
CONN-TAX
TO REACH CONN-TAX CALL:

1-800-382-9463 (IN-STATE)
OR

860-297-5962 (ANYWHERE)
Touch tone callers have several choices:

• For questions concerning the
Connecticut individual income tax,
including the status of your refund,
press 1 *

• To order tax forms or publications,
press 2 *

• If you are calling about a billing notice
or if you would like account
information, press 3

• For information on sales tax and
information on how to register your
new business, press 4 *

• If you are notifying the Department
of a change of address or if you have a
question on the renewal of your sales
tax permit, press 5 *

• For the Department's Web site
address, mailing address, and directions
to the regional offices, press 6 *

• To speak with a Taxpayer Services
representative, press 0

If you are calling from a rotary dial
telephone, you can reach us during our
normal business hours (8:00 a.m. to
5:00 p.m.).

(* 24  hour service)

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users
860-297-4911.  (Telecommunications
Device for the Deaf users only)

TAX-FAX
If you have a fax machine with a handset,
state tax forms, and tax information
notices can be obtained 24 hours a day
by calling 860-297-5698.

INTERNET
You can obtain tax forms and
publications 24 hours a day from our
site on the World Wide Web at:

www.drs.state.ct.us

DRS OFFICES
Visit our main office in Hartford or our
field offices in Bridgeport, Hamden,
Norwich or Waterbury weekdays,
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.  For directions,
call CONN-TAX and press 6.
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CONNECTICUT TAX TOPICS is a quarterly newsletter
about sales and use taxes and other state taxes of
interest to businesses. This newsletter is designed
to provide general information for taxpayers and
tax practitioners. It is not designed to explain in
depth a current Department policy or practice
affecting the liability of taxpayers. Nothing in this
publication supersedes, alters or otherwise
changes provisions of Connecticut General
Statutes, regulations, Department rulings or tax
information publications.

 The Mission of the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services is to administer the tax laws of the State of Connecticut and collect the tax
revenues in the most cost effective manner; achieve the highest level of voluntary compliance through accurate, efficient and courteous customer

services; and perform in a manner which instills public confidence in the integrity and fairness of the State's tax programs.

< Refund Claims, on back

New U.S. Government Credit Cards
Accepted for Exempt Purchases

The U.S. General Services Administration
(GSA) has replaced the I.M.P.A.C., American

Express, and Wright Express credit cards with
the “GSA SmartPay” Credit Card Program.
The new credit card program authorizes U.S.
Government employees and qualified
governmental agencies to make government
purchases of tangible personal property or
services, including meals and lodging, exempt
from sales and use taxes by using GSA
SmartPay credit cards.
Sales of tangible personal property or services,
including sales of meals and lodging made and
charged directly to the U.S. Government, are
exempt from Connecticut sales and use taxes.
Sales to federal employees (rather than to the U.S.
Government itself) are subject to sales and use
taxes, even if the U.S. Government reimburses
the employees for all or a portion of their
purchases.
Effective February 3, 2000, DRS no longer
requires federal employees to provide retailers
with the Governmental Agency Exemption
Certificate when using the GSA SmartPay Cards
for tax-exempt purchases.  In addition, U.S.
Government agencies are not required to obtain
pre-approval from DRS for meals and lodging
when using the GSA SmartPay credit cards.
Purchases with Fleet Cards and Purchase Cards
are tax exempt because they are billed directly to
and paid by the U.S. Government.
Retailers may accept Fleet Cards and Purchase
Cards with proper identification from the user, as
evidence that the purchase is made by the United
States and is exempt from sales and use taxes.
Purchases made with Travel Cards and
Integrated Cards are not necessarily tax-exempt
because some sales using these cards are billed
to and paid by federal employees rather than by
the U.S. Government.
To verify that an authorized person is using
GSA SmartPay cards, a retailer must require
identification that establishes the person’s
identity and status as a U.S. Government
employee and note the employee’s identification
number and agency on the merchant copy of the
sales receipt.
If a retailer has reason to believe that a card is
being used to make any purchase not directly
billed to and paid by the U.S. Government, or
that for any other reason does not qualify for
exemption under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(1), the
retailer must charge sales and use taxes on the
purchase.

