax forms and publications. 

Page 2 of 4



  2,000 4,000 6,000 8,000 10,000 12,000 14,000 16,000 18,000 20,000 22,000 24,000 26,000
 3,000 0 0 0 0 0 0 (15) (42) (99) (156) (248) (318) (485)
 6,000 0 0 0 0 0 0 (15) (42) (99) (141) (225) (295) (414)
 9,000 0 0 0 0 0 0 (15) (35) (77) (119) (182) (192) (308)
 12,000 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 (12) (54) (48) (60) (106) (249)
 15,000 (23) (23) (23) (23) (15) 0 0 9 27 36 (24) (70) (162)
 18,000 (99) (99) (99) (84) (69) (54) (6) 54 36 18 (42) 20 (111)
 21,000 (203) (195) (180) (165) (129) (54) (3) 9 (9) 24 27 10 (87)
 24,000 (325) (310) (295) (232) (145) (106) (82) (70) 20 14 0 0 (12)
 27,000 (586) (550) (475) (409) (370) (331) (256) (181) (170) (142) (113) (6) 25
 30,000 (792) (705) (666) (627) (588) (441) (405) (347) (319) (206) (87) 20 18
 33,000 (956) (917) (878) (788) (686) (618) (548) (447) (312) (156) (75) 20 18
 36,000 (1,167) (1,128) (981) (930) (845) (760) (605) (414) (279) (156) (75) 20 18
 39,000 (1,193) (1,091) (1,023) (938) (810) (618) (420) (267) (144) (21) 60 155 153
 42,000 (1,200) (1,115) (1,030) (860) (642) (450) (285) (132) (9) 114 195 290 288
 45,000 (1,208) (1,080) (888) (675) (495) (315) (150) 3 126 249 330 425 423
 48,000 (1,130) (912) (720) (540) (360) (180) (15) 138 261 384 465 560 468
 51,000 (1,110) (930) (750) (570) (390) (210) (45) 108 231 354 390 395 303
 54,000 (1,120) (940) (760) (580) (400) (220) (55) 98 221 254 245 250 158
 57,000 (1,035) (855) (675) (495) (315) (135) 30 138 171 204 195 200 108
 60,000 (950) (770) (590) (410) (230) (50) 25 88 121 154 145 150 58
 63,000 (885) (705) (525) (345) (210) (120) (45) 18 51 84 75 80 (12)
 66,000 (800) (620) (440) (350) (260) (170) (95) (32) 1 34 25 30 (62)
 69,000 (715) (580) (490) (400) (310) (220) (145) (82) (49) (16) (25) (20) (112)
 72,000 (720) (630) (540) (450) (360) (270) (195) (132) (99) (66) (75) (70) 18
 75,000 (770) (680) (590) (500) (410) (320) (245) (182) (149) (116) (36) 153 298
 78,000 (800) (710) (620) (530) (440) (350) (275) (212) (179) 34 213 370
 81,000 (830) (740) (650) (560) (470) (380) (305) (153) 64 334
 84,000 (860) (770) (680) (590) (500) (410) (155) 96 281
 87,000 (890) (800) (710) (620) (441) (167) 145
 90,000 (920) (830) (740) (470) (192) 50
 93,000 (950) (771) (497) (170)
 96,000 (800) (552) (280)
 99,000 (500)

Supplemental Table for Qualifying Widow(er) With Dependent Child and 
Married Couples Filing Jointly - Effective January 1, 2012

For married couples who both select Withholding Code “A” on Form CT-W4 (combined income is $100,500 or less).
Form

 C
T-W

4 E
ffective January 1, 2012

Instructions
1.   Reading across the top of the table, select the approximate annual wage income of one spouse. Reading down the left 

column, select the approximate annual wage income of the other spouse.  See Page 4 for the continuation of this table.
2. At the intersection of the two numbers is an adjustment amount.  This is a yearly adjustment amount.
3. To calculate the adjustment for each pay period, complete the following worksheet.
  A. Adjustment amount 3A.________________
  B. Pay periods in a year: See pay period table. 3B.________________
  C. Pay period adjustment: Divide Line 3A by Line 3B. 3C.________________
4. If the adjustment is positive, enter the adjustment amount from Line 3C on Form CT-W4, Line 2, of one spouse. If the  

adjustment is negative, enter the adjustment amount in brackets from Line 3C on Form CT-W4, Line 3, of one spouse.

Pay Period Table

 If you are paid: Pay periods
   in a year:

 Weekly  .......................52
 Biweekly  .......................26
 Semi-monthly ................24
 Monthly  .......................12

(Rev. 01/12)

This table joins the table on Page 4.

Annual Salary

P
age 3 of 4



Supplemental Table for Qualifying Widow(er) With Dependent Child and 
Married Couples Filing Jointly - Effective January 1, 2012

For married couples who both select Withholding Code “A” on Form CT-W4 (combined income is $100,500 or less).

