
Form CT-1120 EXT
Application for Extension of Time to File 
Connecticut Corporation Tax Return

2015
(Rev. 12/15)

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 2974
Hartford CT 06104-2974
1120EXT 00 15W 01 9999







Corporation name   Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Number and street PO Box  Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)

City, town, or post offi ce State ZIP code DRS use only

 See instructions on reverse. Complete this form in blue or black ink only. Type or print.

(MMDDYYYY)

Declaration: I declare under the penalty of law that I have examined this return and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I 
understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) is a fi ne of not more than $5,000, imprisonment 
for not more than fi ve years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

I request a six-month extension of time to October 1, 2016, to fi le my Connecticut corporation business tax return for
calendar year 2015, or until (MMDDYYYY) for fi scal year ending  (MMDDYYYY).

 A federal extension has been requested on federal Form 7004, Application for Automatic Extension of Time to
 File Certain Business Income Tax, Information, and Other Returns, for calendar year 2015 or fi scal year 
beginning (MMDDYYYY) and ending  (MMDDYYYY). If a federal extension has not 
been fi led, explain why you are requesting the Connecticut extension:

Check 
here

Request for Six-Month Extension to File Form CT-1120, Form CT-1120CR, or Form CT-1120U. Each corporation must submit payment of any tax due or 
believed to be due with this application for an extension of time to fi le, whether or not an application for federal extension has been approved. See instructions.

Are you fi ling Form CT-1120CR? Yes No Are you fi ling Form CT-1120U? Yes No

 1. Tentative amount of tax due for this income year; minimum tax $250. See instructions. ........................ 1. .00
 2. Surtax: See instructions.  ......................................................................................................................... 2. .00
 3. Total tax: Add Line 1 and Line 2. Include tax credit recapture, if applicable.  .......................................... 3. .00
 4. Multiply Line 3 by 49.99% (0.4999)   ....................................................................................................... 4. .00
 5. Multiply the number of companies included by $250. .............................................................................. 5. .00
 6. Enter the greater of Line 4 or Line 5. ....................................................................................................... 6. .00
 7. Tax credit limitation: Subtract Line 6 from Line 3. .................................................................................... 7. .00
 8. Tax credits: Do not exceed amount on Line 7. ..................................................................................... 8. .00
 9. Balance of tax payable: Subtract Line 8 from Line 3. .............................................................................. 9. .00
 10. Payment(s) of estimated tax .................................................................................................................. 10. .00
 11. Overpayment from prior year ..................................................................................................................11. .00
 12. Total payments: Add Line 10 and Line 11. .......................................................................................... 12. .00
 13. Amount due with this return: Subtract Line 12 from Line 9. ......................................................... 13. .00

Visit the DRS Taxpayer Service
Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC to
fi le and pay this return electronically.

For income years beginning on or after
January 1, 2014, Form CT-1120 EXT
must be fi led and paid electronically.

This return MUST be fi led electronically!

DO NOT MAIL paper tax return to DRS.

Enter Income Year Beginning  (MMDDYYYY) and Ending  (MMDDYYYY).

Sign 
Here

Keep a
copy of

this return
for your
records.

Corporate offi cer’s name (print) Corporate offi cer’s signature Date (MMDDYYYY)

Title Telephone number

Paid preparer’s name (print) Paid preparer’s signature Date (MMDDYYYY) Preparer’s SSN or PTIN

Firm’s name and address Firm’s FEIN Telephone number

Yes NoMay DRS contact the preparer 
shown below about this return?

This return MUST be filed electronically!

DO NOT MAIL paper tax return to DRS.
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The following penalties will apply if a required electronic 
funds transfer (EFT) payment is remitted late:
• 2% of the required tax due for EFT payments not more than 

5 days late;
• 5% of the required EFT payments more than 5 days late 

but not more than 15 days late; and
• 10% of the required EFT payments more than 15 days late.
The following graduated penalty amounts will apply if you fail 
to remit payments electronically:
• First offense – 10% penalty on the amount of the tax 

payment, but not more than $2,500;
• Second offense – 10% penalty, but not more than $10,000; 

and
• Third and subsequent offenses – 10% penalty.
Pay by Mail: If you have received a waiver from the 
electronic payment requirement, make your check payable to 
Commissioner of Revenue Services. To ensure payment is 
applied to your account, write “2015 Form CT-1120 EXT” and 
the corporation’s Connecticut Tax Registration Number on 
the front of the check. Be sure to sign your check and paper 
clip it to the front of your return. Do not send cash. DRS may 
submit your check to your bank electronically.
Mail paper return with payment to: 

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 2974
Hartford CT 06104-2974.