Calculating Sales Tax for Goods and
Services with a Reduced Tax Rate

Most taxable sales in Connecticut are subject
to a 6% sales tax.  However, certain goods

and services are taxed at a lower rate.  A
taxpayer must use the adjustment lines on the
back of Form OS-114 , Sales and Use Taxes
Return, to properly calculate the amount of tax
due.
There are four types of sales that are subject to a
reduced rate:
1.  Sales, use, storage and consumption in this
state of materials, tools, fuels, and machinery
and equipment to be used primarily in
manufacturing.  Effective July 1, 1996, the tax
rate for sales, use, storage and consumption in
this state of materials, tools, fuels, and
machinery and equipment to be used primarily in

Beware Of Refund Claims for Sales
Tax Paid on Gas and Electricity

Some tax practitioners are offering to obtain
refunds of sales and use taxes paid by

certain businesses on electricity and natural gas,
claiming that the businesses qualify as
manufacturers or fabricators for purposes of the
exemptions for gas and electricity under Conn.
Gen. Stat. §12-412(3).
Businesses most frequently being approached
include donut and bagel shops.  Baking donuts
or bagels on a factory basis may sometimes
qualify as manufacturing.  However, retail donut
and bagel shops that bake on their premises
almost never qualify as manufacturers or
fabricators, and are not entitled to the gas and
electricity exemptions.
To qualify as a manufacturer or fabricator in
Connecticut, a business must meet stringent
tests regarding floor space, employees, wages
and salaries, operating costs, and sales revenues
in connection with the manufacturing or
fabricating activity.  Even if a business does

< Reduced Rate Calculation, on back

<GSA Smart Cards, on back
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Moving soon, callbefore you visit.

Understanding Connecticut
Taxes Clearly
The DRS is pleased to offer
Understanding Connecticut Taxes
Clearly, a free program designed to
provide a broad overview of
Connecticut tax requirements for new
and existing small businesses.  Programs
are held from 6:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.  Call
now to register.

SPRING 2000 SCHEDULE

May 4
Enfield

March 2
Norwich

March 9
Waterbury

Exempt Purchases of Motor
Vehicles or Vessels by
Nonresidents

Vessels and motor vehicles
purchased from Connecticut dealers

by nonresidents who maintain no
permanent place of abode in Connecticut
and who will not register the vehicles or
vessels in Connecticut are exempt from
Connecticut sales tax (Conn. Gen. Stat.
§12-412(60), as amended by 1999 Conn.
Pub. Acts 173, §21).
CERT-125, Sales and Use Tax
Exemption for a Motor Vehicle or Vessel
Purchased by a Nonresident of
Connecticut (Rev. 03/00), has been
revised and must be completed by
dealers for the exemption to be claimed.
In an effort to encourage the proper use
of CERT-125, the revised certificate
requires dealers to acknowledge that
they have explained the meaning of
“permanent place of abode” to their
customers.  For an individual, a
permanent place of abode in Connecticut
includes ANY dwelling permanently
maintained by the individual or his or her
spouse, whether or not owned or leased
by the individual, even if the individual
does not permanently reside there.
CERT-125 may never be used when a
customer maintains a permanent place of
abode in Connecticut.
All motor vehicle and vessel dealers
should immediately begin to use the new
CERT-125 (Rev. 03/00), and discard old
versions of the certificate.  Vessel
dealers may not use CERT-107 for sales
made on or after July 1, 1999.  CERT-125
is available on the DRS Web site.   TT

qualify as a manufacturer or fabricator, there
are additional requirements for the gas and
electricity exemptions of sales and use taxes.
If a business that is not qualified for the tax
exemptions obtains a refund of sales and use
taxes from a gas or electric utility, DRS will
assess the business for the amount of the tax
refund plus interest and possibly a penalty.

