Department of Revenue Services

PO Box 2930
Hartford CT 06104-2930

(Rev. 10/05)

Form CT-8508

Request for Waiver From Filing

Informational Returns on Magnetic Media

For Department Use Only

Only the person required to file on magnetic media may file Form CT-8508. A submitter may not file Form CT-8508 for the filer,
unless he or she has a power of attorney. If you have a power of attorney attach Form LGL-001, Power of Attorney, to this request.

Refer to the instructions on the reverse before completing this form.

1. Type of submission

O original

O Reconsideration

2. Waiver request for
calendar year
(Enter one year only)

200

3. Filer name and mailing address (number and street or PO Box, city, state, ZIP)

4. Connecticut Tax Registration Number

5. Federal Employer ID Number

6. Person to contact about this request

7. Telephone Number

( )

8. Form type(s) waiver
requested for

@

Number you wish to file on paper

(b)
Number you will be filing
in total with Connecticut

(©)
Number you expect to file next
calendar year with Connecticut

W-2

W-2G

1098

1099-R

1099-S

1099-MISC

9. Have you applied for a waiver from filing on magnetic media with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) for the current calendar year?
O ves O no O Pending (If Yes, attach a copy of federal Form 8508.)

If Yes, was the waiver approved? O ves OnNo (If Yes, attach a copy of the waiver approval.)

10.Is this the first time you have requested a waiver from Connecticut magnetic media filing requirements for Forms W-2, W-2G, 1098, or
10992 Oves OONo  (if Yes, skip to Block 12.)

11. Enter two current cost estimates given to you by third parties who would prepare your files for you. $

Cost estimates for any reason other than the preparation of magnetic media will not be acceptable. $

Attach cost estimates. Failure to provide cost estimates will result in an automatic denial of your waiver request.

12. Declaration: | declare under penalty of law that | have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and,
to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. | understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false
return or document to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) is a fine of not more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not
more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which
the preparer has any knowledge.

Signature Title Date




Form CT- 8508
Instructions

Purpose of Form: Use Form CT-8508, Request for Waiver From Filing
Informational Returns on Magnetic Media, to request a waiver from
filing informational returns on magnetic media for the current calendar
year. Complete a separate Form CT-8508 for each Connecticut Tax
Registration Number. You may use one Form CT-8508 for multiple
form types.

A filer who is required by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to file
copies of federal Forms W-2, W-2G, 1098, 1099-R, 1099-S, or
1099-MISC on magnetic media must file these forms on magnetic
media with the Department of Revenue Services (DRS). However, a
filer who files 24 or fewer Forms W-2, W-2G, 1098, or 1099 with DRS
is excused from filing on magnetic media for that particular type of
informational return without obtaining a waiver.

When to File: File Form CT-8508 at least 45 days before the last day
of February.

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the next
business day is the due date.

Whereto File:  Department of Revenue Services
PO Box 2930

Hartford CT 06104-2930

Approval or Denial of Request: DRS will only notify you if your request
is denied.

Specific Instructions

Block 1: Check the appropriate box. An original submission is
your first request for a waiver for the current calendar year.
A reconsideration indicates that you are submitting
additional information you believe may persuade DRS to
approve a previously denied request.

Block 2: Enter the calendar year for which you are requesting a
waiver. Only current calendar year waiver requests can be
processed. If this block is not completed, DRS will
assume the request is for the current calendar year.

Block 3: Enter the name and complete address of the filer.

Block 4:  Enter the Connecticut Tax Registration Number of the filer.

Block 5: Enter the nine-digit Federal Employer Identification
Number of the filer.

Block 6: Enter the name of someone to contact if additional
information is needed by DRS.

Block 7:  Enter the telephone number of the contact person.

Block 8a: Enter (by form type) an estimate of the number of

informational returns for which you are requesting a waiver.
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Block 8b: Enter (by form type) the total number of informational
returns you plan to file with Connecticut (magnetic media
and paper).

Block 8c: Enter (by form type) an estimate of the total number of
informational returns you plan to file with Connecticut for

the following calendar year.

Block 9: Check the appropriate box. If a waiver was requested for
the current calendar year with the IRS, attach a copy of
federal Form 8508, Request for Waiver From Filing
Information Returns Electronically/Magnetically. If a federal
waiver was requested for the current calendar year, indicate
whether or not it was approved by the IRS. If the waiver

was approved, attach a copy of the approval.

Block 10: If this is the first time you have requested a waiver for any
calendar year, check Yes and skip to Block 12. If you have
requested a waiver in the past, check No and complete

Block 11.

Enter the cost estimates from two service bureaus or other
third parties who will prepare your files for you. The cost
estimates must reflect the total amount each service
bureau will charge to produce your magnetic media file. If
you do not provide two written cost estimates from service
bureaus or other third parties, DRS will automatically deny
your request. Prior years’ cost estimates will not be
accepted.

Block 11:

Block 12: The waiver request must be signed by the filer or a person

duly authorized to sign a return or other document.

For Further Information: Call DRS during business hours, Monday
through Friday:

® 1-800-382-9463 (in-state), or
® 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries 24
hours a day by calling 860-297-4911.

Forms and Publications: Forms and publications are available
anytime by:

® |Internet: Preview and download forms and publications from the
DRS Web site at www.ct.gov/DRS

® DRS TAX-FAX: Call 860-297-5698 from the handset attached to

your fax machine and select from the menu. Only forms (not
publications) are available on TAX-FAX.

® Telephone: Call 1-860-297-4753 (from anywhere) or

1-800-382-9463 (in-state) and select Option 2 from a touch-tone
phone.



