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  STATE OF CONNECTICUT 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES IP 2004(18) 
25 Sigourney Street 
Hartford CT 06106-5032 

  INFORMATIONAL PUBLICATION 

Estimated Connecticut Income Taxes 
 

Purpose: This Informational Publication explains 
the requirements for paying estimated Connecticut 
income tax.  Connecticut taxpayers can be charged 
interest for underpaying their estimated income tax, 
even if they pay all the Connecticut income tax they 
owe by the April 15 filing deadline. 
 
 
Effective Date: Upon issuance. 
 
 
Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat.              
§12-722(j)(1), as amended. 
 
 
1.  What is estimated tax? Connecticut law 
requires taxpayers to pay Connecticut income tax 
during the year through withholding or estimated tax 
payments, or both.  Most employees have these taxes 
withheld automatically from their paychecks.  If you 
are self-employed, receive a pension or annuity, or 
receive unemployment compensation and have not 
elected Connecticut income tax withholding, or you 
receive any other income from which Connecticut 
income tax is not withheld, you probably should be 
making estimated income tax payments. 
 
Because it is difficult to determine your exact tax 
liability before the end of the year, you may make 
estimated tax payments during the year based upon 
what you expect to earn in the current year or based 
upon what you actually earned in the prior year.  
When you file your annual income tax return, you 
report your estimated tax payments.  If you have 
overpaid your estimated tax during the year, you will 
receive a refund.  If you have underpaid your taxes 
during the year, you will have to pay the tax you owe 
and you may have to pay interest on the amount of 
the underpayment. 

2.  Who should pay estimated tax? You must 
make estimated Connecticut income tax payments if 
your Connecticut income tax (after tax credits) minus 
Connecticut income tax withheld is $1,000 or more, 
and you expect your Connecticut income tax 
withheld to be less than your required annual 
payment. 
 
3.  What is my required annual payment? 
Your required annual payment is the lesser of: 
 
• 90% of the total income tax shown on your 

current year Connecticut income tax return; or 

• 100% of the total income tax shown on your 
preceding year Connecticut income tax return, if 
you filed a Connecticut income tax return for the 
preceding taxable year that covered a 12-month 
period. 

 
You do not have to make estimated income tax 
payments if you did not file a Connecticut income tax 
return for the preceding taxable year because you had 
no Connecticut income tax liability and you were 
either: 
 
• A resident of Connecticut for the entire preceding 

taxable year; or 

• A nonresident or part-year resident of 
Connecticut for the preceding taxable year with 
Connecticut source income. 

 
4.  What types of income may not be subject 
to withholding and may require estimated tax 
payments?  The checklist below indicates many 
(but not all) types of income that may not be subject 
to Connecticut income tax withholding and that may 
require you to pay estimated tax: 
 
• Pensions and annuities; 
• Unemployment compensation; 
• Connecticut Lottery winnings less than $600 or 

less than 300 times the amount of the wager; 
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• Gambling winnings (other than Connecticut 
Lottery winnings); 

• Prize winnings; 
• Alimony; 
• Capital gains; 
• Interest income; 
• Dividend income; 
• Rental income; 
• Self-employment; 
• Federally taxable Social Security income. 
 
To avoid filing estimated taxes, you may request   
that your employer or pension plan payer withhold 
additional amounts from your wages or pension 
income to cover the taxes on other income.  You   can 
make this change by providing your employer    or 
pension payer with a revised Form CT-W4, 
Employee’s Withholding Certificate or Form          
CT-W4P, Withholding Certificate for Pension or 
Annuity Payments. 
 
Retired federal civil service employees must contact 
the U.S. Office of Personnel Management at            
1-800-409-6528 to start, stop, or make changes to 
Connecticut income tax withholding. 
 
5.  How do I estimate my tax? To calculate your 
estimated tax payments, you will need Form         
CT-1040ES, Estimated Connecticut Income Tax 
Payment Coupon for Individuals.  The instructions 
include a worksheet for computing your estimated tax 
payments, exemption and credit tables, and a coupon 
to be mailed with your estimated payments. 
 
If you made estimated Connecticut income tax 
payments last year, you will receive coupons in mid-
January.  Each coupon is preprinted with your name, 
address, and Social Security Number.  Use the 
preprinted coupons to ensure that your payments are 
properly credited.  If you did not make estimated 
Connecticut income tax payments last year, use 
Form CT-1040ES included in your Connecticut 
income tax booklet or request one from the 
Department of Revenue Services (DRS).  (See Forms 
and Publications on Page 4.)  If you file this form, 
additional coupons will be mailed to you. 
 
6.  When do I pay my estimated income tax? 
You must make your first estimated income tax 
payment on or before April 15.  You can pay all of 
your estimated tax with the first payment or pay the 
tax in four installments, due April 15, June 15, 
September 15, and January 15.  (Taxpayers who are 
not calendar year filers should use the same filing 
dates as they do for federal income tax purposes.)  An 

estimate will be considered timely filed if received on 
or before the due date, or if the date shown by the 
U.S. Postal Service cancellation mark is on or before 
the due date.  If the due date falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or legal holiday, the next business day is the 
due date. 
 
7.  How much should I pay with each 
installment?  You must pay 25% of your required 
annual payment with each installment. Your 
installments should be made as follows: 

Due Date  Percentage Due 
April 15......................... 25% 
June 15.......................... 25% (50% of your required 

annual payment must 
be paid by this date) 

 September 15 ................ 25% (75% of your required 
annual payment must 
be paid by this date) 

January 15 ............................25% (100% of your required 
annual payment must be 
paid by this date) 

Special Rules for Farmers and Fishermen: 
If you are a farmer or fisherman (as defined in I.R.C. 
§6654(i)(2)) who is required to make estimated 
income tax payments, you are required to make only 
one payment.  Your installment is due on or before 
January 15 following the end of the taxable year. The 
required installment is the lesser of 66 2/3% of the 
Connecticut income tax shown on your current year 
Connecticut income tax return or 100% of the 
Connecticut income tax shown on your preceding 
year income tax return. 

