
Legal name of retailer 
 
D/B/A Telephone number
 (       )

Street address City State ZIP code  

Qualifying materialmen may postpone remitting the sales tax until they receive payment (pay-when-paid) on qualifying sales. A qualifying sale 
is a sale of building materials or taxable services related to the materials sold to a contractor as defi ned in Informational Publication 2003(12), 
Pay-When-Paid Method for Materialmen, for the improvement of real property provided the sale is made on credit granted by the materialman. 
However, in all cases the tax must be remitted within one year of the date of sale. For more information and for special recordkeeping 
requirements, see IP 2003(12) or call Taxpayer Services at 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only)  
or 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries 24 hours a day by 
calling 860-297-4911.

To qualify, a materialman must meet all three of the eligibility requirements listed below and must submit this application to the Department of 
Revenue Services (DRS) at the address above by July 1, 2009. The deadline to submit this application is July 1 of each year. If the application 
is approved, DRS issues a permit with reporting instructions for the sales tax collected under the pay-when-paid method.

Eligibility Requirements

This application will not be processed unless you initial that you meet all three of the eligibility requirements.
I certify that, in any two of the last four calendar quarters, the retailer named above was: Please initial

1. A materialman as the term is used in Chapter 847 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  In general, a materialman 
is a person who furnishes building materials or services to a contractor for the improvement of real property;

2. Primarily engaged (more than 50% of sales) in selling building materials to contractors for the improvement of 
real property; and

3. Authorized under Chapter 847 of the Connecticut General Statutes to fi le a mechanic’s lien on the real property 
or improvement to real property in which building materials or taxable services have been incorporated.

Declaration:  I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this application and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, 
complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false application to DRS is a fi ne of not more than $5,000, or 
imprisonment for not more than fi ve years, or both.

 Print name and title of owner, partner, LLC member, or authorized offi cer

 Signature Date

Form REG-20
Application for a Materialman to Remit Sales

Tax Under the Pay-When-Paid Method

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 2937
Hartford CT 06104-2937
(Rev. 04/09)

2009 - 2010 Materialman Permits are valid from date issued until June 30, 2010.
Complete this application in blue or black ink only.

Please correct
name and 
address
if shown

incorrectly
at right.

Social Security Number (Individual)

Federal Employer ID Number (Other)

Connecticut Tax Registration Number 
(Required if new application)

Check one:

� New

� Renewal

— — —   — —   — — —

 Connecticut Tax Registration Number
DRS Use Only

Approved Denied TPS # 


