Department of Revenue Services _
State of Connecticut 0-372

PO Box 5031 Admissions and Dues Tax Return >
Hartford CT 06102-5031 Connecticut Tax Registration Number
(Rev. 07/07) >
Federal Employer Identification Number
1. Return is due the last day of the month after the period ending. Return must be >

postmarked on or before the due date.

2. Interest: For late payment - 1% of the tax due per month from the due date.
Penalty: For failure to pay tax when due - 10% of tax due or $50, whichever is greater.

w

4. Make check payable to: Commissioner of Revenue Services.

(Be sure to include the Connecticut Tax Registration Number on your check.)

For Period Ending

Due Date

» [ Check here if this is an amended return.
O i you are permanently out of business,
enter the last business date:

0 New address or trade name:
Enter new mailing address:

Enter new trade name:

Enter new physical location (Not PO box):

Complete returnin blue or black ink only.

1 [ Amount from motion picture shows subject to admissions tax at 6% rate > 1 00
2 | Admissions tax due at 6% rate: Multiply Line 1 by 6% (.06). > 2 00
3 | Amount subject to admissions tax at 10% rate | 2 3 00
4 | Admissions tax due at 10% rate: Multiply Line 3 by 10% (.10). > | 4 00
5 [ Amount subject to dues tax | 2 5 00
6 | Dues tax due: Multiply Line 5 by 10% (.10). | 2 6 00
7 | Total tax due: Add Lines 2, 4, and 6. > | 7 00
8 | Interest (1% (.01) of tax due per month or fraction of a month) | 2 8 00
9 | Penalty (10% (.10) or $50, whichever is greater) > 9 00
10 | Total due: Add Lines 7, 8, and 9. » | 10 00

General Instructions

1. You must file a return even if no tax is due or no sales were
made. Returns are due the last day of the month following the
end of the period.

2. Rounding: You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar
on your returns and schedules. If you do not round, the
Department of Revenue Services (DRS) will disregard the cents.

3. Make your check payable to: Commissioner of Revenue
Services. Write your Connecticut Tax Registration Number
on your check. DRS may submit your check to your bank
electronically.

4.

5.

If you have permanently discontinued the activities that made
you subject to tax, check the box above indicating this is your
final return. Enter the last business date on the line provided.
Write your name, address, and Connecticut Tax Registration
Number on any attachments. Mail the return, payment, and
attachments to the address above.

If you have any questions, call Taxpayer Services at
1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford
calling area only) or 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). Visit the
DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print forms
and publications.

Declaration: | declare under the penalty of law | have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of
my knowledge and belief it is true, complete, and correct. | understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS is a fine of
not more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all

information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Taxpayer’s Signature

Title Date



Did you know you can
file this form by
Internet?

FAsT

\Nww.ct.gOV/D,?s
CONNECTICUT

Website: WwWw.ct.gov/DRS
(for information and filing)

860-297-5962

(for information)

FiLE Call:

Special Notes

A Rounding: You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar
on your returns and schedules. Round down to the next lowest
dollar all amounts that include 1 through 49 cents. Round up
to the next highest dollar all amounts that include 50 through
99 cents. However, if you need to add two or more amounts to
compute the amount to enter on a line, include cents and
round off only the total. If you do not round, the Department of
Revenue Services (DRS) will disregard the cents.

Example: Add two amounts ($1.29 and $3.21) to compute the
total ($4.50) to enter on a line. $4.50 is rounded to $5.00 and
entered on the line.

B. Successor Liability: The purchaser of a business is liable
under Conn. Gen. Stat. 812-546 for the taxes of its predecessor
to the extent of the purchase price unless the seller provides
Form AU-712, Tax Clearance Certificate, from DRS.

C. Responsible Person Liability: Responsible persons may be
liable under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-547a for admissions and
dues tax incurred by their businesses.

