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  STATE OF CONNECTICUT 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES IP 2009(37.1) 
25 Sigourney Street Ste 2 
Hartford CT 06106-5032 

  INFORMATIONAL PUBLICATION 

2009 Connecticut Income Tax Changes Affecting Withholding 
Requirements and the 2009 Fourth Quarter Estimated Payment 

 

 

Purpose: This Informational Publication discusses the 
requirement for employers to adjust the withholding 
amounts of employees who are subject to the increase 
in the highest marginal rate of 6.5% for 2009. The 
publication also discusses the requirement that 
taxpayers subject to the 6.5% rate adjust the 2009 
fourth quarter estimated tax payment. 
 
 
Effective Date: Effective October 5, 2009. 
 
 
Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-700 as 
amended by 2009 Conn. Pub. Acts 3, §119 (June Spec. 
Sess.) and 2009 Conn. Pub. Act 8, §§14 and 15 (Sept. 
Spec. Sess.). 
 
 
Income Tax Rate Increase for Certain Taxable 
Income Brackets: For taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2009, individuals pay tax at the 
following rates if their filing status is: 
• Single: At a 3% rate on the first $10,000 of 

Connecticut taxable income; at a rate of 5% on the 
excess over $10,000, but not over $500,000; and 
at a rate of 6.5% on the excess over $500,000. 

• Filing separately: At a 3% rate on the first $10,000 
of Connecticut taxable income; at a rate of 5% on 
the excess over $10,000, but not over $500,000; 
and at a rate of 6.5% on the excess over $500,000. 

• Head of household: At a 3% rate on the first 
$16,000 of Connecticut taxable income; at a rate 
of 5% on the excess over $16,000, but not over 
$800,000; and at a rate of 6.5% on the excess over 
$800,000. 

• Filing jointly or qualifying widow(er): At a 3% 
rate on the first $20,000 of Connecticut taxable 
income; at a rate of 5% on the excess over 
$20,000, but not over $1,000,000; and at a rate of 
6.5% on the excess over $1,000,000. 

As required, the withholding calculation rules have 
been adjusted to reflect the increase in the highest 
marginal rate. The new rules have been posted on the 
Department of Revenue Services (DRS) website. 
Employers are required to adjust the withholding 
amount for the remainder of 2009 taxable year to 
reflect the 6.5% rate. 

Taxpayers affected by the increase in the highest 
marginal rate and required to make an estimated 
income tax payment on January 15, 2010, for the 
2009 taxable year are required to calculate their 
fourth quarter payment using the 6.5% rate. 
 
 

Employer 
 

1. What are the changes to the employer 
withholding calculation rules? 
The withholding calculation rules were adjusted to 
reflect the increase in the highest marginal rate under 
each withholding code. It instructs employers how to 
calculate the amount of tax that should be withheld 
for the remainder of the year from employees who are 
affected by the increase in the highest marginal rate. 

2. What are employers' responsibilities as a result of 
the new 2009 withholding calculation rules? 
Employers with employees who are subject to the 
increase in the highest marginal rate are required to 
use the updated withholding calculation rules posted 
on the DRS website. Employers are required to 
determine the catch-up withholding amount for any 
employee subject to the highest marginal rate. The 
employer must calculate the employee’s annualized 
taxable income; calculate the 2009 Connecticut 
income tax on the annualized taxable income 
applying the highest marginal rate; subtract the year 
to date withholding amount from the calculated 2009 
Connecticut income tax; and divide the difference by 
the remaining pay periods for 2009. The example that 
follows illustrates this requirement. 
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Example: An employee paid on a weekly basis 
expects to have an annualized salary of $880,000.  
This amount is determined by taking the employees’ 
wages per pay period and multiplying it by the number 
of pay periods in a year (Steps 1, 2, and 3 on the 
Withholding Calculation Rules*). 

Line 1 of the employee’s Form CT-W4 most recently 
submitted to the employer shows withholding code F.  

Because the employee’s annualized salary is above the 
exemptions threshold, the employee’s annualized salary 
will not be reduced by any exemption amount (Step 5 
on the Withholding Calculation Rules*). 

The annualized taxable income is $880,000 (Step 6 on 
the Withholding Calculation Rules).  

Assume there are eight weekly payroll periods 
remaining in 2009.  

The catch-up withholding is calculated as follows: 
Determine the tax for 2009:  

1: The first $10,000 is taxed at 3%. 
$10,000 x .03 = $300 

2: The excess over $10,000 but less than or equal to 
$500,000 is taxed at 5%. 
$500,000 – 10,000 = $490,000 
$490,000 x .05 = $24,500 

3: The excess over $500,000 but less than or equal 
to $880,000 is taxed at 6.5%. 
$880,000 - $500,000 = $380,000 
$380,000 x .065 = $24,700 

The estimated tax for 2009 is $49,500 ($300 + 
$24,500 + $24,700). 

