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BUSINESS ENTITY TAX
The Business Entity Tax imposes an
annual tax of $250 on each S corporation,
limited liability company that is treated as
a partnership for federal income tax
purposes, limited liability partnership, and
limited partnership, where the entity is
required to file an annual report with the
Connecticut Secretary of the State.
The tax is required to be paid to DRS by
an entity on or before the fifteenth day of
the fourth month following the close of
each taxable year of the entity. An
entity’s taxable year is its taxable year for
federal income tax purposes.
Failure to pay the tax when due subjects
an entity to a $50 late payment penalty,
but DRS may waive all or part of the
penalty when it is proven that the failure to
pay the tax on time was due to reasonable
cause and was not intentional or due to
neglect. Interest accrues on any unpaid
tax at the rate of 1% per month or fraction
thereof from the due date until the date of
payment. The procedural provisions of the
admissions tax pertaining to the
examination of returns, the making of
deficiency assessments, the allowance and
disallowance of claims for refund, the
protest of deficiency assessments and
disallowances of claims for refund, the
holding of administrative hearings, and
appeals of final administrative decisions to
the Superior Court also apply for purposes
of the entity tax.
2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §55 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: July 1, 2002 and applicable
to taxable years commencing on or
after January 1, 2002.

ITAS and Tax Changes
Keep Department Busy
This summer has kept DRS
employees busy on two fronts:
assessing and implementing new tax
legislation, and beginning the first
phase of the new computer Integrated
Tax Administration System (ITAS).
 Both of these matters will impact

Connecticut
taxpayers in
the short- and
long-term, but
we believe the
ITAS system
will be the
most
significant
initiative in
DRS history.

The ITAS system will combine the
latest computer hardware and
software to integrate information that
presently exists in various DRS
systems. It will enable employees to
use a single system to access taxpayer
information. Major functions of ITAS
will include taxpayer
registration, returns
and payment
processing, taxpayer
accounting, case
management,
revenue accounting
and correspondence.
Earlier this year, the General Assembly
approved $17.6 million in bonding for
the first phase of the ITAS project.

SALES AND USE

TAXES

Sales Tax Exclusion for
One Week in August
Legislation enacted in 2000 by the
Connecticut General Assembly
provides for one-week period in
August each year when clothing
and footwear costing less than
$300 per item are excluded from
sales and use taxes.
This year the Sales Tax Exclusion
week begins on August 18, 2002
and ends at the close of business
on August 24, 2002.

Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-407d

Effective: July 1, 2000. The
exclusion applies each year
from the third Sunday in August
through the following Saturday.

See Special Notice 2001(6),
One-Week Sales and Use Tax
Exclusion in August for Clothing
and Footwear Under $300.
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MOTOR VEHICLE

RENTAL

SURCHARGE

Surcharge Applies to
Rental Trucks
The 3% motor vehicle rental
surcharge is applicable to the rental
of any “rental truck” rented within
the state by a rental company to a
lessee for a period of less than
thirty-one days. The surcharge
shall be in addition to any tax
otherwise applicable to any such
transaction and shall be includable
in the measure of the sales and use
taxes on the rental.
“Rental truck” means a (A) vehicle
rented without a driver that has a
gross vehicle weight rating of
twenty-six thousand pounds or less
and used in the transportation of
personal property but not for
business purposes, or (B) trailer
that has a gross vehicle weight
rating of not more than six
thousand pounds.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 70, §85

Effective: July 1, 2002

MOTOR CARRIER/MOTOR VEHICLE  FUELS TAXES

Diesel Fuel, Propane, and Natural Gas
The tax on diesel fuel, propane and natural gas will increase from 18-cents
to 26-cents per gallon for sales on or after August 1, 2002.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §71 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: From passage (July 1, 2002) and applicable on and after
August 1, 2002

Floor Tax on Diesel
A floor tax on diesel fuel of 8-cents per gallon will be imposed on
inventory at close of business July 31, 2002.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §74 (May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: From passage (July 1, 2002)

Prior Year’s Legislation

Compressed Natural Gas, Liquefied Petroleum Gas
(Propane), and Liquefied Natural Gas
The provision under which compressed natural gas, liquefied petroleum
gas (propane) and liquefied natural gas were not subject to tax when used
as a fuel for motor vehicles has expired for sales on or after July 1, 2002.