Mail paper return without payment to:
Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 150406
Hartford CT 06115-0406.

Payment Options
Pay Electronically: Visit the DRS Taxpayer Service Center 
(TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC to make a direct tax payment. 

After logging into the TSC, select the Make 
Payment Only option and choose a tax type 
from the drop down box. Using this option 
authorizes DRS to electronically withdraw a 

payment from your bank account (checking or savings) on a 
date you select up to the due date. As a reminder, even if you 
pay electronically you must still fi le your return on or before 
the due date. Tax not paid on or before the due date will be 
subject to penalty and interest.
Pay by Credit Card or Debit Card: You may elect to pay 
your tax liability using a credit card (American Express®, 
Discover®, MasterCard®, or VISA®) or comparable debit 
card. A convenience fee will be charged by the service 
provider. You will be informed of the amount of the fee and 
you may elect to cancel the transaction. At the end of the 
transaction you will be given a confi rmation number for your 
records.

Form CT-1120 EXT
Instructions 

Complete this form in blue or black ink only.
Use Form CT-1120 EXT, Application for Extension of Time to 
File Corporation Business Tax Return, to request a six-month 
extension to fi le Form CT-1120, Corporation Business Tax 
Return, Form CT-1120CR, Combined Corporation Business 
Tax Return, or Form CT-1120U, Unitary Corporation 
Business Tax Return. It is not necessary to include a reason 
for the Connecticut extension request if an extension on 
federal Form 7004, Application for Automatic Extension of 
Time to File Certain Business Income Tax, Information, and 
Other Returns, was fi led with the Internal Revenue Service.
If federal Form 7004 was not fi led, the corporation may apply 
for a six-month extension to fi le the Connecticut corporation 
business tax return if there is reasonable cause for the 
request.
To get a Connecticut fi ling extension the corporation 
MUST:
• Complete Form CT-1120 EXT in its entirety; 
• File it on or before the fi rst day of the month following the 

due date of the company’s corresponding federal income 
tax return for the income year (April 1 for calendar year 
taxpayers); and

• Pay the amount shown on Line 13.
Form CT-1120 EXT extends only the time to file the 
Connecticut corporation business tax return. Form CT-1120 
EXT does not extend the time to pay the amount of tax due.

When to File
File Form CT-1120 EXT on or before the fi rst day of the 
month following the due date of the company’s corresponding 
federal income tax return for the income year (April 1 for 
calendar year taxpayers). In the case of any company that is 
not required to fi le a federal income tax return for the income 
year, the Connecticut corporation business tax return must be 
fi led on or before the fi rst day of the fourth month following 
the end of the income year. 
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, 
the return is considered timely if fi led on the next business 
day.

Electronic Filing and Payment Requirements
For income years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, 
Form CT-1120 and Form CT-1120U must be fi led and paid 
electronically, and all corporations must fi le and pay their 
estimated taxes (Forms CT-1120 ESA, ESB, ESC and ESD) 
and extension requests (Form CT-1120 EXT) electronically.
See Information Publication 2014(15), Filing and Paying 
Connecticut Taxes Electronically.
To request a waiver from the electronic fi ling requirement visit 
www.ct.gov/drs/TSCfi ling and complete Form DRS-EWVR, 
Electronic Filing and Payment Waiver Request.
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There are three ways to pay by credit card or comparable 
debit card:
• Log in to your account in the TSC and select Make Payment 

by Credit Card;
• Visit: www.officialpayments.com and select State 

Payments; or
• Call Offi cial Payments Corporation at 1-800-487-4567 

to speak with an agent. You will be asked to enter the 
Connecticut Jurisdiction Code: 1777.

Your payment will be effective on the date you make the 
charge.
Do not send in Form CT-1120 EXT if payment is made 
through the credit card service provider. If your payment 
is late, DRS will notify you in writing that your request for 
extension of time to fi le is denied.

