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Business Entity Tax
An annual tax of $250 is imposed on
each S corporation, limited liability
company that is treated as a partnership
if it has two or more members or
disregarded as an entity separate from
its owner if it has a single member,
limited liability partnership, and limited
partnership, where the entity is required
to file an annual report with the
Connecticut Secretary of the State.
The tax is required to be paid to DRS
by an entity on or before the fifteenth
day of the fourth month following the
close of each taxable year of the entity.
An entity’s taxable year is its taxable
year for federal income tax purposes.
Failure to pay the tax when due
subjects an entity to penalty and
interest.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts §55  (May 9 Spec. Sess.),
as amended by 2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 4, §1

(May 9 Spec. Sess.)
Effective:  July 1, 2002 and applicable to taxable
years commencing on or after January 1, 2002.

Sales and Use Taxes
See Special Notice 2002(8.1), 2002 Sales and Use Tax and Motor Vehicle Rental Surcharge Legislation

2002 Connecticut Tax Amnesty

Begins September 1 Ends  November 30

Storage Space
The effective date of the tax on the
furnishing of space for storage of
personal property by persons engaged in
the business of furnishing such space has
been changed from July 1, 2002 to
October 1, 2002.  Any sales and use
taxes collected on these services that
were rendered before October 1, 2002,
must be refunded to the customers.
2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §§66, 68 (May 9 Spec. Sess.), as

amended by 2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 4, §§13 - 15 (May 9
Spec. Sess.)

Effective: Services rendered on or after October 1, 2002.

DRS will issue Special Notice 2002(9.1), Sales and
Use Taxes on the Furnishing of Space for Storage to
reflect this change.  See also Policy Statement
98(5), Sales and Use Tax Refund Policy.

Certificated Air Carrier
Excludes business analysis, management,
management consulting and public
relations services rendered in connection
with an aircraft leased or owned by a
certificated air carrier or in connection
with an aircraft which has a maximum
certificated takeoff weight of 6,000
pounds or more.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §§65, 67 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)
Effective: July 1, 2002, (retroactive to services
rendered on and after January 1, 1994).

Delay in Repeal of Sales and Use
Tax on Computer and Data
Processing Services
The repeal of the sales and use tax on
computer and data processing, which
was scheduled for July 1, 2002, has been
delayed for two years. Computer and
data processing services will remain
taxable at 1% until June 30, 2004.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §§69, 70 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)
Effective: July 1, 2002.

Patient Care Services
Amends the exclusion for patient care
services to provide that patient care
services for which payment is received
by the hospital (formally "rendered by")
between July 1, 2001, and June 30, 2003,
are excluded from sales tax.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 3, §1
Effective: February 28, 2002.

Prior Years' Legislation
Sunset of Exemption for High
Mileage Motor Vehicles
The exemption from sales and use
taxes for sales of passenger cars with
an EPA estimated highway mileage
rating of at least 50 miles per gallon
expired on July 1, 2002.
Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(110), as amended by 2000 Conn.

Pub. Acts 170, §22.

Exemptions Extended
The following exemptions from sales
and use taxes have been extended to
July 1, 2004:
· New motor vehicles powered by clean

alternative fuel;
· Conversion equipment for converting

vehicles to clean alternative fuel; and
· Equipment in compressed natural gas

filling or electric recharging station for
vehicles powered by clean alternative
fuel.

Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(67), (68), and (69)
2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 4, §10 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Cellular Mobile Telephone
In accordance with federal law
(P.L. 106-274, 4 U.S.C. §§116-126),
this amendment changes the Connecticut
sourcing rules for cellular mobile
telephone service.

Business Entity Tax

All charges for cellular telephone service
will be subject to Connecticut sales and
use taxes if the service is billed by or for
a customer’s “home service provider,” if
the street address where the customer’s
cellular telephone usage primarily occurs
(“place of primary use”) is in
Connecticut, regardless of where calls
originate, terminate or pass through.

Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-407a, as amended by
2001 Conn. Pub. Acts 6, §71

Effective: For customer bills issued after August 1,
2002 (the first day of the month beginning more
than 2 years after the July 28, 2000 enactment of
the federal law).
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Individuals or businesses, residents,
or nonresidents, may participate in

Connecticut Tax Amnesty to resolve
past tax liabilities and obtain

good standing with DRS;
eliminate penalty and reduce interest
on the amount due; and avoid any

possible criminal prosecution
See Informational PublicationInformational PublicationInformational PublicationInformational PublicationInformational Publication

2002(12)2002(12)2002(12)2002(12)2002(12), Q & A on the
Connecticut Tax Amnesty Program.

For More AmnestyFor More AmnestyFor More AmnestyFor More AmnestyFor More Amnesty
information or to obtaininformation or to obtaininformation or to obtaininformation or to obtaininformation or to obtain
an application call:an application call:an application call:an application call:an application call:

860-297-5962 or

800-382-9463 (in-state)

Information and applications
are available on the
Internet at:

www.ct.gov/taxamnesty
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Forms, Publications, or Personal Assistance
• Visit the DRS Web site:  www.drs.state.ct.us
• Call CONN-TAX at 1-800-382-9463 (toll-free from within Connecticut) or

1-860-297-5962 (from anywhere).  TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only
may transmit inquiries 24 hours a day, seven days a week by calling 860-297-4911.

Forms and publications may be obtained 24 hours a day, seven days a week, by
using any of the following resources.

Internet: Preview and download forms from the DRS Web site at
www.drs.state.ct.us
DRS TaxFax:  Call 860-297-5698 from the handset attached to your fax machine.