1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §30

Effective: July 1, 2002

Note: From July 1, 2002 through July 31, 2002, propane and natural gas are taxable at
the rate of 18-cents per gallon, under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-458(a)(2)(C).  On and after
August 1, 2002, they are taxable at 26-cents per gallon, under §12-458(a)(2)(C) as
amended by 2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §71 (May 9 Spec. Sess.). TN

The total project is expected to cost $66
million and upon its completion in 2005,
it will revolutionize how tax information
is kept and accessed at DRS.
The first phase of the ITAS project
will convert sales and use,
withholding, and corporation taxes
from the existing system to ITAS. It is
scheduled for completion by
November 30, 2003.
ITAS will increase efficiency and
accuracy of return processing and
account tracking at DRS. It will also
enable us to provide even better service
to our customers, which is one of the
primary goals of this Agency.
We will update you on the continued
progress of the ITAS project as it
moves forward.
On the legislative front, Governor
John Rowland signed the revised state

budget into law on July 1. The budget
included several new tax initiatives that
you should be aware of including:
de-coupling from the federal bonus
depreciation credit; the minimum tax
on the Corporation Business Tax; and
the new Business Entity Tax of $250
on S corporations, limited liability
partnerships, limited partnerships and
some limited liability companies.
The General Assembly also effectively
overruled the Connecticut Supreme
Court’s decision on Carpenter
Technology Corp. v. Commissioner,
256 Conn. 455 (2001), establishing
that the transactions at issue in the
case did constitute an improper
reflection of net income and
warranted an adjustment by the
Commissioner.
Other legislation of interest is the
two-year deferral of:  the phase-out of
the Gift Tax; the phase out of the sales
and use taxes on computer and data

TN

TN

processing services; and the increases
in exemptions for single income tax
filers. Nonresidents are now subject to
Connecticut Income Tax on their
casino winnings earned in
Connecticut; self-storage facilities
must now charge customers the 6%
sales and use tax; and, on August 1,
the tax on diesel fuel, propane, and
natural gas will increase from 18-cents
to 26-cents per gallon.
One area not affected by the budget is
the annual “Sales Tax Holiday” during
the third week of August. While many
thought it would fall victim to budget
cuts, it was spared and will continue
to provide back-to-school tax relief on
clothing purchases for the third
straight year (see Sales Tax Exclusion
for One Week in August on Page 15).
As always, I welcome your
comments and suggestions on tax
policy and issues. Please feel free to
contact me at any time.
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INCOME TAX

Bonus Depreciation
Deduction Must Be
Added to Connecticut
Adjusted Gross Income
The definition of “Connecticut
adjusted gross income” has been
modified to create a new addition
modification. To the extent
deductible in determining federal
adjusted gross income, there shall be
added to federal adjusted gross
income in computing Connecticut
adjusted gross income the following:
· For property placed in service

after September 10, 2001, but
prior to September 11, 2004, in
taxable years ending after
September 10, 2001, any bonus
depreciation under Internal
Revenue Code §168(k), as
provided by the federal Job
Creation and Worker Assistance
Act of 2002.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §77
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: July 1, 2002 and
applicable to taxable years
commencing on or after
January 1, 2002.

Note: Taxpayers are not permitted
or required to file amended returns to
add bonus depreciation in computing
their Connecticut adjusted gross
income for property placed in service
during the period, September 10,
2001 through December 31, 2001,
because the bill is applicable to
taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 2002 .

Increases to Single Filer
Exemption and Credit are
Delayed for Two Years
The annual increase to the single
filer exemption, to the single filer
credit and to the single filer
Connecticut adjusted gross income
thresholds used to calculate the
reduction in the property tax credit
is delayed two years. (A single filer

is an unmarried individual (other
than a qualifying widow or
widower) who files his or her
federal and Connecticut income tax
returns as an unmarried individual
and not as a head of household.)
The credit, exemption and threshold
in effect for 2001 will remain in
effect for the 2002 and 2003
taxable years. The scheduled
increases will resume in the 2004
taxable year.
2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §§78, 79 and 80

(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: From passage and
applicable to taxable years
commencing on or after
January 1, 2002.

New Withholding Tables
Income tax withholding tables have
been revised (effective July 1, 2002) for
employees who checked Filing
Status F on Form CT-W4. (See
Informational Publication 2002(14),
Connecticut Income Tax Witholding
Tables Effective July 1, 2002.)
The new tables reflect the changes to
exemptions and credits and
compensate for underwithholding
during the first half of 2002.
Employers are required to use the
new withholding tables for employees
who checked Filing Status F.

