
Department of Revenue Services
PO Box 5031
Hartford CT 06102-5031

(Rev. 07/07)

Form OP-161
Petroleum Products

Gross Earnings Tax Return

1 Sales - Gross earnings from the sale of all products in Connecticut 1

2 Sales - Gross earnings from the sale of all petroleum products in Connecticut 2

3 3

4 Gross earnings from first sales of petroleum products in Connecticut: Subtract Line 3 from Line 2. 4

5 Total Deductions (from Line 29 on the reverse side of this return) 5

6 Total Gross Earnings From First Sale Subject to Tax: Subtract Line 5 from Line 4. 6

7 7

8 8

9 Total Consideration Given for Purchases Subject to Tax: Subtract Line 8 from Line 7. 9

10 Total Amount Subject to Tax: Add Line 6 and Line 9. 10

11 Tax Due: Multiply Line 10 by 7% (.07). 11 .00

12 Penalty: 10% (.10) of total tax due or $50, whichever is greater 12 .00

13 Interest: 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month from due date to date of payment 13 .00

14 Total Amount Due: Add Lines 11, 12, and 13. 14 .00

Purchases: Enter the amount of consideration given for petroleum products that were
purchased outside of Connecticut for use or consumption in Connecticut. See instructions.

Of the amount reported on Line 2, enter the gross earnings from sales of petroleum products
on which the gross earnings tax has been previously paid by another distributor.

Of the amount reported on Line 7, enter the portion of consideration given for petroleum
products that are subsequently sold outside Connecticut.

�

�

�

�

�

�

�

�

�

�

�

�

�

�

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

�

�

�

�

Return for Period Ended

Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

Due on or before

Check if applicable:

�Out of Business �Amended Return

Complete the return in blue or black ink.



Deductions for Petroleum Products Gross Earnings Tax Return

  Print Taxpayer Name Telephone Number Taxpayer SSN

Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of
my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS is a fine of not
more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all
information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

  Taxpayer Signature Title Date

  Paid Preparer Signature Preparer’s Address Preparer’s SSN or PTIN
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29 Total Deductions: Enter here and on Line 5 on the front of this return. 29
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Of the amount on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from first sales to another who resells the
products outside of Connecticut as reported on Form OP-218.

Of the amount on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from first sales to another who resells the
products exclusively outside Connecticut as reported on Form OP-219.

Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from first sales of No. 2 heating oil used
exclusively in a vessel primarily engaged in interstate commerce.

Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from first sales of No. 2 heating oil
to be used exclusively for heating purposes.

Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from first sales of No. 2 heating oil
to be used in a commercial fishing vessel.

Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from first sales of kerosene delivered
by a metered truck to a residential dwelling.

Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from first sales of petroleum products
to be used as fuel for a fuel cell.

Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from first sales of propane used
exclusively for heating purposes.

Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from first sales of propane used as fuel
for a motor vehicle.

Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from first sales of paraffin or
microcrystalline waxes.

Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from first sales of bunker fuel oil,
intermediate fuel, marine diesel oil, and marine gas oil for use in any vessel having a displacement
exceeding 4,000 dead weight tons.

Of the amount entered on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from the first sale of a commercial heating
oil blend containing not less than 10% alternative fuels derived from agricultural produce, food waste,
waste vegetable oil, or municipal solid waste, including, but not limited to biodiesel or low sulfur dyed
diesel fuel.

Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from first sales of No. 6 fuel oil used
exclusively by a company in SIC code classifications 2000 to 3999 or in Sector 31, 32, or 33 of the
NAICS manual.

Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter the gross earnings from any first sale occurring on or after
July 1, 2007, of diesel fuel, other than diesel fuel to be used in an electric generating facility to
generate electricity.



Form OP-161 (Rev. 07/07)

Instructions
1. Taxpayers must file a return for each calendar quarter by the

last day of the month following the filing period shown on the
return. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal
holiday, the next business day is the due date.  A return must
be filed even if no tax is due.

2. You must keep records documenting all sales and deductions
for at least three years.

3. Department of Revenue Services (DRS) may submit your
check to your bank electronically. Make check or money
order payable to:
Commissioner of Revenue Services.

4. Mail this return and schedules with check or money order to:

Department of Revenue Services

PO Box 5031

Hartford CT 06102-5031

5. Rounding off to whole dollars: You must round off cents to the
nearest whole dollar. Round down to the next lowest dollar all
amounts that include 1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next
highest dollar all amounts that include 50 through 99 cents.  If
you do not round, DRS will disregard the cents.

General Instructions
Under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-587(b), the petroleum products gross
earnings tax applies to all companies that are engaged in the
refining or distribution, or both, of petroleum products in
Connecticut. Those companies must pay a quarterly tax at the
rate of  7%  of gross earnings in each taxable quarter derived from
the first sale of petroleum products in Connecticut.

Under Conn. Gen. Stat §12-587(c), any company other than those
subject to and having paid tax under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-587(b)
where a company imports, or causes to be imported, petroleum
products into Connecticut for sale, use, or consumption in
Connecticut, the company must pay a quarterly tax of 7% of the
consideration given or contracted to be given for the products, on
which the tax has not been imposed, where the consideration
given for those products exceeds $3,000 in any one quarter.

Definitions
Company includes any corporation, partnership, l imited
partnership, limited liability company, limited liability partnership,
association, individual, or any fiduciary of the company.

