STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES
INHERITANCE/ESTATE TAX SECTION

P.O. BOX 2972, HARTFORD, CT 06104-2972

FORM CT-706EXT
APPLICATION FOR EXTENSION OF TIME

TO FILE AND/OR PAY ESTATE TAX
For decedents dying on or after July 1, 1997

Make checks payable to: Commissioner of Revenue Services

Decedent’s name (last, first, middle initial)

Date of death Probate court

Decedent’s residence at date of death (street address)

Connecticut file number, if known On the date of death, the decedent was a:

D Resident of Connecticut

City

State

ZIP

Social security number
D Nonresident of Connecticut

Application is hereby made to the Commissioner of Revenue Services for the following:

Extension of Time to File

In the space provided below, explain in detail why it is impossible or impractical to file a return within 9 months of the
date of the decedent’s death.

I:l Extension of Time to Pay

In the space provided below, explain in detail why payment of the tax within 9 months from the date of death will cause
undue hardship to the estate. Include documentation of any effort the estate has made to use assets to pay the tax. If the
tax cannot be determined because the size of the adjusted gross estate cannot be ascertained, check here, Dand attach
an explanation.

Reason For Six Month Extension Request

State in detail why you need an extension, or attach a copy of the federal extension Form 4768 including attachments thereto, with Part I completed if
applying for Extension of Time to File, or Part III completed if applying for Extension of Time to Pay. Attach additional sheets if necessary.

--YOU WILL BE NOTIFIED ONLY IF YOUR EXTENSION REQUEST IS DENIED--

Payment to Accompany Extension Request

1 Estimated amount of Connecticut Estate Tax Due
2 Prior payments made
3 Payment with this application
4 If requesting an extension of time to pay, estimated remaining balance to be paid.....

........................................................

DlWIN|—

I declare under the penalties of false statement that I have examined this application and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true,
complete and correct. Declaration of preparer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Fiduciary’s name

Attorney or authorized representative’s name

Signature of fiduciary Date Signature of attorney or authorized representative Date
Address Firm name and address
City State ZIP City State ZIP

Phone number

Phone number




GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

WHO MUST FILE

The person who is required to file the Connecticut Estate
Tax Return (Form CT-706) may use Form CT-706EXT to
request a 6 month extension to file and/or pay Connecticut
Estate Tax.

It is not necessary to include a reason for the Connecticut
extension request if the estate has filed a similar extension
request on federal Form 4768. A copy of the federal Form
4768 including attachments thereto, must accompany this
application.

If federal Form 4768 has not been filed, the applicant
must show reasonable cause to substantiate the extension
request.

If a fiduciary has not been appointed, this application may
be signed by a person acting as fiduciary who has
sufficient knowledge of the estate to file an accurate
return.

HOW TO APPLY FOR AN EXTENSION TO FILE
To obtain a Connecticut filing extension you must:

1. complete Form CT-706EXT in its entirety;

2. check the Extension of Time to File box;

3. attach a copy of federal Form 4768 with Part II
completed, if it has been filed with the IRS,;

4. file the CT-706EXT together with any supporting
documentation by the due date of the return; and

5. pay the estimated amount of Connecticut Estate Tax
due, less any prior payments.

HOW TO APPLY FOR AN EXTENSION TO PAY
To obtain a Connecticut payment extension you must:

1. complete Form CT-706EXT in its entirety;

2. check the Extension of Time to Pay box;

3. attach a copy of federal Form 4768 with Part III
completed, if it has been filed with the IRS;

4. file the CT-706EXT together with any supporting
documentation by the due date of the return; and

5. in the space provided, explain in detail why payment
of the tax within 9 months from the date of death will
cause undue hardship to the estate. Include
documentation of any effort the estate has made to use
assets to pay the tax.

YOU WILL BE NOTIFIED ONLY IF YOUR
EXTENSION REQUEST IS DENIED.
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AN EXTENSION OF TIME TO PAY DOES NOT
PREVENT INTEREST FROM ACCRUING ON ANY
UNPAID BALANCE DETERMINED TO BE DUE.

WHEN TO FILE

The extension request is due on or before the original due
date for filing the Connecticut Estate Tax Return. The
Connecticut Estate Tax Return and payment of tax are due
9 months from the date of death.

Applications postmarked more than 9 months from the date
of death will not be approved.

NOTE: If any due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal
holiday, the next business day will be the due date.

WHERE TO FILE AND PAY
Mail this form and your payment (if required) to:

The State of Connecticut
Department of Revenue Services
PO Box 2972

Hartford CT 06104-2972.

Make checks payable to: “Commissioner of Revenue
Services.” The decedent’s name, social security number,
Connecticut file number, if available, probate court, and
“CT Estate Tax” must be included on the check.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION

Attach a copy of the federal extension Form 4768 including
attachments thereto. Otherwise, complete the Reason For
Six Month Extension Request section on the front of this
form. If a decedent is claimed to be a nonresident, a State
of Connecticut Domicile Questionnaire, (Form C-3) must
be completed and filed with the Department of Revenue
Services. Forms may be obtained from the probate court.

The application must establish why it is impossible or
impractical for the fiduciary to pay the full amount of the
estate tax by the estate tax return due date.

PENALTY
The penalty for late payment is 10%. The penalty for late
filing is the greater of 10% of the tax due or $50.

INTEREST

Any unpaid portion of the tax determined to be due will
accrue interest at the rate of 1% per month or fraction
thereof from the original due date to the date of payment.