Interest and Penalty
Interest is assessed at 1% per month or fraction of a month 
on any underpayment of tax computed from the fi rst day of 
the fourth month following the close of the income year. The 
penalty for underpayment of tax is 10% of the tax due or $50, 
whichever is greater. If no tax is due, the Commissioner of 
Revenue Services may impose a $50 penalty for the late 
fi ling of any return or report that is required by law to be fi led.
If a request for a filing extension has been granted, a 
corporation may avoid a penalty for failure to pay the full 
amount due by the original due date if it pays:
• At least 90% of the tax shown to be due on the return on 

or before the original due date of the return; and
• The balance due with the fi ling of Form CT-1120, on or 

before the extended due date.

Credit Against Estimated Payments
An overpayment of tax liability for 2015 will be applied 
against the fi rst installment of estimated tax due in 2016 if 
the taxpayer timely fi les a completed Form CT-1120, Form 
CT-1120CR, or Form CT-1120U and elects to apply an 
overpayment from 2015 against its 2016 estimated tax. 

Limit on Credits
The amount of tax credit(s) otherwise allowable against 
the corporation business tax for any income year shall 
not exceed 50.01% of the amount of tax due under the 
corporation business tax prior to the application of tax credits. 
No tax credit allowed against the corporation business tax 
shall reduce a company’s minimum tax to an amount less 
than $250.

Tax Credit Recapture
If the corporation is subject to recapture of tax credits, include 
the tax credit recapture amount in the total tax for the current 
income year.

Surtax
For income years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, and 
prior to January 1, 2018, companies whose gross income 
equals or exceeds $100 million or who fi le as part of a 
combined or unitary return must pay a surtax of 20% of the 
tax without regard to credits and tax credit recapture. The 
surtax does not apply to the minimum tax of $250.

Special Instructions - Combined or Unitary Tentative 
Corporation Business Tax Return
Affi liated corporations should fi le one Form CT-1120 EXT 
covering all such corporations, if they:
1. Elected to fi le as part of a Form CT-1120CR, Combined 

Corporation Business Tax Return, or Form CT-1120U, 
Unitary Corporation Business Tax Return in a prior income 
year and have not subsequently revoked such election; or 

2. Elect to fi le as part of a Form CT-1120CR or Form CT-1120U
for the fi rst time in the current income year and fi le Form 
CT-1120CC, Combined Return Consent for each affi liated 
corporation on or before the due date of the return.

A separate Form CT-1120 EXT must be filed for each 
corporation with Connecticut nexus that has not made such 
an election. Such corporations may still elect to fi le as part of 
a Form CT-1120CR or Form CT-1120U up until the extended 
due date.
Affi liated corporations without Connecticut nexus that have 
not previously made an election to be included in a Form 
CT-1120U do not need to fi le a Form CT-1120 EXT. Such 
corporations may still elect to fi le as part of a Form CT-1120U 
up until the extended due date of the related corporations 
with which it may fi le.

Signature
An offi cer of the corporation must sign this form.

Paid Preparer Signature
A paid preparer must sign and date Form CT-1120 EXT. 
Paid preparers must also enter their Social Security Number 
(SSN) or Preparer Tax Identifi cation Number (PTIN) and their 
fi rm’s FEIN in the spaces provided.

Others Who May Sign
Anyone (including attorneys, accountants, and enrolled 
agents) with a signed Power of Attorney may sign for the 
corporation in place of a corporate offi cer.

Line Instructions
Line 1 - Enter the tax due for the current income year without 
regard to surtax or recapture. Include additional $250 tax 
for each company included in the return and any amount of 
preference tax due.
Line 2 - Enter the surtax amount due. Taxpayers fi ling Form 
CT-1120U, Form CT-1120CR, or those with gross income of 
$100 million or more, multiply Line 1 by 20% and enter the 
result.
If Line 1 is $250, enter “0.” Taxpayers with less than $100 million 
of gross income (from federal Form 1120, Line 11, amount 
in box at the top of Form CT-1120), that are not included 
in a return fi led on Form CT-1120CR or Form CT-1120U,
enter “0.” 
Line 3 - Add Line 1 and Line 2. Include tax credit recapture, 
if applicable.
Line 4 - Multiply Line 3 by 49.99% (0.4999).
Line 13 - Subtract Line 12 from Line 9.