Gambling Winnings
are Connecticut Source
Income to Nonresidents
Nonresidents are now subject to
Connecticut income tax on their
winnings from any wager, wagering
transaction or gambling activity in
this state, if the proceeds are
required to be reported by the payer
to the Internal Revenue Service.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §81
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: July 1, 2002 and
applicable to taxable years
commencing on or after
January 1, 2002

Change in Threshold
at Which Lottery
Winnings are Taxable
to Nonresidents
Nonresidents are now subject to
Connecticut income tax on their
winnings from a wager placed in a
lottery conducted by the
Connecticut Lottery Corporation, if
the proceeds are required to be
reported by the Connecticut
Lottery Corporation to the Internal
Revenue Service. Prior law
subjected nonresidents to
Connecticut income tax on their
winnings from a wager placed in a
lottery conducted by the
Connecticut Lottery Corporation, if
the proceeds from the wager
exceeded $5,000. The $5,000
threshold has been eliminated.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §81
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: July 1, 2002 and
applicable to taxable years
commencing on or after
January 1, 2002

Terrorist Victim Relief
Connecticut income tax will not be
imposed on a specified terrorist
victim or the estate of such a victim
in the year of his or her death if the
victim died during a taxable year
commencing on or after January 1,
2001, but prior to January 1, 2002.
A Connecticut income tax return is
not required to be filed on behalf of
such individual or the estate of such
individual for that year. Any
Connecticut income tax that is
unpaid at the date of death,
including interest, additions to tax
and penalties, will not be assessed
and, if assessed, will be abated and,
if collected, will be refunded to the
legal representative of the estate.
A “specified terrorist victim”
means any individual who died as a
result of wounds or injury incurred
as a result of the terrorist attacks

  Income Tax, Page 5
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Tax Credits May Not
Reduce Tax by More
than 70%
Effective for income years
commencing on or after January 1,
2002, the amount of tax credit or
credits otherwise allowable against
the corporation business tax for
any income year shall not exceed
70% of the amount of tax due
from such taxpayer under the
corporation business tax prior to
the application of tax credits.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §59
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: Income years
commencing on or after
January 1, 2002.

Limitations on Refunds
of Research and
Development Credit
Effective July 1, 2002, any
taxpayer that is entitled to a
research and development tax
credit refund of more than
$1 million for the income years
2000 or 2001 that did not receive
its payment before July 1, 2002
will be entitled to receive a
maximum of $1 million dollars in
any one state fiscal year with any
remaining credit refund due paid
equally over the next two state
fiscal years. For research and
development tax credit refund
claims filed for income years
commencing on or after January 1,
2002, no taxpayer may receive a
tax credit refund of more than
$1.5 million in any one income
year. Additionally,  Conn. Gen.
Stat.  §12-217ee was clarify to
provide that the application for the
credit refund must be made on or
before the original due date or, if
applicable, the extended due date
of the return for the year in which
the refund is requested.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §60
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: July 1, 2002.

Amendments to the
Commissioner's
discretionary authority
Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-226a, which
grants the Commissioner
discretionary authority to make
adjustments where as the result of
a transaction with a related entity
the taxpayer’s income is not
accurately reflected, was amended
to explicitly provide that the
Commissioner may exercise his
discretion as long as his discretion
is not arbitrarily, capriciously or
unreasonably exercised and that
such adjustments may be used
where the arrangement between
related entities reflects inaccurate
net income.
In addition, a new subsection
was added to Conn. Gen. Stat.
§12-226a that effectively overrules
the Connecticut Supreme Court’s
decision in Carpenter
Technology Corp. v.
Commissioner, 256 Conn. 455
(2001). This new subsection
specifically affirms that the facts,
circumstances and transactions at
issue in Carpenter amply satisfy
the improper or inaccurate
reflection of net income standard
set forth in Conn. Gen. Stat.
§12-226a and were properly the
subject of an adjustment by the
Commissioner under that section.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §§61 and 62
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: July 1, 2002.

