Department of Revenue Services O P_383

State of Connecticut

PO Box 5030 Rental Surcharge Annual Report
Hartford CT 06102-5030

Rev. 11/08

General Instructions

1. This report must be postmarked on or before February 15, 2009, even if no surcharge is due
or if no rentals were made.

2. If surcharge is due, make check payable to: Commissioner of Revenue Services. The
Department of Revenue Services (DRS) may submit your check to your bank electronically.

3. Be sure to include your Connecticut Tax Registration Number on your check.

. You must attach Schedule A to your report.

5. Complete this return in blue or black ink only.

—

N

All copies of Schedule A must be attached.

Period ending

Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Federal Employer Identification Number

Due date

Department use only

Check here if:
(3 This is an amended return.

(J You are no longer liable for this surcharge.
Enter last date of liability:

(J You have a new address, trade name, or
physical location.

Enter new mailing address:

Enter new trade name:

Enter new physical location; not PO Box.

1. Total amount received from rentals subject to 3% surcharge from Schedule A, Line 1 >| 1 00
2. Total amount received from rentals subject to 1.5% surcharge from Schedule A, Line 2 > 2 00
3. Total surcharge actually collected from rentals from Schedule A, Line 3 > 3 00
4. Personal property tax actually paid to Connecticut municipalities from Schedule A, Line4  »| 4 00
5. Licensing, titling, and registration fees actually paid to Connecticut Department of
Motor Vehicles from Schedule A, Line 5 > 5 00
6. Add Line 4 and Line 5. > 6 00
7. Subtract Line 6 from Line 3. If zero or less, enter “0.” > 7 00
8. Penalty: See instructions. > 8 00
9. Interest: See instructions. > 9 00
10. Total amount due: Add Lines 7, 8, and 9. » | 10. 00

Declaration: | declare under penalty of law that | have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to
the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. | understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document
to DRS is a fine of not more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than

the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Taxpayer’s signature Title

Date

Paid preparer’s signature Paid preparer’s address

Date




Rental Surcharge
Schedule A
Computation of Net Amount of Surcharge Due for Each Private Passenger Motor Vehicle, Rental Truck, or Machinery Rented
During Calendar Year 2008.

Each rental company (other than a person, firm, or corporation licensed or required to be licensed under Conn. Gen. Stat. §14-52 as a new car dealer, used
car dealer, repairer, or limited repairer) must complete this schedule to report each private passenger motor vehicle, rental truck, or piece of machinery
rented in Connecticut to a lessee during calendar year 2008. The rental surcharge is imposed on each private passenger motor vehicle, rental truck, or
piece of machinery rented in Connecticut to a lessee by a rental company for a period of less than 31 days. See the Schedule A Instructions on Page 3
before you complete this schedule. Make additional copies of this schedule as needed.

Mail all copies of this schedule to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) with Form OP-383, Rental Surcharge Annual Report.

A B C D E F G
Vehicle Identification Number Town Code Amount received | Amount received Surcharge Personal Licensing, titling,
If the piece of machinery has no for Connecticut during 2008 from during 2008 actually property taxes and registration
vehicle identification number, town to which rentals of trucks from rentals of collected actually paid to fees paid to the
enter a brief description personal property and passenger | machinery subject| during 2008 on a Connecticut | Connecticut DMV
of the machinery. taxes were paid motor vehicles to 1.5% (.015) rentals subject town during during 2008,
during 2008 subject to 3% surcharge to surcharge 2008 if applicable
See Page 4. (.03) surcharge

1. Total of Column C: Enter on Form OP-383, Line 1.

2. Total of Column D: Enter on Form OP-383, Line 2. %

3. Total of Column E: Enter on Form OP-383, Line 3.

4. Total of Column F: Enter on Form OP-383, Line 4.

5. Total of Column G: Enter on Form OP-383, Line 5.
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Form OP-383 Instructions

Conn. Gen. Stat. 812-692 applies the rental surcharge to the
rental of any private passenger motor vehicle and any rental
truck at the rate of 3% for the term of 30 consecutive calendar days
or less. See Policy Statement 2002(5), The Motor Vehicle Rental
Surcharge and the Tourism Account Surcharge.

Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-692 also applies the rental surcharge to
the daily rental of machinery at the rate of 1%2% for a term of 30
consecutive calendar days or less. For the purpose of the rental
surcharge on a daily rental of machinery, the period for the term of a
machinery rental begins on the date a piece of machinery is rented
to a lessee and terminates on the date the piece of machinery is
returned to the rental company. Therefore, if a rental of a piece of
machinery is renewed before the machinery is returned to the rental
company, the term of the renewal is added to the term of the initial
rental to determine the rental period. If the initial rental of a piece of
machinery is for a term of 30 consecutive calendar days or less, and
after adding the renewal term to the initial term, the rental period is
more than 30 consecutive calendar days, the rental is not subject
to the rental surcharge.

Machinery means heavy equipment that may be used for
constructions, mining, or forestry including but not limited to
bulldozers, earthmoving equipment, well-drilling machinery and
equipment, or cranes. See Policy Statement 2007(3), Rental
Surcharge — Daily Rental of Machinery.

Filing Instructions

Send Form OP-383, Rental Surcharge Annual Report, and Schedule A
to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) on or before
February 15, 2009. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or
legal holiday, the next business day is the due date. Complete the
return in blue or black ink only.

Complete Schedule A first and enter the information as instructed
on the appropriate lines of Form OP-383.

Mail to: Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 5030

Hartford CT 06102-5030

Keep a copy of Form OP-383, Schedule A, and supporting
documentation related to property taxes, registration, and titling fees
actually paid during calendar year 2008 for at least three years.

Rounding: You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on
your returns and schedules. If you do not round, DRS will disregard
the cents

Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include
1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts
that include 50 through 99 cents. However, if you need to add two
or more amounts to compute the amount to enter on a line, include
cents and round off only the total.

Example: Add two amounts ($1.29 + $3.21) to compute the total
($4.50) to enter on a line. $4.50 is rounded to $5.00 and entered
on the line.

Interest: In general, interest applies to any portion of the surcharge
not paid on or before the original due date of the return. If you do not
pay the surcharge when due, you will owe interest at the rate of 1%
per month or fraction of a month until the surcharge is paid in full.

Late Payment Penalty: The penalty for underpayment of surcharge
is 15% of the surcharge not paid on or before the original due date
or $50, whichever is greater.
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Schedule A Instructions

For each private passenger motor vehicle and rental truck, enter
the appropriate information in Columns A, B, C, E, F, and G. For
each piece of machinery, enter the appropriate information in
Columns A, B, D, E, F, and G.

Column A: Enter the vehicle identification number of each private
passenger motor vehicle, rental truck, or piece of
machinery, if applicable, you used for rental purposes
during calendar year 2008. If the piece of machinery
has no vehicle identification number, enter a brief
description of the machinery such as bulldozer,
crane, etc.

Column B: Enter the town code from Page 4 for the Connecticut
municipality to which personal property taxes were paid
during calendar year 2008 on the private passenger
motor vehicle, rental truck, or piece of machinery.

Column C: Enter the amount subject to the 3% rental surcharge
you received from rental of the private passenger motor
vehicle or rental truck during calendar year 2008. Enter
the total of Column C on Form OP-383, Line 1.

Column D: Enter the amount subject to the 1.5% rental surcharge
you received from rental of pieces of machinery during
calendar year 2008. Enter the total of Column D on
Form OP-383, Line 2. Column D should not include
the rental surcharge collected on the initial machinery
rental and refunded to the lessee because the rental
period was more than 30 consecutive calendar days
after the machinery rental was renewed.

Column E: Enter the rental surcharge you actually collected on
rentals of the private passenger motor vehicle, rental
truck, or piece of machinery during calendar year 2008.
This amount should equal 3% of the amount entered in
Column C or 1.5% of the amount entered in Column D.

Enter the total of Column E on Form OP-383, Line 3.