(Rev. 01/12)

Form
 C

T-W
4 E

ffective January 1, 2012

Annual Salary 28,000 30,000 32,000 34,000 36,000 38,000 40,000 42,000 44,000 46,000 48,000 50,000 52,000
 3,000 (647) (752) (866) (1,007) (1,148) (1,148) (1,136) (1,158) (1,163) (1,125) (1,023) (992) (1,031)
 6,000 (525) (666) (807) (948) (981) (1,020) (1,025) (1,030) (950) (822) (720) (722) (761)
 9,000 (467) (608) (698) (776) (888) (893) (855) (753) (630) (540) (450) (452) (491)
 12,000 (408) (441) (570) (665) (760) (680) (552) (450) (360) (270) (180) (182) (221)
 15,000 (258) (370) (465) (518) (506) (383) (293) (203) (113) (23) 68 66 26
 18,000 (224) (319) (329) (291) (279) (189) (99) (9) 81 171 261 259 220
 21,000 (158) (146) (113) (113) (113) (23) 68 158 248 338 428 426 341
 24,000 8 20 20 20 20 110 200 290 380 470 560 468 339
 27,000 7 7 7 7 7 97 187 277 367 412 412 320 191
 30,000 0 0 0 0 0 90 180 270 270 270 270 178 49
 33,000 0 0 0 0 0 90 135 135 135 135 135 43 (86)
 36,000 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 (92) (221)
 39,000 135 135 135 90 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 (92) (221)
 42,000 270 270 180 90 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 (92) (221)
 45,000 360 270 180 90 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 (92) (132)
 48,000 360 270 180 90 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 88 147
 51,000 195 105 15 (75) (165) (165) (165) (165) (165) (76) 108 253
 54,000 50 (40) (130) (220) (310) (310) (310) (310) (130) 58 210
 57,000 0 (90) (180) (270) (360) (360) (271) (87) 150
 60,000 (50) (140) (230) (320) (410) (230) (42) 110
 63,000 (120) (210) (300) (301) (207) 30
 66,000 (170) (260) (170) (72) (10)
 69,000 (131) (37) 110
 72,000 98 160 This table joins the table on Page 3.
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Effect on Other Documents: Informational 
Publication 2010(7), Is My Connecticut Withholding 
Correct?, is modifi ed and superseded.

Effect of This Document: An Informational Publication 
issued by the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) 
addresses frequently-asked questions about a current 
position, policy, or practice, usually in a less technical 
question and answer format.

Related Forms and Publications
Form CT-1040, Connecticut Resident Income Tax Return
Form CT-1040NR/PY, Connecticut Nonresident and 
Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return
Form CT-1040ES, 2011 Estimated Connecticut Income 
Tax Payment Coupon for Individuals
F o r m  C T- W 4 N A ,  E m p l o y e e ’s  Wi t h h o l d i n g 
Certifi cate - Nonresident Apportionment
Informational Publication 2011(26), Estimated 
Connecticut Income Taxes
Informational Publication 2009(21), Connecticut 
Income Tax Information for Armed Forces Personnel and 
Veterans

Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, easy, 
free, and confi dential): 
Business and individual taxpayers can use the Taxpayer 
Service Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC to fi le a variety 
of tax returns, update account information, and make 
payments online.
File Electronically: You can choose first-time filer 
information and fi ling assistance or log directly into the 
TSC to fi le returns and pay taxes.
Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax returns that 
cannot be fi led through the TSC. Log in and select the Make 
Payment Only option. Designate a payment date up to the 
due date of the tax and mail a paper return to complete the 
fi ling process.

DRS E-Alerts Service: Get connected to the latest news 
from DRS. Receive notification by email of changes 
to legislation, policies, and procedures. DRS E-Alerts 
provide information for employer’s withholding tax, News 
– Press Releases, and Top 100 Delinquency List. Visit the 
DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS and select e-alerts from 
the left navigation bar. 
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Statewide Services
Visit the ConneCT website at www.ct.gov for 

information on statewide services and programs.

Federal Tax Information
For questions about federal taxes, visit www.irs.gov or 

call the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) at 800-829-1040.
To order federal tax forms, call 800-829-3676.

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
25 Sigourney Street Ste 2
Hartford CT 06106-5032
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l Send routine tax questions to drs@po.state.ct.us (do not 
send account related inquiries). For account-related questions, 
including bill and refund inquiries, use the Secure Mailbox 
feature by logging into the DRS electronic TSC.

Forms and Publications

800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 
Greater Hartford calling area only) and select 
Option 2; or 860-297-4753 (from anywhere).

Email requests, including your name, 
address (street, city, state, and ZIP code), and 
the name or number of the tax product to 
ctforms.drs@po.state.ct.us

Tax Information

For telephone assistance, call our Taxpayer Services 
Division at 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 
Greater Hartford calling area only); or 860-297-5962 (from 
anywhere).

 Free personal taxpayer assistance and forms are available by visiting our Hartford offi ce at 25 Sigourney 
Street, Hartford CT. Walk-in assistance is available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (arrive 
by 4:00 p.m.). Directions to DRS Hartford offi ce are available using our phone menu or visiting the DRS 
website. If you require special accommodations, please advise the DRS representative.
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Connecticut forms and publications may be 
viewed, downloaded, or printed by visiting 
www.ct.gov/DRS the DRS website.
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The TSC includes a comprehensive FAQ database with 
more than 600 searchable answers.  Search by category, 
tax type, keyword, or phrase.

Choose direct deposit. It is fast and free!
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