Department of Revenue Services

State of Connecticut
PO Box 5031 OP-210
Hartford CT 06102-5031 Room Occupancy Tax Return

(Rev. 01/14)

For periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014, Form OP-210 must be filed A
and paid electronically. Do not send this paper return to DRS, unless you
have been granted a waiver by the Department of Revenue Services (DRS).
See Electronic Filing Waiver, on back. Y,

For Period Ending

Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Federal Employer Identification Number

For DRS Use Only

Taxpayer name

Taxpayer
Address Number and street PO box
Type
or
print.
City, town, or post office State ZIP code

» [0 Check here if this is an amended return.

Visit www.ct.gov/TSC to file your
return electronically using the
TSC or call 860-289-4829 to file
your return using Telefile.
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S ol
*Payer service cent

Complete this form in blue or black ink only.

1 | Taxable receipts from room occupancy > |1 00
2 | Amount of tax due: Multiply Line 1 by 15% (.15). » | 2 00
3 | Add Penalty » $ .00 and Interest » $ .00 =13 00
4 | Total amount due: Add Line 2 and Line 3. > | 4 00
Check all boxes that apply and provide the information requested:
O Permanently out of business: Enter last business date: | [
O New mailing address, trade name, or physical location:
Enter new mailing address:
Enter new trade name:
Enter new physical location: PO Box is not acceptable
[ First return: Enter business start date: | = |~
O Change in ownership: Enter date business was sold: /
MM DD YYYY

New owners must obtain a new Connecticut Tax Registration Number.

Enter name of new owner:

Enter address of new owner:

than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Declaration: | declare under penalty of law that | have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of
my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. | understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to the Department of
Revenue Services (DRS) is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other

Taxpayer’s Signature Title

Date

Preparer’s Signature Preparer’s Address

Date




OP 210 Instructions

General Instructions

For periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014, Form OP-210
must be filed and paid electronically.

Electronic Filing Waiver

Only taxpayers that receive a waiver from electronic filing from
DRS may file a paper version of this form. To request a waiver from
the electronic filing requirement visit www.ct.gov/drs/TSCfiling
and complete Form DRS-EWVR, Electronic Filing and Payment
Waiver Request.

Complete this return in blue or black ink only.

You must file a return even if no sales were made during the period
and no tax is due. If you did not make any sales, enter “0” on Line
1 and Line 2 and sign the return.

Make your check payable to Commissioner of Revenue Services.
Include your Connecticut Tax Registration Number on your check.
DRS may submit your check to your bank electronically.

Mail to: Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 5031
Hartford CT 06102-5031

Rounding: You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar
on your returns and schedules. Round down to the next lowest
dollar all amounts that include 1 through 49 cents. Round up to the
next highest dollar all amounts that include 50 through 99 cents.
However, if you need to add two or more amounts to compute the
amount to enter on a line, include cents and round off only the total.
If you do not round, DRS will disregard the cents.

Example: Add two amounts ($1.29 + $3.21) to compute the total
($4.50) to enter on a line. $4.50 is rounded to $5.00 and entered
on the line.

Due Date: The due date of the return is one month after the end of
the period indicated on the return.

New Owners: Do not use the previous owner’s form to file your
return. Any change in ownership requires a new Connecticut Tax
Registration Number.

Signature: You must sign the return.

Line Instructions
Fill in all relevant lines, including Totals. Missing lines may
delay the processing of your return.
Linel

Enter total taxable receipts received from room occupancy as
defined in Conn. Gen. Stat.§12-407(a)(19). Room occupancy tax
applies to the first 30 consecutive days of occupancy regardless of
the ultimate length of occupancy.

Taxable receipts do not include room occupancy charges that are
exempt from room occupancy.

OP-210 (Rev. 01/14)

Examples of exemptions are:

e Amounts exempted from tax when a guest issues CERT-112,
Exempt Purchases of Meals or Lodging by Exempt Entities,
approved by DRS;

» Separately-stated charges for use of recreational facilities such
as golf courses or spas; and

« Gross receipts from rooms rented for more than 30 days.

Line 3

Penalty for failure to pay tax when due: 15% of the tax due or
$50, whichever is greater.

Penalties for late electronic funds transfer (EFT) payments are:
e 2% of the tax due for EFT payments not more than 5 days late;

e 5% for EFT payments more than 5 days but not more than 15
days late; and

e 10% for EFT payments more than 15 days late.

Interest: If this is a late or amended return, interest is computed
at the rate of 1% per month or fraction of a month from the due
date until the date of payment. Interest is based on the amount that
should have been remitted on time.

Additional Information

Call DRS during business hours, Monday through Friday, at
1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford
calling area only) or 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

Forms and Publications

Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print
Connecticut tax forms and publications.