Column F: If you own the private passenger motor vehicle, rental
truck, or piece of machinery, enter the personal property
taxes you paid during calendar year 2008 to the
Connecticut municipality identified in Column B. If you
do not own the private passenger motor vehicle, rental
truck, or piece of machinery but lease it from another
person for rental purposes and the lease requires you
to pay those property taxes on the vehicle to that other
person, enter the personal property taxes you paid
during calendar year 2008 to that other person. Enter
the total of Column F on Form OP-383, Line 4.

Column G: If you own the private passenger motor vehicle, rental
truck, or piece of machinery, enter the registration and
titing fees you paid during calendar year 2008 to the
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, if any. If you
do not own the private passenger motor vehicle, rental
truck, or piece of machinery but lease it from another
person for rental purposes and the lease requires you
to pay those registration and titling fees on the vehicle
or machinery to that other person, enter the registration
and titling fees you paid during calendar year 2008
to that other person. Enter the total of Column G on
Form OP-383, Line 5.
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Rental Surcharge Town Code List

Find the applicable town code below and enter that town code number on Schedule A, Column B.

Mail Schedule A to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) with Form OP-383, Rental Surcharge Annual Report.
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Town Code No.| Town Name Town Code No. Town Name Town Code No. Town Name
001 Andover 058 Griswold 115 Prospect
002 Ansonia 059 Groton 116 Putnam
003 Ashford 060 Guilford 117 Redding
004 Avon 061 Haddam 118 Ridgefield
005 Barkhamsted 062 Hamden 119 Rocky Hill
006 Beacon Falls 063 Hampton 120 Roxbury
007 Berlin 064 Hartford 121 Salem
008 Bethany 065 Hartland 122 Salisbury
009 Bethel 066 Harwinton 123 Scotland
010 Bethlehem 067 Hebron 124 Seymour
011 Bloomfield 068 Kent 125 Sharon
012 Bolton 069 Killingly 126 Shelton
013 Bozrah 070 Killingworth 127 Sherman
014 Branford 071 Lebanon 128 Simsbury
015 Bridgeport 072 Ledyard 129 Somers
016 Bridgewater 073 Lisbon 130 Southbury
017 Bristol 074 Litchfield 131 Southington
018 Brookfield 075 Lyme 132 South Windsor
019 Brooklyn 076 Madison 133 Sprague
020 Burlington 077 Manchester 134 Stafford
021 Canaan 078 Mansfield 135 Stamford
022 Canterbury 079 Marlborough 136 Sterling
023 Canton 080 Meriden 137 Stonington
024 Chaplin 081 Middlebury 138 Stratford
025 Cheshire 082 Middlefield 139 Suffield
026 Chester 083 Middletown 140 Thomaston
027 Clinton 084 Milford 141 Thompson
028 Colchester 085 Monroe 142 Tolland
029 Colebrook 086 Montville 143 Torrington
030 Columbia 087 Morris 144 Trumbull
031 Cornwall 088 Naugatuck 145 Union
032 Coventry 089 New Britain 146 Vernon
033 Cromwell 090 New Canaan 147 Voluntown
034 Danbury 091 New Fairfield 148 Wallingford
035 Darien 092 New Hartford 149 Warren
036 Deep River 093 New Haven 150 Washington
037 Derby 094 Newington 151 Waterbury
038 Durham 095 New London 152 Waterford
039 Eastford 096 New Milford 153 Watertown
040 East Granby 097 Newtown 154 Westbrook
041 East Haddam 098 Norfolk 155 West Hartford
042 East Hampton 099 North Branford 156 West Haven
043 East Hartford 100 North Canaan 157 Weston
044 East Haven 101 North Haven 158 Westport
045 East Lyme 102 North Stonington 159 Wethersfield
046 Easton 103 Norwalk 160 Willington
047 East Windsor 104 Norwich 161 Wilton
048 Ellington 105 Old Lyme 162 Winchester
049 Enfield 106 Old Saybrook 163 Windham
050 Essex 107 Orange 164 Windsor
051 Fairfield 108 Oxford 165 Windsor Locks
052 Farmington 109 Plainfield 166 Wolcott
053 Franklin 110 Plainville 167 Woodbridge
054 Glastonbury 111 Plymouth 168 Woodbury
055 Goshen 112 Pomfret 169 Woodstock
056 Granby 113 Portland
057 Greenwich 114 Preston
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