Petroleum products means those products that contain or are
made from petroleum or petroleum derivatives, except paraffin or
microcrystalline waxes. Petroleum products include acid oil,
alkylates, aromatic chemicals, asphalt and asphaltic materials,
benzene, butadiene, petroleum coke, gasoline, greases,
hydrocarbon fluids, jet fuels, kerosene, liquefied petroleum gases,
mineral jelly, mineral oils, mineral waxes, naphtha, naphthenic
acids, fuel, lubricating and illuminating oils, nonmedicinal
petrolatums, bituminous road materials, road oils, solvents, and
tar or residuum.

Gross earnings means all consideration received from the first
sale of petroleum products within Connecticut, but does not include
the amount of state or federal excise taxes on motor vehicle fuel
or diesel fuel.

Line Instructions
Line 1 Enter the gross earnings from sales of all products in

Connecticut.

Line 2 Enter the gross earnings from sales of all petroleum
products in Connecticut.

Line 3 Enter the gross earnings from sales of petroleum
products on which the gross earnings tax has been
previously paid by another distributor.

Line 4 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of petroleum
products in Connecticut. Subtract Line 3 from Line 2.

Line 5 Enter the total deductions as reported on Line 29 on
Page 2 of Form OP-161.

Line 6 Total gross earnings subject to tax. Subtract Line 5 from
Line 4.

Line 7 Enter the consideration given for petroleum products
imported into Connecticut for sale, use, or consumption,
when the consideration given for those products exceeds
$3,000 during the quarter the petroleum products were
used, sold, or consumed.

Line 8 Enter that portion of the amount listed on Line 7 that was
for petroleum products subsequently sold outside of
Connecticut.

Line 9 Enter the consideration given for purchases subject to
tax. Subtract Line 8 from Line 7.

Line 10 Total sales and purchases subject to tax. Add Line 6 and
Line 9.

Line 11 Tax Due: Multiply Line 10 by 7.0%(.07).

Line 12 Late Payment Penalty: 10% (.10) of the tax due or $50,
whichever is greater.

Late Filing Penalty: $50 (The late filing penalty is not
applicable if a late payment penalty is applicable.)

Line 13 Interest: 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month from
the due date of payment.

Line 14 Total Amount Due: Enter total of Lines 11, 12, and 13.

Deductions
Line 15 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of petroleum

products to other distributors who resell the products
outside of Connecticut (Form OP-218, Certification for
Products Purchased in Connecticut but Sold Outside of
the State). Attach Form OP-218 to document these sales
and maintain a copy for your records.

Line 16 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of petroleum
products to other distributors who resell the products
exclusively outside of Connecticut (Form OP-219, Gross
Earnings - Out-of-State Affidavit with Reference to the
Sales of Petroleum Products Sold Exclusively for Sale or
Use in Another State). Attach Form OP-219 to document
these sales and maintain a copy for your records.

DRS requires that you obtain CERT-116, Exempt Petroleum
Products Certificate, from your customers in order to document
exempt sales as reported on Lines 17 through 27. For more
information, see Policy Statement 2001(10), Exemptions From
Petroleum Products Gross Earnings Tax and Reduced Threshold
for Imposition of Tax on Importers.

Line 17 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of
Number 6 fuel oil used exclusively by a company that, in
accordance with the SIC manual, 1987 edition, is
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included in code classifications 2000 to 3999, inclusive,
or in Sector 31, 32, or 33 of the NAICS manual, 1997
edition.

Line 18 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of Number 2
heating oil used exclusively in a vessel primarily
engaged in interstate commerce that qualifies for an
exemption under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412.

Line 19 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of Number 2
heating oil used exclusively for heating purposes.

Line 20 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of Number 2
heating oil used in a commercial fishing vessel by a
person who has been issued Fisherman Tax Exemption
Permit by DRS and who is purchasing this fuel on or
after the date the permit was issued, but on or before the
date the permit expires.

Line 21 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of kerosene
(commonly known as Number 1 oil) used exclusively for
heating purposes, provided the delivery is of both
Number 1 and Number 2 oil and the delivery was made
by a truck with a metered delivery ticket to a residential
dwelling or a centrally metered system serving a group
of residential dwellings.

Line 22 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of petroleum
products to be used as fuel for a fuel cell as defined in
Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(113).

Line 23 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of propane
used exclusively for heating purposes.

Line 24 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of propane
used as fuel for a motor vehicle.

Line 25 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of paraffin or
microcrystalline waxes.
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Line 26 Enter the gross earnings from first sales of bunker fuel
oil, intermediate fuel, marine diesel oil, and marine gas
oil for use in any vessel having a displacement exceeding
4,000 dead weight tons.

Line 27 Enter the gross earnings from the first sale of a
commercial heating oil blend containing not less than
10% alternative fuels derived from agricultural produce,
food waste, waste vegetable oil, or municipal solid waste,
including, but not limited to biodiesel or low sulfur dyed
diesel fuel. Commercial heating oil includes Number 2
heating oil, Number 4 fuel oil, Number 6 fuel oil, low
sulfur dyed diesel fuel and kerosene. Such blended
products must be used for commercial heating.

Line 28 Enter the gross earnings from the first sale occurring on
or after July 1, 2007, of diesel fuel, other than diesel fuel
to be used in an electric generating facility to generate
electricity.

Line 29 Total deductions. Add Lines 15 through 27.

For Further Information
If you need additional information or assistance, please call the
Excise Taxes Unit at 860-541-3224, Monday through Friday,
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Forms and publications are available anytime by:

• Internet: Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS to
download and print Connecticut tax forms; or

• Telephone: Call 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the
Greater Hartford calling area only) and select Option 2 from a
touch-tone phone, or call 860-297-4753 (from anywhere)

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries
anytime by calling 860-297-4911.