  Corporation Tax, Page 5

Bonus Depreciation
Deduction is not Permitted
Effective for certain assets placed
in service after September 10,
2001 and before September 11,
2004, the bonus depreciation
allowed under Internal Revenue
Code §168(k) is not deductible for
corporation business tax purposes.
This provision requires
corporations that have filed tax
returns for the 2000 or 2001
income years deducting the bonus
depreciation on their federal Form
1120 to amend their Connecticut
Corporation Business Tax return.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §56
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: For property placed
in service after September 10,
2001 that is subject to the
bonus depreciation allowed
under Internal Revenue Code
§168(k)

Minimum Tax
Changes
No tax credit allowed against the
corporation business tax shall
reduce a company’s minimum tax
calculated under Conn. Gen. Stat.
§12-219 to an amount less than
$250.  In addition, financial service
companies are no longer exempt
from the $250 minimum tax and
may not apply any tax credits to
reduce the minimum tax below
$250.
Each corporation included in a
combined return shall pay the
minimum tax and no tax credit
allowed against the corporation
business tax shall reduce an
included corporation’s tax
calculated under Conn. Gen. Stat.
§12-219 to an amount less than
$250.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §§57 and 58
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: Income years
commencing on or after
January 1, 2002.

CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX
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Clarification of Payment of Interest on
Corporation Business Tax Overpayments
Recent legislation clarifies the rules  under Conn. Gen.
Stat. §12-226 regarding the payment of interest on
late-filed and amended returns.
In the case of an overpayment of tax reported on a
late-filed tax return, no interest shall be allowed or paid
under this section on such overpayment for any month
or fraction of a month before the 91st day after the last
day prescribed for filing the tax return on which such
overpayment was reported, determined without regard
to any extension of time for filing, or the 91st day after
the date such return was filed, whichever is later. Thus,
in the case of a late-filed return, interest will only begin
to accrue from the 91st day after the return was filed.
In the case of an overpayment reported on an amended
return, no interest shall be paid for any month or fraction
of a month before the 91st day after the date the
amended tax return was filed. For purposes of this
section, any amended return filed before the last day
prescribed for filing the tax return for such year,
determined without regard to any extension of time for
filing, shall be considered as filed on the last day
prescribed for filing the return.
As amended, the statute makes it clear that unless
otherwise provided, interest is paid from the date a
processible return is filed to a date, to be determined by
the Commissioner preceding the date of the refund
check by not more than thirty days. This amendment
follows the federal rule for calculating interest and
allows the Commissioner to set a date at which interest
will stop accruing in order to provide processing time for
the check.
A tax return or amended tax return shall not be treated
as filed until it is filed in a “processible form”.
“Processible form” is defined as a return that is filed on
a permitted form containing the taxpayer’s name,
address and identifying number and the required
signatures, and sufficient required information to permit
the mathematical verification of the tax liability shown
on the return.
The statutory intent of the amendments to section
12-227(b) discussed above is to properly indicate that
the current law does not authorize the DRS to pay
interest on an overpayment that is reported on a late-
filed tax return or an amended return for any month or
fraction of a month that is before the date on which the
late return or the amended return is filed with the DRS.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §§63 and 64
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: July 1, 2002 and applicable to tax returns
and amended tax returns filed on or after July 1, 2001.

Corporation Tax
from page 4

 GIFT TAX

The Partial Phase Out of the Connecticut Gift
Tax is Deferred for Two Years
The gift tax rate for calendar year 2001 will remain
in effect for calendar years 2002 and 2003. The
previously scheduled reduction of the gift tax rate
for each of the other calendar years will be delayed
by two years and will resume in 2004.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §76
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: Calendar years commencing on or
after January 1, 2002.

TN

SUCCESSION TAX

Delay in Reduction and Ultimate Repeal of
the Succession Tax
Delays the reduction, in increments, and the ultimate
repeal of the succession tax, for the net taxable estate
passing to any Class B or Class C beneficiary.
With respect to the net taxable estate passing to
Class B beneficiaries, the reduction commenced for
estates of decedents dying during 1999. For estates of
decedents dying during 2002, if no more than $600,000
is passing to Class B beneficiaries, no succession tax
will be payable on the net taxable estate so passing.
With respect to the net taxable estate passing to
Class C beneficiaries, the reduction will commence for
estates of decedents dying during 2001. For estates of
decedents dying during 2002, if no more than $200,000
is passing to Class C beneficiaries, no succession tax
will be payable on the net taxable estate so passing.

