
OP-383
Rental Surcharge Annual Report

Department of Revenue Services
PO Box 5030
Hartford CT 06102-5030
Rev. 12/06

General Instructions
1. This report must be postmarked on or before February 15, 2007,

even if no surcharge is due or if no rentals were made.
2. If surcharge is due, make check payable to: Commissioner of Revenue Services.

DRS may submit your check to your bank electronically.
3. Be sure to include your Connecticut tax registration number on your check.
4. You must attach Schedule A to your report.
5. Complete this return in blue or black ink only.

All copies of Schedule A must be attached.

 Check here if this is an amended return.

 If you are no longer liable for this surcharge,
enter last date of liability:

 New address or trade name:
Enter new mailing address:

Enter new trade name:

Enter new physical location (Not PO box):

Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements)
and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct.  I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return
or document to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) is a fine of not more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than five
years, or both.  The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any
knowledge.

Taxpayer’s Signature Title Date

Paid Preparer’s Signature Paid Preparer’s Address Date

For Period Ending

Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Federal Employer Identification Number

Due Date

For Department Use Only

1. Total amount received from rentals subject to 3% surcharge (Schedule A, Line 1) 1. 00

2. Total amount received from rentals subject to 1.5% surcharge (Schedule A, Line 2) 2. 00

3. Total surcharge actually collected from rentals (Schedule A, Line 3) 3. 00

4. Personal property tax actually paid to Connecticut municipalities (Schedule A, Line 4) 4. 00

5. Licensing, titling, and registration fees actually paid to Connecticut Department of
Motor Vehicles (Schedule A, Line 5) 5. 00

6. Add Line 4 and Line 5. 6. 00

7. Subtract Line 6 from Line 3. (Do not enter an amount less than zero.) 7. 00

8. Penalty (See instructions.) 8. 00

9. Interest (See instructions.) 9. 00

10.Total amount due (Add Lines 7, 8, and 9.) 10. 00
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1. Total of Column C: Enter on Form OP-383, Line 1.

2. Total of Column D: Enter on Form OP-383, Line 2.

3. Total of Column E: Enter on Form OP-383, Line 3.

4. Total of Column F: Enter on Form OP-383, Line 4.

5. Total of Column G: Enter on Form OP-383, Line 5.
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Rental Surcharge
Schedule A

Computation of Net Amount of Surcharge Due for Each Private Passenger Vehicle, Rental Truck, or Machinery Rented During Calendar
Year 2006.

Each rental company (other than a person, firm, or corporation licensed or required to be licensed under Conn. Gen. Stat. §14-52 as a new car dealer, used
car dealer, repairer, or limited repairer) must complete this schedule to report each private passenger motor vehicle, rental truck, or piece of machinery rented
in Connecticut to a lessee during calendar year 2006.  The rental surcharge is imposed on each private passenger motor vehicle, rental truck, or piece of
machinery rented in Connecticut to a lessee by a rental company for a period of less than 31 days.  See the Schedule A Instructions on Page 3 before you
complete this schedule.

Make additional copies of this schedule as needed.  Mail all copies of this schedule to DRS with Form OP-383, Rental Surcharge Annual Report.
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Vehicle Identification Number
If the piece of machinery has no
vehicle identification number,

enter a brief description
 of the machinery.

A B C D E F G
Town Code

(see Page 4) for
Connecticut town
to which personal

property taxes
were paid during

2006

Amount received
during 2006 from
rentals of trucks
and passenger
motor vehicles
subject to 3%

(.03) surcharge

Surcharge
actually

collected
during 2006 on
rentals subject
to surcharge

Personal
property taxes
actually paid

to a
Connecticut
town during

2006

Licensing, titling,
and registration
fees paid to the

Connecticut DMV
during 2006,
if applicable

Amount received
during 2006 from

rentals of
machinery

subject to 1.5%
(.015) surcharge
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Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-692 applies the rental surcharge to the
rental of any rental truck and the rental of machinery.
Machinery means heavy equipment that may be used for
construction, mining, or forestry including, but not limited to
bulldozers, earthmoving equipment, well-drilling machinery and
equipment, or cranes. See Special Notice 2005(11), Rental
Surcharge – Daily Rental of Machinery, and Policy Statement
2002(5), The Motor Vehicle Rental Surcharge and the Tourism
Account Surcharge, for more information.

Filing Instructions

Send Form OP-383, Rental Surcharge Annual Report, and
Schedule A to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) on or
before February 15, 2007.

Complete Schedule A first and enter the information as instructed
on the appropriate lines of Form OP-383.

Keep a copy of Form OP-383, Schedule A, and supporting
documentation related to property taxes, registration, and titling
fees actually paid during calendar year 2006 for at least three
years.

Rounding: You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar
on your returns and schedules.  Round down to the next lowest
dollar all amounts that include 1 through 49 cents.  Round up to
the next highest dollar all amounts that include 50 through 99
cents. However, if you need to add two or more amounts to
compute the amount to enter on a line, include cents and round
off only the total. If you do not round, DRS will disregard the
cents.

Example: Add two amounts ($1.29 and $3.21) to compute the
total ($4.50) to enter on a line.  $4.50 is rounded to $5.00 and
entered on the line.

Penalty and Interest: In general, penalty and interest apply to
any portion of the tax not paid on or before the original due date
of the return.  Interest is computed on the underpayment of tax
at the rate of 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month computed
from the statutory due date to the date of payment.

Late Payment Penalty: If tax is due, the penalty for
underpayment of tax is 15% (.15) of the amount due or $50,
whichever is greater.