The employer determines that the year to date 
withholding is $34,084.  

Subtract the year to date withholding amount from the 
estimated 2009 income tax: $49,500 - $34,084 = 
$15,416. 

Divide the difference by the remaining pay periods in 
2009: $15,416/ 8 = $1,927.   

The employer is required to withhold $1,927 for each 
of the remaining pay periods in 2009.  
* For employees with fluctuating pay, an average of 

year to date earnings per pay period projected to year 
end may more accurately determine the annualized 
salary. For employees with supplemental earnings, 
see Question 3. 

 

3. An employee expects to receive a bonus at the end 
of the year. Should this amount be included when 
calculating the additional amount of withholding? 
Yes. Supplemental compensation already received or 
expected to be received on or before December 31, 
2009, must be included in the annualized taxable 
income calculation. 

4. My employee received a large bonus at the 
beginning of the year. He will not make enough 
money for the rest of the 2009 taxable year to 
withhold the catch-up withholding amount. What 
is the maximum amount I am allowed to withhold 
and will I be liable for not withholding the correct 
amount? 
An employer is required to deduct catch-up 
withholding from an employee’s wages even if it 
reduces the employee’s net pay amount to zero. If the 
employee’s net pay has been reduced to zero, the 
employer will not be liable under Conn. Agencies Regs. 
§12-707-2 for withholding less than the correct amount 
of tax. However, you should inform the employee 
that he or she is required to make a fourth quarter 
estimated payment using the 6.5% rate. The fourth 
quarter estimated payment is due January 15, 2010. 

5. What if an employer does not implement the 
catch-up withholding rules? 
An employer is required to use the adjusted 
withholding calculation rules posted on the DRS 
website on October 1, 2009, to determine the 
additional amount to withhold for the remainder of 
the taxable year for employees affected by the 
increase in the highest marginal rate. Except for 
situations such as that addressed in Question 4, an 
employer who does not implement the catch-up 
withholding rules will be liable for the amount of the 
Connecticut income tax required to be withheld. For 
purposes of assessment and collection, amounts 
required to be withheld and paid over to DRS (and 
any penalties and interest) are the liability of the 
employer under the law. The employer remains liable 
for the tax even if a third party is withholding on the 
employer’s behalf. 

6. An employee has informed me that she will not 
have enough money to pay her daily expenses if I 
withhold additional amounts for Connecticut 
income tax. Can I continue withholding at the 5% 
rate and let the employee pay any additional tax 
with her tax return? 
No. Employers must use the adjusted withholding 
calculation rules to determine the amount of catch-up 
withholding based on an employee’s annual 
Connecticut taxable income and the withholding code 
on the employee’s Form CT-W4. 

7. Must an employer recalculate catch-up 
withholding when an employee issues a new Form 
CT-W4? 
Yes. 



Page 3 of 4 

8. One of my employees never submitted Form 
CT-W4 and he is not affected by the increase  
in the highest marginal rate. Do I continue 
withholding at the 5% rate? 
Yes. If an employee fails to complete a CT-W4 
Employee's Withholding Certificate for their 
employer, the employer must withhold Connecticut 
tax at the 5% tax rate, not the new 6.5% tax rate 
(unless the employee’s annual earnings exceed the 
high income thresholds listed above). 
 
9. How should I calculate withholding for 
employees who claim letter “D” on the CT-W4? 
In general, claiming letter “D” will not trigger the 
new 6.5% rate. However, this rate will apply if the 
employee’s annual earnings exceed the income 
thresholds established in the recent legislation.  These 
thresholds are set forth in the section of this 
publication entitled Income Tax Rate Increase for 
Certain Taxable Income Tax Brackets. 
 
10. Does the withholding rate for athletes and 
entertainers remain at 5%? 
No. Under Conn. Agencies Regs. §12-705(b)-1(b), 
the withholding from compensation of professional 
athletes and entertainers is required to be at the highest 
marginal rate, which has increased to 6.5% for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2009. 

11. May I instruct my employees to provide me 
with a new Form CT-W4 in lieu of implementing 
the catch-up withholding rules? 
The newly enacted legislation requires you to use the 
adjusted withholding calculation rules posted on the 
DRS website to calculate the additional amount of 
withholding for employees affected by the increase in 
the highest marginal rate. However, you may inform 
your employee that he or she has a right to request a 
reduced amount of withholding or an increased 
amount of withholding by providing you with a new 
Form CT-W4. The decision whether or not to provide 
a new Form CT-W4, however, is the employee’s, not 
the employer’s. 

