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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES IP 2009(11) 
25 Sigourney Street 
tford CT 06106-5032 H

  INFORMATIONAL PUBLICATION 

Unlawful Advertisements Referring to the Sales Tax 
 

Purpose: This Informational Publication is being 
issued because some retailers are unlawfully advertising 
that the retailers will absorb or assume the sales tax, 
not add the sales tax to the sales price of goods being 
sold, or, if added, will refund all or a portion of the 
sales tax. These advertisements have appeared in 
television, radio, newspapers, publications, Internet 
websites, and promotional displays at retail locations.  
 
 
Effective Date: Effective upon issuance.  
 
 
Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat. §§12-407e, 
12-408(2), (4) and (5), and 12-414(3). 
 
 
Requirement to Collect the Sales Tax and 
Prohibition Against Unlawful or Misleading 
Advertising About Assuming, Absorbing, or 
Refunding the Sales Tax: Connecticut law requires 
a retailer to collect the full amount of the sales tax 
imposed under the law from retail customers.  

Connecticut law prohibits retailers from advertising, 
holding out, or stating to the public or to any customer, 
directly or indirectly, that the sales tax will be assumed 
or absorbed by the retailer or that it will not be added 
to the sales price of goods being sold or that, if 
collected, the tax will be refunded in whole or in part.  

Connecticut law also prohibits a retailer from exhibiting 
or displaying on the retailer’s premises any notice, 
sign, or other advertising matter tending to mislead the 
public in connection with imposition or collection of 
the tax. 
 
 
Examples of Unlawful or Misleading 
Advertisements Referring to the Sales Tax: 
The following are examples of unlawful advertisements 
because they state, imply, or suggest that the retailer 
will absorb or assume the sales tax: 

• We’ll pay your sales tax; 

• Tax-free sale; 
• Pay no sales tax; 
• 0% sales tax; 
• Sales tax stimulus package; and 
• Tax-free weekend. 

Some retailers advertise that they will give their 
customers a discount equal to the sales tax and will 
then apply sales tax to and collect sales tax from their 
customers on the discounted price. While the Department 
of Revenue Services (DRS) strongly discourages 
retailers from using the sales tax as a sales incentive in 
their advertisements, DRS’s position is that it will 
not fine a retailer who advertises a discount equal to the 
sales tax as long as the advertisement also informs 
customers that, as required by Connecticut law, the 
retailer will apply sales tax to, and collect sales tax 
from customers on, the discounted price. 
 
 
Permissible Advertising About the Annual 
One-Week Sales Tax Holiday Starting the 
Third Sunday in August for Clothing and 
Footwear Selling for Less Than $300 per Item: 
The annual one-week sales tax holiday begins on the 
third Sunday in August and ends on the following 
Saturday. The following are examples of permissible 
advertisements when they are in connection with the 
annual one-week sales tax exemption under Conn. 
Gen. Stat. §12-407e for sales of items of clothing or 
footwear selling for less than $300 per item:  

• Storewide sales tax holiday on clothing and 
footwear; and 

• Tax-free week on clothing and footwear. 

A “Storewide Sales Tax Holiday” advertisement, 
however, would not be permissible if the retailer sells 
items other than clothing and footwear unless the 
advertisement states that the sales tax holiday is only 
in connection with the sale of clothing and footwear 
selling for less than $300 per item. 
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Properly Advertising the Sales Price: A retailer 
may advertise the sale of goods by any of the following 
methods: 
• Stating the sales price alone without reference to 

the tax; 
• Stating separately the sales price and the amount 

of tax to be collected on the sales price; or  
• Stating the sales price “plus tax” or “exclusive of tax”. 

Whichever method is used, the retailer is required to 
collect the properly computed sales tax from customers 
on the stated sales price. 

All retailers are required to maintain records to separately 
show the actual sales price of its merchandise and the 
amount of sales tax collected from customers on those 
sales. All retailers are required to furnish to customers, 
upon request, a sales slip showing the sales price of 
the items sold and the sales tax separately computed 
on the sales price.  
 
 
Properly Advertising the Sales Price When 
Making Sales on a Tax-Included Basis: A 
retailer who makes its sales on a tax-included basis 
may advertise the sale of goods as follows: 
• Stating a sales price which includes the sales tax 

together with the words “tax included” or “tax 
incl.” 

A retailer who makes its sales on a tax-included basis 
is required to furnish to a customer, upon request, a 
sales slip showing the sales tax separately computed 
on the sales price. When the retailer files its 
Connecticut sales tax return, the retailer is required to 
treat 94.3% of its tax-included gross receipts from 
sales as its gross receipts from sales exclusive of the 
sales tax collected. 
 
 
Fines for Unlawful Advertisements: Any person 
unlawfully advertising or misleading the public about 
absorbing or assuming the sales tax, not adding the 
sales tax to the sales price of goods sold, or, if added, 
refunding the sales tax shall be fined $500 for each 
offense. 
 
 
Effect on Other Documents: None affected. 
 

Effect of This Document: An Informational 
Publication issued by the Department of Revenue 
Services (DRS) addresses frequently asked questions 
about a current position, policy, or practice, usually 
in a less technical question and answer format. 
 
 
For Further Information: Call DRS during business 
hours, Monday through Friday: 
• 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 

Greater Hartford calling area only); or  
• 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). 
Select Option 6 to speak to a representative. 
TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may 
transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 
 
 
Forms and Publications: Forms and publications 
are available anytime by: 
• Internet: Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS 

to download and print Connecticut tax forms; or 
• Telephone: Call 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls 

outside the Greater Hartford calling area only) 
and select Option 2 or call 860-297-4753 (from 
anywhere). 

 
 
Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, easy, 
free, and confidential): 
Business and individual taxpayers can use the 
Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) to file a variety of 
tax returns and extensions, as well as to pay taxes or 
bills over the Internet. Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS and select an option from the list on 
the TSC image. 
 
 
DRS E-News Service: Get connected to the latest 
news from DRS. Receive notification by email of 
changes to legislation, policies, and procedures. 
DRS E-Alerts provide information for employer’s 
withholding tax, TSC-BUS Online Filing Alerts, News 
– Press Releases, and Top 100 Delinquency List. Visit 
the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS and select e-
Alerts from the left navigation bar. 
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