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Instructions: Complete this worksheet with information regarding your purchase of the vessel referenced in our letter. 

Part 1: Ownership History 
Owner's name as shown on letter: Owner's name (if different from letter): 

Owner’s current address: Owner’s Social Security No. (SSN) or Federal Employer ID No. (FEIN):

Vessel (year, make, and model): Hull ID number: Owner’s daytime telephone number 

Purchased from (name and address): Date of purchase: 

 

Purchase price: 
$ 

Location of vessel at time of purchase: 

Did you pay sales or use tax on the purchase of this vessel?  Yes No 

If Yes, to whom? (Enter name and address.) ________________________________________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Amount of tax paid (Enclose copy of cancelled check.) $____________________________________________ 
 
Part 2: Claiming a Connecticut Use Tax Exemption 
If you believe this purchase is exempt from Connecticut sales or use tax, please explain. (Attach copies of supporting documentation.)  

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Part 3: Connecticut Use Tax Due Computation (Complete Lines 1 through 8.) 

1.  Purchase price: Enclose purchase invoice or cancelled check(s) as evidence of payment. If payment was 
not made by check(s), enclose copy of bank statement(s) showing the withdrawal(s). $ 

2. Tax rate: 6% (.06) if purchased on or before June 30, 2011 

                6.35% (.0635) if purchased on or after July 1, 2011 

                7% (.07) if purchased between July 1, 2011 and June 30, 2013, and purchase price (before 
                 trade-in) is more than $100,000  

3. Tax: Multiply Line 1 by Line 2. $ 

4. Tax credit: (Only if this vessel was purchased outside Connecticut, and sales or use tax was paid to another state.) 
Enter state to which tax was paid:_______________ 

$ 

5. Tax amount due: Subtract Line 4 from Line 3.  If less than zero, enter “0.” $ 

6. Interest: (See instructions on back.) $ 

7. Penalty: Multiply Line 5 by 15% (.15) or enter $50, whichever is greater. $ 

8. Total amount due: Add Lines 5, 6, and 7. Make check payable to: Commissioner of Revenue Services $ 

Mail to: Department of Revenue Services 
 State of Connecticut 
 25 Sigourney St Ste 2 
 Hartford CT 06106-5032 
 Attn: Public Services Unit 

Part 4: Declaration 
Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to the Department of 
Revenue Services (DRS) is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other 
than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge. 
 
Signature_______________________________________________________________ Title___________________________________________ Date _________________ 



Instructions 
Interest 
Multiply the tax amount due (Line 5) by 1% (.01) per month for every month or partial month from the due date to the date of payment. 

Due Date 
For an individual purchaser, the individual use tax is due on or before April 15 of the year following the calendar year in which the vessel 
was either purchased or first used in Connecticut. 

For a business registered in Connecticut for business use tax, the business use tax is due on or before the last day of the month 
following the period ending date during which the property was either purchased or first used in Connecticut.  

For a business not previously registered in Connecticut for business use tax, the business use tax is due on or before January 31 of the 
year following the calendar year in which the property was either purchased or first used in Connecticut.  

Computing the Total Amount Due 
Examples: 
A. On June 12, 2013, an individual buys a vessel in Rhode Island for $500,000. Sales tax is not paid to any state on the purchase of 

this vessel. The vessel is transported to Connecticut on August 1, 2013. The tax due date for this purchase is April 15, 2014. 
(August 1, 2013, is the first use in Connecticut. For an individual the next use tax due date is April 15, 2014.) If the individual remits 
payment on July 1, 2014, the total amount due is computed as follows: 

1 Purchase price:  $500,000.00  

2 Tax rate: 6.35% (.0635) .0635  

3 Use tax due: ($500,000 x .0635) $31,750.00  

4 Tax credit: $0.00  

5 Tax due: Subtract Line 4 from Line 3. $31,750.00  

6a 
Interest rate: 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a 
month 

.03 
4/15/14 to 7/1/14 = 3 months 
.01 x 3 months = .03 

6b Interest due: Multiply Line 5 by Line 6a.  $952.50 $31,750 x .03 

7 Penalty: 15% (.15) $4,762.50 .15 x $31,750 = $4,762.50 

8 Total amount due:  $37,465.00 Add Lines 5, 6b, and 7. 
 
B. A Connecticut registered business buys a vessel in Florida for $99,000. Sales tax was not paid to any state on the purchase of this 

vessel. The vessel was transported to Connecticut on July 1, 2011. This business files quarterly Connecticut sales and use tax 
returns. The tax due date for this purchase was October 31, 2011. (July 1, 2011, was the first use in Connecticut. The next 
quarterly return after the vessel arrives in Connecticut was due October 31, 2011.) If the business remitted payment on June 28, 
2012, the total amount due was computed as follows: 

1 Purchase price:  $99,000.00  

2 Tax rate: 6.35% (.0635) .0635  

3 Use tax due: ($99,000 x .0635) $6,286.50  

4 Tax credit: $0.00  

5 Tax due:  Subtract Line 4 from Line 3. $6,286.50  

6a 
Interest rate: 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a 
month 

.08 
10/31/11 to 6/28/12 = 8 months 
.01 x 8 months = .08 

6b Interest due: Multiply Line 5 by Line 6a.  $502.92 $6,286.50 x .08 

7 Penalty: 15% (.15) $942.98 .15 x $6,286.50 = $942.98 

8 Total amount due  $7,732.40 Add Lines 5, 6b, and 7. 
 
C. An unregistered business buys a vessel in Finland for $1,000,000. Sales tax was not paid to any state on the purchase of this 

vessel. The vessel was first used in Connecticut on July 4, 2011. The tax due date for this purchase was January 31, 2012. 
(July 4, 2011, was the first use in Connecticut. For an unregistered business the next use tax due date was January 31, 2012.) If 
the business remitted payment on October 14, 2012, the total amount due was computed as follows:  

1 Purchase price:  $1,000,000.00  

2 Tax rate: 7% (.07) .07  

3 Use tax due: ($1,000,000 x .07) $70,000.00  

4 Tax credit: $0.00  

5 Tax due: Subtract Line 4 from Line 3. $70,000.00  

6a 
Interest rate: 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a 
month 

.09 
1/31/12 to 10/14/12 = 9 months 
.01 x 9 months = .09 

6b Interest due: Multiply Line 5 by Line 6a.  $6,300.00 $70,000 x .09 

7 Penalty: 15% (.15) $10,500.00 .15 x $70,000 = $10,500 

8 Total amount due  $86,800.00 Add Lines 5, 6b, and 7. 
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