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Clarification of
Connecticut
Sales Tax Refund

Sales Tax Refunded Only
for Returns Within 90 Days

Retailers can only obtain refunds of sales
and use taxes from the DRS if goods are
returned within 90 days. The qualifying
returned goods must be reported as a
deduction on Form OS-114, Sales and
Use Tax Return, Line 52.
Under Conn. Gen. Stat. 12-407(8)(B),
retailers can only claim a deduction for
taxes refunded to a
customer on the sales
price of goods

- — returned within

90 days of
§ the date of

B/
L?? purchase of
_‘\ — such goods.
Retailers
must report
on Form
0S-114 the
sales price or gross receipts from all
goods and services sold during the period.

Sales price, as defined in Conn. Gen.
Stat. 12-407(8)(B)(i1), does not include,
“... any portion of the amount
charged for property returned by
customers, which upon rescission of
the contract of sale is refunded
either in cash or credit, provided the
property is returned within ninety
days from the date of purchase.”

This section of the Sales and Use Tax Act
has been in effect for over 25 years, but
has been overlooked by some retailers.

Retailers should maintain records
substantiating that goods are returned
within the 90-day period. Amounts
refunded to customers after the 90-day
period are not deductible and should not
be reported on Form OS-114. T,

Common Registers and Consignment Sales:
How is Sales Tax Collected and Reported?

Retailers selling goods through consignment shops or in shops that rent space to other
vendors have asked DRS for direction in collecting and reporting sales tax. In both
situations, the customer pays the consignee or payment is made through the “host”
shop’s register(s), and the consignee or “host” shop collects and remits the sales tax.

Shops with Common Registers

Shops with common registers are shops that rent space to other vendors to display
and sell their goods. The shops collect and remit tax to DRS on the sales made on
behalf of these vendors. The shops do not
own the goods nor are the shops
purchasing the goods for resale. However,
customers making purchases from the
various vendors pay for the goods at
registers that are owned and operated by
the shops.

As such, both the shop and the vendor must
obtain Connecticut Sales and Use Tax
Permits. Further, the shop and the vendor
are held jointly and severally liable for the
payment of sales tax and each must file
Form OS-114, Sales and Use Tax Return.

The shop must include all sales as gross receipts on Form OS-114, Line 1, and pay
the sales tax on behalf of the vendor(s). Each vendor must include the gross receipts
of the sales made on its behalf through the shop on Form OS-114, Line 1, and deduct
those sales on the back of the return using Line A, Other Adjustments. Include on
Line A the statement “Sales made and tax collected by (name of shop and the shop’s
Connecticut Tax Registration Number).”

Consignment Sales

A consignment sale is one in which the retailer, also known as the consignee, agrees
to sell goods for the owner of the goods (or consignor). In return for selling the goods,
the consignee is paid a commission or fee.

The consignee must collect the 6% sales and use tax from the purchaser if the item
being sold is subject to tax. In addition, the consignee charges the original owner
6% sales tax on the commission or fee received for making the sale, unless the
commission is for the sale of a work of art or articles of clothing.

The shop and the vendor are held jointly and severally liable for the payment of sales
tax on the consignment sales. The consignee reports the gross receipts from the sale
of the goods on Form OS-114, Line 1. The gross receipts from the commission or
fee is reported on Line 3 of the return as a taxable service.

If the consignor or owner is also a retailer, the consignor must also report the sale of
the goods on Form OS-114, but may deduct it on the back of the return on Line A,
Other Adjustments. Include on Line A the statement “Sales made and tax collected
by (name of consignee and the consignee’s Connecticut Tax Registration Number).” T,

The Mission of the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services is to administer the tax laws of the State of Connecticut and collect the tax
revenues in the most cost effective manner; achieve the highest level of voluntary compliance through accurate, efficient and courteous customer
services; and perform in a manner which instills public confidence in the integrity and fairness of the State's tax programs.



Nonprescription
Reading Glasses

Most retailers know that prescription
eyeglasses are exempt from sales tax.
However, retailers often ask the DRS if
the sale of over-the-counter
nonprescription reading glasses is subject
to sales tax.

Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(19)(C)
exempts from sales and-use taxes the
sales of “artificial limbs, artificial
eyes, and other equipment worn'as a
correction or substitute for any
functioning portion of the body....”
Nonprescription reading glasses fall
under this exemption.