Retailers failing to follow the verification
guidelines set by DRS for authorized GSA
SmartPay card users may be held liable for
sales and use taxes on the purchases in
question.

manufacturing, as described in Conn. Gen.
Stat. §12-412i, the Manufacturing Recovery
Act of 1992, is 3%.  To properly report these
sales, multiply the applicable gross receipts
by 50% (.50).  The total is entered on Form
OS-114, Line 71.

2.  Computer and data processing services.
The tax on computer and data processing
services is being phased out.  If a retailer
sells computer and data processing services
on or after July 1, 1999, but before July 1,
2000, the gross receipts are subject to 3%
sales and use tax.  To properly report these
sales, multiply the applicable gross receipts
by 50% (.50).  The total is entered on Form
OS-114, Line 74.

3.  Renovation and repair services to
residential property.  The tax on paving,
painting or staining, wallpapering, roofing,

siding, and exterior sheet metal work to other
than industrial, commercial or income-
producing real property under Conn. Gen.
Stat. §12-407(2)(i)(BB) is being phased out.  If
a retailer sells these services to other than
industrial, commercial or income-producing
real property on or after July 1, 1999, but
before July 1, 2000, the gross receipts are
subject to 4% sales and use tax.  To properly
report these sales, multiply the applicable
gross receipts by 33.33% (.3333).  The total is
entered on Form OS-114, Line 75.

4.  Patient care services by hospitals.
Effective July 1, 1999, the tax rate for patient
care services under Conn. Gen. Stat.
§12-407(2)(i)(FF) is 5.75%.  To properly report
these sales, multiply the applicable gross
receipts by 4.17% (.0417).  The total is entered
on Form OS-114, Line 76.   TT

EXAMPLE:  A painter is contracted to paint an owner-occupied residential property.
The paint is supplied by the owner. The painter charges $1,000 for her services and adds
4% Connecticut sales tax to the bill.  If this was the only sale for the period, the return
would be completed as follows:
(Line references used for this example are actual lines used when completing the OS-114, Sales And Use Tax Return.)

Reduced Rate Calculation, from front

Refund Claims, from front

The same will apply to any unpaid tax that
may be due because the business stopped
paying sales and use taxes on its gas or
electricity.  The fact that the utility was
persuaded to refund taxes to the business will
not relieve the business of liability for the
taxes, if the business does not qualify for the
exemption.   TT

For more information see Policy Statement
2000(1.1), Retailer’s Acceptance of U.S.
Government “GSA SmartPay” Credit Card
for Purchases Exempt Under Conn. Gen.
Stat. §12-412(1).   TT

GSA Smart Card, from front

NY/CT TAX ALERT:  Clothing and Footwear Exempt From New York State Sales and Use Tax

Effective March 1, 2000, clothing and
footwear costing less than $110 per item

are exempt from  New York's 4% sales and use
tax.  The exemption applies to clothing and
footwear worn by humans and to most
component parts of exempt clothing used to
make or repair exempt clothing.  Charges for

alterations to exempt clothing are also exempt.
Connecticut based vendors participating in the
Connecticut/New York Reciprocal Tax Program
are required to claim the exemption on New
York Schedule H.
For more infomation see New York publications
TSB-M-00(1.1)S and TSB-M-00(1)S.   TT

May 11
Norwalk

Line 3 Gross receipts from labor and services $ 1,000.00

Line 7 Total $ 1,000.00

Line 75 Renovation and repair services to residential property ($1,000 X .3333) $ 333.33

Line 8 Total Deductions $ 333.33

Line 9 Balance subject to tax (subtract Line 8 from Line 7) $ 666.67

Line 10 Gross amount of tax due (multiply Line 9 by .06) $ 40.00


