STATE OF CONNECTICUT FORM 472

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES
PO Box 5031 ATTORNEY OCCUPATIONAL TAX RETURN >2000

Hartford CT
(Rev. 11/00)

06102-5031
INSTRUCTIONS

1. DUE DATE: This return must be filed annually on or before January 15 by all attorneys listed on the roll of attorneys
maintained by the Superior Court at any time during calendar year 2000.
2. Please enter your Social Security Number and Juris Number in the spaces provided.

(See reverse for additional instructions)

Connecticut Tax Registration Number
>
IF ADDRESS BELOW IS NOT CORRECT, PLEASE MAKE Social Security Number
NECESSARY CHANGES >
Juris Number
B -

A | Are you self-employed? O vEs (J NO If “no,” indicate the name of your employer.
A person admitted as an attorney by the judges of the Superior Court and engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut during the calendar
year for which this return is filed is subject to the occupational tax. A person employed as an attorney by an employer that is not a
law firm is considered to be engaged in the practice of law.
B | Do you claim exemption from the occupational tax for the calendar year for which this return is filed? » (] YES »(J no
If “Yes,” proceed to item C and check the appropriate box.
If “No,” proceed to item D and make check or money order payable to: Commissioner of Revenue Services.
| claim exemption from the occupational tax for the calendar year for which this return is filed because: (Check One)
> My name was removed from the roll of attorneys maintained by the clerk of the Superior Court for the Judicial District of Hartford during the
calendar year for which this return is filed.
> | engaged in the practice of law, but not as an occupation, and | received less than $450 in compensation from engaging in the practice of law
during the calendar year for which this return is filed.
> I was a judge, senior judge or referee during the calendar year for which this return is filed. (Probate judges who otherwise engage in the
practice of law cannot claim this exemption.)
> | was a Connecticut state employee employed as an attorney and | did not otherwise engage in the practice of law during the calendar year
C for which this return is filed.
> | was a federal government employee employed as an attorney and | did not otherwise engage in the practice of law during the calendar year
for which this return is filed.
> | was an employee of a Connecticut political subdivision employed as an attorney and did not otherwise engage in the practice of law during
the calendar year for which this return is filed.
> | was a Connecticut probate court employee employed as an attorney and did not otherwise engage in the practice of law during the calendar
year for which this return is filed.
> engaged in the practice of law exclusively outside of Connecticut during the calendar year for which this return is filed.
» (7 | did not work or was not employed as an attorney during the calendar year for which this return is filed.
> | was on active duty with the United States Armed Forces for more than six months during the calendar year for which this return is filed.
» (7 | retired from the practice of law and filed written notice of retirement with the clerk of the Superior Court for the Judicial District of Hartford
during the calendar year for which this return is filed.
D Occupational tax D| » $450|00
E Penalty (See reverse) El »
REMIT
THIS F Interest (See reverse) F{ »
AMOUNT» | G Total Amount Due (Add Lines D, E, and F) G| ™
Make check or money order payable to: COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE SERVICES, and mail to State of Connecticut, Department of
Revenue Services, PO Box 5031, Hartford CT 06102-5031.
Declaration: | declare under the penalty of false statement that | have examined this return, FORM 472, and to the best of my
knowledge and belief it is true, complete, and correct. (The penalty for false statement is imprisonment not to exceed one year or a fine
not to exceed two thousand dollars, or both.)
SIGN
HERE »>|

Signature Date




Where Can | Find
My Juris Number?

Who Must File a
Return?

Who is Liable
for the Tax?

Who is Exempt
from the Tax?

When are the Tax
and the Return Due?

What if | File
or Pay Late?

Employers
Paying on Behalf of
Employees

What if
My Address
Changes?

Form 472 Back (Rev. 11/00)

If you are unsure of your Juris Number, refer to a copy of your Attorney Registration form
completed in compliance with Practice Book §2-27. Juris numbers may also be found on the Web
site of the Connecticut Judicial Branch at www.jud.state.ct.us.

Any attorney listed on the roll of attorneys maintained by the Superior Court at any time during the
calendar year for which this return is filed must file a return for such calendar year even if exemption
from tax is claimed.

Any person who is admitted as an attorney by the judges of the Superior Court, and who engaged in
the practice of law in Connecticut during the calendar year for which this return is filed, and who is not
exempt from this tax.

Any person employed as an attorney by an employer, where the employer is not a law firm but the
position requires that the person be admitted as an attorney by the judges of the Superior Court, is
considered to be engaged in the practice of law.

See Part C of this return for a complete list of exemptions.

Your Form 472, Attorney Occupational Tax Return, and payment are due on or before January 15,
following the calendar year for which this return is filed.

If you are subject to the tax and pay late, the late payment penalty is $50. Late payments
are subject to interest at the rate of 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month, from the due
date to the date of payment.

If you are exempt from the tax but file Form 472 late, a late filing penalty of $50 may be
imposed.

Employers paying the tax on behalf of employees must attach a list that includes each employee’s
name, Connecticut Tax Registration Number (if applicable), Social Security Number, and Juris
Number. One check may be submitted for the total amount due.

If your address changes, you should notify both the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) and the
Statewide Grievance Committee.

To change your address with DRS:

* Correctthe address on the front of this return, or

* Fax a written notice of the change, including your Connecticut Tax Registration Number as it
appears on the front of this return, to 860-297-4757, or

* Mail a written notice of the change, including your Connecticut Tax Registration Number as it
appears on the front of this return, to DRS Registration, Maintenance Unit, PO Box 2937,
Hartford CT 06104-2937.

To change your address with the Statewide Grievance Committee:

Call the Clerk’s Office for the Superior Court for the Judicial District of Hartford at
860-548-2700, extension 3723 and ask for Form JD-GC-10. Return Form JD-GC-10 to the
Statewide Grievance Committee at the address shown on the form.

Form JD-GC-9, Attorney Registration, which is sent to you annually by the Statewide Grievance
Committee, also contains space to indicate your change of address.