Retailers-should-continue charging sales
tax on nonprescription sunglasses and
magnifying glasses that.are not worn by
the user (such as’a hand-held magnifying
glass). T;

Recently Issued DRS Tax Products

DRS recently issued the following tax products (see information below for ways to

obtain forms and publications):

Understanding
Connecticut Taxes Clearly

The DRS is pleased to offer
Understanding Connecticut Taxes
Clearly, a free program designed to
provide a broad overview of Connecticut
tax requirements for new and existing
small businesses.

Space is still available. Call now to register.

Programs are held from 6:30 p.m. to 9:00
p-m. Call Melvin Jones at 860-297-4935
to register.

Announcements

AN 2000(9), Hazardous Waste
Assessment Terminated

AN 2000(8), Rulings and Administrative
Pronouncements Obsoleted by Sales
and Use Tax Regulations or Enumerated
Services

Informational Publications

IP 2001(7), Q&A on the Connecticut
Direct Payment Permit Program

IP 2001(6), Topical Index to Rulings and
Administrative Pronouncements
Covering Miscellaneous Taxes and
Administrative Topics (as of January 1,
2001)

IP 2001(5), Topical Index to Rulings and
Administrative Pronouncements
Covering Sales and Use Taxes (as of
January 1, 2001)

IP 2001(4), Numerical Index to Rulings
and Administrative Pronouncements as
Affected, if at all, by Later-Issued
Rulings and Pronouncements (as of
January 1, 2001)

IP 2001(3), Topical Index to Rulings and
Administrative Pronouncements

Covering Corporation Business Tax (as of
January 1, 2001)

IP 2001(2), Topical Index to Rulings and
Administrative Pronouncements
Covering Income Tax (as of January 1,
2001)

IP 2001(1), Is My Connecticut
Withholding Correct?

IP 2000(29), Connecticut Income Tax
Withholding Tables Effective January 1,
2001

IP 2000(19), Federal/State Electronic
Filing Handbook

Policy Statements

PS 2000(8), Procedures in Handling
Requests for Issuance of Technical
Advice Memoranda

PS 2000(7), Procedures in Handling
Requests for Issuance of Rulings

Special Notices

SN 2000(16.1), Revised Special
Reporting Requirements for Cigarette
Stampers and Tobacco Products
Distributors
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CONNECTICUT TAX TOPICS is a quarterly
newsletter about sales and use taxes and other
state taxes of interest to businesses. This
newsletter is designed to provide general
information for taxpayers and tax practitioners.
It is not designed to explain in depth a current
Department policy or practice affecting the
liability of taxpayers. Nothing in this
publication supersedes, alters or otherwise
changes provisions of Connecticut General
Statutes, regulations, Department rulings or tax
information publications.

For Tax Forms, Publications or Personal Assistance

¢ Visit the DRS Web site: www.drs.state.ct.us

e (Call CONN-TAX at 1-800-382-9463 (toll-free from within Connecticut) or
1-860-297-5962 (from anywhere). TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may
transmit inquiries 24 hours a day, seven days a week by calling 860-297-4911.

Forms and publications may be obtained 24 hours a day, seven days a week, by using

any of the following resources.

Internet: Preview and download forms from the DRS Web site at www.drs.state.ct.us

DRS TaxFax: Call 860-297-5698 from the handset attached to your fax machine.

E-mail: E-mail your request for forms to: ctforms.drs@po.state.ct.us

Telephone: From a touch-tone phone 24 hours a day call 1-800-382-9463 (toll-free
from within Connecticut) and select Option 2 or 860-297-4753 (from anywhere).

For free assistance on forms, visit our offices from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Monday
through Friday). For pre-recorded directions to DRS offices, call CONN-TAX. If you
require special accommodations, please advise the Department representative.

BRIDGEPORT HAMDEN
10 Middle St.

203-579-6251 203-287-8243

HARTFORD
3074 Whitney Ave., Bldg 2 25 Sigourney St.
860-297-5962

NORWICH
2 CIiff St.
860-889-2669

WATERBURY
55 West Main St., Suite 100
203-596-4310

Connecticut Tax Topics, March 2001 Edition, Vol. 9, No. 1, Published by the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services
Gene Gavin, Commissioner; Contributors: Ellen Schneider, David P. Barry, Louis Bucari, Anna Crawford, Marcelle Lavoie, Peter Santagata, and Peter Teeuwissen
State of Connecticut, Department of Revenue Services, 25 Sigourney Street, Hartford CT 06106-5032.