E-mail:  E-mail your request for forms to:  ctforms.drs@po.state.ct.us
Telephone:  From a touch-tone phone 24 hours a day call 1-800-382-9463 (toll-free
from within Connecticut) and select Option 2, or 860-297-4753 (from anywhere).

File Returns Electronically:  Visit the DRS Web site (click on Business
Taxes Fast-File Program)

For free assistance, visit our offices from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Monday through
Friday).  For pre-recorded directions to DRS offices, call CONN-TAX.  If you
require special accommodations, please advise DRS.

CONNECTICUT TAX TOPICS is a quarterly
newsletter about sales and use taxes and other
state taxes of interest to businesses. This
newsletter is designed to provide general
information for taxpayers and tax practitioners.
It is not designed to explain in depth a current
Department policy or practice affecting the
liability of taxpayers. Nothing in this
publication supersedes, alters or otherwise
changes provisions of Connecticut General
Statutes, regulations, Department rulings or
tax information publications.

BRIDGEPORT
10 Middle St.
203-336-7890

HAMDEN
3074 Whitney Ave.

Bldg 2
203-287-8243

HARTFORD
25 Sigourney St.

860-297-5962

NORWICH
2 Cliff St.

860-889-2669

WATERBURY
55 West Main St.

Suite 100
203-805-6789

DRS OFFICES
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Bonus Depreciation Deduction is
not Permitted
The bonus depreciation allowed under
Internal Revenue Code §168(k) is not
deductible for corporation business tax
purposes.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §56  (May 9 Spec. Sess.)
Effective: For property placed in service after September
10, 2001, and before September 11, 2004, that is
subject to the bonus depreciation allowed under Internal
Revenue Code §168(k).

Minimum Tax Changes
No tax credit allowed against the
corporation business tax shall reduce a
company’s minimum tax calculated
under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-219 to an
amount less than $250.  In addition,
financial service companies are no longer
exempt from the $250 minimum tax and
may not apply any tax credits to reduce
the minimum tax below $250.
Each corporation included in a combined
return shall pay the minimum tax and no
tax credit allowed against the corporation
business tax shall reduce an included
corporation’s tax calculated under Conn.
Gen. Stat. §12-219 to an amount less
than $250.
2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §§57 and 58 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: Income years commencing on or after
January 1, 2002.

MOTOR CARRIER/MOTOR VEHICLE

FUELS TAXES

Increase in the Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Rate on
Diesel Fuel
Effective August 1, 2002, the tax rate on diesel fuel sold or used
in Connecticut will increase from 18-cents to 26-cents per gallon.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §71 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)
Effective: From passage (July 1, 2002) and applicable on and after August 1, 2002.

Floor Tax on Diesel Fuel
New legislation imposes a floor tax of 8-cents per gallon on
diesel fuel in inventory at close of business July 31, 2002, on all
persons licensed to sell fuel under Conn. Gen. Stat. §14-319.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §74 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)
Effective: From passage (July 1, 2002).

The Exemption for Alternative Fuels Extended to
July 1, 2004
The exemption from the motor vehicles fuels tax for sales of
compressed natural gas, liquefied petroleum gas (propane),
and liquefied natural gas has been extended to July 1, 2004.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 4, §12 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)
Effective: July 1, 2002.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §60 (May 9 Spec. Sess.),
as amended by 2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 4, §19

(May 9 Spec. Sess.)
Effective: July 1, 2002.

Amendments to the Commissioner's
discretionary authority
The Commissioner's discretionary
authority to make adjustments was
amended to explicitly provide that the
Commissioner may exercise his discretion
as long as his discretion is not arbitrarily,
capriciously or unreasonably exercised
and that such adjustments may be used
where the arrangement between related
entities reflects inaccurate net income.
In addition, new legislation effectively
overrules the Connecticut Supreme
Court’s decision in Carpenter
Technology Corp. v. Commissioner,
256 Conn. 455 (2001).
2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §§61 and 62 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: July 1, 2002.

Clarification of Payment of
Interest on Corporation Business
Tax Overpayments
The law regarding the payment of
interest on late-filed and amended returns
is clarified.
2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §§63 and 64 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: July 1, 2002, and applicable to tax returns
and amended tax returns filed on or after July 1, 2001,
and not allowed or paid before July 1, 2002.

Tax Credits May Not Reduce Tax
by More than 70%
The amount of tax credit or credits for
any income year shall not exceed 70%
of the amount of tax due under the
corporation business tax prior to the
application of tax credits.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §59 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)
Effective: Income years commencing on or after
January 1, 2002.

Limitations on Refunds of
Research and Development Credit
Any taxpayer that is entitled to a research
and development tax credit refund will
be entitled to receive a maximum of
$1 million dollars in any one state fiscal
year. For research and development tax
credit refund claims filed for income
years commencing on or after January 1,
2002, no taxpayer may receive a tax
credit refund of more than $1.5 million in
any one income year.
Additionally, the law was amended to
clarify that the application for credit
refund must be made on or before the
due date or extended due date of the tax
return.  In determining eligibility for a
credit refund, payment of the minimum
tax of $250 under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-
219 or §12-223c, shall not be considered
a tax liability.

Corporation Business Tax

Details about the corporation business tax changes are scheduled for release in September.
Visit the DRS Web site at:  www.drs.state.ct.us and select 2002 Legislative Summary.

See Special Notice 2002(6.1), Motor Vehicle Fuels
Tax Changes as of July 1, 2002 and August 1, 2002