D. New Owners: Do not use the previous owner’s form to file
your return. Any change in ownership requires a new
Connecticut Tax Registration Number.

E. Display of Certificate: You must conspicuously display your
certificate of registration (Admissions and Dues Tax Certificate)
at the place for which it was issued.

Line Instructions

Line 1 - Motion picture show admission charges

Enter the amount charged for admissions to motion picture shows.
The admissions tax rate on motion picture shows is 6%. Motion
picture show admission charges of not more than $5 are exempt.
Do not enter these amounts on Line 1.

Line 2 - Admissions tax on motion picture shows
Multiply the amount entered on Line 1 by the 6% (.06) tax rate.

Line 3 - Admission charges

Enter the amount charged for access to a place where amusement,
entertainment, or recreation is provided. Exclude any charges for
instruction and charges exempt from admissions tax. The
following are exempt from admissions tax:

a. Any admission charge of less than one dollar;

b. Daily admission charges to participate in an athletic or sporting
activity;

c. Admission charges to any event where all proceeds benefit
an entity exempt from federal income tax under the Internal
Revenue Code, provided the entity assumes the financial risk
associated with presentation of the event. The exemption
does not apply to admission charges to the stadium facility at
Rentschler Field,;

d. Admission charges to any event that in the Commissioner’s
opinion is held to raise funds for an entity exempt from federal
income tax under the Internal Revenue Code, provided the net
profit benefiting that entity exceeds the admissions tax that
would have been charged. The exemption does not apply to
admission charges to the stadium facility at Rentschler Field;

e. Admission charges to any event at the:

e Hartford Civic Center
e Thompson Speedway
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j.  Admission

e Waterford Speedbowl

¢ New Britain Beehive Stadium

¢ New Britain Stadium

¢ New Britain Veterans Memorial Stadium

« Facilities owned or operated by the Tennis Foundation of
Connecticut or any successor organization

e Bridgeport Harbor Yard Stadium

e Arena at Harbor Yard

« Stafford Motor Speedway

¢ William A. O’'Neill Convocation Center

e Lime Rock Park

e Connecticut Exposition Center

e Nature's Art

e Dodd Stadium

e Connecticut Convention Center (effective July 1, 2007)

f.  Admission charges to the home games of the:

¢ New Britain Rock Cats

g. Admission charges paid by centers of service for elderly
persons described in Conn. Gen. Stat. §17b-425(d). The
exemption does not apply to admission charges to the stadium
facility at Rentschler Field;

h. Admission charges to productions featuring live performances
by actors and musicians at Gateway’'s Candlewood
Playhouse, Ocean Beach Park or any nonprofit theater in
Connecticut exempt from federal tax under I.R.C. 8501;

i.  Admission charges to any carnival or to any amusement ride.
See Special Notice 2007(8), 2007 Legislative Changes
Affecting Sales and Use Taxes, Machinery Rental Surcharge,
and Admissions Tax; and

charges, including cover charges, to
establishments where the admission charge was previously
subject to the cabaret tax.

Line 5-Club dues and initiation fees

Enter the total amount paid as dues or initiation fees to any social,

athletic, or sporting club excluding charges for instruction, certain

special assessments, and exemptions from dues tax. The
following are exempt from dues tax:

a. A club where the annual dues and any initiation fee of a fully
privileged member are each $100 or less;

b. A club sponsored and controlled by a charitable or religious
organization, governmental agency, or nonprofit educational
institution;

c. Any society, order, or association operating under the lodge
system or any local fraternal organization among students of
a college or university;

d. Lawn bowling clubs; and

e. Charges for locker rentals.

Line 6 - Dues tax

Multiply the amount entered on Line 5 by the 10% (.10) tax rate.

Line 8 - Interest

If this is a late payment or amended return, enter interest of
1% (.01) of the tax due per month or fraction of a month.

Line 9 - Penalty

If this is a late return, enter a penalty of 10% (.10) of the tax due or
$50, whichever is greater.