2001 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §1
(Nov. 15 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: Estates of persons dying on or after
January 1, 2002

TN

TN

against the United States on September 11, 2001, or
who died as a result of an attack involving anthrax
occurring on or after September 11, 2001, and
before January 1, 2002.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 126, §7

Effective: From passage. Approved June 7, 2002

Income Tax
from page 3
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Certificated Air Carrier
Excludes business analysis,
management, management
consulting and public relations
services rendered in connection
with an aircraft leased or owned by
a certificated air carrier or in
connection with an aircraft which
has a maximum certificated takeoff
weight of 6,000 pounds or more.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §65, 67
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: July 1, 2002
(retroactive to services rendered
on and after January 1, 1994)

Delay in Repeal of Sales
and Use Tax on Computer
and Data Processing
Services
The repeal of the sales and use tax
on computer and data processing
that was scheduled for July 1, 2002,
has been delayed for two years.
The 1% sales and use tax on
computer and data processing
services will remain in effect
through June 30, 2004.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §69, 70
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: July 1, 2002

Storage Space
The furnishing in Connecticut of
space for storage of personal
property by a person in the
business of furnishing such space,
excluding furnishing space used by
a person for residential purposes, is
subject to 6% sales and use tax.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §66, 68
(May 9 Spec. Sess.)

Effective: Services rendered on
or after July 1, 2002

Patient Care Services
Patient care services for which
payment is received by the hospital
between July 1, 2001 and June 30,
2003, are excluded from sales tax.

2002 Conn. Pub. Acts 3, §1

Effective: February 28, 2002

Prior Years' Legislation

Sunsets to Various Exemptions
in Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412
The following exemptions from
sales and use tax expired for sales
made on or after July 1, 2002:
· New motor vehicles powered by

clean alternative fuel.
Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(67)

· Conversion equipment for
converting vehicles to clean
alternative fuel.

Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(68)

· Equipment in compressed natural
gas filling or electric recharging
station for vehicles powered by
clean alternative fuel.

Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(69)
2001 Conn. Pub. Acts 6, §22

· Passenger cars with an EPA
estimated highway mileage
rating of at least 50 miles per
gallon expired for sales made on
or after July 1, 2002.

Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(110)
2000 Conn. Pub. Acts 170, §6

Effective: July 1, 2002

Cellular Mobile Telephone
1. In accordance with federal law

(P.L. 106-274, 4 U.S.C.
§§116-126), this amendment
changes the Connecticut sourcing
rules for cellular mobile telephone
service, as follows:

· All charges for cellular telephone
service will be subject to
Connecticut sales and use taxes
if the service is billed by or for a
customer’s “home service
provider,” if the street address
where the customer’s cellular
telephone usage primarily occurs
(“place of primary use”) is in
Connecticut, regardless of where
calls originate, terminate or pass
through.

· The “home service provider” is
the company that contracts with
the customer to provide the
cellular telephone service. The
home service provider is
responsible for obtaining and
maintaining a record of each
customer’s place of primary use.
It may use any address it has for
the customer as of July 28, 2002,
unless the Commissioner of
Revenue Services notifies it of a
different address.

· The Commissioner may make
determinations as to customers’
places of primary use and may
provide home service providers
with electronic databases of
customers’ places of primary use.

· Customers have certain appeal
rights to the home service
provider and to the Commissioner
in the case of a claim of an
erroneous assignment of a place
of primary use.

2. The current sourcing rules for
cellular telecommunications
service in Conn. Gen. Stat
§12-407a(b) apply prior to
August 2, 2002, and if the
federal law on which the new
changes to these sourcing rules
is based is substantially limited
or impaired by the final judgment
of a court, the original sourcing

TRANSITIONAL RULES FOR SALES AND USE TAXES
Charges for services being reduced because of a phaseout of the tax are subject to tax at the
higher rate only on the portion of the charges for services provided before the date of the rate
reduction.  The portion of the charges for services provided on or after the date of the rate
reduction is subject to tax at the reduced rate.    TN

Sales and Use Tax
from page 1
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5th Annual DRS/IPT Connecticut Tax Seminar
Commissioner Gene Gavin invites taxpayers and tax practitioners to attend the
DRS/IPT seminar and learn about important changes to Connecticut tax laws. DRS and
the Institute of Professionals in Taxation (IPT) will present "2002 Leader of the Pack" on
September 17, 2002, at the Radisson Hotel and Conference Center in Cromwell, CT.

Highlighting the program is “Cigarette Tax, Internet Sales and the Jenkins Act”, with a
distinguished panel of experts including Attorney General Richard Blumenthal,
Commissioner Gene Gavin, and speakers from the U.S. General Accounting Office and
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms of the U.S. Treasury Department.  In addition,
the seminar will include timely information on the Connecticut Tax Amnesty Program, the
latest legislative tax changes; sales, property, and other tax topics; plus a Fast-File
presentation and demonstration.

For additional information or to download the registration form, go to DRS’ web site –
www.drs.state.ct.us – or call IPT at: 404-240-2300 .