Schedule A Instructions

Column A: Enter the vehicle identification number of each
private passenger vehicle, rental truck, or piece of
machinery, if applicable, you used for rental
purposes during calendar year 2006. If the piece
of machinery has no vehicle identification number,
enter a brief description of the machinery (such as
bulldozer, crane, etc.). For each vehicle, enter the
appropriate information in Columns B, C or D, E,
F, and G.
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Column B: Enter the town code (from Page 4) for the
Connecticut municipality to which personal
property taxes were paid during calendar year 2006
on the private passenger vehicle, rental truck, or
piece of machinery.

Column C: Enter the amount subject to the 3% rental
surcharge you received from rental of the private
passenger vehicle or rental truck during calendar
year 2006. Enter the total of Column C on Form
OP-383, Line 1.

Column D: Enter the amount subject to the 1.5% rental
surcharge you received from rental of pieces of
machinery during calendar year 2006. Enter the
total of Column C on Form OP-383, Line 2.

Column E: Enter the rental surcharge you actually collected
on rentals of the private passenger vehicle, rental
truck, or piece of machinery during calendar year
2006. This amount should equal 3% (.03) of the
amount entered in Column C or 1.5% (.015) of the
amount entered in Column D. Enter the total of
Column E on Form OP-383, Line 3.

Column F: If you own the private passenger vehicle, rental
truck, or piece of machinery, enter the personal
property taxes you paid during calendar year 2006
to the Connecticut municipality identified in
Column B.  If you do not own the private passenger
vehicle, rental truck, or piece of machinery but lease
it from another person for rental purposes, and the
lease requires you to pay those property taxes on
the vehicle to that other person, enter the personal
property taxes you paid during calendar year 2006
to that other person. Enter the total of Column F
on Form OP-383, Line 4.

Column G: If you own the private passenger vehicle, rental
truck, or piece of machinery, enter the registration
and titling fees you paid during calendar year 2006
to the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles,
if any. If you do not own the private passenger
vehicle, rental truck, or piece of machinery but lease
it from another person for rental purposes, and the
lease requires you to pay those registration and
titling fees on the vehicle or machinery to that other
person, enter the registration and titling fees you
paid during calendar year 2006 to that other person.
Enter the total of Column G on Form OP-383,
Line 5.

Form OP-383 Instructions



Rental Surcharge
Town Code List

Find the applicable town code below and enter that town code number on Schedule A, Column B.  Mail Schedule A to
DRS with Form OP-383, Rental Surcharge Annual Report.

  Town Code No.              Town Name                                                  Town Code No.                                   Town Name                    Town Code No.                                   Town Name
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1 Andover
2 Ansonia
3 Ashford
4 Avon
5 Barkhamsted
6 Beacon Falls
7 Berlin
8 Bethany
9 Bethel

10 Bethlehem
11 Bloomfield
12 Bolton
13 Bozrah
14 Branford
15 Bridgeport
16 Bridgewater
17 Bristol
18 Brookfield
19 Brooklyn
20 Burlington
21 Canaan
22 Canterbury
23 Canton
24 Chaplin
25 Cheshire
26 Chester
27 Clinton
28 Colchester
29 Colebrook
30 Columbia
31 Cornwall
32 Coventry
33 Cromwell
34 Danbury
35 Darien
36 Deep River
37 Derby
38 Durham
39 Eastford
40 East Granby
41 East Haddam
42 East Hampton
43 East Hartford
44 East Haven
45 East Lyme
46 Easton
47 East Windsor
48 Ellington
49 Enfield
50 Essex
51 Fairfield
52 Farmington
53 Franklin
54 Glastonbury
55 Goshen
56 Granby
57 Greenwich

58 Griswold
59 Groton
60 Guilford
61 Haddam
62 Hamden
63 Hampton
64 Hartford
65 Hartland
66 Harwinton
67 Hebron
68 Kent
69 Killingly
70 Killingworth
71 Lebanon
72 Ledyard
73 Lisbon
74 Litchfield
75 Lyme
76 Madison
77 Manchester
78 Mansfield
79 Marlborough
80 Meriden
81 Middlebury
82 Middlefield
83 Middletown
84 Milford
85 Monroe
86 Montville
87 Morris
88 Naugatuck
89 New Britain
90 New Canaan
91 New Fairfield
92 New Hartford
93 New Haven
94 Newington
95 New London
96 New Milford
97 Newtown
98 Norfolk
99 North Branford

100 North Canaan
101 North Haven
102 North Stonington
103 Norwalk
104 Norwich
105 Old Lyme
106 Old Saybrook
107 Orange
108 Oxford
109 Plainfield
110 Plainville
111 Plymouth
112 Pomfret
113 Portland
114 Preston

115 Prospect
116 Putnam
117 Redding
118 Ridgefield
119 Rocky Hill
120 Roxbury
121 Salem
122 Salisbury
123 Scotland
124 Seymour
125 Sharon
126 Shelton
127 Sherman
128 Simsbury
129 Somers
130 Southbury
131 Southington
132 South Windsor
133 Sprague
134 Stafford
135 Stamford
136 Sterling
137 Stonington
138 Stratford
139 Suffield
140 Thomaston
141 Thompson
142 Tolland
143 Torrington
144 Trumbull
145 Union
146 Vernon
147 Voluntown
148 Wallingford
149 Warren
150 Washington
151 Waterbury
152 Waterford
153 Watertown
154 Westbrook
155 West Hartford
156 West Haven
157 Weston
158 Westport
159 Wethersfield
160 Willington
161 Wilton
162 Winchester
163 Windham
164 Windsor
165 Windsor Locks
166 Wolcott
167 Woodbridge
168 Woodbury
169 Woodstock