Farmers and fishermen who file Forms CT-1040, 
Connecticut Resident Income Tax Return;                    
CT-1040NR/PY, Connecticut Nonresident or Part-Year 
Resident Income Tax Return; CT-1041, Connecticut 
Income Tax Return for Trusts and Estates; CT-G, 
Connecticut Group Income Tax Return; or                  
Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI, Connecticut Composite 
Income Tax Return, for the taxable year on or before 
March 1 of the following year, and pay in full the 
amount computed on the return as payable for the 
taxable year, will not incur interest on the underpayment 
of estimated income tax.  For more information, see 
Informational Publication 2004(14), Farmer’s Guide 
to Sales and Use Taxes, Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax, 
Estimated Income Tax, and Withholding Tax. 
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8.  What if my income varies during the year? 
If you do not earn your income evenly throughout the 
year, you may benefit from using the annualized 
income installment method.  Instead of paying your 
required annual payment in four equal installments, 
you may be able to reduce or eliminate the amount of 
one or more installments. You make up the difference 
by making a larger payment for the period or periods 
when more of your income is earned.  For 
information about this method, see Informational 
Publication 2004(17), A Guide to Calculating Your 
Annualized Estimated Income Tax Installments and 
Worksheet CT-1040AES. 
 
You will need Form CT-2210, Underpayment of 
Estimated Income Tax by Individuals, Trusts, and 
Estates. Be sure to check Box A, Part I, of Form  
CT-2210, attach the form to your income tax return, 
and check the box for Form CT-2210 on the front of 
your Connecticut income tax return below the Name 
and Address section.  This notifies DRS that your 
estimated income tax is based on the annualized 
income installment method. 
 
9.  What happens if I underestimate my tax?  
If you are required to make estimated income tax 
payments and you do not pay enough tax during the 
year through withholding or estimated tax payments, 
or both, by the installment due date, you may be 
charged interest. This is true even if you are due a 
refund when you file your tax return.  Interest is 
calculated separately for each installment from the 
due date of that installment until the earlier of     
April 15 or the date on which the underpayment is 
paid.  Therefore, you may owe interest for an earlier 
installment even if you paid enough tax with a later 
installment to make up the underpayment.  Interest at 
1% (.01) per month, or fraction of a month, applies to 
the underpayment(s).  If you file your income tax 
return for the taxable year on or before January 31 of 
the following year and pay the amount computed    
on the return as payable for the taxable year, no 
interest will be charged for failure to make the fourth 
required installment. This does not apply to taxpayers 
paying estimated Connecticut income taxes as 
farmers and fishermen. 
 
10.  May I apply an overpayment in the prior 
year to the next year's estimate?  Yes.  When 
you file your return, you may elect to apply 
overpayments of Connecticut income tax to

your succeeding year estimated tax.  If you file your 
Connecticut income tax return on or before April 15 
or if you file a timely request for extension of time to 
file and your income tax return is filed within the 
extension period) the overpayment will be treated     
as estimated tax paid on April 15.  Your election      to 
apply overpayments to your succeeding year 
estimated income tax is irrevocable. 
 
 
Related Forms and Publications  
• Informational Publication 2005(1), Is My 

Connecticut Withholding Correct? 
• Informational Publication 2004(17), A Guide to 

Calculating Your Annualized Estimated Income 
Tax Installments and Worksheet CT-1040AES 

• Informational Publication 2004(14), Farmer’s 
Guide to Sales and Use Taxes, Motor Vehicle 
Fuels Tax, Estimated Income Tax, and 
Withholding Tax 

• Form CT-W4, Employee's Withholding Certificate 
• Form CT-W4P, Withholding Certificate for Pension 

or Annuity Payments 
• Form CT-1040ES, Estimated Connecticut Income 

Tax Payment Coupon for Individuals 
 

 
Effect on Other Documents:  IP 2003(36) is 
superseded, and may not be relied upon after the date 
of issuance of this publication. 
 
 
Effect of This Document: An Informational 
Publication addresses frequently asked questions 
about a current position, policy, or practice, usually 
in a less technical question and answer format. 
 
 
For Further Information: Call DRS during 
business hours, Monday through Friday: 

• 1-800-382-9463 (in-state), or  
• 860-297-5962 (from anywhere) 

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may 
transmit anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 
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Forms and Publications: Forms and publications 
are available anytime by: 
• Internet: Preview and download forms and 

publications from the DRS Web site at 
www.ct.gov/DRS 

• DRS TAX-FAX:  Call 860-297-5698 from the 
handset attached to your fax machine and select 
from the menu.  Only forms (not publications) are 
available through TAX-FAX. 

• Telephone: Call 860-297-4753 (from anywhere), 
or 1-800-382-9463 (in-state) and select Option 2 
from a touch-tone phone. 

Paperless Filing Methods (fast, easy, free, and 
confidential):  
• For business returns: Use Fast-File to file sales 

and use taxes, business use tax, room occupancy 
tax, estimated corporation tax, business entity 
tax, or withholding tax returns over the Internet.  
Visit the DRS Web site at www.ct.gov/DRS 
and click on File/Register OnLine. 

• For resident income tax returns: Use WebFile 
to file personal income tax returns over the 
Internet. Visit the DRS Web site at 
www.ct.gov/DRS and click on File/Register 
OnLine. 
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