Understanding Connecticut Taxes Clearly
DRS is pleased to offer Understanding Connecticut
Taxes Clearly, a free program designed to provide a
broad overview of Connecticut tax requirements for
new and existing small businesses.
Space is still available.  Call now to register.
Programs are held from 6:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Call Melvin Jones at 860-297-4935 to register.

2002
NEW HAVEN ....................................... September 5
WINSTED .......................................... September 12
GROTON ........................................... September 19
ENFIELD ............................................ September 26
FARMINGTON ........................................ October 3
DANIELSON ......................................... October 10
DANBURY ............................................. October 17
MIDDLETOWN ..................................... October 24
NORWICH ........................................... November 7
BRIDGEPORT ................................... November 14
WATERBURY ....................................... December 5
MANCHESTER .................................. December 12

rules of §12-407a(b) will apply to
services rendered on or after the

date of entry of such judgment.

3. With respect to all telecommunications service
providers, if nontaxable charges are not separately
stated from taxable charges for
telecommunications services, the nontaxable
charges may be subject to tax unless the provider
can reasonably identify the nontaxable charges in
its books and records. A customer may not assume

that any charges are nontaxable unless the
provider separately states such charges or the
provider supplies verifiable data from its books and
records that identifies the nontaxable charges.

2001 Conn. Pub. Acts 6, §71

Effective: For customer bills issued after
August 1, 2002 (the first day of the month
beginning more than 2 years after the
July 28, 2000 enactment of the federal law). TN

Sales and Use Tax
from page 6

PETROLEUM PRODUCTS

GROSS EARNINGS TAX

Prior Years' Legislation

The provision under which propane gas to be used as
fuel for a motor vehicle was exempt from this tax has
expired for sales on and after July 1, 2002.

2001 Conn. Pub. Acts 6, §20 (June Spec. Sess.)

Effective: July 1, 2002.

Exempts number 6 fuel oil used exclusively by certain
manufacturers described in the SIC and NAICS
manuals. Exempts number 2 heating oil used
exclusively in vessels primarily engaged in interstate
commerce that qualify for exemption under Conn. Gen.
Stat. §12-412. (This completes a gradual phase down
of the tax on these products.)

1997 Conn. Pub. Acts 281, §1

Effective: July 1, 2002. TN
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CONNECTICUT TAX  NEWS,
from the Connecticut
Department of Revenue
Services, is published five
times a year.

This newsletter is designed to
provide general information to
taxpayers and tax
practitioners. It is not designed
to explain in depth a current
DRS policy affecting the
liability of taxpayers.  Nothing
in this publication supersedes,
alters, or otherwise changes
the provisions of the
Connecticut General Statutes,
regulations, DRS rulings or tax
information publications.

Gene Gavin,
Commissioner
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Department of
Revenue Services
25 Sigourney Street
Hartford CT  06106-5032

• Visit the DRS Web site:  www.drs.state.ct.us

For Tax Forms, Publications
or Personal Assistance

BRIDGEPORT
10 Middle St.
203-336-7890

HAMDEN
3074 Whitney Ave.

203-287-8243

HARTFORD
25 Sigourney St.
860-297-5962

NORWICH
2 Cliff St.

860-889-2669

WATERBURY
55 West Main St.

Suite 100
203-805-6789

• Call CONN-TAX at 1-800-382-9463 (in-state) or
1-860-297-5962 (anywhere)

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit
inquiries 24 hours a day, seven days a week, by calling
860-297-4911.

•  Write to: Department of Revenue Services
Taxpayer Services Division
25 Sigourney Street
Hartford CT  06106-5032

Forms and publications may be obtained 24 hours a day, seven days a
week, by using any of the following resources.

Internet:  Preview and download forms from the DRS
Web site at www.drs.state.ct.us

DRS TaxFax:  Call 860-297-5698 from the
handset attached to your fax machine

E-mail:  E-mail your request for forms to:
ctforms.drs@po.state.ct.us

Telephone:  From a touch-tone phone 24 hours a day call   1-800-382-9463
(in-state) and select Option 2 or 860-297-4753 (DRS Forms Unit).

For free assistance on forms, visit our offices from 8:00 a.m.
to 5:00 p.m. (Monday through Friday).  For pre-recorded
directions to DRS offices, call CONN-TAX.  If you require
special accommodations, please advise DRS.

State of Connecticut
Department of Revenue Services
25 Sigourney Street
Hartford CT  06106-5032