12. Are employers required to take into 
consideration tax withholding for other states 
when calculating catch-up withholding?  
Yes. Employers withholding from wages paid to 
resident employees who work solely in one 
qualifying jurisdiction but not in Connecticut, who 
work in more than one qualifying jurisdiction but not 
in Connecticut, or who work in one or more 
qualifying jurisdictions and in Connecticut should 
refer to Conn. Agencies Regs. §12-705(a)-2. 
Employers withholding from wages paid to 
nonresident employees who perform services partly 

within and partly without Connecticut should refer to 
Conn. Agencies Regs. §12-705(a)-6. 

13. Are employers required to take into consideration 
changes to filing status during the year? 
Employers are required to use the withholding code 
reported by the employee on the most recently 
submitted Form CT-W4 to the employer. If the most 
recently submitted Form CT-W4 contains a change in 
filing status, then the change must be considered. 
 
 

Employee or Individual 
 

 
14. How do I know if I should adjust my fourth 
quarter estimated payment? 
Complete Lines 1 through 17 on the 2009 Estimated 
Connecticut Income Tax Worksheet using the updated 
Tax Calculation Schedule provided on the DRS 
website. Subtract from Line 17 any estimated income 
tax payments made which were due on April 15, 2009, 
June 15, 2009, and September 15, 2009. The 
difference is the amount of your January 15, 2010, 
estimated payment. 

15. I am not required to make estimated payments 
and I will be subject to the increase in the highest 
marginal rate. What do I do if my employer does 
not withhold enough Connecticut income tax? 
You should use your last pay-stub to do the 
calculation under Question 14 to determine whether 
you should send a fourth quarter estimated payment. 

16. I am not subject to catch-up withholding but 
income from other sources will subject me to the 
6.5% rate. What should I do? 
You can submit a new Form CT-W4 to your employer 
requesting an additional amount of withholding, or 
you can go to the DRS website and calculate your 
January 15, 2010, estimated payment amount. 

17. If I am subject to catch-up withholding, may I 
request that my employer not withhold additional 
amounts from my paycheck? 
If you are affected by the increase in the highest 
marginal rate, your employer is required to apply the 
adjusted withholding calculation rules to determine 
the additional amount of Connecticut income tax to 
withhold from your wages.  

However, you may submit a new Form CT-W4 
requesting an additional withholding amount per  
pay period (Line 2 on Form CT-W4) or a reduced 
withholding amount per pay period (Line 3 on Form 
CT-W4).  
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Additionally, you may be required to make an 
estimated payment on or before January 15, 2010. 
You may be charged interest if you do not pay 
enough tax through withholding or estimated 
payments, or both, by any installment due date. This 
is true even if you are due a refund when you file 
your tax return.  

18. How do I know if I have paid enough 
Connecticut income tax for 2009? 
Using your expected 2009 annual income from all 
sources, calculate your Connecticut income tax using 
Form CT-1040TCS, Tax Calculation Schedule, 
(Rev. 09/09) available on the DRS website. 

19. What is the withholding rate for gambling 
winnings? 
Gambling winnings are subject to the highest 
marginal rate of 6.5%. 
 
 

Trusts and Estates 
 

 
20.  How are trusts and estates affected by the 
increase in the highest marginal rate?   
The flat income tax rate for trusts and estates was 
increased to 6.5%. A trust or estate required to make 
estimated payments should use the 6.5% rate to 
calculate the 2009 taxable year fourth quarter 
estimated payment due January 15, 2010. 
 
 
Effect on Other Documents: None affected. 
 
 
Effect of This Document: An Informational 
Publication issued by DRS addresses frequently 
asked questions about a current position, policy, or 
practice, usually in a less technical question and 
answer format. 
For Further Information: Call DRS during 
business hours, Monday through Friday: 

• 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 
Greater Hartford calling area only); or 

• 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). 
TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may 
transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 
 
 
Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut 
tax forms and publications. 
 
 
Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, 
easy, free, and confidential): 
Business and individual taxpayers can use the 
Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC 
to file a variety of tax returns, update account 
information, and make payments online. 

File Electronically: You can choose first-time filer 
information and filing assistance or log directly into 
the TSC to file returns and pay taxes. 

Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax returns 
that cannot be filed through the TSC. Log in and 
select the Make Payment Only option. Designate a 
payment date up to the due date of the tax and mail a 
paper return to complete the filing process. 
 
 
DRS E-Alerts Service: Get connected to the latest 
news from DRS. Receive notification by email of 
changes to legislation, policies, and procedures. DRS 
E-Alerts provide information for employer’s 
withholding tax, News – Press Releases, and Top 100 
Delinquency List. Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS and select e-alerts from the left 
navigation bar.  
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